LYN Christian Fellowship V8 (Group)

Decky
post Nov 1 2014, 12:28 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 1 2014, 12:18 PM)
Scripture is complete bro, but our / mine / yours understanding of scripture is not.... tomorrow you / me will have something learn, tomorrow oso another soul lost.

The problem is, Christ is not happy the church is not winning soul directly or indirectly.

Why depend on your understanding more than depending HS ?

today HS can say shut up and read ur bible...
tomorrow HS can say go and give money to poor...

if you focus on your understanding, then you will not move until you are confidence with what biblical or not right ? at what expense you wanna do it ? 10 year study and have 10 year lost of soul ?

I know you love Jesus. But you have to trust Jesus to lead you, with or without you understand bible. There are communities that already understand bible better than you. Check with HS throughly..

charismatics had bad records
protestant oso has bad records... do you think protesting is not against bible ? marthin luther protest with chatolic for whatsoever reason. didn' bible say 1 Samuel 15:23 that rebellion is like the sin of divination ?

that's why.. check with HS... why marthin luther prevails ? cuz GOD's allowing him to rebel because GOD is told him to rebel... how does marthin luther know ? cuz he loves Jesus. My sheep knows my voice saith the LORD

same like you. You also love Jesus.
Yes true. Scripture is complete, but our understanding isn't. THATS WHY WE READ OUR BIBLES LAH lololol

And of course, we pray that the HS will lead us to understand God's word better every day! But if you only pray but don't even open your bible or you can't even be bothered to learn how to read the Bible, then how? You say you love Jesus right? Then obey his commandments and learn his word! How would you know what his commandments are if you don't strive to understand the bible?
unknown warrior
post Nov 1 2014, 12:31 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 1 2014, 12:24 PM)
Remember what I said earlier: Do not take a verse out of it's context and interpret it from there.

If you keep doing that, you can let the Bible say whatever you want it to say e.g. Pslams 14:1 ....There is no God.    <<< Is the Bible saying that God doesn't exist? yawn.gif

Read the whole chapter, try to understand the context that Paul is talking to the Corinthian church (e.g. disunity because they believe that speaking in tongues = superior to other gifts, used to be pagans, unloving)

Try again.
It's all in context of 1 Corinthians 14 . Because you did ask If speaking/praying in tongues is important and you questioned your mission leader about that too.

Since you are a believer, so if someone prays in tongues, do you think He is trying to instruct you in tongues?

Here is what I mean.
ver 19. But in the church I would rather speak five intelligible words to instruct others than ten thousand words in a tongue.

No right?

de1929
post Nov 1 2014, 12:38 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 1 2014, 12:28 PM)
Yes true. Scripture is complete, but our understanding isn't. THATS WHY WE READ OUR BIBLES LAH lololol

And of course, we pray that the HS will lead us to understand God's word better every day! But if you only pray but don't even open your bible or you can't even be bothered to learn how to read the Bible, then how? You say you love Jesus right? Then obey his commandments and learn his word! How would you know what his commandments are if you don't strive to understand the bible?
i read bible bro, but i don't let my mind to understand bible naturally. I don't use my english skills to understand bible. I just read. understand or not understand i just swallow as is. .e.g genesis 1 say world created in 6 days, i don't care right or wrong from scientist perspective, i just swallow

That's what i mean i read bible. I just read regardless i understand or not... cuz my spirit eats the rhema from the bible.

I don't derive conclusion to keep in my heart without asking HS.... that's the different between you and me... cmiiw
Decky
post Nov 1 2014, 12:39 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 1 2014, 12:31 PM)
It's all in context of 1 Corinthians 14 . Because you did ask If speaking/praying in tongues is important and you questioned your mission leader about that too.

Since you are a believer, so if someone prays in tongues, do you think He is trying to instruct you in tongues?

