135 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

gsc
post Feb 14 2015, 09:10 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 14 2015, 08:22 PM)
tq tq for link  rclxms.gif
campaign period feb 9 - Mar 31.

wonder how strict they are about this condition. what if we already put money into the recent 4.5% conventional fd?
Last year received a letter from SCB asking me either to close my saving account or carry out some transactions coz it was inactive. Originally plan to close it coz I have too many saving accounts in some other banks. The counter girl convinced me to put some money coz she said usually SCB provides promotion to its existing customers.Now with this condition, I also wonder will they allowed existing customer enjoy the rate? If not, I will just place at EPF near month end...
bbgoat
post Feb 14 2015, 09:14 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 14 2015, 08:22 PM)
wonder how strict they are about this condition. what if we already put money into the recent 4.5% conventional fd?
Good point ! I have not read the T & C earlier. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 14 2015, 08:51 PM)
Bro, the T&C states new to bank - are you existing customer?
He he. As I said in few post back, have not put money in this Islamic product yet. Based on what okuribito pointed out, may not be able to. Previously the conventional FD 4.5% also said one time placement but can get HQ approval. So have placed 2 FD in there for 4.5%. So have to check with SCB RM if I can place for this Islamic FD.

Will ask later when I have bullets ready. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 14 2015, 09:17 PM
okuribito
post Feb 14 2015, 11:10 PM

1,021 posts

avfan and all, read today's Star Biz section... an article by smart cookie Andrew Sheng - he says go with usd, something about there are strong indications of interest rate hike. read it on paper, I'm sure you can find online.
PS: here it is

bbgoat, fingers crossed they will be accommodative... who knows tongue.gif

This post has been edited by okuribito: Feb 14 2015, 11:37 PM
TSGen-X
post Feb 15 2015, 12:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 14 2015, 09:05 PM)
aud is one of the few "majors" that did worse than rm in recent months... and we know why - oz like canada n the like are commodity based currencies, got hammered when commodities incl oil goes lower n lower, no sight of incr consumption even from china.

i have interest in aud.. u remember i been planning for my child's coming expense. nov 2013, it was rm 3.0x when i visited melbourne. now, 2.77. but aud is very poor with usd or even sgd.

my point is... should i lock in aud now or just hold on to usd/sgd..?? hmm.gif

any pointer? thanks.
SGD and AUD almost dollar for dollar.....

As for should you hold on to USD, I don't know because if you see previous charts, it goes up and down. As for SGD, aeiou228 pointed before, it's on the uptrend like forever, hahaha

As for AUD, as far as I know, RBA still wants it to go lower. In 2008 AUD/USD went as low as 0.65 and AUD/MYR 2.2. But I not so greedy, when reach AUD/MYR 2.5 or below (TT rate) I will transfer my funds and go buy a property (it's like I'll be getting 30% discount from AUD/MYR at 3.3 in 2012 to 1st quarter 2013).

And talking about inflation, because of the high USD relatively to RM, we can expect imported goods prices to increase... e.g. new cars.

Bro I know what investment is fool proof... Rolex watches, hahaha

Above may be OT to some, but if RM weakens further... we all will be wishing we have converted our RM to USD or SGD tongue.gif

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 14 2015, 11:10 PM)
avfan and all, read today's Star Biz section... an article by smart cookie Andrew Sheng - he says go with usd, something about there are strong indications of interest rate hike. read it on paper, I'm sure you can find online.

Many expected interest rates to go up in USD months ago, however last quarter data US economy not so good. Malaysia on the other hand reported better growth than most economist predicted.

gsc
post Feb 15 2015, 12:23 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 15 2015, 12:11 AM)

As for should you hold on to USD, I don't know because if you see previous charts, it goes up and down. As for SGD, aeiou228 pointed before, it's on the uptrend like forever, hahaha

As for AUD, as far as I know, RBA still wants it to go lower. In 2008 AUD/USD went as low as 0.65 and AUD/MYR 2.2. But I not so greedy, when reach AUD/MYR 2.5 or below (TT rate) I will transfer my funds and go buy a property (it's like I'll be getting 30% discount from AUD/MYR at 3.3 in 2012 to 1st quarter 2013).

