Big 4 Recruitment Drive

verticalforce
post Feb 16 2009, 07:33 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(ceejay @ Feb 16 2009, 07:23 AM)
vertical,
U must be a first class student and are lucky to obtain a internship with a big4 in UK esp now that there is a downturn and preference are given to candidates from EU countries.  It is next to impossible to get any placement nor internship in UK now. I even heard that some were paid off not to start work even though they hv confirmed their jobs last summer.

Since u are in UK u shd know more about ICAS and if not go visit their office and find out more.  ICAS is not run outside of UK and even ICAEW exams were only carried outsideof UK in recent years probably to increase their membership. All I can say is that ICAS is highly reputable anywhere in the world including Malaysia.

Use the internship to find out more about a career in a public accounting firm and in particular this firm. They will use the internship to assess u so go and impress them!! biggrin.gif
Although I did score pretty highly in my first year, I don't think I'll be able to achieve a first class degree tbh.

Big 4 here looks more than just your academic result. I got in because I've already done internship at a Big 4 in KL last year, and a work experience programme at a stock-broking firm in Johor Bahru. I've seen people who are first class and from top unis like LSE getting rejected cause they don't really have the extra "edge" to talk about in interviews. I'm not from top unis (well, it's in top 30) and I still managed to secure 2 final round interviews for Big 4.

People need to stop concentrating on academic result! It means f*** all when you get to interview stage. (at least here but they still requires you to get strong second upper or they'll reject you lol)

Btw, thanks for the advice. Good to know that ICAS is well recognised.

This post has been edited by verticalforce: Feb 17 2009, 02:33 AM
geo
post Feb 17 2009, 12:14 AM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

may i ask u all,
how does materiality affects auditors work?
thank you smile.gif
K.O
post Feb 17 2009, 12:33 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Bubble7 @ Feb 13 2009, 11:05 PM)
erm..plan to do that after finish my practical..
how do you feel about the test? easy?? normally what did interviewer ask during the interview? hmm.gif  (can PM me if it is not convenient to reply)

oh ya..btw, which states kpmg are u apply to?
Well, I would say the main difficulty of the test lies in the time constraint. It's not really that difficult, just that you need to be quick, else u won't be able to finish it. And erm, I was interview by the audit manager. So she basically just asked why did I choose audit, what is my 5 years plan, did i have any conflicts with my colleagues or classmates,etc. No technical questions. Phew!

I applied to the one in PJ.
geo
post Feb 17 2009, 04:21 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

no reply.. sad.gif
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 17 2009, 05:39 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(geo @ Feb 17 2009, 12:14 AM)
may i ask u all,
how does materiality affects auditors work?
thank you smile.gif
For a basic explanation, the higher the materiality level set, the less substantive testing will be conducted. More reliance will be placed on the controls.

This would also relate to a lower fees charged.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Feb 17 2009, 06:09 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Erm.. actually. Materiality is actually more on tolerance. An overall materiality is established which to the auditor, is said to the maximum amount of tolerable error which the auditor is willing to accept, and still sign off the accounts as true and fair.

Against, there is also qualitative and quantitative materiality. Quantitative is usually affecting P & L, and to us auditors, the 'overall materiality' is how much we are willing to let the P & L move.

In short, the statutory accounts may report RM20,000,000 profit. But if your materiality is set at 1,000,000, then you are willing to accept that the a 100% perfect accounts is somewhere between RM19m-Rm21m. (+/-)

Qualititative is usually internal control errors, resulting in 'issue' or 'discussion points' for consultation with higher management. It's more on issues of where the client doesn't follow standard operative procedure, or controls simply not working. Generally, whilst it's an issue to discuss for further improvement, to us auditors, it merely means no reliance on control and instead adopt substantive testing (aka lots and lots of vouching)

Materiality generally has nothing to do with fees. Risk is what generally moves with fees. Although admittedly, a higher risk client will have lower materiality, thus more work (and generally more fees)

However, just because materiality is low is no reason to put high amounts of fees.
geo
post Feb 17 2009, 06:23 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

oic.. ok.. thank you all
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 17 2009, 06:42 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Feb 17 2009, 06:09 PM)
Erm.. actually. Materiality is actually more on tolerance. An overall materiality is established which to the auditor, is said to the maximum amount of tolerable error which the auditor is willing to accept, and still sign off the accounts as true and fair.

Against, there is also qualitative and quantitative materiality. Quantitative is usually affecting P & L, and to us auditors, the 'overall materiality' is how much we are willing to let the P & L move.

