146 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

The Official Lowyat.NET Sintua Thread, A thread on Chinese folk religion.

SUSredisthcan
post Apr 15 2016, 12:44 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Apr 15 2016, 08:30 AM)
Such a great read, Natch! Really appreciate such well written posts. And I'm amazed that you can convey your messages in such a neutral but also positive manner. Loving it! biggrin.gif

Not sure if this is relevant to Sintua (probably not, more towards occult stuff), basically when I was really young, my sis/mom said I was befriending "something" bad because they found me waking up in the middle of the night, for idk how many days/weeks, crying/ screaming and running around as if I was being chased by something. I even drew that thing on a piece of paper because my sis asked me about the thing that chased me. So, they brought me to a chinese temple, bathed me in something idk and my nightmares kinda stopped after that I guess. To be honest, I have no recollection of whatsover demons/ spirits chasing me until my family told me about it. 
Sorry if this is poorly conveyed because I had no idea what was going on either. I just hope that there's no adverse effect from ritual they did to me at the temple.
Welcome to the sintua thread, Berry, and thank you for your compliments; please feel free to stick around and discuss the topic. I heartily encourage questions and comments of all kinds. Your story definitely counts as sintua related, given the fact that a Chinese temple and relevant rituals were involved. biggrin.gif

Well, the procedure helped, didn't it? You weren't bothered ever again by whatever it was that was bothering you. I wouldn't be worried about adverse effects from what was obviously a beneficial course of action. Sure would love to see the drawing you made at the time, though! hmm.gif
happy_berry
post Apr 15 2016, 06:45 PM

2,465 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 15 2016, 12:44 PM)
Welcome to the sintua thread, Berry, and thank you for your compliments; please feel free to stick around and discuss the topic. I heartily encourage questions and comments of all kinds. Your story definitely counts as sintua related, given the fact that a Chinese temple and relevant rituals were involved. biggrin.gif

Well, the procedure helped, didn't it? You weren't bothered ever again by whatever it was that was bothering you. I wouldn't be worried about adverse effects from what was obviously a beneficial course of action. Sure would love to see the drawing you made at the time, though!  hmm.gif
I was told that the people from the temple burned the drawing. It definitely helped I guess, but I was just wondering (and a bit paranoid) if I needed to pay back whatever/ whoever that had helped me... hmm.gif Does Sintua have its own exorcism ritual or just rituals with regards to chasing away bad spirits? Does it take a supernatural being to chase away another supernatural being from haunting someone?

This post has been edited by happy_berry: Apr 15 2016, 06:46 PM
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 15 2016, 07:48 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Apr 15 2016, 06:45 PM)
I was told that the people from the temple burned the drawing. It definitely helped I guess, but I was just wondering (and a bit paranoid) if I needed to pay back whatever/ whoever that had helped me...  hmm.gif   Does Sintua have its own exorcism ritual or just rituals with regards to chasing away bad spirits? Does it take a supernatural being to chase away another supernatural being from haunting someone?
A shame. It isn't every day a first-hand witness to the possible manifestation of a supernatural creature manages to sketch out the being's appearance in any detail. Oh, well; if burning the drawing was an instrumental part of the ritual, then I suppose it was all for the best.

Your question on payback is one that a surprisingly high number of people ask me, for some odd reason. Let me make it known that Chinese folk religion deities are 'lawful good' in terms of their alignment; they are altruistic and do not expect payment of any kind for assistance that they render, although it is always polite to show your gratitude whenever you receive help from them.

Exorcism rites vary depending on the deity in whose name the rites are performed. Yes, it usually takes a supernatural being, or at least someone possessing supernatural powers, in order to banish a harmful haunter.

This post has been edited by nachtsider: Apr 15 2016, 07:48 PM
zozzle
post Apr 16 2016, 07:38 PM

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 15 2016, 07:48 PM)
A shame. It isn't every day a first-hand witness to the possible manifestation of a supernatural creature manages to sketch out the being's appearance in any detail. Oh, well; if burning the drawing was an instrumental part of the ritual, then I suppose it was all for the best.

Your question on payback is one that a surprisingly high number of people ask me, for some odd reason. Let me make it known that Chinese folk religion deities are 'lawful good' in terms of their alignment; they are altruistic and do not expect payment of any kind for assistance that they render, although it is always polite to show your gratitude whenever you receive help from them.

Exorcism rites vary depending on the deity in whose name the rites are performed. Yes, it usually takes a supernatural being, or at least someone possessing supernatural powers, in order to banish a harmful haunter.
sorry hijack thread a bit

nactsider, can i pray to guanyin after 6pm ? or should i do it during the day only?
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 16 2016, 09:44 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(zozzle @ Apr 16 2016, 07:38 PM)
sorry hijack thread a bit

nactsider, can i pray to guanyin after 6pm ? or should i do it during the day only?
There are no time restrictions where it comes to praying.
zozzle
post Apr 17 2016, 02:33 AM

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 16 2016, 09:44 PM)
There are no time restrictions where it comes to praying.
thank you for your reply!
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 18 2016, 08:52 PM

403 posts

Bump for the resting places of Hell deities.