And talking about inflation, because of the high USD relatively to RM, we can expect imported goods prices to increase... e.g. new cars.

Above may be OT to some, but if RM weakens further... we all will be wishing we have converted our RM to USD or SGD  tongue.gif 
Many expected interest rates to go up in USD months ago, however last quarter data US economy not so good. Malaysia on the other hand reported better growth than most economist predicted.
My conclusion is Gen-x get higher return through exchange rate than from FD rate... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 15 2015, 12:42 AM

24,454 posts

Above may be OT to some, but if RM weakens further... we all will be wishing we have converted our RM to USD or SGD  tongue.gif 
tq for comments.

aud/myr 2.5? that must be a long time ago, briefly? i wud think rm2.70 is a more realistic target as aussies at this time seem to be resigned to aud=0.75usd, so i read...

sgd... sg gomen been easing a bit, so may not get too strong. still, sgd on par with aud = rm2.70 is realistic!! tongue.gif

anyway, will keep monitoring. wink.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 15 2015, 12:46 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 15 2015, 07:43 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 14 2015, 11:10 PM)
bbgoat, fingers crossed they will be accommodative... who knows  tongue.gif
Why need "fingers crossed", if cannot put there, put elsewhere ! laugh.gif tongue.gif

Or like some others, wait for interest rate to go up ! laugh.gif

Need to put elsewhere, already too heavy loaded in SCB (more than BR, by the way while some of u think I am heavy loaded in BR laugh.gif ). Ha ha ha ! biggrin.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 15 2015, 07:49 AM
bbgoat
post Feb 15 2015, 08:15 AM

6,614 posts

Wow, buying ANOTHER property in Australia when AUD reach 2.5 ! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Feb 15 2015, 12:23 AM)
My conclusion is Gen-x get higher return through exchange rate than from FD rate... notworthy.gif  
Ya, FD return is sub sub suai for Captain ! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 15 2015, 12:42 AM)
tq for comments.

aud/myr 2.5? that must be a long time ago, briefly? i wud think rm2.70 is a more realistic target as aussies at this time seem to be resigned to aud=0.75usd, so i read...

sgd... sg gomen been easing a bit, so may not get too strong. still, sgd on par with aud = rm2.70 is realistic!! tongue.gif

anyway, will keep monitoring. wink.gif
Captain has set his aim too "low" ? He also has mentioned before if stock market crash, will move funds to buy some of the blue chips. But the target price he mentioned is also pretty low. biggrin.gif

Jokes aside, I also need to look at USD/RM relationship. Have to look at dual currency account in CB. Have been watching USD moving from <3 to over 3.6 in last 2 years or so. Burning my pocket soon. cry.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 15 2015, 08:20 AM
okuribito
post Feb 15 2015, 07:23 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 15 2015, 07:43 AM)
Why need "fingers crossed", if cannot put there, put elsewhere !  laugh.gif tongue.gif

Or like some others, wait for interest rate to go up !  laugh.gif

Need to put elsewhere, already too heavy loaded in SCB (more than BR, by the way while some of u think I am heavy loaded in BR  laugh.gif ). Ha ha ha ! biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
i think 4.5% 15m is the best at the moment. i got maturity coming up in early march lah. what's my alternatives ? even BR only 4.4% for 2 yrs. pbb step up also gonna end 28/2

hehe anyone else got love letter from BR to top up?? ask me to top up else kena charge "fi" hahaha frankly can give them back lah no biggie tongue.gif
nitehawk
post Feb 15 2015, 11:52 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 2 2015, 07:27 PM)
Actually I didn't use cheque, I used Inter-bank GIRO to bring in "not-so-fresh" funds tongue.gif
Can you share the steps of using Inter-bank GIRO to open a FD account? What banks allowed Inter-bank GIRO instead of cash or cheque?

nitehawk
post Feb 15 2015, 11:55 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 15 2015, 07:23 PM)

hehe anyone else got love letter from BR to top up?? ask me to top up else kena charge "fi" hahaha frankly can give them back lah no biggie  tongue.gif
I received it too but I don't understand the letter. How does it impact on existing FD?

