146 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

mingyan
post May 15 2015, 12:49 PM

27 posts

I like your bicycle 'workshop' etigge.

I think the e-bike would encourage more ladies to go on longer road trips on bicycles. My wife refuse to ride far because no energy for the return trip. lol
etigge
post May 15 2015, 01:36 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mingyan @ May 15 2015, 12:49 PM)
I like your bicycle 'workshop' etigge.

I think the e-bike would encourage more ladies to go on longer road trips on bicycles. My wife refuse to ride far because no energy for the return trip. lol
The problem with us humans is, we tend to get lazy when we have the convenience. I think the e-bike would defeat the purpose of the bikes nowadays. In today's world, the bicycle is a recreational tool more than a commuting one. Yes, there are some who commutes but percentage is far too low because of our municipality policy. Not enough encouragement like guarded cycle parks, lanes etc.etc. Even rail attendants can be little Napoleons. In one incident, they did not allow us to board the Kommuter unless we pay them but one of the riders is a lawyer and threaten to bring this up.

If you have this installed on your bike, high chances , your wife won't ride. She will just cruise until the battery runs flat. Let me give an example ;

When I had the Dahon Eco C7, although it took a longer time, I managed to ride up Genting Peras, both me and wife. Then in Putrajaya, we can ride without changing a single gear, fix at 52T front and 15T rear. All the way. Then as we progress............or regress, depending on your opinion, we modded to 27 gears. It was a breeze riding. So much so, after a few months, we hardly want to pedal hard again. BECAUSE there's no need to. blush.gif There are enough options to ride up a slope as easy as riding on the flat road. So, no more hard pedalling up a slope. I don't think I can ride up Genting Peras now with 7 speed. Hahahaaaa!

As for training for longer trips, it has to be gradual. Just like hiking, always think of the return trip. Once you force and your butt pains the whole ride, you can forget about asking them to ride again. I had one who joined me to Taman Negara and was never seen riding in groups again! rclxub.gif Start with Putrajaya lakeside, some minor slopes and lots of flat. Then go faster and maybe 2 laps. That's 20 km already. Once that is acheived, try riding up PICC on every ride. That trains you for uphill. Then try Genting Peras and also Fraser's Hill.

Most people cringed when we say Fraser's Hill but it is actually an easy ride but you need at least 16 speed for that. Don't try from KKB. Start from Sg.Chilling. Park your car in Sg. Chilling. Then start riding up slow to warm up. It slowly winds upwards for 20 kilometers. All the way up but gradient is actually quite easy for multiple gears. It's an endurance ride. Don't matter if you can't reach, ride to your max. Cannot, it is all the way DOWNHILL to Sg.Chilling. Maybe till the waterfall. Then try again, and again and again until GAP. You will reach it in 2 to 3 attempts. Then if you are game, the last 8 kilometers up to the clock tower. I usually don't do that because , I don't see the fun in over exerting, heart exploding ride. I done that twice and so the iconic clock tower pix should suffice already.

Finally, after many rides, start from KKB. When it starts from KKB, it becomes tougher. The secret is, don't rush. Ride very slowly to Sg.Chilling. After this training, riding anywhere is easy because of the confidence gained from riding in all terrains.Even the trans Titiwangsa from KKB to Raub becomes fun. we will do that again when the 'musang king' and 'D24' are in season there. icon_rolleyes.gif

Happy riding.
wen332
post May 15 2015, 02:15 PM

Hi All, im newbie here.

Would like to get advice from all whether i should do any tuning for my new tern where i got it from lucky draw. is fresh out from the box and i have zero knowledge on that.

appreciate it. :-)
etigge
post May 15 2015, 02:32 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(wen332 @ May 15 2015, 02:15 PM)
Hi All, im newbie here.

Would like to get advice from all whether i should do any tuning for my new tern where i got it from lucky draw. is fresh out from the box and i have zero knowledge on that.

appreciate it. :-)
If it is a Tern, it should be enough to ride for starters. Just ride and get used to it, then maybe join a group and see how. Until you are really interested after gaining confidence in riding and want to tackle harder routes, especially hilly ones, then you can start modding. icon_rolleyes.gif

PS/ or maybe you were referring to QC and last minute checks. Don't know whether the purchaser has requested or not but usually bike shops do the last minute brake checks, rim tuning etc before selling.

