122 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

sayasebuk
post Nov 3 2006, 02:09 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(Drascox @ Nov 3 2006, 01:10 PM)
Wow, great guide and tips!! must put in 1st post, prbably an illness and treatment section, this would probably give our forum members a great help!!  notworthy.gif
Glad to hear your turtle getting better.  rclxms.gif
how come no access to uv lights? how about daily sun bathing?
what i meant was, the carapace can heal because can benefit from the uvb rays from above, but how can the plastron benefit since its on the bottom, facing down..
err paham kee rclxub.gif
TSuzairi
post Nov 3 2006, 03:17 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

I understand. Yeah, u are correct about that, the plastron wont be getting any uva/uvb at all. Maybe when we drydock them, we can put some gamat oil to the infected place.
meiteoh
post Nov 3 2006, 04:36 PM

280 posts

Uz: What you mean by too dry ar??? How do I know for sure? :S
Drascox
post Nov 3 2006, 06:34 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Nov 3 2006, 02:09 PM)
what i meant was, the carapace can heal because can benefit from the uvb rays from above, but how can the plastron benefit since its on the bottom, facing down..
err paham kee  rclxub.gif
fear not,

Purpose of basking:-
- The main purpose of basking a TTT or reptiles is to provide them with Vitamin D, since the skin and carapace of TTT filter out normal light spectrum, only UVA and UVB able to penetrate it while concerning density of UV ray (gamma ray can penetrate too, but also cause cancer)

Purpose of providing Vitamin D:
- Vitamin D act like a catalyst, helping TTT absorb calcium way more efficiently, where calcium is the main mineral for bone and shell building as well ass keep it in good condition.

In your case, even though UV ray might not directly face to the plastron of TTT, the Vitamin D still able to be supplied throughout the whole body...
TSuzairi
post Nov 3 2006, 07:26 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Nov 3 2006, 04:36 PM)
Uz: What you mean by too dry ar??? How do I know for sure? :S
Well, u can see if they are too dry. maybe can sprinkle some water to him.

And pictures of my Asian Leaf Turtles -

ekiddie
post Nov 3 2006, 07:54 PM

810 posts

got plastron shots ka?? de carapace are nice hor... neway, are they diff species in de tank? got black and got brown wan?

can find hatchling ka?? i seldom see diff kind of hatchlings beside RES and chinese softshells...

neway, nice!

wink.gif

This post has been edited by ekiddie: Nov 3 2006, 07:55 PM
TSuzairi
post Nov 3 2006, 08:20 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

U want plastron shots also ka ? Tomorrow i go take. All in the tank are the same species, different colouring because they are tanned. laugh.gif Hatchlings cannot find coz they are WC mostly, unless someone breed them. They are other hatchlings selling also what ? Musk turtle, knobbed sawback turtle, yellow bellied and there a lot more out there what ? Go Pet Safari lah, they got new hatchlings rite ?
kamekame8888
post Nov 3 2006, 11:06 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 3 2006, 07:26 PM)
Well, u can see if they are too dry. maybe can sprinkle some water to him.

And pictures of my Asian Leaf Turtles -

Thanks for the pictures Uzairi! But they look bit different from what i saw in the net blink.gif And what eujax post earlier was different as well...let me check check icon_rolleyes.gif Anyway i'd like to see the plastron as well smile.gif

Asian Leaf turtle is Cyclemys Dentata right? cool.gif

What is Saw Knobbed turtle, Uzairi? blink.gif

Kamekame.
kamekame8888
post Nov 3 2006, 11:52 PM

143 posts

Uzairi, could there be a mistake? I think your turtles are 'Siebenrockiella crassicollis' which is known as Malayan Black Mud turtle...its not Cyclemys Dentata, Asian Leaf turtle as said....maybe you check it out in chelonia.org blink.gif

I am not too sure but it doesnt look like Asian Leaf turtle to me though...could be my mistake though...check check laa smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Nice turtles too...white spots on its head and its also call the Smiling Terapin laa smile.gif Always smile kut? wink.gif

Kamekame.
TSuzairi
post Nov 4 2006, 12:05 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Yeah, i did notice about the mud turtle but im not so sure about it. Ive been wandering around trying to find the real species. Coz there's only two of them that got the white spot behind its head. Others dont have at all. Maybe tomorrow i'll check again for the white spots behind their head again. ::

I was wandering why its different from this one since i got them.
http://www.chelonia.org/cdentatasc3.jpg

This is the best page that clearly shows the picture of the specimen.
http://www.asianturtlenetwork.org/field_gu...rassicollis.htm

Update about the white spot behind their head.
Although abundant throughout much of the Southeast Asian rainforest, this shy species is seldom seen in the wild. It lives in Thailand, Sumatra, Borneo, Java and peninsular Malaysia. It is almost all black, with several white markings on its head. The eyes are outlined in white. (Adult males lose the white markings.) The feet are fully webbed. The carapace has a rear serrations, a center keel and sometimes 2 lateral keels. It is a small turtle that rarely reaches 8".
I get confused so many times now. Firstly the Malayan Flat Shelled turtle and now this Malayan Black Mud turtle. doh.gif

