122 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

ekiddie
post Nov 1 2006, 07:02 PM

810 posts

if de 'softshell' tat kamekame is referring to in at de entrance where it is housing together wif the giant tortoises... well, under the water wan is definately a pignose turtle... but if u said inside the blue tank... tat i really donno but i've asked uzairi and he told me it's a donno wat terrapin d... hehe...

wink.gif
kamekame8888
post Nov 1 2006, 07:30 PM

143 posts

Yes uzairi i was thinking main main dgn local ones first and i am waiting for your pictures smile.gif Thank you bro!

ekiddie, i think you are rite that is the Pig Nose turtle as the face looks like pig, the nose i mean wink.gif Pretty big and grey in colour...quite cute tongue.gif

mei, speedy recovery to your tortue!

kamekame.
TSuzairi
post Nov 1 2006, 10:26 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Nov 1 2006, 04:22 PM)
Eh, just wondering. Is it normal for Tortue to sleep all day long when he's being drydocked? (Actually there is nothing for him to do oso apart from sleep and pee/poop!)
Yeah, its completely normal. But remember not to let him to be so dry ok ?

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Nov 1 2006, 07:02 PM)
if de 'softshell' tat kamekame is referring to in at de entrance where it is housing together wif the giant tortoises... well, under the water wan is definately a pignose turtle... but if u said inside the blue tank... tat i really donno but i've asked uzairi and he told me it's a donno wat terrapin d... hehe...

wink.gif
Inside the blue tank is either Painted Terrapin(Calagur) or River Terrapin(Batagur). The one that were housed together with burmese mountain tortoise im not sure coz last time i saw was a Giant Asian Pond turtle.

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Nov 1 2006, 07:30 PM)
Yes uzairi i was thinking main main dgn local ones first and i am waiting for your pictures smile.gif Thank you bro!
No problems dude, i encouraged people that's with the same hobby as me. I'll try to help them whenever i can.
ekiddie
post Nov 2 2006, 12:22 AM

810 posts

uzairi... i went check out de price in pet's safari d... RM287 for eheim 2213 and tat fella can less 7% for me only which makes de end price to RM266.91...

comes wif 2 years warranty... i've finalize my cannister d... i'm going for eheim 2213 and not eheim 2232... one for being cheaper and it's an eheim! hahaaa!!

and i saw de blue tank terrapin's filter system is oso running on eheim... but an eheim 2215... hehe... nice!

o yah... as for eheim 2232... it's priced at RM374 wif 7% discount and this package comes wif a FREE original eheim water pump... seperately...

wink.gif

This post has been edited by ekiddie: Nov 2 2006, 12:30 AM
sayasebuk
post Nov 2 2006, 09:30 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 1 2006, 10:26 PM)
Yeah, its completely normal. But remember not to let him to be so dry ok ?
Inside the blue tank is either Painted Terrapin(Calagur) or River Terrapin(Batagur). The one that were housed together with burmese mountain tortoise im not sure coz last time i saw was a Giant Asian Pond turtle.
No problems dude, i encouraged people that's with the same hobby as me. I'll try to help them whenever i can.
i wonder how long is the maximum duration for a daily 23 drydock? is one week already too stressful for the turtle?
Drascox
post Nov 2 2006, 10:10 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Nov 2 2006, 09:30 AM)
i wonder how long is the maximum duration for a daily 23 drydock? is one week already too stressful for the turtle?
daily 23 drydock? oh you mean 23 hours dry for turtle?

23 drydock usually for treating turtles with serious fungus problem, with proper medicine and care, turtle will usually be quite ok within 1 week... and yes, turtle are really stressful during this treatment, but its require for its own good...

slight fungus problem can be cured using salt water soaking method...
TSuzairi
post Nov 2 2006, 10:48 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Nov 2 2006, 12:22 AM)
uzairi... i went check out de price in pet's safari d... RM287 for eheim 2213 and tat fella can less 7% for me only which makes de end price to RM266.91...

comes wif 2 years warranty... i've finalize my cannister d... i'm going for eheim 2213 and not eheim 2232... one for being cheaper and it's an eheim! hahaaa!!

and i saw de blue tank terrapin's filter system is oso running on eheim... but an eheim 2215... hehe... nice!

o yah... as for eheim 2232... it's priced at RM374 wif 7% discount and this package comes wif a FREE original eheim water pump... seperately...

wink.gif
Nice price, but now dunno where to get the money then. laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Drascox @ Nov 2 2006, 10:10 AM)
daily 23 drydock? oh you mean 23 hours dry for turtle?

23 drydock usually for treating turtles with serious fungus problem, with proper medicine and care, turtle will usually be quite ok within 1 week... and yes, turtle are really stressful during this treatment, but its require for its own good...

slight fungus problem can be cured using salt water soaking method...
For shell rot problems, i usually use sea cucumber oil (Minyak Gamat) to treat them. Firstly i drydock them for 1 day and the next day i use dettol to clean the infected place, let it dry and then put a little sea cucumber oil. It works for me. smile.gif
sayasebuk
post Nov 2 2006, 11:12 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 2 2006, 10:48 AM)
Nice price, but now dunno where to get the money then.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
For shell rot problems, i usually use sea cucumber oil (Minyak Gamat) to treat them. Firstly i drydock them for 1 day and the next day i use dettol to clean the infected place, let it dry and then put a little sea cucumber oil. It works for me.  smile.gif
oo so dettol and minyak gamat also can aa. no need for me to go buy some iodine/bethadine later.

