Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

JohnJon82
post Oct 6 2015, 12:49 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Oct 6 2015, 01:25 AM)
Another sad engineer thread, haha.. totally feel you guys here, i myself is another poor noobfaq engineer.. unlike Malaysia it's kinda difficult to change industry in Singapore sweat.gif
Study so hard, work so hard and clocking long hours just to get more headache everyday haha  laugh.gif

Now I am seriously considering  to get a postgrad and try to enter a different field or just wait for sg pr approval as a contingency and move my ass to aussie.
I was at the postgrad fair recently. Been hearing lots of good things about INSEAD but the tuition fee is really a killer sweat.gif
Aust still pay good for engineers?
SUSsupersound
post Oct 6 2015, 01:23 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Mareg @ Oct 6 2015, 12:13 AM)
1 year and 5 months in Singapore. I feel like i so miss Penang but looking at the 3.1 rate I cannot go back also  cry.gif

I recently got a fren who asked me, did I add any new number into my phone contact after I came here, excluded colleagues. A very good question that stunned me until now, feel so lifeless nia. Like no longer something I hope for, or expected for when I made decision to come down here.  doh.gif
When you are a foreign labor, do behave so laugh.gif
WHen I was in Qatar for 1 year, work, sleep and buy foods are my life. Nothing more than that hmm.gif
Result is, I got money.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 6 2015, 02:24 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Oct 6 2015, 12:49 PM)
Aust still pay good for engineers?
5 years experience around 100k - 120k /year before tax.

but over there is abit different.. engineers are more end user focused aka client. Thus, you'll need to be specialist stream. Instrumentation control or process engineer.

General M&E engineer like ourselves have no relevant experience or not wanted..
JohnJon82
post Oct 6 2015, 03:28 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 6 2015, 02:24 PM)
5 years experience around 100k - 120k /year before tax.

but over there is abit different.. engineers are more end user focused aka client. Thus, you'll need to be specialist stream. Instrumentation control or process engineer.

General M&E engineer like ourselves have no relevant experience or not wanted..
How about civil engineer in construction field? 8 years experience. Higher pay with engineer license?
sunnylay
post Oct 6 2015, 03:39 PM

20 posts

hi guys, need advice here. i have 4 yrs experience in manufacturing/product engineering field but only limited knowledge on programming. seems like engineering field is going downtrend in everywhere included singapore. can i still get a job there at this timing? (so many malaysians rush there even after currency x3) or should i start another career if i really wanna move there? or just keep within malaysia?

feel sad to leave, but it is for living. :'(
propriete
post Oct 6 2015, 03:55 PM

195 posts

Thanks for all your feedbacks, I think I'm pretty much settled in regard to where to stay, 1st choice now is Jurong East.

Anyone have any idea of cost of getting a foreign domestic helper? In terms of up front and monthly costs (salary + ???).
crazy25kid
post Oct 6 2015, 04:37 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(propriete @ Oct 6 2015, 03:55 PM)
Thanks for all your feedbacks, I think I'm pretty much settled in regard to where to stay, 1st choice now is Jurong East.

Anyone have any idea of cost of getting a foreign domestic helper? In terms of up front and monthly costs (salary + ???).

roughly 1k per month
u need to pay for salary (about 600) + levy (265 if not mistaken, for non-singaporean) + probably some household items which the helper will use also.
megadisc
post Oct 6 2015, 06:27 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(sunnylay @ Oct 6 2015, 03:39 PM)
hi guys, need advice here. i have 4 yrs experience in manufacturing/product engineering field but only limited knowledge on programming. seems like engineering field is going downtrend in everywhere included singapore. can i still get a job there at this timing? (so many malaysians rush there even after currency x3) or should i start another career if i really wanna move there? or just keep within malaysia?

let us know when u get interview...
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 6 2015, 07:34 PM

381 posts

This post has been edited by the99percent1: Oct 6 2015, 07:35 PM
propriete
post Oct 6 2015, 07:37 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 6 2015, 04:37 PM)
roughly 1k per month
u need to pay for salary (about 600) + levy (265 if not mistaken, for non-singaporean) + probably some household items which the helper will use also.
Thanks. How about upfront cost / agent fee?
WongCobain
post Oct 6 2015, 07:48 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(sunnylay @ Oct 6 2015, 03:39 PM)

for the greater good mang. if u think that is it, go for it
Mareg
post Oct 7 2015, 01:39 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(shakes86 @ Oct 6 2015, 09:35 AM)
Dont have any team bonding meh? like lim teh lim teh  brows.gif
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Oct 6 2015, 09:58 AM)
Homesick? What's your working hours may I ask? 8am to 9pm, Mon-Sun?
Lim teh with colleagues got, but seldom recently as company is quite in a mess with conflict here and there after technical director left + retrenchment.

My working hour is standard from 9am to 6pm. I guess I could be home sick, din't go home for awhile cry.gif

This post has been edited by Mareg: Oct 7 2015, 01:43 AM
megadisc
post Oct 7 2015, 07:32 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Mareg @ Oct 7 2015, 01:39 AM)
Lim teh with colleagues got, but seldom recently as company is quite in a mess with conflict here and there after technical director left + retrenchment.

