196 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

jitshiong
post Mar 19 2015, 09:28 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 19 2015, 08:54 AM)
Hi jitshiong, thanks for the response. sorry i didn't phrase that correctly, engineering is always my highest priority esp in EE Eng but what i was trying to say is that i dont mind trying a non-engineering role (but still in engineering field) such as procurement,logistics if opportunity arises.
I was in the same shoe last time, i'm an Industrial Engineering student. But i don't know what i want, so i just do whatever that was assigned to me.
Lucky for me, now i know so i'm on track, but it's far from Industrial Engineering that i've studied for.

EE is a very broad field, look at people you aspire to be in the future and follow their footsteps. You gotta have a goalpost, then only u know where you need to shoot.
Celestine
post Mar 19 2015, 09:51 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 19 2015, 09:28 AM)
I was in the same shoe last time, i'm an Industrial Engineering student. But i don't know what i want, so i just do whatever that was assigned to me.
Lucky for me, now i know so i'm on track, but it's far from Industrial Engineering that i've studied for.

EE is a very broad field, look at people you aspire to be in the future and follow their footsteps. You gotta have a goalpost, then only u know where you need to shoot.
That's a very good insight and advice coming from a 1st hand experienced person, much appreciated:)...yeah, i'm trying to be flexible here to explore all the possible opportunities esp in this economic situation, i believe in never try, never know...Hope i can get some luck at least to get an opportunity to fiddle around in EE field with while i'm young, don't want to regret in my older ages:P Thanks.

This post has been edited by Celestine: Mar 19 2015, 10:00 AM
JohnJon82
post Mar 19 2015, 10:01 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 19 2015, 09:28 AM)

I thought you mechanical one?

QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 19 2015, 09:51 AM)
That's a very good insight and advice coming from a 1st hand experienced person, much appreciated:)...yeah, i'm trying to be flexible here to explore all the possible opportunities esp in this economic situation, i believe in never try, never know. Hope i can get some luck at least to get an opportunity to fiddle around with while i'm young, don't want to regret in my older ages:P Thanks.
EE mean electrical and electronic? If electrical then singapore power. Or join consultants to design the power plants and household electricity. Electrical engineers make good money. Electronics some are manufacturing, some research, sales etc... very broad... need to ask the ee guys for recommendations.
Celestine
post Mar 19 2015, 10:11 AM

150 posts

Hi JohnJon,
Yeah i saw many opportunities in electrical, was thinking going into that field instead of the semiconductor field which are mostly manufacturing, small portions of design and research. Do they take entry level electrical engineer though?
Blues89
post Mar 19 2015, 01:24 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

i study similar stuff like ee but ended up in it lol..
JohnJon82
post Mar 19 2015, 02:13 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 19 2015, 10:11 AM)
Hi JohnJon,
    Yeah i saw many opportunities in electrical, was thinking going into that field instead of the semiconductor field which are mostly manufacturing, small portions of design and research. Do they take entry level electrical engineer though?
They do take in entry level. Need to find the comapnyies only. I not familiar with electrical works but I see their boss drive big cars. Entry level consultants always sucky pay and long hour though. Like jitshiong said, u need to be clear what u want to do. If not wasting time around.
jitshiong
post Mar 19 2015, 03:59 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 19 2015, 10:01 AM)
I thought you mechanical one?
EE mean electrical and electronic? If electrical then singapore power. Or join consultants to design the power plants and household electricity. Electrical engineers make good money. Electronics some are manufacturing, some research, sales etc... very broad... need to ask the ee guys for recommendations.
Course of study is Mechanical Engineering - Industrial. More on industrial. biggrin.gif
But now do M&E.
jitshiong
post Mar 19 2015, 04:00 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 19 2015, 09:51 AM)
That's a very good insight and advice coming from a 1st hand experienced person, much appreciated:)...yeah, i'm trying to be flexible here to explore all the possible opportunities esp in this economic situation, i believe in never try, never know...Hope i can get some luck at least to get an opportunity to fiddle around in EE field with while i'm young, don't want to regret in my older ages:P Thanks.
Glad to be of help.
megadisc
post Mar 19 2015, 06:15 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Mar 12 2015, 01:47 PM)
Hello everyone. Got 2 common room to rent out at Sengkang.
Anyone want to rent can pm me.
Nice
thexs
post Mar 19 2015, 10:12 PM

202 posts

Hey guys, I just got an offer to work in Singapore and am really excited for it!

Work place is Raffles Place so any recommendations for location of accommodation? Budget is +/- $800.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2015, 10:17 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(thexs @ Mar 19 2015, 10:12 PM)
Hey guys, I just got an offer to work in Singapore and am really excited for it!
Work place is Raffles Place so any recommendations for location of accommodation? Budget is +/- $800.

