Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
jitshiong
Jan 3 2015, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jan 3 2015, 12:25 PM) Yeah go back be fresh graduate engineer. 1 year working experience in Malaysia still a requirement for PE. Better register as Graduate Engineer soonest, else u will waste all ur working experience. Just like rawrkun said. If registered as PE in SG, still have to retake PI in Malaysia after registering and also fulfill the same requirements. Then only u qualify as PE in Malaysia and can sign off drawings. This post has been edited by jitshiong: Jan 3 2015, 03:04 PM
jitshiong
Mar 10 2015, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 9 2015, 10:13 PM) In today's environment with all the anti FT sentiment and seemingly upcoming elections, you would be lucky to get a job within your 2 month 'requirement.' Just FYI my current job, from 1st interview to offer letter almost 3 months time gap. Ur new position is CEO, sure take a longer time ma....
jitshiong
Mar 13 2015, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 13 2015, 11:02 AM) I do construction. No low supply in SG but only low wage in my hometown. U r letting go ur SGD10k job for a 7k job in Malaysia?
jitshiong
Mar 16 2015, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Feb 6 2015, 01:22 PM) I am the opposite of you. Current salary around 10k sgd. My expected salary back in Malaysia around 6-7k rm. In SG is principal engineer, go back start from graduate engineer. Gonna do the switch anyway in the middle of the year. May the force be with me. U said it yourself, SGD10k. Not me leh.... I'm back in Malaysia...family ma. Later my kiddo calls me Unker how? This post has been edited by jitshiong: Mar 16 2015, 08:53 AM
jitshiong
Mar 17 2015, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 16 2015, 02:32 PM) Mathematics teach after 5 round up to 10 lo that's why the "around", encourage people do construction in SG ma. Realistic Sabah's salary much less than expected. Same same family lo, later my kids look like my neighbour punya uncle how? How i know...i take your word for word ma. Huge difference ok? 10k SGD and 7k MYR. If 7k SGD then u take a 7k MYR still can swallow although a bit hard.
jitshiong
Mar 17 2015, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(LordCZ @ Mar 17 2015, 10:29 AM) can swallow meh? maybe diff ppl diff view la...for me i surely cant swallow de...i die die oso take sgd  Everyone has different priorities.... I took similiar action in 2013, taking a huge paycut and return to Malaysia. Although the figure is not as huge as what JohnJon82 is making, but still a significant cut. Priorities will change as u grow older. When i first came to SG, my kid wasn't out yet. So it's ok... Things changed when my kiddo was born. I don't think i regret my action. Life is more fulfilling with loved ones around.
jitshiong
Mar 18 2015, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(justjoe @ Mar 17 2015, 11:28 PM) Hey, anyone here play beach volleyball? I would love to try it out but not really sure how to start plus I have no kakis here.. Just head to sentosa on weekends and join the ppl there. Then make new frens, n you will have kakis
jitshiong
Mar 19 2015, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 18 2015, 10:14 PM) Hi Everyone, Would like to ask for advice. I'm from EE engineering background and trying to seek out for an engineering or even non-engineering roles as long as have good career path (anything except for manufacturing related) position in SG. I've been trying for months but totally no call at all. Was wondering if anyone experienced this before or any tips or hint? I'm also thinking to apply to headhunting firms, any good ones for engineering related? Would greatly appreciate your expert advice:) Try gain some relevant experience. Know what you want, then carve your own path there. It appears to me you don't even know what u want in your career.
jitshiong
Mar 19 2015, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 19 2015, 08:54 AM) Hi jitshiong, thanks for the response. sorry i didn't phrase that correctly, engineering is always my highest priority esp in EE Eng but what i was trying to say is that i dont mind trying a non-engineering role (but still in engineering field) such as procurement,logistics if opportunity arises. I was in the same shoe last time, i'm an Industrial Engineering student. But i don't know what i want, so i just do whatever that was assigned to me. Lucky for me, now i know so i'm on track, but it's far from Industrial Engineering that i've studied for. EE is a very broad field, look at people you aspire to be in the future and follow their footsteps. You gotta have a goalpost, then only u know where you need to shoot.
