Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

onelove89
post Jan 18 2008, 01:43 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 18 2008, 11:32 AM)
you need serious work on your english.......and will likely have a lot problems with your studies in english........ rclxub.gif

I am still trying to figure out 'it was 12 of Feb 2008'.........what is this. back to the future IV ??? shocking.gif
I was thinking of that too ^^ try to polish a bit of your english b4 u go there. A few months after SPM i find that my english is deteriorating. >.< brain getting rusty. lol~

btw, I wanna go to the future too xD

This post has been edited by onelove89: Jan 18 2008, 01:44 PM
chris_c28
post Jan 18 2008, 01:47 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 18 2008, 10:05 AM)
NZ accent is quite similar to aussie accent. But, don't worry, you'll understand them in about 1 or 2 weeks.
I find it quite different. NZ accent sounds like South African accent, very clipped. I find it annoying when they tend to pronounce their E's as I's and vice versa.
Australian accents, on the other hand, sound more like cockney English.
KVReninem
post Jan 18 2008, 02:58 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 18 2008, 12:49 PM)
trust me things will get worst if UMNO comes there, i seriously pity our Sabah neighbor especially the Bumis, and also the in-flood of illegal immigrant who leech their welfare system. I'm sicked of this 2-rates price thing where one applies to West Malaysia and East Malaysia. None the less,  what happen back then did happen, all we can do is pray before our oil dries out that at least we have some $$$ to fall into, i don't see the Bakun dam (which is already under GLC control) to sustain us in the long term. MCA=SUPP, ppl there generally the chinese still votes for a race-based party just like the ibans and malays, which was evident when price skyrocketed and also the 'land' issue there during the last general election where DAP inflate SUPP. And Mahmud is there for way way too long, it seems he wanna create a dynasty there with his family ...............
anyway Berjaya Berdaulat! And i notice most sarawakian go to Aussie to study especially in Perth and Melbourne, intresting.
we got more in adelaide too ~ smile.gif
onelove89
post Jan 18 2008, 04:26 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yup, if i were to choose I'll choose :
1, Perth
2, Adelaide

all very nice place and quiet too =)
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Jan 18 2008, 04:30 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

I posted a few pages back that I applied for Monash and RMIT thru IDP, and they had yet to reply me... Well, last week I e-mailed them, and no reply... A few days later, I went to see them personally, then she told me Monash replied and said I didnt meet their requirements, and RMIT is holding a place for me but they want my portfolio... I dont have a portfolio...

But the thing is, RMIT replied on the 26th November, and IDP couldnt even be bothered to e-mail me and inform me that they want a portfolio... Atleast I could have done something from the 26th November... Last week i went to see them only she told me that RMIT said that... WTF! They just spoil my chance of getting into RMIT! So now i got no choice, I apply for Monash College, coz i dont need a portfolio then... And yes, I DID NOT apply thru IDP, I applied myself... I already got a reply from Monash saying they recieved my application and they will process it and get back to me...

For what IDP exists then? We can do it ourselves! They just make ur chances WORST... They are basically useless...
limeuu
post Jan 18 2008, 04:41 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 18 2008, 01:34 PM)

Added on January 18, 2008, 1:37 pm
Mind if I hitch a ride? Or at least borrow the schematics for the Flux Capacitor? tongue.gif
I think most people here are too young to know about the Back to The Future Trilogy, Doc Brown and the Flux capacitor........... biggrin.gif
KVReninem
post Jan 18 2008, 05:34 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 18 2008, 05:41 PM)
I think most people here are too young to know about the Back to The Future Trilogy, Doc Brown and the Flux capacitor........... biggrin.gif
lolz laugh.gif i still remember mate; used to love it last time laugh.gif
december88
post Jan 18 2008, 07:14 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 18 2008, 01:34 PM)
Frankly, Taib is the lesser of the 2 evils. I'd rather have him than UMNO. Sure, he makes tall teleco towers everywhere with his Sacofa, not to mention the looming State Assembly Building looming across the river  in a way that would  make Ken Ichijouji proud, but at least he does a good job. Who else will bring broadband to Mukah?

The number of Sarawakians (Kuchingites especially) in Perth is a legacy from the KCH-PER flight. I've noticed that many Mirians like to go to Melbourne. Some say it is a legacy from the Emergency,  where we had Australian troops (usually from Melbourne) stationed here (miri especially). Does Rumah Melaban ring a bell?

oh i see, well i have been away form sarawak almost 8 years now, but home is where the heart is, so i missed my hometown(Bintulu), heard that is maju like crap alredi. Anyway i've been to Kuching ones in my life, and that was because it was transit to go to singapore and then to KL. Man i hope i don't regret goin to Adelaide since Perth=Miri i heard, and they aso have the same course that i'm taking in Adelaide University.
One of my friend who is is now in Melbourne University told me alot of Sarawak ppl there esp. Miri ppl so i guess after SPM most of the Miri students go there for Trinity College then enrolled in University of Melbourne. Rumah Melaban= Fighting House ???, no i don't sadly ....

