Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

gsc
post May 6 2015, 01:33 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 6 2015, 01:13 PM)
So you went to the PB centre ? Still trying to spot the leng lui yesomething ay and today ?  tongue.gif

Good that OCBC add on the 1st 6 months interest to the principal FD amt for next 6 months.  rclxms.gif
ya...no eyetertainment..after two days hunting.....

went over to Ambank, their product called wealth..something sounds good, it is a saving plan with 6% guarantee interest....death protection too....
magika
post May 6 2015, 01:38 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 6 2015, 01:33 PM)
ya...no eyetertainment..after two days hunting.....

went over to Ambank, their product called wealth..something sounds good, it is a saving plan with 6% guarantee interest....death protection too....
Again, saving plan ? Pls dont get influence by the leng lui. I have yet to see a saving plan with guranteed interest. doh.gif
Earned not much nevermind, but dont get conned, regret also no use later.

This post has been edited by magika: May 6 2015, 01:39 PM
cybpsych
post May 6 2015, 01:54 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 21 2015, 05:09 PM)
OCBC updated their Start Saving Deals again  thumbup.gif
valid until 31 July 2015

Double Savings Deal: 3-month @ 4.50% p.a. + equal amount in CASA (earmarked 3 months), min RM5k fresh fund

Fresh Deal: 6-month @ 4.00% p.a., 12-month @ 4.20% p.a., min RM5k fresh fund

Fresh Deal: Tiered interest rates - First 6 month (180 Days) @  4.00% p.a. & subsequent 6 month (180 Days) @ 4.40% p.a., min RM5k fresh fund

Full tenure of the promo FD tenure of 360 days must be completed.
Interest earned in the first term of 180 days will be automatically added onto the principal and rolled over to the second term of 180 days.
Interest for this Promotion is payable at the end of the second term.

Updated T&Cs: http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...eal_general.pdf
QUOTE(harmonics3 @ May 6 2015, 01:28 PM)
just withdrew matured bank rakyat FD and transferred the money through IBG, kena 2.12 charges (with 6% GST). They no longer waive the IBG fees.

When is this 6+6mth OCBC FD promo ending?
Dkck
post May 6 2015, 02:56 PM

138 posts

Dear all sifu,

Got one question for OCBC FD

Let say i have 30k cash in my hand and 30k inside OCBC smart saver acc currently.

The 30k cash i only need it by next week , if i put my 30k cash into FD today and get the 4.2% for 12month and then i withdraw the 30k on my smart saver account on Friday ( 2 day after FD placement ), do i still enjoy the promotion rate for my FD?
Bonescythe
post May 6 2015, 03:13 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ May 6 2015, 02:56 PM)
Dear all sifu,

Let say i have 30k cash in my hand and 30k inside OCBC smart saver acc currently.

The 30k cash i only need it by next week , if i put my 30k cash into FD today and get the 4.2% for 12month and then i withdraw the 30k on my smart saver account on Friday ( 2 day after FD placement ), do i still enjoy the promotion rate for my FD?
u need to earmark it.. means cannot move
cybpsych
post May 6 2015, 05:39 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Dear all sifu,

which OCBC FD are you referring that offers 4.2% for 12-month tenure and need CASA?

from the list: http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...eal_general.pdf

4.2% p.a. for 12-month tenure is a straightforward FD (without CASA). The one with CASA requirement, only 4.5% p.a. for 3-month tenure.
sherlockms
post May 6 2015, 06:13 PM

206 posts

hi guys, one silly question here coz I'm new to FD.

Is it possible to apply for Unfixed Deposit with rate 4.2% promoted by CIMB Islamic at CIMB bank? My area only have CIMB,no Islamic.
kit2
post May 6 2015, 06:54 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 6 2015, 05:39 PM)
which OCBC FD are you referring that offers 4.2% for 12-month tenure and need CASA?

4.2% p.a. for 12-month tenure is a straightforward FD (without CASA). The one with CASA requirement, only 4.5% p.a. for 3-month tenure.
item 3.5, 180days + 180days.

i went to ocbc last week for 1 year FD, but was surprised to see the tenure of 360 days printed on the receipt.
cklimm
post May 6 2015, 06:55 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(sherlockms @ May 6 2015, 06:13 PM)
hi guys, one silly question here coz I'm new to FD.

Is it possible to apply for Unfixed Deposit with rate 4.2% promoted by CIMB Islamic at CIMB bank? My area only have CIMB,no Islamic.
yes, you can
gsc
post May 6 2015, 11:00 PM

1,624 posts

Dear all sifu,

if you withdraw your 30k from smart saver after placing 30k FD, the FD rate will not be affected as it has already stated the interest rate.

On the other hand, for smart saver account, as long as there is a withdrawal, the interest rate drop to negligible rate.
Dkck
post May 7 2015, 01:17 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 6 2015, 05:39 PM)

I choose the one with first 6 month 4 % , and next 6 month 4.4%. I only worry after I withdraw from smart saver my fund still consider as fresh or not .
Dkck
post May 7 2015, 01:18 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 6 2015, 11:00 PM)
if you withdraw your 30k from smart saver after placing 30k FD, the FD rate will not be affected as it has already stated the interest rate.