jitshiong
Mar 19 2015, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 19 2015, 10:01 AM) I thought you mechanical one? EE mean electrical and electronic? If electrical then singapore power. Or join consultants to design the power plants and household electricity. Electrical engineers make good money. Electronics some are manufacturing, some research, sales etc... very broad... need to ask the ee guys for recommendations. Course of study is Mechanical Engineering - Industrial. More on industrial. But now do M&E.
jitshiong
Mar 19 2015, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(Celestine @ Mar 19 2015, 09:51 AM) That's a very good insight and advice coming from a 1st hand experienced person, much appreciated:)...yeah, i'm trying to be flexible here to explore all the possible opportunities esp in this economic situation, i believe in never try, never know...Hope i can get some luck at least to get an opportunity to fiddle around in EE field with while i'm young, don't want to regret in my older ages:P Thanks. Glad to be of help.
jitshiong
Apr 3 2015, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(anthonyz @ Apr 2 2015, 04:28 PM) Is the medical check up compulsory? I didnt see it as part of the requirement at the MOM site. I'm waiting for my EP as well. Nope, if needed it will be stated in the letter. Else not required.
jitshiong
Apr 3 2015, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(beancountz @ Apr 3 2015, 02:12 PM) Top 15% of people working in SG, what's the median for this category? Even if higher than median of all employed full time workers in SG also can't enjoy good life. Say, $5k. Where got good life?? $5k no good life arh? It depends on how you spend your money and your definition of good life. $5k is quite a lot of money if you are single, u can do a lot more with $5k compared to RM5k.
jitshiong
Apr 3 2015, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 3 2015, 02:37 PM) You would absolutely not be able to achieve a generally accepted concept of 'good life' with $5k a month. For kuli like me....$5k surely suffice for a good life. i won't need a $1.5k master bedroom, 1/3 of that would be enuff for a room in a more remote location. food and phone, another 500. wah lao...can save more than 3k no good?
jitshiong
Apr 3 2015, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 3 2015, 02:46 PM) If that's a good life for you then OK ba. But you go tell any Malaysian that you go Singapore rent small 200 sqft room need to share toilet, can't afford car need to cycle/bus/mrt everywhere, I don't think too many of them would consider that "living a good life." i see....then their definition of good life is my definition of luxurious life. drive BMW, rent condo, eat michelin star restaurant, wear coat & tie to work.... surely $5k not enuff.....i think $15k should do the trick.
jitshiong
Apr 3 2015, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(beancountz @ Apr 3 2015, 03:09 PM) Big 4 in SG will always welcome kulis from Malaysia. Not many locals are willing to trade their life for the sake of working the long dreaded graveyard hours in the Big 4. picture working till 5am and having to go into office at 9am thereafter. jitshiong, this job will pay u $5k. So, do you think you will have good life? This job, even with $20k a month is not a good life to me. No work-life balance....
jitshiong
Apr 3 2015, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(libragurlshirl @ Apr 3 2015, 04:36 PM) Thanks for your concern. I do know life in a Big 4, as I was from PwC KL. I also know their expectations and working hours. My concern is how to get there, because I have no referrals and my sister is rushing me -.- Your sister rushing u....that's an issue? tell u sister to GTFO, she wants something get it done herself. u r spoiling her
jitshiong
Apr 7 2015, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(half_lif3 @ Apr 7 2015, 12:59 PM) How about 7 years experience systems enginner earning about rm5.5k and Singapore is offering SGD3.5k? Worth to relocate to Singapore? Definitely underpaid for 7 years in my opinion. Unless u r just an average joe then RM5.5k is ok. $3.5k, that's low man....way too low.
jitshiong
Apr 8 2015, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2015, 08:32 PM) Engineer how much earn? Share share leh. Sky is the limit depending on what skillsets and industry you are in. Like me....kuli in construction sure dun earn much
jitshiong
Apr 8 2015, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2015, 09:38 PM) You think everyone like you meh work 7 years liao terus talent corp back to Malaysia ... eh...dun spread lies la... i wish what you say is true though