Thanks to you. If its not because of your curiosity i wont know its a different species. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by uzairi: Nov 4 2006, 12:33 AM
sayasebuk
post Nov 4 2006, 12:59 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(Drascox @ Nov 3 2006, 06:34 PM)
fear not,

Purpose of basking:-
- The main purpose of basking a TTT or reptiles is to provide them with Vitamin D, since the skin and carapace of TTT filter out normal light spectrum, only UVA and UVB able to penetrate it while concerning density of UV ray (gamma ray can penetrate too, but also cause cancer)

Purpose of providing Vitamin D:
- Vitamin D act like a catalyst, helping TTT absorb calcium way more efficiently, where calcium is the main mineral for bone and shell building as well ass keep it in good condition.

In your case, even though UV ray might not directly face to the plastron of TTT, the Vitamin D still able to be supplied throughout the whole body...
yala logic jugak smile.gif

the malayan black mud turtle does look a bit like the malayan box turtle. especially the carapace
TSuzairi
post Nov 4 2006, 07:50 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Different, they look different a lot.
EuJax
post Nov 4 2006, 10:40 AM

61 posts

Hi people. Been away a while, hope all is well. Anyway Uzairi, what you have there is like what Kamekame said, its Malayan Black Marsh / Mud Turtle, and not Asian Leaf Turtle and of course not Malayan Flat Shell, way too different. Flatshell does not have black colour at all and Leaf is olive green or darker but never as black, and never had white spots on its head.

Anyway this Malayan Black Marsh Turtle is a very shy species and must not be handle too often at beginning. Otherwise serious stress will lead to their death. I am thinking to add them to my collection as well, they are cute turtles smile.gif

In the picture below, the one on the right is Malayan Black Marsh, middle is Malayan Box, left is Stinkpot. ( picture courtesy of ATP page )

Regards

This post has been edited by EuJax: Nov 4 2006, 10:41 AM

TSuzairi
post Nov 4 2006, 03:49 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Yeah, i was confuse with those 2 species of my collection. What makes me confused me even more was the white spots behind their heads. After what kamekame told me, i did another research about the female and it was correct. LOL. Now im planning to find for the "real asian leaf" pulak. doh.gif

You know where to get them ?
kamekame8888
post Nov 4 2006, 11:52 PM

143 posts

Hey eujax! Good to see you here again! Hows all your turtles and torts? Good i hope icon_rolleyes.gif Anything new? smile.gif

Uzairi, you are so lucky, mistake of species also you get some nice turtles! Envy you really! hehehhe tongue.gif

Kamekame.
TSuzairi
post Nov 5 2006, 12:44 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Indeed, but they are very shy. Especially the females, they never eat in front of me. How's your quest for turtles ? Come la join the fun here. brows.gif

And my friend's Black Breasted Leaf Turtle stocks were not that good either. Most probably because they stressed, a few of them died already. cry.gif
ekiddie
post Nov 5 2006, 07:40 AM

810 posts

dudes... may i know wat plant is this ha?

not poisonous wan, izzit as fish can be mixed together... i just worry if it's poisonous and my turtles chews on it...

wink.gif

sayasebuk
post Nov 6 2006, 10:03 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Nov 5 2006, 07:40 AM)
dudes... may i know wat plant is this ha?

not poisonous wan, izzit as fish can be mixed together... i just worry if it's poisonous and my turtles chews on it...

wink.gif
i cant remember the name. but i dont thinks its poisonous.

updates on my 2 RES. They'ved recovered completely, and they're now no longer in drydock mode. Feel so happy, after the gamat treatment they healed in less then 1 week (after so so many months ). now im giving the same gamat treatment to my malayan box. eventhough he's not showing any signs of shell rot, his shell looked reallt dry and full of very minor cuts and scratches when i found him. after one session of gamat therapy, his shells already looks very healthy, shiny and new rclxm9.gif
sayasebuk
post Nov 6 2006, 11:12 AM

677 posts

I need recommendations for the bedding for the land area of my malayan box. Previously i used normal garden soil for him to dig (to simulate natural habitat). However whenever he goes into the water, he will bring some of the dirt into the water, resulting in a very dirt water. Any ideas on a replacement for the bedding? icon_question.gif

LEVIATHAN
post Nov 6 2006, 05:26 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

after lotsa read with no post..

hi all. im a noob with 8 RESes. keeping them for about 3+ months since july this year. want a real comfirmation here about RES keeping setup. hoh. why RESes in fish shop, almost everywhere i saw 'em, kept in a very cetek water? not 1 gallon per inch as guided all over google-indexed sites? ha? then the tokey said,

ini kura2 aa, letak air sikit saja. itu kalau kasi lebih susah mau hidup aa.

still, i not kompom which one to folow. but anyho, currently they stay in 2' akuarium. water-filled to 2/3 of the height. want to upgrade to massive 120 gallon akuarium. but onli after i have my NDSL this new year. warf!

122 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:50 AM