Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

mbax
post Dec 10 2014, 02:49 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 10 2014, 02:11 PM)
When you say to upgrade the crank..the crank is the part where the peddal is connected and the front gear disc right? So i can add a piece of crank to it, a derrailuer and a shifter to it and it will get me to 16 speed right since the the bike is 8 speed? Also if i add a smaller disc crank at the front, i realize i will now have 16 gear choices, but will this makes my bike go faster or will it make climbing easier? My guess is climbing will be easier right? Also i wonder why would ppl prefer single chainring rather than 2 as with 2 you will get more gear choices. Haha sorry im realy newbie.

For the broadwalk i did some reading and i found that its much easier if you wana upgrade the gearing. So i assume its opposite of what vybe is and you dont need to change wheel set. Its only a few hundred difference but i really like vybe frame alot. So if its possible to just add 1 or 2 crank disc at the front that will give me option of 16 to 24 speed. That sounds like a huge upgrade haha
for starter you can try something like this first.. cheap and you dont need to replace bb for dahon. or if you stay somewhere nearby bayan baru penang you can come and take my old crank it has double chainring(disk) but 1 side only lah bcoz last time i made mistake and ruined the non crank side.

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/254652/...-hybrid-folding

mbax
post Dec 11 2014, 01:31 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 10 2014, 07:47 PM)
Thanks sifu you are so kind. Penang too far..im in kl haha
Not sifu lah, just beginner like u..all was try n error diy.. but agree that dahon use lousy bb still cannot get it off the eco c7 so continue to use it.

This post has been edited by mbax: Dec 11 2014, 01:32 AM
mbax
post Dec 13 2014, 01:40 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Dec 12 2014, 08:42 PM)
May i know if this is a stock or upgraded dahon bike? I dont see this model in dahon.com. is this a good deal?

http://www.lelong.com.my/dahon-20-sp18-fol...5-04-Sale-P.htm
CDM model
mbax
post Dec 22 2014, 01:37 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Dec 22 2014, 10:18 AM)
no heart feelings.let me know bro,if time permits,then we can ride together.. thumbup.gif

cant wait for 26th Dec round island penang.any penang foldies wanna joint?7.00am Queensbay mall
wish i can join, but now not really up to it.. alst saturday took mtb out for a ride.. at about 17km or so butt really pain.. kekek if i took the foldies out for sure will fold and take rapid back d.. but mtb cant do that so got to endure another 15km or so of butt pain.. 3 hours for 30 km .. dem so long didnt cycle .... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
mbax
post Dec 30 2014, 09:19 PM

66 posts

banyak baguih...that day i was chauffeuring sungai ara georgetown kekeke.. sempat pergi qbay around 11am.
mbax
post Jan 6 2015, 03:42 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 5 2015, 07:08 PM)
Yes, but that's my wife's mini velo. The Performer is rigid chromoly frame and very light. After chnaging to Ultegra groupset, it is below 9 kg. Originally it was a straight bar and I change it to a bull horn bar or what they call TT bar. Compared to the Dash, the Performer is a better ride but Dash is foldable but Performer is not. The Dash is an X20 now and I use it for more shorter and tarmac rides. Long distance, my wrist pains after 80 km. For distances longer than that or multiple day riding, I use my Dahon Speed.  tongue.gif Orang tua cannot always bend the back bone lah! Too back breaking to ride hunch down all the time.

It seems the Dahon Dash is priced near 3K now and they have reverted back to C-brakes and 451 wheelset.

sifu etigge, both bike use 451 durano right? mind to tell the price and where do you get it?
mbax
post Jan 6 2015, 06:08 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 6 2015, 05:51 PM)
Can get from Kimbell Jaya. Now selling like RM65 per pc. Give a call to Jimmy first before going, I think still have  a few only.  thumbup.gif
thanks, will ask a friend to get it from me if possible.. it is time to change the cst to this..
mbax
post Jan 29 2015, 04:58 PM

66 posts

aik new bike again?

guys, out of topic a bit.. between balance bike and small bike with training wheel, which one will you guys choose for you kid?
mbax
post Feb 11 2015, 01:53 PM

66 posts

http://www.ensogo.com.my/deals/68-off-rm44...006_1049020_324

be prepare for headache.. if you want cheap bike..
mbax
post Feb 11 2015, 04:55 PM

66 posts

see in their fb page load of complain by customer regarding their service..
mbax
post Feb 13 2015, 04:03 PM

66 posts

for that budget, can get dahon vybe 7a alrd, if you dont mind 7 speed.
mbax
post Feb 16 2015, 02:46 PM

66 posts

i no expert but try to answer.
1. there was discrepancy in the add itself, if the bike is the above picture (quick release on top of the frame) it will be ok bike, if it was the below one (folding mech in center of frame line normal folding bike) then err no idea alrd since it was different type. the folding mechanism is different but it will still be big after fold.
2. price can range from 800 up if not mistaken for the one with quick release on the frame
3. both are china hummer, not the real hummer. real one will cost more than rm3k

better go to bike shop, as if you have any problem with the bikes till can go back to them and screw them if need to.
that oscar imagine suggested by 180jin also enough for taman ride.
mbax
post Mar 4 2015, 09:01 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Kindo0211 @ Mar 4 2015, 01:12 AM)

