241 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V28, Keep on Keeping on!

elementum
post Apr 3 2017, 05:36 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 3 2017, 11:03 AM)
Yes, I was told that flywheel oil seal leaks a lot when worn.

My last car, the Toyota Corolla, the oil really gushed out below the
gearbox when driving out from this shorty (and cocky) mechanic shop's
in Sri Hartamas, below my office years ago, after some other repairs,
years ago.

Since he had spotted it for me, I let him replace it for me
the next day, as a mark of gratitude to him.

My usual mechanic in Cheras at that time, Ah Keong had not 
replaced it for me at the same time he replaced the clutch a
couple of years before that.

No wonder this air con man in Jinjang, Ah Tee, said you must
replace the flywheel seal at the same time as the clutch, especially
if you do not do that much driving, since the clutch will tend to last
longer then, but the seal itself will wear with age.
Did you replace the driveshaft oil seals at the same time as
the clutch and flywheel seal ?

The boss in AME Parts, Simon, when I went to buy the clutch disc,
diaphragm, bearing and all three seals from from him recently, asked
me whey I was buying the two driveshaft seals as well, since those
normally do not leak and lasts a very long time.
Yeah. I have the mech do everything at one go. Clutch set, clutch cable, clutch switch and seal, bearing, flywheel oil seal, lower arm and the drive shaft plus the absorber link and also steering boot coz the mech say since going to do the drive shaft, do together since it going to involve the Gearbox. I was quite surprised it was still the ori clutch seal was original from day one though I had them replaced at 200+k. Some mech are seriously asshole....

This post has been edited by elementum: Apr 3 2017, 05:38 PM
SUSTham
post Apr 4 2017, 11:43 AM

1,576 posts

@Albert B

I remember you posted a diagram of the autochoke's channels.

Can you post it again ?

I was looking at the choke's appearance as shown in the photo.

It looks like just a bolt-on with three screws to the side of the carburettor.
I think it just revs up the idle speed with the movement of the cam at the
end. I don't think it enriches the mixture.

SUSTham
post Apr 4 2017, 11:51 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 30 2017, 11:43 AM)

@Albert B

Wow, I didn't know this Hup Seong in Segambut seems to sell
everything, even cylinder heads and camshafts.

You can even get the thermostatic valve here.

Mostly China and Taiwan parts though.

http://www.hupseong.com.my/model/ps/?posts_per_page=24

SUSTham
post Apr 4 2017, 11:54 AM

1,576 posts

Jammed choke nearly caused an accident
in this guy's case.

Similar to those cruise controls devices jamming at speed.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46486508

Albert B
post Apr 4 2017, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 4 2017, 11:43 AM)
@Albert B
I remember you posted a diagram of the autochoke's channels.

Can you post it again ?

I was looking at the choke's appearance as shown in the photo.

It looks like just a bolt-on with three screws to the side of the carburettor.
I think it just revs up the idle speed with the movement of the cam at the
end. I don't think it enriches the mixture.
1) The autochoke piston (aka enrichment rod) not only
alters the throttle idle position, it operates some air bleed
passage to change the air-fuel ratio (AFR).

2) Different engine loads and temperatures require
different AFRs.

3) The vacuum line that goes to the autochoke operates
some kind of device(s) that also alters the AFR.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Albert B
post Apr 4 2017, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 4 2017, 11:51 AM)
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 30 2017, 11:43 AM)

@Albert B

Thanks for the site. For the thermostatic valve, so far I found only 2 with price like what you mentioned earlier:

Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 10:05 AM

[quote=Albert B,Apr 4 2017, 05:20 PM]
@Albert B

[/quote]
Thanks for the site. For the thermostatic valve, so far I found only 2 with price like what you mentioned earlier:

[/quote]

how to know if thermostatic valve is spoil ?

This post has been edited by Kbbteoh: Apr 5 2017, 10:22 AM
SUSTham
post Apr 5 2017, 10:10 AM

1,576 posts

Talking about accident, bad day yesterday.

As I was about to drive out from Hartamas yesterday, moving
along slowly in a jam at the traffic lights, this guy in a Nissan
X-Trail bumped into my rear.

Quite a strong, loud bump. I thought my rear really gone in.

Came out, the guy said he "dropped his food".

Surprisingly, our Iswara's rear bumper is quite strong. Two women
near my house (one a Malay girl right outside) already bumped there
with no serious effects, other than a small broken lower corner of
the number plate there, and minor scratches.

This time, the left edge, where the "L" wraps around the right signal
light and the right side of the boot, came out a little at the top, where
the rubber strip runs.

