135 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

cklimm
post May 8 2015, 09:40 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ May 8 2015, 08:42 AM)
I heard KFH is looking for exit Msia market.
seriously? source pls
smas
post May 8 2015, 09:50 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 8 2015, 12:49 AM)
I saw alliance having promo
e-Alliance term deposit i.. 4.1% pa for 12 mths placement minimum 10k..

so i rentas from public bank..
Once receive.. put as per instructed...

then the online statement come out with rate = 3.3%

Why i so black kid one ??
Wow, I think this is the highestt eFD rate to date. I've checked in their website, this promo will last until 31 May 2015. How come yours with rate 3.3%?
Bonescythe
post May 8 2015, 09:51 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(smas @ May 8 2015, 09:50 AM)
Wow, I think this is the highestt eFD rate to date. I've checked in their website, this promo will last until 31 May 2015. How come yours with rate 3.3%?
That is why i also wonder..

I already send a message to enquire about it..
dEviLs
post May 8 2015, 10:23 AM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ May 8 2015, 09:40 AM)
seriously? source pls
reported in Bloomberg:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...sian-operations

Kuwait Finance House Said to Weigh Sale of Malaysian Operations

Kuwait Finance House KSC, the first foreign Islamic bank to operate in Malaysia, is weighing a sale of its operations in the Southeast Asian nation, people familiar with the matter said.

Kuwait Finance House is working with Credit Suisse Group AG to consider strategic alternatives for the Malaysian business, the people said, asking not to be identified as the process is private. The unit has a book value of 1.7 billion ringgit ($478 million), according to its 2014 annual report.

The possible disposal comes after Kuwait Finance House said in March it will focus on expansion in the Middle East and North Africa. Banks in the six-member Gulf Cooperation Council will increase total loans about 10 percent this year as they take advantage of the region’s strong growth prospects, ratings company Standard & Poor’s wrote in an Oct. 13 report.

A purchase would add to the $2.7 billion of bank acquisitions in Malaysia over the past five years, data compiled by Bloomberg show. In January, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd. scrapped an all-stock merger with RHB Capital Bhd. that would have valued its smaller rival at 1.44 times book value.

Net income at Kuwait Finance House (Malaysia) Bhd., which started operations in 2005, fell 5 percent last year to 92.8 million ringgit while its parent increased profit 9.1 percent over the same period. Representatives for Kuwait Finance House didn’t immediately respond to phone calls and an e-mail seeking comment.

The Malaysian unit had total assets of 10.5 billion ringgit at the end of December, the annual report shows. Its operations include retail and commercial banking, home financing, corporate advisory, asset management and an arm operating in the offshore financial center of Labuan.
cklimm
post May 8 2015, 02:36 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ May 8 2015, 10:23 AM)
reported in Bloomberg:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...sian-operations

Kuwait Finance House Said to Weigh Sale of Malaysian Operations
So, if they leave Malaysia without someone take over their business, what will happen to our deposits?
nexona88
post May 8 2015, 03:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ May 8 2015, 02:36 PM)
So, if they leave Malaysia without someone take over their business, what will happen to our deposits?
don't worry icon_rolleyes.gif

MBSB eyeing KFH Malaysia in bid to become full-fledged Islamic bank
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...bank/?style=biz

later your deposits come under MBSB smile.gif
kenny84
post May 8 2015, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(gsc @ May 5 2015, 11:54 PM)
No CASA. Straight FD Islamic account. I just placed my FD today.

rentas is RM5.30. Counter staff said after 12 noon, if IBG the fund will only available the next day. Can anyone verify this? Thank you
Thanks GSC. I also already put my FD today. OCBC customer service also great. I put 1 year and therefore, worry free already this year. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
joeaverage
post May 8 2015, 04:29 PM

277 posts

If i am looking for FD for a year (12months) and if the promo from some banks e.g. UOB, CIMB and OCBC are all the same - the effective rate of 4.2% for a year - what are the considerations to pick btw them.

I know that these banks got certain elements to the promo - break down the interests rate (OCBC) or unfixed (CIMB) - but lets say i confirm keeping it for 12 months and I am only concerned abt the effective rate.