Anywhere on green line or red line within ~10 mrt stops will be good.
Go for stops with (relatively) big town centers, example Bedok, Tiong Bahru, Toa Payoh, Ang mo kio.
PM MacKiddo or Lester1987 to be added to the malaysians in SG whatsapp support group for more immediate answers to questions.
thexs
post Mar 19 2015, 10:21 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2015, 10:17 PM)
Go for stops with (relatively) big town centers, example Bedok, Tiong Bahru, Toa Payoh, Ang mo kio.
PM MacKiddo or Lester1987 to be added to the malaysians in SG whatsapp support group for more immediate answers to questions.
Thanks for the reply. Will do once I get my starting date and E-pass is settled.
lkhua79
post Mar 19 2015, 11:22 PM

Hi all, a quick check with those that have been staying SG for sometimes. Will there be any significant difference on the room rental between areas along the green or red line vs yellow or purple line? I understand that Bedok is a mature area (most of my friends staying around that area), but honestly speaking, I am not really keen of that area, very crowded. Please advise.

FYI, I received an offer to work in SG and now waiting for my E-Pass. My work place is at Bugis.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2015, 11:34 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(thexs @ Mar 19 2015, 10:21 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Will do once I get my starting date and E-pass is settled.

Then PM alaskanbunny, he is forgot which real estate agency senior associate director, very good to help you find room or proper place to stay.

QUOTE(lkhua79 @ Mar 19 2015, 11:22 PM)
I understand that Bedok is a mature area (most of my friends staying around that area), but honestly speaking, I am not really keen of that area, very crowded.  Please advise.

Estates in singapore are trade off between crowd and facilities. Honestly as far as mature areas go with a lot of facilities Bedok considered not crowded liao. Tampines on the other hand ... people mountain people sea. And anyway I don't see any difference whether you stay in Bedok or (for example) in Kembangan. Peak hour MRT will be equally crowded as fugg. Housing area is basically the same. Core difference is in Kembangan you wanna do anything oso can't cos there's no supermarket no shopping mall etc.
megadisc
post Mar 20 2015, 08:29 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(thexs @ Mar 19 2015, 10:12 PM)

welcome to the good life ..
lkhua79
post Mar 20 2015, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2015, 11:34 PM)
Then PM alaskanbunny, he is forgot which real estate agency senior associate director, very good to help you find room or proper place to stay.
Estates in singapore are trade off between crowd and facilities. Honestly as far as mature areas go with a lot of facilities Bedok considered not crowded liao. Tampines on the other hand ... people mountain people sea. And anyway I don't see any difference whether you stay in Bedok or (for example) in Kembangan. Peak hour MRT will be equally crowded as fugg. Housing area is basically the same. Core difference is in Kembangan you wanna do anything oso can't cos there's no supermarket no shopping mall etc.
Thx for the tips. Basically, my thought is to find a place that is, well a bit peaceful maybe. Anyhow, I have not been to Tampines for quite a while, so dont know how bad it is. But have to agree that the crowd in MRT, especially peak hour, is crazy. Guess that is the welcome sign to Singapore working life, tongue.gif
babykon101
post Mar 20 2015, 12:24 PM

Bodyslammin' Sailormoon
585 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2015, 10:17 PM)
There's a group for this? Can I join? Just started working here. smile.gif
JohnJon82
post Mar 20 2015, 12:46 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(lkhua79 @ Mar 20 2015, 09:55 AM)
Thx for the tips.  Basically, my thought is to find a place that is, well a bit peaceful maybe.  Anyhow, I have not been to Tampines for quite a while, so dont know how bad it is.  But have to agree that the crowd in MRT, especially peak hour, is crazy.  Guess that is the welcome sign to Singapore working life,  tongue.gif
I stay at Lavender. Its less crowded since its more to an outskirt office area with some hdbs. I don't like neighbourhood with bus and mrt interchange stations. Best to stay in walking distance from office to avoid the mrt crowd.

Only the riches can enjoy a peaceful quite surrounding in Singapore. Fiona Chin, how's life staying in a 3 storey house with private pool?
eekwan7
post Mar 20 2015, 03:04 PM

129 posts

Hi, am I still stand a chance in securing a job in singapore under the new strict regulations on foreigners? I am recently graduated from AUS uni and my academic result is around average (~70%), second upper class honours from bachelor of chemical engineering. I am looking for job position such as production/process engineer in food/pharmaceutical industries. I do not mind starting as a technician as long as it is a prestigious organisation which provides good career advancement.

Also, which employment pass I would get if I do get offer from singapore company? EP or S Pass? I have googled on this matter and apparently S Pass is for mid-level skilled worker with minimum salary of $2200 whilst EP is for professional with salary over $3300.
LiangZhuge
post Mar 20 2015, 03:05 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(lkhua79 @ Mar 20 2015, 09:55 AM)
Thx for the tips.  Basically, my thought is to find a place that is, well a bit peaceful maybe.  Anyhow, I have not been to Tampines for quite a while, so dont know how bad it is.  But have to agree that the crowd in MRT, especially peak hour, is crazy.  Guess that is the welcome sign to Singapore working life,  tongue.gif
This is Singapore, everywhere is crowded smile.gif

Off central Singapore is also OK crowd wise and facilities near-by, just that MRT is not close by (one or two bus stops away), - areas like Whampoa, Jalan Rajah, Balestier, St George, McNair if you fancy.

196 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:54 PM