Mind to ask what is the model of the folding bicycle?
this one
mbax
post Mar 13 2015, 09:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 13 2015, 04:24 PM)
Yes the Garmin can but I actually use the Garmin for route planning. I map my routes, check the topography on Google map or Map My Ride, then download it onto the Garmin and then follow the route. That's my main aim for the Garmin. As for speed, as long as I can guess the ETA  is fine with me, no necessity for accuracy. Cadence and heart beat monitors also I don't use it. Only mapping usage.  icon_rolleyes.gif
almost same.. i use the edge for mapping and future reference on the route.
mbax
post Apr 2 2015, 02:07 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 2 2015, 12:12 PM)
Start slow and gauge your passion for riding. Get a bike with a good frame first. Many go gung-ho in the beginning and then starts to neglect the sport altogether. If they invested in a Dahon or Tern initially, it is easy to sell off but if they get something cheaper, then  they just leave it out in the porch and get stolen by Banglas for their factory commuting. Hahahaa!

Good one sifu.. mine currently collecting dust, as now still having knee problem ride 1 time pain whole week stop 2 mths... c doc got advice got med then can ride again 1 time then the cycle come again.. cry.gif cry.gif
mbax
post May 18 2015, 06:27 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ May 15 2015, 10:37 PM)
Hi all.....thingking of letting go my kids dahon vybe c7a  2014 ( bought ard nov) n another vybe 2015 ( bought ard jan/feb)...origin seat will be install back  as i hd switch d seats....
Is not dat d bike is not good ...just kids r growing up n need more SPEEDS!!.... eyeing  for dahon Speed 8 n vigor d9...any1 interested may pm me tq...
just mod it to 9 speed biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ..
mbax
post May 19 2015, 04:43 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 18 2015, 09:29 PM)
i already moded my vybe to 18speed with sora groupset before i give it to my sister laugh.gif
almost same, for me from 7 been mode to 16.. but the crank have triple chainring rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
mbax
post May 28 2015, 04:22 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(anykti @ May 28 2015, 03:51 PM)
Dunno, haha. Mine actually also got, but i detached all, hehe.
with carrier you can install child sit also, but it will come in handy if you are going fo touring or long distance ride..
mbax
post Jun 1 2015, 02:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 1 2015, 01:50 PM)
another pix spam with different location

and for info,
my red zephyr fnhon IS NOT ORIGINAL fnhon (original fnhon frame+handlepost cost nearly rm2k).my original frame is Trinx KA1606 with major modification not only gearset but cosmetics custom paints+decals,so that makes me a trinx 1606 user also laugh.gif
ko rajin betul, kedah perak peneng semua dah sampai..

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 1 2015, 01:54 PM)
What u meant by quick release tire? wats the diff for a normal one wif quick release?
quick release can release without tool, normal one need tool..

normal one

with quick release
mbax
post Jun 1 2015, 03:24 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 1 2015, 03:08 PM)
my bike also gt the quick release tingy. So need to tighten it after some time?
just check from time to time lah, normally no nid to tighten except you taook out d wheel..

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 1 2015, 03:13 PM)
our forumer mbax already answer it for you laugh.gif
hahaha. i am a sony fenbui. laugh.gif trinx ka1606 rm530 at gcycle @ tambun.

money i spend on the trinx  ka1606 @ fnhon clone are
1. fsa 55t crank (foc from tern verge p9)
2. fsa 42t chainring (rm80 from MBS)
3. novatech hub (foc from previous mod - rm350 new)
4. microshift 3x8 shifter (foc from previous mods)
5. tiagra rd (rm100 from bbs)
6. fd hanger (rm60 from local shop)
7. claris fs (foc from previous mod)
8. sunrace 11-25 casette+kmc chain (foc from previous mod)
9. dahon qr+handle bar (foc from previous mod)
10. litepro handle bar extender/stem (rm80 from local shop)
11. avid fr5 brake lever (rm35 from gofoldies)
12. cheapo united grip (rm20 from local shop)
13. paint artwork and decals (rm60-diy)
14. jagwire cable housing (rm60 from local shop)
15. dahon seatpost pump + brooks b17 (foc - exchangeable from my speed p8)
and few lights accessories lah forgot how much. estimate around rm500 below lah bcoz i collect all my used parts laugh.gif
kebetulan dh berjalan boleh bawak basikal,ape salahnya..itulah kegunaan folding bike."ride when and where i want!" laugh.gif
hahaha, my bike now become place for spider to breed.. so long didnt ride folding alrd only on mtb occasionally.. balik kampong oso tak boleh bawak brg anak penuh bonet..

0.0556sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:13 PM