This post has been edited by etigge: May 15 2015, 02:33 PM
wen332
post May 15 2015, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ May 15 2015, 02:32 PM)
If it is a Tern, it should be enough to ride for starters. Just ride and get used to it, then maybe join a group and see how. Until you are really interested after gaining confidence in riding and want to tackle harder routes, especially hilly ones, then you can start modding.  icon_rolleyes.gif

PS/ or maybe you were referring to QC and last minute checks. Don't know whether the purchaser has requested or not but usually bike shops do the last minute brake checks, rim tuning etc before selling.
Hi Etigge,

thanks for your guidance.
appreciate it.
have a nice day.
anykti
post May 15 2015, 05:16 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 15 2015, 02:32 PM)
Just ride and get used to it, then maybe join a group and see how. Until you are really interested after gaining confidence in riding and want to tackle harder routes, especially hilly ones, then you can start modding.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Agree on these, anyone should get back to the basics and safety first before anything further.
frankie chin
post May 15 2015, 10:37 PM

Hi all.....thingking of letting go my kids dahon vybe c7a 2014 ( bought ard nov) n another vybe 2015 ( bought ard jan/feb)...origin seat will be install back as i hd switch d seats....
Is not dat d bike is not good ...just kids r growing up n need more SPEEDS!!.... eyeing for dahon Speed 8 n vigor d9...any1 interested may pm me tq...

This post has been edited by frankie chin: May 15 2015, 10:40 PM

oykeong
post May 15 2015, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(yippy @ May 11 2015, 10:05 AM)
Hi Oykeong, can you pm me shop name & location to me. thanks.
Yippy,

The shop is: Hoong Lim Cycle Trading, 727-G-7, Taman Jubilee (Taman Lip Sin), Jalan Sg. Dua, 11700 Gelugor, Penang

Hope this helps.
anykti
post May 16 2015, 03:25 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ May 12 2015, 08:49 PM)
Post a picture of your bike and I'll tell you if it is worth doing it up.  biggrin.gif
Lol, so out liao, hahaha!
desastar
post May 17 2015, 08:19 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(anykti @ May 16 2015, 03:25 PM)
Lol, so out liao, hahaha!
I think this bike is quite serviceable. Old 105 gears but it should be quite good once you clean it up. Ditch the old tri-bars, change the cables and put on new bar tape and you are ready to go. You may need new tyres and tubes. I have two bikes around the same vintage and I love them.

Easy couple of hours and you'll be riding!

If you want to sell it, let me know how much you want for it.

This post has been edited by desastar: May 17 2015, 08:25 AM
y4ng
post May 17 2015, 10:47 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

hmm hello sifus!

is there a lot of diff with 7speed and 8speed?

thinking of buying this 2nd hand

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/252318/daho...limited-edition

fast enough?
etigge
post May 18 2015, 01:02 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ May 17 2015, 10:47 PM)
hmm hello sifus!

fast enough?
Buying a used bike for RM1,100 when the new one used to cost RM1080 is a bit far fetched isn't it? blink.gif

OK, first of all 7 speed means the rear cogs start with 14 tooth and biggest is 28 tooth. 8 speed means it starts with 11 tooth and largest is 30 tooth or sometimes 32 tooth. In terms of high gear, that last 2 gears makes a lot of difference and makes climbing slopes very much easier and in terms of low gears, on flats and downhills , it will be faster. But sometimes the bike manufacturers will use a smaller crank to make riding even easier and most newbies think, " Wah! so light and easy to pedal" , in actual it is because of the smaller chain ring.