In short, the statutory accounts may report RM20,000,000 profit. But if your materiality is set at 1,000,000, then you are willing to accept that the a 100% perfect accounts is somewhere between RM19m-Rm21m. (+/-)

Qualititative is usually internal control errors, resulting in 'issue' or 'discussion points' for consultation with higher management. It's more on issues of where the client doesn't follow standard operative procedure, or controls simply not working. Generally, whilst it's an issue to discuss for further improvement,  to us auditors, it merely means no reliance on control and instead adopt substantive testing (aka lots and lots of vouching)

Materiality generally has nothing to do with fees. Risk is what generally moves with fees. Although admittedly, a higher risk client will have lower materiality, thus more work (and generally more fees)

However, just because materiality is low is no reason to put high amounts of fees.
Yes, agree with what u said, but in my opinion, generally, materiality level somehow does indirectly relate to fees.

Aiseh, no need to mention "erm..actually" ler.. doh.gif, like im totally out of track there, was just providing someone with very brief explanation. icon_rolleyes.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Feb 17 2009, 07:14 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

hahaha, sorry about that.. biggrin.gif no offense i hope biggrin.gif
clie4
post Feb 17 2009, 09:51 PM

i got a 2nd interview with kpmg tmr. what should i expect for a 2nd interview??
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Feb 17 2009, 11:22 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

usually it gets more personal on the 2nd interview. They ask about whether you're willign to commit etc, and usually it's conducted by a more senior person. 1st interview is a screen, to say in simple terms.
cktwai
post Feb 18 2009, 08:30 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Feb 17 2009, 05:39 PM)
For a basic explanation, the higher the materiality level set, the less substantive testing will be conducted. More reliance will be placed on the controls.

This would also relate to a lower fees charged.
Are you sure? laugh.gif

you may want to revisit this.
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 18 2009, 01:31 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Feb 18 2009, 08:30 AM)
Are you sure?  laugh.gif

you may want to revisit this.
Lol really ah, took F8 like 2 sittings ago also forget liao doh.gif
Maybe wrong interpretation of question, or lack of practical experience doh.gif

Now taking P7.. must buck up on audit! argh!!

Added on February 18, 2009, 1:35 pm
QUOTE(clie4 @ Feb 17 2009, 09:51 PM)
i got a 2nd interview with kpmg tmr. what should i expect for a 2nd interview??
Eh, btw, which position did u apply? Never heard of 2nd interview in kpmg hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Raymond_ACCA: Feb 18 2009, 01:48 PM
rvp
post Feb 18 2009, 04:32 PM

371 posts

is it possible to enter big 4 if u r an acca finalist without OBU?
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 18 2009, 04:39 PM

826 posts

As far as I know, I have a friend in Deloitte, ACCA finalist without OBU. Pay is RM 1800 only, (CAT pay), until she passes her ACCA/OBU, where the pay will increase to RM2600/RM2450.

Not sure about the other 3 firms.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Feb 18 2009, 04:49 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

KPMG, EY, Deloitte and PwC is standardized.

Degree gets RM2450, (subject to differences due to allowances.. usually RM10-RM20)
and full ACCA + Degree gets Rm2600 again subject to the same provisions lol.

Don't expect too much. biggrin.gif
peter_pj
post Feb 18 2009, 05:07 PM

110 posts

I heard that the starting pays for freshies have been adjusted downwards now and the number of vacancies are also tighter. Is that true?
HouHouSek
post Feb 18 2009, 05:43 PM

LoveToEat
923 posts

QUOTE(peter_pj @ Feb 18 2009, 05:07 PM)
I heard that the starting pays for freshies have been adjusted downwards now and the number of vacancies are also tighter. Is that true?
Issit?how much they lower to?
Huhu its been 2 weeks++ since my interview with deloitte looks like chances of me getting in is slim cry.gif
Have to start applying more medium firms liao sad.gif
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 18 2009, 05:51 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(peter_pj @ Feb 18 2009, 05:07 PM)
Deloitte offer me only 2.4k, so I guess so, but not KPMG.

About number of vacancies, I know that both Deloitte and KPMG is still hiring. Not sure about PWC and EY.
HouHouSek
post Feb 18 2009, 05:53 PM

LoveToEat
923 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Feb 18 2009, 05:51 PM)
Deloitte offer me only 2.4k, so I guess so, but not KPMG.

About number of vacancies, I know that both Deloitte and KPMG is still hiring. Not sure about PWC and EY.
Yeah i heard that time the interviewer ask me say is 2.4k for now.
They offered u also ar rclxms.gif ?
When they call you?

127 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:58 PM