This post has been edited by nitehawk: Feb 16 2015, 05:09 PM
polarzbearz
post Feb 16 2015, 09:41 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Feb 15 2015, 11:52 PM)
Can you share the steps of using Inter-bank GIRO to open a FD account?  What banks allowed Inter-bank GIRO instead of  cash or cheque?
I was opening a new HSBC advance account which entitles me 5% FD rate for 3 months placement, with conditions that it must be fresh fund. So I just transferred some of my $ sitting in other banks into HSBC and open the one-time preferential FD rate account nod.gif

It's actually the HSBC Advance Manager that advices me that I can do so laugh.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Feb 16 2015, 09:44 AM
sevendogz
post Feb 16 2015, 09:54 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 16 2015, 09:41 AM)
I was opening a new HSBC advance account which entitles me 5% FD rate for 3 months placement, with conditions that it must be fresh fund. So I just transferred some of my $ sitting in other banks into HSBC and open the one-time preferential FD rate account nod.gif

It's actually the HSBC Advance Manager that advices me that I can do so laugh.gif
what is the terms and conditions? minimum fund amount?
what will be the rate after 3 months, can we withdraw them?
polarzbearz
post Feb 16 2015, 10:10 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 16 2015, 09:54 AM)
Quite a few members discussed about it in this thread, you can search back for more info. But here's the T&C's

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/hsbcadvance/pre...ement-promotion
bbgoat
post Feb 16 2015, 10:13 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Feb 15 2015, 07:23 PM)
i think 4.5% 15m is the best at the moment. i got maturity coming up in early march lah. what's my alternatives ? even BR only 4.4% for 2 yrs. pbb step up also gonna end 28/2

hehe anyone else got love letter from BR to top up?? ask me to top up else kena charge "fi" hahaha frankly can give them back lah no biggie  tongue.gif
Ya, the 15 mth 4.5% is the best so far for sure. biggrin.gif

You cabut from BR ? Just after they started the Exclusive Card and you cabut your bullet ? tongue.gif
terence_say
post Feb 16 2015, 10:19 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 16 2015, 09:54 AM)
Term and conditions is you must have a advance account.

Minimum 5k and maximum 30k only.

Can withdraw after 3 months or else renew at board rate which is pretty low if you compare to other local bank board rate.
Lurker
post Feb 16 2015, 11:01 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Feb 16 2015, 10:19 AM)
Term and conditions is you must have a advance account.

Minimum 5k and maximum 30k only.

Can withdraw after 3 months or else renew at board rate which is pretty low if you compare to other local bank board rate.
Max of rm375 returns.
And I wonder if the advance acc hv any additional hidden fees. And minimum $ to keep inside
polarzbearz
post Feb 16 2015, 11:49 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 16 2015, 11:01 AM)
Max of rm375 returns.
And I wonder if the advance acc hv any additional hidden fees. And minimum $ to keep inside
If I recall correctly, minimum RM30k in Advance account HSBC Bank (total of all HSBC accounts: "total relationship balance") or have a housing loan with them; else charged monthly fee of RM10. Exception is given if you applied under company benefits (HSBC PERKS@WORKS - exemption of RM10/month for max 2 years)

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Feb 16 2015, 12:04 PM
Johore
post Feb 16 2015, 11:50 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 16 2015, 10:10 AM)
Quite a few members discussed about it in this thread, you can search back for more info. But here's the T&C's

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/hsbcadvance/pre...ement-promotion
can we call this offer is the best 3month FD so far? hmm.gif hmm.gif
cklimm
post Feb 16 2015, 11:55 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(Johore @ Feb 16 2015, 11:50 AM)
can we call this offer is the best 3month FD so far? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
yes it is, but what after 3 months? stay there with lowest board rate in town? transfer them out and charged RM10 every months? hmm.gif

135 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:27 AM