Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

Emiya Shirou
post Nov 1 2015, 10:43 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Nov 1 2015, 10:18 AM)
Lepai, NAD 3020i, Marantz PM6005, Class D Audio SDS-400C, i stop searching amp now laugh.gif
haha, after finding a suitable amp...

maybe u can try borrow a second hand not so bad UK plug power cord such as furutech or wireworld under RM300

but dun go into power conditioning, active or passive, even power strip... it's a part that i wasted many money on and i deem it's better hand off...
Skylinestar
post Nov 1 2015, 11:19 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Nov 1 2015, 12:53 AM)
Marantz and Denon are like brother right?  brows.gif
As I remember it was like 2 years old model right? X4k already has atmos?
denon has more powerful amp. marantz has hdam and more musical. both are bro-sis company.
2 years ago = x4000. 1 year ago = x4100. this year = x4200.
wingwp
post Nov 1 2015, 11:26 AM

639 posts

hi.. i hv an old Marantz sr3001, is it stil good to use?

i dont find much info on Google..
ktek
post Nov 1 2015, 04:53 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Nov 1 2015, 11:26 AM)
hi.. i hv an old Marantz sr3001, is it stil good to use?

i dont find much info on Google..
take a photo show here
Dennos
post Nov 3 2015, 03:59 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Oct 31 2015, 09:14 PM)
haha, trap into hifi long ady laugh.gif
Bro,
can give some review of your Marantz with Wharfedale 122. Plan to get Wharfedale 122 from Lazada offer ...

wim1983
post Nov 3 2015, 09:09 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Nov 3 2015, 04:59 PM)
Bro,
can give some review of your Marantz with Wharfedale 122. Plan to get Wharfedale 122 from Lazada offer ...

Something like Marantz PM6005 + Wharfedale Diamond 122 consider entry level listening, if with decent recording consider mid-fi, if you give more power to the Diamond 122, you can crank loud and get better dynamic, but then the weakness is on the tweeter part, sound considered not very refine enough and will be a bit harsh even at higher volume, but can say good for normal music listening, though also depend what kind of music you mostly listen to, Marantz considered neutral amp, with musical touch, and excellent feature on the amp too, I believe Marantz PM8005 should be a better amp at more cost
TSchanhin
post Dec 4 2015, 12:59 AM

1,615 posts

Feeling to have a marantz cd player to match the looks of maranrz amp. Anyone selling thier cd5004 or cd6005?
everclear
post Dec 15 2015, 07:15 AM

73 posts

Hi sifu's I'm an absolute newbie who just wanted to get an entry level hifi set. I care more about music and couldn't care less about the boom and bang while watching movies. This is what I've set my eyes on:
Bowers & Wilkins 685 S2
Marantz PM + CD 6005
Would there be any major fallback with this set up?
I am also not sure if I want to use CD as my main source but I don't know what I can get if I have more digital source. Thanks in advance!
ktek
post Dec 15 2015, 08:25 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(everclear @ Dec 15 2015, 07:15 AM)
Hi sifu's I'm an absolute newbie who just wanted to get an entry level hifi set. I care more about music and couldn't care less about the boom and bang while watching movies. This is what I've set my eyes on:
Bowers & Wilkins 685 S2
Marantz PM + CD 6005
I am also not sure if I want to use CD as my main source but I don't know what I can get if I have more digital source. Thanks in advance!
demo 685 s2 first, it make the most difference, where u get excellence music with bang & boom movie too
pm6005 can adjust eq

got spfif coaxial & optical & many rca input
TSchanhin
post Dec 15 2015, 10:34 PM

1,615 posts

Bowers & Wilkins 685 S2
Marantz PM + CD 6005
This is an excellent suggestion of setup.

If you have more digital source, worry not. The PM6005 can take coaxis and optical input.

If you have extra cash, the PM7005 even take USB in with the high resolution DSD~

While for CD6005, I do like the player... it play 50% of my collecitons very nice. However, SA8005 carry more weight in the voices, which is especially important when your source is audiophone CD. With SA8005, I like 80% of my music.
everclear
post Dec 16 2015, 09:28 AM

73 posts

Thank you for your feedback. They're helpful yet reassuring.

Thanks to you now I am aware that there's a PM7005 out there with USB-DAC functionality and offers more juice (60W vs 45W from the PM6005).

Given that I do not have a CD collection to begin with. It might actually be more sensible to drop the CD player and go for PM7005 directly with the money.

This will pose a new set of questions for me:
1.) The price for PM7005 I found online is RM 5300. Where would you recommend me to pick up a unit for more reasonable price? (Amazon US sells PM6005 and PM7005 for USD 700 and 1k respectively).
2.) It's a USB-B port as opposed to USB-A. Can it play directly from portable HDD? (I don't plan to connect my laptop/PC to it in the living room.) If it can then I can drop the CD player entirely I guess.

Thanks again!