Here is what I mean.
ver 19. But in the church I would rather speak five intelligible words to instruct others than ten thousand words in a tongue.
No right?
I think you even misunderstood what I said: I was talking about priorities when it came to talking about my mission leader AND the fact that everyone should speak in tongues (when the gifts are distributed according to God's will)

Again, you're missing the whole point of 1 Corinthians 14. Try again biggrin.gif

Hint: you're still missing the big idea of the text, try to find out the essence of what Paul is trying to say. You're paying too much attention the the details of single words, but you're missing the bigger picture of the text. You can read the commentary I posted a few posts ago if you need some help, it helped me too.
Decky
post Nov 1 2014, 12:41 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 1 2014, 12:38 PM)
i read bible bro, but i don't let my mind to understand bible naturally. I don't use my english skills to understand bible. I just read. understand or not understand i just swallow as is. .e.g genesis 1 say world created in 6 days, i don't care right or wrong from scientist perspective, i just swallow

That's what i mean i read bible. I just read regardless i understand or not... cuz my spirit eats the rhema from the bible.

I don't derive conclusion to keep in my heart without asking HS.... that's the different between you and me... cmiiw
Nice personal attack bro. I'm pretty sure the HS doesn't encourage personal attacks and condescension though, but you believe everything you believe is right so... there you go!
de1929
post Nov 1 2014, 12:46 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 1 2014, 12:39 PM)
I think you even misunderstood what I said: I was talking about priorities when it came to talking about my mission leader AND the fact that everyone should speak in tongues (when the gifts are distributed according to God's will)

Again, you're missing the whole point of 1 Corinthians 14. Try again biggrin.gif

Hint: you're still missing the big idea of the text, try to find out the essence of what Paul is trying to say. You're paying too much attention the the details of single words, but you're missing the bigger picture of the text. You can read the commentary I posted a few posts ago if you need some help, it helped me too.
That mission leader priority is set by HS, not by your understanding. Since you are protestant, i doubt you will understand how mission leader hears from HS. If HS mandates mission leader to bring people only who can speak in tongue, then so be it lah...

biblical verses ? i assumed my material earlier and UW already gave u biggrin.gif

de1929
post Nov 1 2014, 12:48 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 1 2014, 12:41 PM)
Nice personal attack bro. I'm pretty sure the HS doesn't encourage personal attacks and condescension though, but you believe everything you believe is right so... there you go!
forgive me, i just want you to reap soul, better than me.
Decky
post Nov 1 2014, 12:55 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Nov 1 2014, 12:48 PM)
forgive me, i just want you to reap soul, better than me.
So basically...remember this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3lwsOPEpMw

Good song + biblical lyrics.

The heart of Christianity is that Jesus died to save us undeserving sinners while we were his enemies. Don't ever forget that because the HS will always testify to this truth, anything contrary to this is not from the hS.
unknown warrior
post Nov 1 2014, 12:56 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 1 2014, 12:39 PM)

All the priorities are very important and that would include praying in tongues to God. Spiritual warfare is not something we should take lightly.

I need to be clear that, This is not the same as speaking in tongues of other languages or to instruct another believer in tongues. No. now THAT gifting is as what you've said, it is distributed accordingly. Not everyone have this gifting.

But not this one;

This praying in tongues to God directly in the context of ver 2. Every Christian have this gifting, that is why Paul said I would like every one of you to speak in tongues because everyone can. But he goes on to say I rather that you prophesy because prophecy it's for building of the Church as a whole. You noticed that he made a clear contrast that speaking in tongues is private. (Only you and God). And the Bible wrote towards the end that Tongues is not a sign for believers. But if someone pray in tongues loudly for the entire Church, then you need an interpreter. 1 Corinthians 14 as what we all agree, comes in and apply, because on Sunday service, there could be unbelievers attending.

Problem is, some Christian misquote this and apply it to all situation, even in mission fields (as your situation) hinting that it is not necessary to speak in tongues using the same reason because no interpreter which actually in context meant for unbelievers.

In prayer group for mission, I believe it is reasonable to say all present are believers. You cannot use that and say praying/speaking in tongues is not important or less important and is not edifying because there's no interpreter. Using 1 Corinthians 14 on that is out of context.

That is my context of the point I made.

Your concern is shown when you asked is praying /speaking in tongues necessary/important? and you go and quote 1 Corinthians 12, 13 & 14.
Most Christians who don't understand the context of 1 Corinthians 14 will inevitably question it's importance just Because they don't understand what the guy is praying or he can't pray in tongues and therefore justify it is necessary?

Am I right to say this is your concern?