On the other hand, for smart saver account, as long as there is a withdrawal, the interest rate drop to negligible rate.
Thanks for the answer
cybpsych
post May 7 2015, 08:10 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ May 6 2015, 06:54 PM)
item 3.5, 180days + 180days.

i went to ocbc last week for 1 year FD, but was surprised to see the tenure of 360 days printed on the receipt.
but the 6+6 month is straightforward FD, no CASA required?
wil-i-am
post May 7 2015, 08:23 AM

10,001 posts

Malaysia's Bank Negara may keep rates steady, says poll
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...eady/?style=biz
smas
post May 7 2015, 01:32 PM

343 posts

All,

I went to bank yesterday to deposit my FD and was told to open a FD account since I don't have one. The counter was closed after account opened and bank officer explained to me that they will deposit my banker cheque to the account the next day (today), and I'll be able to collect the FD cert today (there is no slip/proof received yesterday). Since it is a banker cheque with my name and IC, I think it should be fine to leave it there.

But I started to feel a little bit insecure today when I woke up since it is a banker cheque but not personal cheque that withdrawn from current account, and I didnt received any proof on the spot. Bank officer called me moment ago and said that I can collect the cert already.

My question is:
What are the things that I need to check to ensure the amount in banker cheque is fully deposited into FD account? just check on the slip, amount, rate?

Sorry for the lousy question here, this is my first paper FD. All the while was using eFD.
Human Nature
post May 7 2015, 01:58 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

QUOTE(smas @ May 7 2015, 01:32 PM)
All,

I went to bank yesterday to deposit my FD and was told to open a FD account since I don't have one. The counter was closed after account opened and bank officer explained to me that they will deposit my banker cheque to the account the next day (today), and I'll be able to collect the FD cert today (there is no slip/proof received yesterday). Since it is a banker cheque with my name and IC, I think it should be fine to leave it there.

But I started to feel a little bit insecure today when I woke up since it is a banker cheque but not personal cheque that withdrawn from current account, and I didnt received any proof on the spot. Bank officer called me moment ago and said that I can collect the cert already.

My question is:
What are the things that I need to check to ensure the amount in banker cheque is fully deposited into FD account? just check on the slip, amount, rate?

Sorry for the lousy question here, this is my first paper FD. All the while was using eFD.
Just check whether the $ in the FD cert is the same as the $ in your bankers' cheque. Also check details like name, IC, tenure, interest rate, starting date and the standing instruction (renewal at maturity method).
gsc
post May 7 2015, 02:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(smas @ May 7 2015, 01:32 PM)
All,

My question is:

Which bank did you go to? What time did you open the FD account?

For banker cheques almost all banks will consider as "immediate fund" and FD cert will be issued the same day.

Is the banker cheque written with your name? Then it can only deposit into your FD account.

Check the FD cert on the amount, date, rate and your name are correct.
smas
post May 7 2015, 02:11 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 7 2015, 02:03 PM)
Which bank did you go to? What time did you open the FD account?

For banker cheques almost all banks will consider as "immediate fund" and FD cert will be issued the same day.

Is the banker cheque written with your name? Then it can only deposit into your FD account.

Check the FD cert on the amount, date, rate and your name are correct.
My account was opened around 4.20pm and counter was closed at 4pm sharp, its not bank's fault in this case, as they explained to me that the counter will be closed soon and probably they will be able to deposit it the next day, and I'm agreed with it.

Yes, banker cheque with my name and IC, I withdraw it from saving acc from another bank and payable to myself.

Alright, will check on these details later when I collect it. Next time I won't do the same thing again, feel so insecure leaving banker cheque with someone since it's like carrying cash money.

Thanks for the explanation.

This post has been edited by smas: May 7 2015, 02:13 PM
smas
post May 7 2015, 02:14 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 7 2015, 01:58 PM)
Just check whether the $ in the FD cert is the same as the $ in your bankers' cheque. Also check details like name, IC, tenure, interest rate, starting date and the standing instruction (renewal at maturity method).
Alright noted on this. Thanks bro!
rockstar81
post May 7 2015, 04:05 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(smas @ May 7 2015, 02:11 PM)
My account was opened around 4.20pm and counter was closed at 4pm sharp, its not bank's fault in this case, as they explained to me that the counter will be closed soon and probably they will be able to deposit it the next day, and I'm agreed with it.

Yes, banker cheque with my name and IC, I withdraw it from saving acc from another bank and payable to myself.

Alright, will check on these details later when I collect it. Next time I won't do the same thing again, feel so insecure leaving banker cheque with someone since it's like carrying cash money.

Thanks for the explanation.
no need so insecure. there is always a money trail where the funds were deposited. The officer cant run away with your money.

135 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:12 PM