Another point is, the hubs ! 7 speed means using the older fashion freewheel hubs where the freewheel is on the cassette (the rear cluster of gears) where else the 8 gear mean using the freehub that is on the hubs itself. This makes modding to 9 or 10 speed possible. In the case of 7 speed, you need to change the whole hub to move up to 9 or 10 speed. There are 8 speed free wheel cogs but hard to source. icon_rolleyes.gif

Hope this helps!
o.d
post May 18 2015, 01:12 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ May 17 2015, 10:47 PM)
hmm hello sifus!

fast enough?
watch out for the date for the ads in Bicyclebuysell.com because most of them outdated and they never clean the sold ads. I also was given false hope like this ha ha ha as I was researching for a bike too. Look the date is June 2014. It most probably sold.

icon_rolleyes.gif
azamunekurone
post May 18 2015, 09:19 AM

140 posts

pix spam with 451 wheelset and axis caliper!! icon_rolleyes.gif

y4ng
post May 18 2015, 02:48 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 18 2015, 01:02 AM)
Buying a used bike for RM1,100 when the new one used to cost RM1080 is a bit far fetched isn't it?  blink.gif

OK, first of all 7 speed means the rear cogs start with 14 tooth and biggest is 28 tooth. 8 speed means it starts with 11 tooth and largest is 30 tooth or sometimes 32 tooth. In terms of high gear, that last 2 gears makes a lot of difference and makes climbing slopes very much easier and in terms of  low gears, on flats and downhills , it will be faster. But sometimes the bike manufacturers will use a smaller crank to make riding even easier and most newbies think, " Wah! so light and easy to pedal" , in actual it is because of the smaller chain ring.

Another point is, the hubs ! 7 speed means using the older fashion freewheel hubs where the freewheel is on the cassette (the rear cluster of gears) where else the 8 gear mean using the freehub that is on the hubs itself. This makes modding to 9 or 10 speed possible. In the case of 7 speed, you need to change the whole hub to move up to 9 or 10 speed. There are 8 speed free wheel cogs but hard to source.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Hope this helps!
so it is more advisable to buy directly to 8 speed if i dont plan to tambah tambah?

dahon really lovely design, but price ha ha...im scared i will end up like those selling used bike

how about java decaf? ok ba?
azamunekurone
post May 18 2015, 04:15 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ May 18 2015, 02:48 PM)
so it is more advisable to buy directly to 8 speed if i dont plan to tambah tambah?

dahon really lovely design, but price ha ha...im scared i will end up like those selling used bike

how about java decaf? ok ba?
if money concern u and dont want spend much,try the trinx ka2016 either the v-brake or diskbrake.priced below rm1k here in ipoh,the best bang for buck folding bike IMHO.never regret it thumbup.gif
mbax
post May 18 2015, 06:27 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ May 15 2015, 10:37 PM)
Hi all.....thingking of letting go my kids dahon vybe c7a  2014 ( bought ard nov) n another vybe 2015 ( bought ard jan/feb)...origin seat will be install back  as i hd switch d seats....
Is not dat d bike is not good ...just kids r growing up n need more SPEEDS!!.... eyeing  for dahon Speed 8 n vigor d9...any1 interested may pm me tq...
just mod it to 9 speed biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ..
y4ng
post May 18 2015, 06:48 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 18 2015, 04:15 PM)
if money concern u and dont want spend much,try the trinx ka2016 either the v-brake or diskbrake.priced below rm1k here in ipoh,the best bang for buck folding bike IMHO.never regret it thumbup.gif
hmm okies! thanks for the advice
azamunekurone
post May 18 2015, 09:29 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ May 18 2015, 06:27 PM)
just mod it to 9 speed biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif ..
i already moded my vybe to 18speed with sora groupset before i give it to my sister laugh.gif
anykti
post May 19 2015, 08:37 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ May 17 2015, 08:19 AM)
I think this bike is quite serviceable.  Old 105 gears but it should be quite good once you clean it up.  Ditch the old tri-bars, change the cables and put on new bar tape and you are ready to go.  You may need new tyres and tubes.  I have two bikes around the same vintage and I love them. 
Easy couple of hours and you'll be riding!
If you want to sell it, let me know how much you want for it.
yea, i believe it's actually restorable, but i feel i'm not into radical roadie cycling position now. still love it even though the parts were mixed cos the whole bike was modded slowly during my schooling days. not sure how much i could sell it for though.

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 18 2015, 04:15 PM)
yes, trinx bikes are quite solid for below rm1k prices, i'd say. would get trinx bikes but i'd invest more on my main interest (enduro motorcycling), hehe.

146 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:28 AM