hehe, sure cannot find in internet this method even if you google for it. mana ade minyak gamat at negara mat salleh laugh.gif
ekiddie
post Nov 2 2006, 03:37 PM

810 posts

so uzairi... r u gonna get it coz' i'm very sure to buy it d... c'mon... get one ler... need not alwiz change water for them mar... especially ur malayan box... too cumbersome to do it often... hehe... kasi poison skit... blush.gif

wink.gif
TSuzairi
post Nov 2 2006, 10:09 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Nov 2 2006, 11:12 AM)
oo so dettol and minyak gamat also can aa. no need for me to go buy some iodine/bethadine later.

hehe, sure cannot find in internet this method even if you google for it. mana ade minyak gamat at negara mat salleh  laugh.gif
Dettol and betahadine/iodine have almost the same antiseptic functions so u can use either one. As for the sea cucumber(gamat) i experimented it myself and i get positive results. The wounds and the rotten shell stopped and curing, so i think its a good solution too since we can get plentiful supply of them here in malaysia. But remember not to put excessive sea cucumber at one place, they are still oil and might danger the turtles itself.

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Nov 2 2006, 03:37 PM)
so uzairi... r u gonna get it coz' i'm very sure to buy it d... c'mon... get one ler... need not alwiz change water for them mar... especially ur malayan box... too cumbersome to do it often... hehe... kasi poison skit...  blush.gif

wink.gif
Ive already put my boxie on the soil, giving them the natural feel. The ones still in the tank are snappers and asian leaf. I might get one but not so soon coz now no cash. sweat.gif
ekiddie
post Nov 2 2006, 11:01 PM

810 posts

okie then... if so, i'll get it myself lor... will tell u all how it will be ya...

wink.gif

TSuzairi
post Nov 3 2006, 01:16 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Yeah, at first im very excited to get it but it seems that i need to use the money for other purposes. Maybe next time.
ekiddie
post Nov 3 2006, 07:13 AM

810 posts

alrite... next time lor... maybe price will drop by then leh... mana tau... eheim product year-end sale ma... hahaaa!!

wink.gif

meiteoh
post Nov 3 2006, 09:34 AM

280 posts

Well, he's been drydocked for a few days already. I'm keeping him in his portable tank coz big tank too tedious to wash and dry and etc. His fungus is slowly clearing up but still drydock for at least 20 hours or less now?
sayasebuk
post Nov 3 2006, 09:35 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 2 2006, 10:09 PM)
Dettol and betahadine/iodine have almost the same antiseptic functions so u can use either one. As for the sea cucumber(gamat) i experimented it myself and i get positive results. The wounds and the rotten shell stopped and curing, so i think its a good solution too since we can get plentiful supply of them here in malaysia. But remember not to put excessive sea cucumber at one place, they are still oil and might danger the turtles itself.
Ive already put my boxie on the soil, giving them the natural feel. The ones still in the tank are snappers and asian leaf. I might get one but not so soon coz now no cash.  sweat.gif
minyak gamat = miracle cure
after 1 day of drydock, i applied dettol, wait to dry and then put some gamat yesteryday. this morning i was shocked to find the infected areas 80% healed (at least visually). this morning i applied again. cant wait to see the results this evening.

however, im still worried about the infected areas at the plastron since they have no access to the uvb rays

meiteoh
post Nov 3 2006, 11:22 AM

280 posts

Gamat? What's gamat???? Where to get ar?
TSuzairi
post Nov 3 2006, 12:05 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Nov 3 2006, 09:35 AM)
after 1 day of drydock, i applied dettol, wait to dry and then put some gamat yesteryday. this morning i was shocked to find the infected areas 80% healed (at least visually). this morning i applied again. cant wait to see the results this evening.

however, im still worried about the infected areas at the plastron since they have no access to the uvb rays
Hehe, nice aite ? That's why im sharing it with u guys. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Nov 3 2006, 11:22 AM)
Minyak gamat is sea cucumber's oil. You can get it from any pharmacies i supposed.
sayasebuk
post Nov 3 2006, 12:35 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Nov 3 2006, 11:22 AM)
erkss seriuss a u dont know gamat? shocking.gif . it is very2 popular here in malaysia. i think we are the only producers/exporters of gamats. i guess maybe because you guys already have your long line of chinese medicines smile.gif

even pasar malam can get. kedai runcit. small2 shops selling malay medicine. just ask around you'll sure find.

QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 3 2006, 12:05 PM)
Hehe, nice aite ? That's why im sharing it with u guys.  thumbup.gif
Minyak gamat is sea cucumber's oil. You can get it from any pharmacies i supposed.
the gamat achieved in 1 day what the medicine from the vet could not achieve even after 1 month really2 shocked drool.gif

meiteoh
post Nov 3 2006, 01:08 PM

280 posts

No leh...I dunno lor....chinese medicine got la but I use the usual stuff. tongue.gif
Drascox
post Nov 3 2006, 01:10 PM

328 posts

For shell rot problems, i usually use sea cucumber oil (Minyak Gamat) to treat them. Firstly i drydock them for 1 day and the next day i use dettol to clean the infected place, let it dry and then put a little sea cucumber oil. It works for me.  smile.gif
QUOTE(uzairi @ Nov 2 2006, 10:09 PM)
Wow, great guide and tips!! must put in 1st post, prbably an illness and treatment section, this would probably give our forum members a great help!! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Nov 3 2006, 09:35 AM)

Glad to hear your turtle getting better. rclxms.gif
how come no access to uv lights? how about daily sun bathing?

122 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:17 AM