Is it just about the location/accessibility?
cklimm
post May 8 2015, 04:46 PM

2,337 posts

MACH by HONG LEONG
6 months-3.85%pa
9 months-4.00%pa

smas
post May 8 2015, 05:12 PM

343 posts

Seems like banks are fighting for deposits, possible to see 5% pa soon? drool.gif

This post has been edited by smas: May 8 2015, 05:12 PM
McFD2R
post May 8 2015, 05:44 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(joeaverage @ May 8 2015, 04:29 PM)
If i am looking for FD for a year (12months) and if the promo from some banks e.g. UOB, CIMB and OCBC are all the same - the effective rate of 4.2% for a year - what are the considerations to pick btw them.

I know that these banks got certain elements to the promo - break down the interests rate (OCBC) or unfixed (CIMB) - but lets say i confirm keeping it for 12 months and I am only concerned abt the effective rate.

One area you may look at is whether the interest is given to you on a 6 mths basis or not. If it is, you won't have to wait till the end of 12 months for some of the intetesr. Maybe not because you need the money, but because the money given to you at the 6 months period can be reuse to further invest it.

RM100k @ 4%pa will give you RM2k after 6 months. May not seem like much, but hey money is money cool2.gif
Johore
post May 8 2015, 05:47 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 6 2015, 05:39 PM)
The one with CASA requirement, only 4.5% p.a. for 3-month tenure.
whut is the disadvantage for this 3month OCBC? notworthy.gif
cybpsych
post May 8 2015, 07:03 PM

---------------------
65,295 posts

QUOTE(Johore @ May 8 2015, 05:47 PM)
whut is the disadvantage for this 3month OCBC?  notworthy.gif
u need equal amount earmarked in CASA, which gives low interest. might as well use this amount on other FDs instead smile.gif
cybpsych
post May 8 2015, 07:16 PM

---------------------
65,295 posts

Maybank Fixed Deposit (FD) JOY 2 (2 Months) Campaign
5 May 2015 - 31 May 2015

1st month @ 3.50% p.a. | 2nd month @ 4.00% p.a | effective rate 3.75% p.a. | minimum fresh deposit of RM25k (individual)

More info: Maybank | T&Cs

cybpsych
post May 8 2015, 07:52 PM

---------------------
65,295 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ May 8 2015, 04:46 PM)
MACH by HONG LEONG
6 months-3.85%pa
9 months-4.00%pa
Thanks! thumbup.gif

Promotion Period: 9 May 2015 - 31 July 2015
Minimum Placement: RM1,000

More info: Mach by HLB | Terms & Conditions

This post has been edited by cybpsych: May 8 2015, 07:52 PM
gsc
post May 9 2015, 12:01 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(joeaverage @ May 8 2015, 04:29 PM)

1) Fee charge for IBG or Rentas since we are playing musical chair.
2) Location especially if plan to withdraw as cash...prefer with car park within bank compound.
3) speed of service. Dont like bank with long waiting and processing time
4) limit on PIDM
joeaverage
post May 9 2015, 01:16 AM

277 posts

[double post]

This post has been edited by joeaverage: May 9 2015, 01:19 AM
joeaverage
post May 9 2015, 01:19 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ May 8 2015, 05:44 PM)
One area you may look at is whether the interest is given to you on a 6 mths basis or not. If it is, you won't have to wait till the end of 12 months for some of the intetesr. Maybe not because you need the money, but because the money given to you at the 6 months period can be reuse to further invest it.

RM100k @ 4%pa will give you RM2k after 6 months. May not seem like much, but hey money is money  cool2.gif
QUOTE(gsc @ May 9 2015, 12:01 AM)
1) Fee charge for IBG or Rentas since we are playing musical chair.
2) Location especially if plan to withdraw as cash...prefer with car park within bank compound.
3) speed of service. Dont like bank with long waiting and processing time
4) limit on PIDM
Thanks. good point to consider!
CP88
post May 9 2015, 11:18 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 8 2015, 12:49 AM)
I saw alliance having promo
e-Alliance term deposit i.. 4.1% pa for 12 mths placement minimum 10k..

so i rentas from public bank..
Once receive.. put as per instructed...

then the online statement come out with rate = 3.3%

Why i so black kid one ??
Bones switching to FD's. Expecting a slowdown on BURSA? brows.gif
Bonescythe
post May 9 2015, 01:48 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 9 2015, 11:18 AM)
Bones switching to FD's. Expecting a slowdown on BURSA?  brows.gif
Kikiki.