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 1 2014, 03:07 PM
ngaisteve1
post Nov 1 2014, 01:47 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 1 2014, 01:56 PM)
All the priorities are very important and that would include praying in tongues to God. Spiritual warfare is not something we should take lightly.

I need to be clear that, This is not the same as speaking in tongues of other languages or to instruct another believer in tongues. No. now THAT gifting is as what you've said, it is distributed accordingly.

But not this one;

This is praying in tongues to God directly in the context of ver 2. Every Christian have this gifting, that is why Paul said I would like every one of you to speak in tongues because everyone can. But he goes on to say I rather that you prophesy because prophecy it's for building of the Church as a whole. You noticed that he made a clear contrast that speaking in tongues is private. (Only you and God). Neither did the Bible indicated that Tongues is a sign for believers. But if someone pray in tongues loudly for the entire Church, then you need an interpreter. Because on sunday service, there could be unbelievers attending.

Problem is, some Christian misquote this and apply it to all situation, even in mission fields using the same reason meant for unbelievers.

In prayer group for mission, I believe it is reasonable to say all present are believers. You cannot use that and say praying/speaking in tongues is not important.
That is my context of the point I made.

Your concern is shown when you asked is praying /speaking in tongues necessary/important? and you go and quote 1 Corinthians  12, 13 & 14.
Most Christians who don't understand the context of 1 Corinthians 14 will inevitably question it is important Because I don't understand what the guy is praying.

Am I right to say this is your concern?
can the interpreter interpret actually? I heard before that one interpreter at the end confess that all these while he just goreng only :-D
de1929
post Nov 1 2014, 01:59 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 1 2014, 01:47 PM)
can the interpreter interpret actually? I heard before that one interpreter at the end confess that all these while he just goreng only :-D
It happens to me oso...

interpreter A just say basic things such as: GOD loves you, GOD cares you, GOD's way is not equal your way, trust in GOD, lean not on your understanding... I say the intepreter play safe lahh...

I heard oso another intepreter B say: i heard this word ABCDABCD (i forgot actual word, so i symbolize ABCDABCD) ... what the meaning to you... then suddenly the person screaming loud and escorted to sidewall... later on the person explain the word ABCDABCD meaning a lot to him...

so to answer your questions, yes they can. But you need to know the reputation of the intepreter. if not, danger lahh... like you trust your car to mechanic you don't know...

de1929
post Nov 1 2014, 02:06 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Nov 1 2014, 02:17 AM)
Here's a real world example:
You're going to a third world country to preach the gospel to people who barely understand or have not heard of the gospel, what are your priorities?
(1)Pray that God will help you understand His word better and that you will be faithful to what you're teaching and preaching and that the people there will learn, AND THEN you work hard to make sure that you and your team are equipped to do the work there and won't teach heresy there

OR

(2)Make sure everyone in your team prays in tongues X times a week, fast breakfast every Monday and during group meetings: the priority is always to pray together in tongues without an interpreter.

In my case, (2) happened. And what happened when we were on the field? A few hundred village teens who are hardcore poor heard a sermon that told them how God was gonna bless them (in context, it was in a material way) if they remain righteous in him. So in other words, these poor village folk were taught that this whole relationship with God works this way: You obey him, he gives you stuff on earth, you guys clearly don't have alot of stuff right now because you're poor but don't worry, God's gonna bless you with wealth because you're Christians!
Wow... hardcore poor is demonic curse that works through generations. i can say probably 3 generations ? It has been poor not only 1 or 5 years, but probably 60 years since atuk / grandpa already poor.

also i assume hardcore poor accompanied by illiterate, no education, poor mentality, low hygiene, cannot find brilliant IQ for sure... this is completely demonic work settled for years... many years...

I understand why your team leader emphasis on speak in tongue as spiritual warfare.

Matthew 12:29
"Or again, how can anyone enter a strong man's house and carry off his possessions unless he first ties up the strong man? Then he can plunder his house.

This post has been edited by de1929: Nov 1 2014, 02:07 PM
unknown warrior
post Nov 1 2014, 03:13 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 1 2014, 01:47 PM)
If he has the gift of interpreting tongues, why not?