My working hour is standard from 9am to 6pm. I guess I could be home sick, din't go home for awhile  cry.gif
time for a break ...
Sky_Q
post Oct 7 2015, 08:51 AM

243 posts

Guysss...i have a dilemma and need any suggestions that i can get from the seniors here..i m on ep and my wife is on wp...she is pregnant n i understand from her employer that she is cannot get pregnant while on wp else risk to be deported..

Anybody encounter this and how to get over this?thanks

This post has been edited by Sky_Q: Oct 7 2015, 08:52 AM
yrh0413
post Oct 7 2015, 10:03 AM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(Mareg @ Oct 7 2015, 01:39 AM)

My working hour is standard from 9am to 6pm. I guess I could be home sick, din't go home for awhile  cry.gif
Go socialize after work smile.gif

QUOTE(Sky_Q @ Oct 7 2015, 08:51 AM)
Guysss...i have a dilemma and need any suggestions that i can get from the seniors here..i m on ep and my wife is on wp...she is pregnant n i understand from her employer that she is cannot get pregnant while on wp else risk to be deported..

Yes. MOM grant your wife a work permit so that she can contribute to Singapore's GDP, not for her to come to Singapore and get pregnant.

Refer to WP conditions here: Work Permit Conditions - MOM

"Not get pregnant or deliver a child in Singapore during the validity of their Work Permit unless they are already married to a Singapore citizen or permanent resident with the approval of MOM. "

You have 2 choices:
1. Since you are an EP holder, apply dependent pass for your wife if you want to take care of her or need her companionship in Singapore. Dependent pass holders can still seek a job but who wants to hire a pregnant lady?
2. Else, ask her to terminate her WP resign and give birth in MY. Apply for WP/dependent pass again when ready to rejoin SG workforce.
alanaw
post Oct 7 2015, 11:46 AM

186 posts

Relax... I was in same situation earlier. Mine is even more complex then yours. I am a PR marrying WP holder. We did send letter to MOM asking for permission to get married. MOM replied us that the rules does not apply to my wife(Malaysian Chinese). And she is now in the process of applying dependant PR, still pending for approval. Haix... waited for more than 6 month liao blink.gif hmm.gif

1. If your wife is Malaysian (Chinese especially) chances are this rules does not apply to your wife.
2. You mentioned your wife. So I suppose both of you are legally married. I don't see a reason why your wife cannot give birth.
3. Deported or not are you sure you want your wife to give birth in SG not Malaysia? It definitely cost a bomb if your wife want to give birth here.

My 2 cent suggestion is for your wife to resign few month before due date. And come back to SG workforce again after giving birth. Try not to send any letter to MOM /ICA. I am sure you do not want to trigger them to do unnecessary check on your wife.

awh85
post Oct 7 2015, 12:58 PM

2,156 posts

i thought with EP, you can actually bring your spouse and children into Sg? Not sure if this applies to cases of pregnancy? Perhaps she can stay under the capacity of a spouse rather than a WP holder?

EMPLOYMENT PASS
P 1 FIXED MONTHLY SALARY OF
SGD8,000
P1 Pass holders will no longer be
able to bring in their parents-in-law.
They may still bring in their parents,
spouses and children.

EMPLOYMENT PASS
P 2 FIXED MONTHLY SALARY OF
SGD4,500
P2 Pass holders will no longer be
able to bring in their parents or
parents-in-law. They may still bring in
their spouses and children.

EMPLOYMENT PASS
Q 1 FIXED MONTHLY SALARY OF
SGD,3,300
S Pass and Employment Pass (EP)
holders need to earn a fixed monthly
salary of at least $4,000 to sponsor
the stay of their spouses and
children here.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 7 2015, 01:48 PM

381 posts

nice guys! get your wives & gfs pregnant, help SG economy to grow. Majulah Singapura
yrh0413
post Oct 7 2015, 02:24 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Oct 7 2015, 11:46 AM)
1. If your wife is Malaysian (Chinese especially) chances are this rules does not apply to your wife.
2. You mentioned your wife. So I suppose both of you are legally married. I don't see a reason why your wife cannot give birth.
3. Deported or not are you sure you want your wife to give birth in SG not Malaysia? It definitely cost a bomb if your wife want to give birth here.
As per MOM's regulations, WP holders should not get pregnant. Remember you are brought in to work, not to breed.
If a pass holder gets pregnant she is of no use to her employer. Think of it this way, what if your house maid got pregnant?

Of course your wife can give birth in either Singapore or Malaysia, but pertaining to her work permit it is likely she won't be able to keep her work permit.
Best is to ask your wife to discuss with her superior whether she can work till her mid trimester and part off nicely (resign), don't wait until MOM forcefully terminates her permit.

Nevertheless she can always come back to Singapore to work after her confinement. smile.gif

Fiona Chin
post Oct 7 2015, 02:28 PM

1,172 posts

There won't be any deportation anymore. The ah gong is gone and softer the son get. Normal circumstances her WP get withdraw, change back to social visit pass, you in the mean time apply long term visit pass for her, then give birth in SG no problem. Won't lock to Changi prison one.

If you want go the official way then write to MOM lo say pregnant and want to withdraw WP or seek waiver. If you follow the dark side, next time you commit something wrong, they dig all the way down then charge you together more troublesome.

The baby is more important to SG than you think. You and wife is already past tense, SG would prioritize your babies than you for their future when you apply for PR later.

196 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:41 AM