The right corner of his front bumper (X-Trail !) had come down a little.

The guy said he was jobless, buying food for his kid, etc etc and
showed me his wallet with what looked like just two $10 notes
there (driving a metallic gold X-Trail ?).

I gave up on the guy. I told him that the two women who had bumped
me there earlier didn't even cook up such stories and compensated me
on the spot - the Malay girl had given me $100 without even me asking
(and I found out later she was actually jobless), and this guy was a
married man, probably late 30s !

Finally he took out another $50 note from wallet and gave it to me
along with the two $10 ones. No choice but to accept it.

I told him if it had been a pedestrian (like a schoolkid crossing the road),
he would probably be going to court now for dangerous driving, like the
young girl who went in the wrong direction last two weeks.

Took it to the usual mud guard man in Sungei way, who was busy with like
five cars in his workshop. He took out his super glue (those $1 China
plastic bottles) , dripped along that part of the rubber strip, and taped
up it crudely with those paper masking tapes, telling me to remove
them later.

I asked him, what about hammering the metal bracket underneath back
to shape ? He said not necessary, won't make any difference since
that was the side, etc etc.

Took it home, then noticed that part of the boot along the side bumper
had also dented in a little, but very minor.

I took some photos, used my sister's phone to Whatapp them to another
former mud guard man from Cheras, now a used car salesman, who
told me to just leave it alone.

This post has been edited by Tham: Apr 5 2017, 10:20 AM
Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 4 2017, 11:54 AM)
Jammed choke nearly caused an accident
in this guy's case.

Similar to those cruise controls devices jamming at speed.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46486508
i face this before. based on my experience it is not jammed choke because the choke never can rev your car to 3.5k rpm, max is about 2.5k rpm only. its the throttle body shaft jam. its usually wont happen if u drive economy way ( less hard accelerating ), but it happen once after u release your feet from fully throttle or hard accelerating.

i did not send to my mechanics. i just have some lubricate spray to my throttle body shaft both side left and right. everything is just fine until now.

another way, just open your front bonnet and push the throttle body to idle position. it wont be hard to push just little only.
Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 10:31 AM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Apr 4 2017, 03:23 PM)
1) The autochoke piston (aka enrichment rod) not only
alters the throttle idle position, it operates some air bleed
passage to change the air-fuel ratio (AFR).

2) Different engine loads and temperatures require
different AFRs.

3) The vacuum line that goes to the autochoke operates
some kind of device(s) that also alters the AFR.
i think my saga lmst year 2007, the choke have been factory modify. there is only one vacuum hose connect to choke and 2 water hose ( in and out ) only. the thermostatic valve vacuum hose i still have some hard time to track it.
SUSTham
post Apr 5 2017, 10:40 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Apr 5 2017, 02:19 AM)
i face this before. based on my experience it is not jammed choke because the choke never can rev your car to 3.5k rpm, max is about 2.5k rpm only. its the throttle body shaft jam. its usually wont happen if u drive economy way ( less hard accelerating ), but it happen once after u release your feet from fully throttle or hard accelerating.

i did not send to my mechanics. i just have some lubricate spray to my throttle body shaft both side left and right. everything is just fine until now.

another way, just open your front bonnet and push the throttle body to idle position. it wont be hard to push just little only.
Oh, you mean your is fuel injection ? The throttle body has a
tendency to jam ?

That also happened to me at least twice in my old Toyota, with the
twin venturi Aisan carburettor.

First with the old carb, then again with the new carb which had replaced it,
after only just over a year.

The second time, this "smart" mechanic below my office was teaching
me how to "start this type of car in the right way". With the engine off,
he stepped on the throttle pedal all the way down, then turned the key.

Immediately the engine revved up to what sounded like 5,000 rpm !
I thought my timing chain and valves were going to fly off. The idiot
didn't seem to know what had happened.

My exhaust was blasting out lots of black smoke, and the customers
in the eateries just across the road were covering their faces!

Opened the bonnet, he kept looking at the carburettor, trying to figure
out what was wrong. Luckily, he managed to free the linkage after about
30 seconds, or my timing chain would have flown out.

The butterfly throttle flap linkage of the secondary venturi is hardly
ever used and will jam up over time. I had written a letter to Aisan in
Japan then, screwing them up for a poor product.

One guy told me it also happened in his old Toyota KE30, the engine
revving up to 6,000 rpm, and his timing chain broke.

Luckily these old Toyota K-series OHV engines are non-interference
types, so his valves and pistons were not damaged.

If this happens in our "modern" Mitusbishi OHC engines with the
useless timing belts, be prepared for a big repair bill.