This is not something weird or out of place that has never happened in the Christian community.

It's in the Bible. The occurance is written in the New Testament all over and the Apostle Paul actually encourages it and even admonish:

Don't forbid speaking in tongues at the last end of 1 Corinthians 14.

I seem to get the impression that denomination who don't believe in speaking in tongues thinks that this is satanic.

I seriously cannot understand the fear and paranoia of it or what the their base for saying that.

Correct me if this is not the case.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 1 2014, 03:23 PM
ngaisteve1
post Nov 1 2014, 03:29 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 1 2014, 04:13 PM)
If he has the gift of interpreting tongues, why not?

This is not something weird or out of place that has never happened in the Christian community.

It's in the Bible. The occurance is written in the New Testament all over and the Apostle Paul actually encourages it and even admonish:

Don't forbid speaking in tongues at the last end of 1 Corinthians 14.

I seem to get the impression that denomination who don't believe in speaking in tongues thinks that this is satanic.

I seriously cannot understand the fear and paranoia of it or what the their base for saying that.

Correct me if this is not the case.
I wish to meet the interpreter personally and straight to the eye and ask him/her, "Do you honestly from the bottom of your heart understand the person who speak in tongue beside you?". Sorry for my much scepticism. Can't help.
unknown warrior
post Nov 1 2014, 03:53 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 1 2014, 03:29 PM)
I wish to meet the interpreter personally and straight to the eye and ask him/her, "Do you honestly from the bottom of your heart understand the person who speak in tongue beside you?". Sorry for my much scepticism. Can't help.
This gift of Interpretation of the tongue does not come from the bottom of that person's heart. laugh.gif

It's a gifting enabled by the HS at that point of time when the need arise.

This interpretation is not where you can understand indefinitely like a learned language.

Aiyo Steve doh.gif

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Nov 1 2014, 03:57 PM
De_Luffy
post Nov 1 2014, 03:56 PM

737 posts

not everyone has the gift of speaking in tongue......although Paul said that everyone has the ability to speak in tongue but that does not means you can speak in tongue right away, he may referring to speak in other languages?

Gift of Speaking in tongue is one of the gift of the Holy Spirit, so not everyone can speak in tongue
unknown warrior
post Nov 1 2014, 03:59 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Nov 1 2014, 03:56 PM)
not everyone has the gift of speaking in tongue......although Paul said that everyone has the ability to speak in tongue but that does not means you can speak in tongue right away, he may referring to speak in other languages?

Gift of Speaking in tongue is one of the gift of the Holy Spirit, so not everyone can speak in tongue
Every Christian have the gift of Speaking/praying in tongues to the Father but
Not every Christian have the gift of speaking in tongues of other languages or to instruct another believer in tongues like a prophecy.
ngaisteve1
post Nov 1 2014, 04:05 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 1 2014, 04:53 PM)
This gift of Interpretation of the tongue does not come from the bottom of that person's heart.  laugh.gif

It's a gifting enabled by the HS at that point of time when the need arise.

This interpretation is not where you can understand indefinitely like a learned language. 

Aiyo Steve doh.gif
Seriously I wish to meet the interpreter in person le. Where to find ah?
De_Luffy
post Nov 1 2014, 04:05 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 1 2014, 03:59 PM)
Every Christian have the gift of Speaking/praying in tongues to the Father but
Not every Christian have the gift of speaking in tongues of other languages or to instruct another believer in tongues like a prophecy.
speaking in tongues in other languages is an ability as stated by Paul? i believe that is the word Paul is trying to say but speaking tongues not everyone has the ability to speak in tongues to the Father

i am a christian myself but i do not have the ability to speak in tongues? i am from Methodist, although i have been exposed tp Speaking in tongues cultures since i am very young, as i have many friends from charismatic churches. they do speak in tongues some of them and i attended few of their special programs in their church too
unknown warrior
post Nov 1 2014, 04:25 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Nov 1 2014, 04:05 PM)
Seriously I wish to meet the interpreter in person le. Where to find ah?
Go to any charismatic Church, try FGA, FGT, Calvary, DUMC, Glads Tiding PJ to name a few.

You're attending now in PJ Right? Try Glads Tiding then.

141 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.7373sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:19 AM