FPS Bioshock, Possibly the succesor to SShock2...
Aug 29 2007, 12:21 AM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
yes, it only screws the registery, not the hardware
Aug 29 2007, 12:29 AM
4,567 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Bangi, Selangor |
Another Facepalm incidence.
![]() |
Aug 29 2007, 06:23 AM
1,388 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sg. Petani, Kedah |
Just played the demo last night, and it certainly makes me want to buy the game even more. Totally surpassed my expectations in every way, especially the graphics, gameplay and hardware requirements.
Trouble is, I'm still feeling uneasy about the SecureROM issue, and I think I'll hold off my purchase until they releae a patch to remove it completely. I had enough trouble removing it right after playing the demo, and I don't want the same thing to happen with the full version. It's not a good feeling to know that you've got someone invading your privacy while you're playing a game. |
Aug 29 2007, 08:05 AM
2,850 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Stellar Nursery |
QUOTE(rcky @ Aug 29 2007, 06:23 AM) Just played the demo last night, and it certainly makes me want to buy the game even more. Totally surpassed my expectations in every way, especially the graphics, gameplay and hardware requirements. I tried looking in gamespot forums for the manual fix but aside from finding a denial-of-spyware statement from a 2k rep Elizabeth, I can't find the specific thread.Trouble is, I'm still feeling uneasy about the SecureROM issue, and I think I'll hold off my purchase until they releae a patch to remove it completely. I had enough trouble removing it right after playing the demo, and I don't want the same thing to happen with the full version. It's not a good feeling to know that you've got someone invading your privacy while you're playing a game. |
Aug 29 2007, 09:38 AM
130 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
There you go.
http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070...-a-rootkit.html No rootkit in Bioshock. Just the existance of something hiding within. Even demo versions have that and its irremovable. |
Aug 29 2007, 10:24 AM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
QUOTE(slumberus @ Aug 29 2007, 09:38 AM) There you go. that IS a definition of a rootkithttp://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070...-a-rootkit.html No rootkit in Bioshock. Just the existance of something hiding within. Even demo versions have that and its irremovable. ![]() |
Aug 29 2007, 11:04 AM
1,388 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sg. Petani, Kedah |
QUOTE(Polaris @ Aug 29 2007, 08:05 AM) I tried looking in gamespot forums for the manual fix but aside from finding a denial-of-spyware statement from a 2k rep Elizabeth, I can't find the specific thread. Here you go. http://www.gamingbob.com/2007/08/23/biosho...including-demo/ Kudos to Ahmike for the link, which can be found in page# 7, post# 234. Tried it out, really works. The catch is that you must uninstall the game 1st, otherwise the installed game will create a SecureROM backup file and will regenerate itself after rebooting. Crap. I played the demo only once, and for one moment, I felt that a huge amount of money had been very well spent on my new rig. I have virtually no complaints about Bioshock, at least when it comes to gameplay and graphics (the SecureROM shite is a different issue altogether). A perfect FPS that is more than a worthy successor to the legendary System Shock 2. What I truly like is the fact that the game plays out in near-maximum detail as smooth as butter on my crappy VGA card (at 1280X1024, which is the max res on my CRT). The graphics are razor sharp, especially the water effects that stole the limelight away. I actually stopped to admire the way the water gushes out from the theatre wreck. Looks like looks (no pun intended) can be deceiving after all, considering the speculation that Bioshock needs a hardcore power rig to run it well. Even on my 8600GT, slowdown was very minimal with almost all details cranked up. |
Aug 29 2007, 11:14 AM
130 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
My bad. I have to rephrase my statement after proper reading.
Bioshock is not hiding something inside, its a registry value entry that doesn't coincide with Microsoft's RootkitRevealer scans, hence it flagged it as a POTENTIAL case of rootkit presence. The fact remains that Bioshock does not install a rootkit, much less compromise the system's kernal and open up security holes. |
Aug 29 2007, 11:18 AM
5,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Über Special Forces Gaming Room |
played the demo. basic demo impression: not good and overhyped. i don't know how this game could even score more than 7 over 10.
Graphics: Yeah, it is not a jaw-dropping-graphic game. just so so graphics looks a lil dated plus have some brighter version of doom 3 feel. the water effect (which is most important since we are surrounded by water in Rapture) are just typical. some earlier games could easily surpass this area. Nothing eye catching. Maybe I dont like their so called "art". Gameplay: The "innovative" gameplay which is advertised almost everywhere. Yeah, you can set ppl on fire or shock them, hack the bots...I dont feel like those are something new and fun to play with. Setting people on fire in postal was more amusing and I could even pee on their dead bodies. No inventory? come on. I can keep my guns and first aid kits, why not the food and drinks? Sound: Sfx and music are okay. Nothing stunning here. Things sound like as they should in real life. Firefights and plasmids dont sound that explosive hence reduced some immersive experience. Overall: I would give this game 6/10 as presented in the demo. Gaming experience wasn't that great and immersive. I dont feel like I'm in danger and satisfaction from killing your foes are minimal. Game performance is OK on my rig, considering this isn't a "graphics" game. Apart from these, there's also issues with Widescreen (w/o hacking) and rootkit conspiracy as mentioned earlier in this thread. Disclaimer: My comments and ratings do not represent the full game though. Because I haven't played it. It is based on the demo version with everything from graphics and audio set to highest possible. Edit: Different people have different tastes on games. And this game is just not my type. This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: Aug 29 2007, 11:23 AM |
Aug 29 2007, 10:24 PM
1,188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Liked the premise of the story..seems promising enough..
Graphics feels blocky and dated but dynamic lightings and shaders (water) are creatively so no much complains about it there. |
Aug 29 2007, 10:39 PM
2,850 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Stellar Nursery |
QUOTE(rcky @ Aug 29 2007, 11:04 AM) Here you go. Thanks for the link, I played it on 1440 x 900 the first time and it went all the way until the promo clip, but the second time it was on 1920 x 1200 and all went well right until it crashed at the hall a few minutes before the demo ends. My card is the agp type x1950 pro 512mb, with 2g ram. I think the old athlon 64 3000 may be the bottleneck here.http://www.gamingbob.com/2007/08/23/biosho...including-demo/ What I truly like is the fact that the game plays out in near-maximum detail as smooth as butter on my crappy VGA card (at 1280X1024, which is the max res on my CRT). The graphics are razor sharp, especially the water effects that stole the limelight away. I actually stopped to admire the way the water gushes out from the theatre wreck. Looks like looks (no pun intended) can be deceiving after all, considering the speculation that Bioshock needs a hardcore power rig to run it well. Even on my 8600GT, slowdown was very minimal with almost all details cranked up. |
Sep 1 2007, 09:13 AM
5,006 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Puchong |
theres some good news in the past few hours for those wanting to play the game.
Sep 1 2007, 09:45 AM
727 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Sep 1 2007, 10:29 AM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
So, is Bioshock available in Malaysia? How about in Kuching?
Sep 1 2007, 12:03 PM
585 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: xia's heart , ! |
Sep 1 2007, 12:06 PM
198 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(kmarc @ Sep 1 2007, 10:29 AM) Its ALREADY avalible from PC GAME and Im willing to bet some shops in KL Lowyat are already getting it.Bioshock |
Sep 1 2007, 12:10 PM
2,746 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: 21st century |
Sep 1 2007, 02:09 PM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
IC. Thx for the info.
Sep 1 2007, 05:47 PM
1,166 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
All hail DarkCoder!! Long live capt jack sparrow!!!
Sep 1 2007, 06:09 PM
1,081 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
haha. Finally they did it
| Change to: | 0.0250sec