This post has been edited by everclear: Dec 16 2015, 09:51 AM
ktek
post Dec 16 2015, 10:39 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

integrated amp dont have file manager, cannot communicate with portable disk.

instead of cd receiver, u can buy network streamer NA6005 or similar that has usb type A port as well

myself i prefer small setup like marantz mcr610 & denon ceol series, given your choice of speaker 685 s2 is no problem to drive.

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 16 2015, 10:45 AM
dirtrun
post Dec 16 2015, 10:55 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(everclear @ Dec 16 2015, 09:28 AM)

Thanks to you now I am aware that there's a PM7005 out there with USB-DAC functionality and offers more juice (60W vs 45W from the PM6005).

Given that I do not have a CD collection to begin with. It might actually be more sensible to drop the CD player and go for PM7005 directly with the money.

1.) The price for PM7005 I found online is RM 5300. Where would you recommend me to pick up a unit for more reasonable price? (Amazon US sells PM6005 and PM7005 for USD 700 and 1k respectively)
2.) It's a USB-B port as opposed to USB-A. Can it play directly from portable HDD? (I don't plan to connect my laptop/PC to it in the living room.) If it can then I can drop the CD player entirely I guess.

Thanks again!
I suggest Sgp [Alpha Audio] ..
I checked n its cheaper there..
Since u brought up AMZ.. They dont ship e-gear to Mal, directly, anyway.. besides, if u are unlucky n get inspected, they'll put up all sorts of red-tape [like sirim cert n all tat crap..]

Cheers
D
bad2928
post Dec 16 2015, 03:02 PM

628 posts

Bowers & Wilkins 685 S2
Marantz PM + CD 6005
yamaha A-S801 cheaper and better i guest from PM7005
TSchanhin
post Dec 16 2015, 04:46 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(everclear @ Dec 16 2015, 09:28 AM)

1.) The price for PM7005 I found online is RM 5300. Where would you recommend me to pick up a unit for more reasonable price? (Amazon US sells PM6005 and PM7005 for USD 700 and 1k respectively).

Thanks again!
Some useful PM7005 info;

(1) Use media player (HDD) + PM7005 coaxis interface gave good results. I played my favourite audiophine titles that ripped from original CD (16 bit 44.1kHz) and are good
(2) Use media player (HDD) + PM7005 optical interface gave terrible results. In movies maybe not so obvious (depends on your ears). But playing audiophine wave files is a big no-no. Already changed optical cables also same. Different media player has different results, but all fail on the name of audiophine quality. You should sense something is terribly wrong within 1 minute.
(3) Use media player (HDD) + PM7005 USB = no such solution
(4) USB HDD + PM7005 = no such solution
(5) Use laptop + PM7005 USB = Very good results. Cannot detect any issue at all. It sounds to me that unpopular DSD 2.8 or 5.6 sound more natural than the very popular audio CD.

Well, it is just some of my personal findings. Do hope it helps on your decision making.

Skylinestar
post Dec 17 2015, 12:23 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

although coax and optical are both digital, it has been tested many times that they can sound different.
everclear
post Dec 17 2015, 10:45 AM

73 posts

Thank you all so much for giving me your thoughts and sharing with me your experience.

I looked through the suggestions and did a bit of research. Given that my main source would most likely be digital. The most appealing choice is PM6005 with NA6005 and play my CD through my cheapo Sony DVD player occasionally. However the NA player is so new I can't find its price locally yet. The next option would be to replace the NA player with CD6005 and plug in my iPad via USB-A most of the time. Not so ideal.

PM7005 would be even better if I can source it locally and if it does not cost me >RM 3,000 but that's not the case. I feel it's marked up beyond proportion when compared to their prices in UK/US so I am taken aback.

Next is C-MR610 which I happen to like a lot too in terms of the all-in-one system concept. However I found out that there's a updated C-MR611 which hasn't reached our shore. It's great that I do not need a separate amp + I get both the media AND CD player at the same time (super love), so this saves me some money although at the cost of sound quality (is this true? Got this from reading other forums) and lower wattage. I would seriously consider getting the C-MR611 but review rated it's sound quality below C-MR610 although it's now packed with more features.

This comes back to where I started. The most ideal combination now is PM6005 + NA6005 given that I can source the latter locally. Otherwise I'd have to consider tha CD6005.

Thank you guys for giving me ideas and pointing me in the right direction. Really really, thank you all very much.

This post has been edited by everclear: Dec 17 2015, 10:53 AM

sonerin
post Dec 17 2015, 02:28 PM

8,739 posts

Is almost no chance to source Marantz locally as the distributor is gone from Malaysia
TSchanhin
post Dec 17 2015, 03:29 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 17 2015, 02:28 PM)
Is almost no chance to source Marantz locally as the distributor is gone from Malaysia
I heard next year the distributor will be officially assigned. And higher end Marantz will be reasonable this time.

I guess Marantz HQ had done the right decision this time.
sonerin
post Dec 17 2015, 03:34 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Dec 17 2015, 03:29 PM)
I heard next year the distributor will be officially assigned. And higher end Marantz will be reasonable this time.

I guess Marantz HQ had done the right decision this time.
Depend if there is anyone willing to take up the distributorship as the cost is over 10 million.

66 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:10 AM