146 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.

vampireangel1984
post Mar 10 2016, 03:10 PM

146 posts

Hi nachtsider,

Want to ask if there is any heibai Wuchang temples in kl or PJ area..nothing to ask, just want to go pai pai only..

Thanks in advance sir
SUSredisthcan
post Mar 12 2016, 12:09 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(vampireangel1984 @ Mar 10 2016, 03:10 PM)
Hi nachtsider,

Want to ask if there is any heibai Wuchang temples in kl or PJ area..nothing to ask, just want to go pai pai only..

Thanks in advance sir
Hei Bai Wu Chang are Hokkien deities first and foremost, and you are not likely to find them being worshipped in Cantonese majority areas like KL.

People may tell you about a certain temple in Brickfields, but this place is run by fake mediums and you should never go there.

Come over to Klang; you'll have more luck here.
SUSredisthcan
post Mar 23 2016, 11:45 AM

403 posts

Bump for Tua Li Ya Pek showing up at a wedding.

http://news.sinchew.com.my/node/470856

The bride Ms Yi and groom Mr Huang are from Segamat in Johor, and they are long time devotees/godchildren of Tua Li Ya Pek.

With the aid of two mediums from a local temple called the Niang San Gong, they invited their godfathers to their wedding to seek their blessing for the union, and to thank their godfathers for the protection they have received all these years.

Tua Li Ya Pek toasted the couple and handed out ang paos to the guests, rivaling the couple themselves as the focus of attention.

SUSredisthcan
post Mar 23 2016, 11:46 AM

403 posts

Relevant video:

audreyreiko
post Mar 23 2016, 06:09 PM

446 posts

Wow, it must be a very unique experience! So long as the couple no pantang and the parents no pantang?
SUSredisthcan
post Mar 23 2016, 07:04 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(audreyreiko @ Mar 23 2016, 06:09 PM)
Wow, it must be a very unique experience! So long as the couple no pantang and the parents no pantang?
Don't see what there is to be pantang about.
Cheese00
post Mar 24 2016, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Mar 12 2016, 12:09 PM)
Hei Bai Wu Chang are Hokkien deities first and foremost, and you are not likely to find them being worshipped in Cantonese majority areas like KL.

People may tell you about a certain temple in Brickfields, but this place is run by fake mediums and you should never go there.

Come over to Klang; you'll have more luck here.
So got any famous Heibaiwuchang temple at klang to recommend? Thinking to go bai bai also.
SUSredisthcan
post Mar 27 2016, 05:14 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Cheese00 @ Mar 24 2016, 05:25 PM)
So got any famous Heibaiwuchang temple at klang to recommend? Thinking to go bai bai also.
Here's one that I suggested a while back.

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Nov 21 2015, 09:09 AM)
There is this one temple known as the Hall of Sevenfold Jade/七玉殿. It is one of the few temples in my hometown of Klang dedicated exclusively to the Hell deities, boasting the all-merciful Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva in the main hall, and a special air-conditioned, cave-like basement room where the Black and White Brothers and other lesser but more fearsome Hell beings reside.

You can visit them at 4, Jalan Cox, 41300 Klang; they hold consults on Saturday nights at 9:30 p.m or thereabouts. The temple is admittedly somewhat difficult to find, being off the beaten track; it is located down by the river bank near the Fairy Park funeral parlour, close to Wisma TLT and the old Pawagam Sri Intan.

SUSredisthcan
post Mar 27 2016, 05:15 PM

403 posts

Bidding Guan Yin a blessed feast day. notworthy.gif

SUSredisthcan
post Mar 31 2016, 09:45 AM

403 posts

Some lovely pictures from the Johor branch of Singapore's Hu Song Dian, a prominent sintua that features Hell deities, including the Hell paymaster Uncle Moneybags/Bao Bei Ye, whom I spoke about earlier in the thread (they were one of the first ever sintuas to feature him).

You can visit them at 10/3, Jalan Pontian Besar Kiri, Kampung Melayu, 82000 Pontian, Johor.

SUSredisthcan
post Apr 4 2016, 10:28 AM

403 posts

Just a reminder: I run two Facebook discussion groups on Chinese gods.

One dedicated to Heavenly gods...

https://www.facebook.com/groups/fazhugong/

... and the other dedicated to Hell deities.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/tualiyapek/

Feel free to sign up and join in the banter. smile.gif
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 6 2016, 07:36 AM

403 posts

itekderp
post Apr 6 2016, 07:59 AM

674 posts

This is fascinating stuff.
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 6 2016, 01:09 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Apr 6 2016, 07:59 AM)
This is fascinating stuff.
Haven't seen any new faces here in a while.

Do stick around and feel free to talk about the subject.

I welcome any and all questions. smile.gif
estcin
post Apr 6 2016, 03:22 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 6 2016, 07:36 AM)
Is it a valid currency for the underworld? I heard before some denominations that are too big i.e. $1 million or $1 billion is not valid down there. Better to burn smaller denominations
yeeck
post Apr 6 2016, 04:47 PM

3,572 posts

I just saw a video on facebook of sexy girls doing some modern dance in front of some family's ancestor grave during QingMing visit. Since when has QingMing become like the 7th month? LOL
yeeck
post Apr 6 2016, 04:48 PM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 6 2016, 07:36 AM)

Maybe meant for the Korean dead.....note the Korean characters...hahaha
JunJun04035
post Apr 6 2016, 05:11 PM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Apr 6 2016, 04:47 PM)
I just saw a video on facebook of sexy girls doing some modern dance in front of some family's ancestor grave during QingMing visit. Since when has QingMing become like the 7th month? LOL
To put in to context, both of the prayer are dedicated to the deceased.

And we are often taught to bring some of the deceased one's favourite items, that's why we saw teddy bear, kit kat, iphone even Ducatti Superbike.

So if my taikor love hot dance, why not eh? hmm.gif
94brian
post Apr 6 2016, 07:20 PM

403 posts

wah ts seem like know alot,altho im not a believer,but its a cool culture...more like a culture than a religion to me...
im cina btw,hehe

and ts,what do you think about now day people like to burn paper 'iphone,modern world stuff'? is that legit?
gold and silver paper is acceptable,but these iphone stuff are so fake in my opinion.

This post has been edited by 94brian: Apr 6 2016, 07:23 PM
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 6 2016, 09:28 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Apr 6 2016, 03:22 PM)
Is it a valid currency for the underworld? I heard before some denominations that are too big i.e.  $1 million or $1 billion is not valid down there. Better to burn smaller denominations
Traditional incense paper is the only universally accepted legal tender for the Netherworld.

Some Hell deities will not accept more the modern varieties of Hell money, which resemble human bank notes.

The denominations mean nothing; inflation is not a problem that applies in the Netherworld.

146 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:00 PM