Starbucki
post Apr 18 2016, 09:58 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 18 2016, 08:52 PM)

What's the story behind this pic?
yeeck
post Apr 18 2016, 10:40 PM

3,572 posts

What's inside the coffins?
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 18 2016, 10:45 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Apr 18 2016, 10:40 PM)
What's inside the coffins?
Plenty of graveyard soil and a handful of ritual items used as anchor objects (paper talismans inscribed with the names of the occupant Hell deities, plus specially blessed coins, lengths of string or abacus beads).
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 18 2016, 10:46 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Apr 18 2016, 09:58 PM)
What's the story behind this pic?
A story that has already been told, but is certainly worth telling again. smile.gif

QUOTE(nachtsider @ May 16 2015, 08:21 AM)
What is the purpose behind the miniature coffins that accompany the statues of Hell beings?

Earlier in the thread, I spoke about ghosts and anchor objects - objects that they can draw power from or use to help themselves manifest:
This brings us to the subject of the miniature coffins that can often be seen accompanying the statues of Hell deities, invariably those of a ghostly nature like the Black and White Brothers, the Filial Son, Ox-Head and Horse-Face, the Five Ghosties and so on.

These ideally accompany the statues on a one-coffin-to-one-statue basis, although some arrangements place the coffins separate from the statues, and certain small or low-budget layouts have several Hell deities sharing a single large coffin.

These serve as anchor objects for the Hell deities, permitting them to manifest extra-quick and extra-easy in the vicinity of wherever such coffins are placed. They also provide the Hell deities with comfy havens to rest and restore their energy, similar to how Dracula and others of his kind required a coffin or earth box to recuperate after a night of hunting.

Within each coffin can be found a folded talisman bearing the name of the Hell deity to whom the coffin is assigned (multiple talismans if the coffin is shared), certain ritual items that energise the coffin, such as specially blessed coins or gold ingots (a symbol of the Hell beings' capability to reward the deserving), lengths or spools of thread (signifying the Thread of Life, a measure of human lifespan that the Hell beings hold sway over, similar to that spun by the Greek Fates) or abacus beads (the Hell beings use abacuses to calculate human merits, demerits and so on), plus a lining material to provide the Hell deity a comfortable 'bed' to rest on. In the old days, soil from the graveyard would constitute this lining material - cemetery soil is a potent Hell-related ritual tool, being the soil that is most imbued with the aura of death, and also the soil that is most fertile - although these days, things are often bowdlerised with the usage of rice grains or sugar instead.

The photos below illustrate a medium consecrating a miniature coffin, blessing the intended contents before placing them within, upon a layer of rice grains.

dp82
post Apr 19 2016, 11:38 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 18 2016, 08:52 PM)

Din know they rest in a coffin..
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 20 2016, 08:06 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Apr 19 2016, 11:38 PM)
Din know they rest in a coffin..
They are ghosts, so it's only natural that they do.
JunJun04035
post Apr 20 2016, 09:25 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 20 2016, 08:06 AM)
Some temple held praying night that allow their follower to take a quick lay inside the coffin for various purpose.
True?
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 20 2016, 11:19 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Apr 20 2016, 09:25 AM)
Some temple held praying night that allow their follower to take a quick lay inside the coffin for various purpose.
True?
There is only one purpose for lying down in a ritual coffin; I have reposted this below.

The coffins used for these rites are NOT those used as current resting places by Hell deities.

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Nov 21 2015, 02:43 PM)
What is the 'Sheng Guan Fa Cai' ritual?

The phrase 'sheng guan fa cai'/升官发财 means 'to attain promotion/officialdom and reap wealth' - in other words, to succeed in life.

The Chinese word for 'coffin', 'guan cai'/棺材, is a homonym with the 'promotion/officialdom' and 'wealth' words of the above phrase ('guan cai'/官财).

It is in this pun that the 'Sheng Guan Fa Cai' ritual, associated with and performed exclusively by Chinese Hell deities, was born.

This ritual involves a down-on-their-luck supplicant lying inside a special coffin that has previously been occupied by a Hell deity and imbued with his spiritual energy, in order for the supplicant to absorb this and be rid of negative influences, so that his or her lot in life may improve.

Some very impressive results have been obtained via this delightfully morbid ritual, although given that a Hell deity's spiritual energy is not something everyone can withstand, it is not for everyone.

JunJun04035
post Apr 20 2016, 11:28 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 20 2016, 11:19 AM)
There is only one purpose for lying down in a ritual coffin; I have reposted this below.

The coffins used for these rites are NOT those used as current resting places by Hell deities.
Seems like i missed that part of your article

thanks for the clarification rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
yeeck
post Apr 20 2016, 11:46 AM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Apr 20 2016, 08:06 AM)
So what's the difference between ghosts and deities?
kingkongmonkey
post Apr 20 2016, 03:40 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(nachtsider @ Mar 27 2016, 05:14 PM)
Here's one that I suggested a while back.
wow..finally finish.
the temple u mentioned located near the old klang bus station.
i never know there's this temple there.
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 20 2016, 04:12 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Apr 20 2016, 11:46 AM)
So what's the difference between ghosts and deities?
Spiritual makeup/composition and level of cultivation.
SUSredisthcan
post Apr 20 2016, 04:22 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(kingkongmonkey @ Apr 20 2016, 03:40 PM)
wow..finally finish.
the temple u mentioned located near the old klang bus station.
i never know there's this temple there.
The temple has been around since the early 1970s.

It's a hidden gem in every sense of the phrase.

146 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:12 PM