SUSTham
post Apr 5 2017, 10:44 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Apr 5 2017, 02:31 AM)
i think my saga lmst year 2007, the choke have been factory modify. there is only one vacuum hose connect to choke and 2 water hose ( in and out ) only. the thermostatic valve vacuum hose i still have some hard time to track it.
Yes, the one in the Iswara has only the center vacuum pipe too.

https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-44/...-1491277435.jpg

Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 10:55 AM

My saga lmst year 2007, After i repair the auto choke, the fuel economy increase significantly and power is come back again, nice idle sound. Wont shake like hell in idle and morning as well. Morning start the exhaust have some water vapor rclxms.gif rclxms.gif. After repair choke, new set of spark plug, flush and change new type of engine coolant ( oily type of coolant) and re-tune now i get about 480km per 40L. very nice.

The tuning shop help me adjust the co level to about 2% only ( on hot engine, after a ride ), is that correct ?
Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 5 2017, 10:40 AM)
Oh, you mean your is fuel injection ?  The throttle body has a
tendency to jam ?
That also happened to me at least twice in my old Toyota, with the
twin venturi Aisan carburettor.

First with the old carb, then again with the new carb which had replaced it,
after only  just over a year.

The second time, this "smart" mechanic below my office was teaching
me how to "start this type of car in the right way". With the engine off,
he stepped on the throttle pedal all the way down, then turned the key.

Immediately the engine revved up to what sounded like 5,000 rpm !
I thought my timing chain and valves were going to fly off.  The idiot
didn't seem to know what had happened.

My exhaust was blasting out lots of black smoke, and the customers
in the eateries just across the road were covering their faces!

Opened the bonnet, he kept looking at the carburettor, trying to figure
out what was wrong. Luckily, he managed to free the linkage after about
30 seconds, or my timing chain would have flown out.

The butterfly throttle flap linkage of the secondary venturi is hardly
ever used and will jam up over time. I had written a letter to Aisan in
Japan then, screwing them up for a poor product.

One guy told me it also happened in his old Toyota KE30, the engine
revving up to 6,000 rpm, and his timing chain broke.

Luckily these old Toyota K-series OHV engines are non-interference
types, so his valves and pistons were not damaged.

If this happens in our "modern" Mitusbishi OHC engines with the
useless timing belts,  be prepared for a big repair bill.
yes throttle body shaft is possible to jam. I think is because of dirt around them. Last time mine is continue rev to 5k rpm after 2nd gear full throttle for potong kerata at hill road. in 3rd gear i found uncontrollable, i stop at side and open full power of my air con to lower the rpm. I know is throttle body jam, a huge gap between the choke and throttle body position.
Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 5 2017, 10:44 AM)
Yes, the one in the Iswara has only the center vacuum pipe too.

https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-44/...-1491277435.jpg
do u know where the center vacuum pipe connect to ?
Albert B
post Apr 5 2017, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(Albert B @ Apr 4 2017, 03:23 PM)

Inside the autochoke there are breaker and power jets.

alexwsk
post Apr 5 2017, 01:48 PM

4,095 posts

QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Apr 5 2017, 10:55 AM)
My saga lmst year 2007, After i repair the auto choke, the fuel economy increase significantly and power is come back again, nice idle sound. Wont shake like hell in idle and morning as well. Morning start the exhaust have some water vapor  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif. After repair choke, new set of spark plug, flush and change new type of engine coolant ( oily type of coolant)  and re-tune now i get about 480km per 40L. very nice.

The tuning shop help me adjust the co level to about 2% only ( on hot engine, after a ride ), is that correct ?
Where's the tuning shop and how much? I plan to tune oso if nearby my area, thx
Kbbteoh
post Apr 5 2017, 08:03 PM

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 5 2017, 01:48 PM)
Where's the tuning shop and how much? I plan to tune oso if nearby my area, thx
i stay at kuching area, are u the same area as well ?

alexwsk
post Apr 5 2017, 10:02 PM

4,095 posts

QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Apr 5 2017, 08:03 PM)
i stay at kuching area, are u the same area as well ?
opps, i'm in penisular, subang jaya area blush.gif
SUSTham
post Apr 6 2017, 07:30 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Apr 5 2017, 04:09 AM)
Inside the autochoke there are breaker and power jets.
You mean the two jets and valves are inside the autochoke ?

The whole choke cannot be simply removed and the carburettor
left as it is ?

I remember one taxi driver disconnected the two water hoses, and
simply jumped the two pipes on the intake manifold with one of these
hoses.

He had a dual fuel system - LPG or petrol.

That "Ancient" guy seems to have disappeared.

241 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:00 AM