11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

TSchanhin
post Dec 8 2014, 06:09 PM, updated 4y ago

1,615 posts

Personally I always recommend my friends Marantz amp as I think it give very high value for money. While for budget stereo amp, IMO, there are no competitions to Marantz.

Today, I just got my 2nd unit of PM6005. Now I have 3 Marantz amps at home~ rclxm9.gif tongue.gif

Marantz Owner List

Mini
===
MCR503 - ktek

AVR
===
SR4500 - ktek

SR5006 - ktek
SR5007 - supersound
SR5008 - fx20
SR5010 - chanhin
SR5010 - sakthis7

SR6003 - piscesguy
SR6003 - cmw_kwl_6923
SR6004 - toffeeman
SR6010 - Skylinestar
SR6011 - Skylinestar

SR7010 - spyderman88

AV8801 - WereWolf84
MM7055 - WereWolf84

Stereo Amp
=======
PM11s2 - limsze
PM KI Pearl Lite - limsze

PM8005 - bad2928 bryanyz
PM8005 - chanhin
PM6005 - barjoyai
PM6005 - chanhin (2 units thumbup.gif )
PM6005 - Topet
PM6005 - jeremy_yee
PM7001 - ktek
PM7003 - drkodiang
PM66SE KI - keithwwk

Player
====
SA8005 - keithwwk
CD6006 - SonGoku2 P
CD6005 - jeremy_yee
CD6004 - barjoyai
SA8003 - cmw_kwl_6923
CD6000KI - keithwwk
CD17mk3 - keithwwk

Streamer
======
NA11S1 - keithwwk
NA8005 - chanhin
NA6005 - brows.gif

Others
====
mcr-611 - ktek
mcr-610 - ktek
mcr-510 - ktek
HD-DAC1 - limsze

This post has been edited by chanhin: Oct 27 2022, 12:14 AM

TSchanhin
post Dec 8 2014, 11:26 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 8 2014, 09:51 PM)
im new kid in the club!

SR4500
SR5006
MCR503
So I am not the only one with 3 Marantz amp.... Hahahaha... Welcome to the club~ flex.gif

QUOTE(cba5566 @ Dec 8 2014, 10:59 PM)
Why bought 2 PM6005 int amp ?
Well, I love the PM6005 so much. Simple with built in DAC, less one equipment mean less one power plug and less messy interconnect cables.

To show how much I love it, I bought another one.... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(fx20 @ Dec 8 2014, 11:13 PM)
B1G1
I wish.... sweat.gif
TSchanhin
post Dec 9 2014, 09:12 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 9 2014, 09:58 AM)
I just use my old trusty AVR for stereo music.. smile.gif
Which model is that? SR6005?

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 9 2014, 02:11 PM)
Plan to get a unit of Marantz PM6005, which shop offer best price? Anybody?
There is a member bought 2 units here, you can ask him cool2.gif
TSchanhin
post Dec 11 2014, 11:32 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 11 2014, 03:19 PM)
Is Marantz cheaper than Denon?
Anyone knows the price for PM8005?
http://www.marantz.asia/ap/Products/Pages/...roductId=PM8005
it is a fantastic amp. But too bad local distributor and seller purposely mark up unreasonable margins due to greed.

In HK, Singapore etc, it is only about RM3.5k (as Malaysia ringgit dropping), but local shops want to sell more than RM5k. Something like Rm5.5k.

They are practising UXXX style. Suka you beli, tak suka go away. IMO, I will never support these greedy business culture and will insist to say no.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Dec 11 2014, 11:33 PM
TSchanhin
post Dec 13 2014, 01:10 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 12 2014, 01:25 AM)
So you bought your marantz from sg? Any custom tax when bringing it here? Or you got tactic  brows.gif ?
QUOTE(butt @ Dec 12 2014, 08:24 AM)
While there are many people who loves the Emotiva, my personal opinion is I just won't compare it against Marantz; Marantz is just on different level, but again that is my personal opinion.

Totally agreed with chanhin, local distributor marking up price too much.
Budget models like PM5004, PM5005 as well as PM6005 are reasonable priced, but not the higher end like PM8005. I wonder what will happen to PM7005 sweat.gif

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 12 2014, 01:28 PM)
I got the price that Marantz PM6005 is about MYR 2900, is that a good price?
I bought during KLIAV 2014 for RM1700. After that is RM1999 from Desa if I remember well.

RM2900 is certainly a no-no. This price can buy PM7005 already.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chanhin: Dec 13 2014, 01:11 AM
TSchanhin
post Dec 13 2014, 02:23 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Problem @ Dec 13 2014, 08:26 AM)
Curious, anyone owned the CD6005 CDP? Was thinking of getting one couple months back after my old Arcam CDP was giving way sad.gif
QUOTE(hardforum @ Dec 13 2014, 12:48 PM)
I bought one at Hi-way Laser to pair with my old ARCAM Alpha 7. It sounds warmer and fuller on my B&W DM601 speakers.
It seems CD6000 series always get 5 stars review from UK what's hifi
TSchanhin
post Dec 30 2014, 11:29 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Dec 29 2014, 11:10 AM)
Finally got my hands on 6005... A very very naise price was given to me by hiway laser...
Congratulation on the purchase.

If you are using the built in DAC, let it burn in for a week, then it will soften with smoother sound.

While for normal use, I found it take 30 to 40 minutes warm up time before it can shine. It also need certain volume to shine... While PM8005 lower volumn also chun.

It is why now I am thinking if I should place my PM6005 inside the cabinet to fasten the warm up time.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Dec 30 2014, 11:30 PM
TSchanhin
post Dec 31 2014, 11:12 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 31 2014, 02:44 PM)
Sorry to hijack this thread but I am curious to ask, why need to warm up first before it can shine ? Pm6005 is a solid amp right ? I thought only tube need warm up. Please correct me if I am wrong.
QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 31 2014, 03:26 PM)
maybe warm up (temperature) is not the correct term
QUOTE(fx20 @ Dec 31 2014, 03:58 PM)
Break-in?
QUOTE(sonerin @ Dec 31 2014, 04:13 PM)
Then again from his statement, it seems like each time use will have to wait for 30 mins or more before the sound is good.
QUOTE(fx20 @ Dec 31 2014, 05:13 PM)
If the differences are audible, I could say there must be something wrong with the amp.
Hahaha... I only know the outcome, but do not know why.

For most people, as soon as it power up is ok. It was also 'okay' to my ears... until you compare to the PM8005 (keep switching amp) and you can find the PM8005 low freq is very power (dunno what is the right words for it, but really love it). As comparison, the PM6005 clearly lost the low freq part to PM8005. But after a while (maybe 40 minutes), the PM6005 actually perform much better when it started and the minor flaws that I notice disappeared. I replay the same sound track again and again to confirm it.

Anyway, as I mention, most people cannot tell the very minor imperfection at low freq part when it is power up. The sound is fine... But over time (less than an hour), it will improve the mid to low freq with much better correct response. I admit it is not that easy to notice any issue until I actually have other amp (keep swithing) for some critical comparison (flaw findings purposes) before I put my hard earn $$$ on it.

Again, I love the PM6005 until bought 2 units. So far the only imperfection is lack of USB input cry.gif USB wil be really useful. As of now for USB purposes, I am using another DAC that come with USB. But still, personally I do not like having too many devices, too many cables as well as more AC plugs.

I did check, it seems the PM7005 (more power + USB input) yet to arrive in Malaysia. Anyone know when it arrive?

This post has been edited by chanhin: Dec 31 2014, 11:16 PM
TSchanhin
post Jan 1 2015, 09:55 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 1 2015, 09:46 AM)
happy new year!!
Just curious... Why not buy a TV cabinet? hmm.gif biggrin.gif
TSchanhin
post Jan 2 2015, 09:04 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 2 2015, 08:29 AM)
im not done with upgrade, yet. better spend on equipments rather than furniture haha...
btw, its inside my bedroom la
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSchanhin
post Jan 2 2015, 09:01 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jan 2 2015, 08:02 PM)
How you connect?  You using the internal dac?
I am using external DAC for USB purposes...

This is the only disappointment from PM6005 -> lack of USB
TSchanhin
post Jan 2 2015, 11:29 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(butt @ Jan 2 2015, 10:48 PM)
All Cirrus Logic CS4398 based chip or any particular model?
I personally think chip is only part of associated component before the final product, in which a good implementation of the chip will make a difference.
100% agreed here.
Comparison across chipset only valid when all parties are designing based on top notch quality circuit.

Btw, do you guys feel that Saber 9018 sound a bit fake with too much 'details'? I mean not natural and might be an issue for pro-long listening experiences.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Jan 2 2015, 11:30 PM
TSchanhin
post Jan 3 2015, 03:44 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jan 3 2015, 03:30 PM)
Actually, there is an article try to prove that playing music in 24bits 192khz is meaningless, hmm interesting.. hmm.gif
Not sure on stereo.

But I can clearly hear the differences between DTS and DTS HD as well as Dobly vs Dobly HD. The differences are only on the details.. All their volume are same on respective audio tracks.
TSchanhin
post Jan 10 2015, 12:24 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 9 2015, 07:43 PM)
There was a time thinking of jumping ship to Marantz AVR, but I still happy with my LX 56 and maybe stay with Pioneer after this. LX58 not in my mind right now because I have something else to consider, a second subwoofer maybe. Who knows right.hehehe..
LX series is great for movies. IMO, Marantz SR lost to LX for movies.
While for music, LX is.... kind of hopeless even if you pair it with great speakers sweat.gif

QUOTE(fx20 @ Jan 9 2015, 08:47 PM)
Upgrading to 6008 won't give you very significant improvement on the sound, and in fact your LX56 has more functions compared to former.

If you want differences, get a power amp.
Agreed. For movies, LX is better...

While for music, stay with stereo amp. It is the only formula that works. thumbup.gif
TSchanhin
post Feb 27 2015, 12:16 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Feb 26 2015, 05:15 PM)
Dear all gurus/ sifu,

noob question here,
i have a macbook pro mid 2012
LED TV
PS3

if i wanted to hook up a amp which can take the digital input/outputs which marantz can do that?

PM7005?

or PM 6005?? just curious how to hook all these up
Marantz generally has 2 series;
(1) AVR series for surround sound (many speakers), mainly for movies. Example: SR5008 / SR5009. It will work with laptop via HDMI.
(2) Stereo amp, which mainly for stereo sources such as music. Example: PM7005. It will work via USB. PM6005 will not work as no USB. Unless you willing to get external DAC for PM6005.

So the choice is actually up to you, depends on if you have many speakers to setup surround, or only simple stereo system such as pairing them with KEF LS50.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Feb 27 2015, 12:17 AM
TSchanhin
post Mar 10 2015, 10:20 PM

1,615 posts

Anyone tried the new PM7005?

Any idea already reached Malaysia? drool.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 13 2015, 11:52 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 11 2015, 06:58 PM)
gents, i tried call Desa Home and they didnt carry any PM7005, Anywhere to find it?

or worst case i will just buy the PM6005 with External DAC ( no idea which is good)
PM7005 has more juice for floor stander thumbup.gif

QUOTE(hz428 @ Mar 12 2015, 12:44 PM)
called wo kee hong just now, they didnt carry the PM7005 but they have PM8005 with sky rocketing price.
That's what I hate about local priced PM8005. Since PM6005 price is okay, I assume the PM8005 price issue is due to greedy distributor.

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 12 2015, 09:52 PM)
Integrated amp you can always buy from overseas that have same voltage to us.is no warranty but why worry? Such amp should not have complicated circuit board.
Agree... Simple stereo can last for 10 years or more... biggrin.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 15 2015, 10:45 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 14 2015, 01:32 AM)
And failed can get spare parts easily thumbup.gif

Btw, anyone tried MM7025 poweramp with 140watt power? What's the price? Good?

I have to admit PM6005 is slight underpower for floorstander like Q700. And the MM7025 with 140 watt will allow it to pair with virtually any speakers, even up to RM50k (in term of power tongue.gif )
TSchanhin
post Mar 18 2015, 10:53 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Mar 17 2015, 08:26 PM)
Does speaker cable matters? I have the RM10/ft cable from Acoustique System connected to PM6005 and wonder should I get something better...

Damn wanted to audition Dali Zensor 3 since they are highly recommended by Whathifi for PM6005...

PM6005
CD6005
Moditor Audio BX2
I was not a cable believer... But when I had tried Monster Cable M2.4s with my PM6005 on KEF Q700, WOW... Impressive... It changed the sound signatures into like another system.. Like sweeter, smoother, finer... The cable is like performing sound polishing... And it also sound like I had just upgraded to high end DAC with that kind of signature. Wow...

Then my 2nd stereo system with PM6005, initially with cheapo Monster cable... ok la... Later cannot tahan the ordinary sound and also upgrade to monster M2.4s with Tannoy E11. Again, the sound signature all polished... But my system improvement with E11 is not that obvious as Q700. I suspect is due to Q700 better high freq response that can more potential.

Now back to technical explanation.... Technically I think the M2.4S cables have different freq response as to compare normal cables... Where the high freq improved a lot. But I cannot explain other findings such as smoother and sweeter sound... Just Wow...

This post has been edited by chanhin: Mar 18 2015, 10:55 PM
TSchanhin
post Mar 20 2015, 09:41 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 20 2015, 08:21 PM)
Once tasted different of cables you cannot stop. Monster cable is just entry level. I am sure more to come smile.gif
Well... Btw, Monster Cable M2.4s is not exactly entry level.... It actually more expensive than the amp~ tongue.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:27 PM