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 18 2008, 01:43 PM)
I was thinking of that too ^^ try to polish a bit of your english b4 u go there. A few months after SPM i find that my english is deteriorating. >.< brain getting rusty. lol~

btw, I wanna go to the future too xD
My brain rusty alredi after 5 month finished A Level, anyway i'm starting to study back to prepared for University.

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 18 2008, 02:58 PM)
we got more in adelaide too ~ smile.gif
Yeah man good to know anyway Taib studied in university of Adelaide before this, and i heard he's related to an imam in the mosque there(Adelaide)).

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jan 18 2008, 04:30 PM)
I posted a few pages back that I applied for Monash and RMIT thru IDP, and they had yet to reply me... Well, last week I e-mailed them, and no reply... A few days later, I went to see them personally, then she told me Monash replied and said I didnt meet their requirements, and RMIT is holding a place for me but they want my portfolio... I dont have a portfolio...

But the thing is, RMIT replied on the 26th November, and IDP couldnt even be bothered to e-mail me and inform me that they want a portfolio... Atleast I could have done something from the 26th November... Last week i went to see them only she told me that RMIT said that... WTF! They just spoil my chance of getting into RMIT! So now i got no choice, I apply for Monash College, coz i dont need a portfolio then... And yes, I DID NOT apply thru IDP, I applied myself... I already got a reply from Monash saying they recieved my application and they will process it and get back to me...

For what IDP exists then? We can do it ourselves! They just make ur chances WORST... They are basically useless...
which IDP you went KL or Subang or Penang? IDP KL is gila busy, they have 2 counselor there and trust me they seriously need more staffs to handle prospective students. Portfolio means what ? qualifications documents or i assume you're taking architecture hence they wanna see what you have done before. I did through IDP for my university application, they all very professional there, after 3 weeks, they SMS me that i got my offer and boom all was done, but after that i handle everything myself. Anyway emailing them is a bad idea, is better to call them or see them in person.

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 18 2008, 05:34 PM)
lolz laugh.gif  i still remember mate; used to love it last time laugh.gif
me too man. Astro have been showing it quite a lot lately especially 7-8 pm.
KVReninem
post Jan 18 2008, 09:14 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 18 2008, 08:14 PM)
oh i see, well i have been away form sarawak almost 8 years now, but home is where the heart is, so i missed my hometown(Bintulu), heard that is maju like crap alredi. Anyway i've been to Kuching ones in my life, and that was because it was transit to go to singapore and then to KL. Man i hope i don't regret goin to Adelaide since Perth=Miri i heard, and they aso have the same course that i'm taking in Adelaide University.
One of my friend who is is now in Melbourne University told me alot of Sarawak ppl there esp. Miri ppl so i guess after SPM most of the Miri students go there for Trinity College then enrolled in University of Melbourne.  Rumah Melaban= Fighting House ???, no i don't sadly ....

My brain rusty alredi after 5 month finished A Level, anyway i'm starting to study back to prepared for University.
Yeah man good to know anyway Taib studied in university of Adelaide before this, and i heard he's related to an imam in the mosque there(Adelaide)).
which IDP you went KL or Subang or Penang? IDP KL is gila busy, they have 2 counselor there and trust me they seriously need more staffs to handle prospective students. Portfolio means what ? qualifications documents or i assume you're taking architecture hence they wanna see what you have done before. I did through IDP for my university application, they all very professional there, after 3 weeks, they SMS me that i got my offer and boom all was done, but after that i handle everything myself. Anyway emailing them is a bad idea, is better to call them or see them in person.
lolz really?tak nampak banyak also; hell i`m mirian who is here and havnt see any mirian yet~ sweat.gif
you were born in bintulu? woot
my hometown also whistling.gif
about back to the future; i been seeing it for like 4 weeks ago..it`s tuned on aus tv too; channel 9 or 10
lolz doh.gif
onelove89
post Jan 18 2008, 09:33 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

my group of friends all in trinity this yr xD quite a number of mirian gua~ mostly in perth mayb? But for now I only know 3 friends going to perth. And 4 more living there now. lol~

KV, pm-ed u le.
zltan
post Jan 18 2008, 09:41 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jan 18 2008, 04:30 PM)

Australians are generally very efficient. If they want to get something done, they usually say in 5 working days.(and they mean it!) If something is not done by that time, send an e-mail to them.

Also bear in mind that Australia is not a spoon-feeding country. You must do your research(eg: finding out the prerequisite, entry scores, requirements to enter university). Their website is a good place to start.

So, to every new students going to Australia-try to get rid of the Malaysian mentality in doing things (last minute work, spoon-feeding). The lecturers are not going to care if you can cope or not. They will keep on going at a fast pace and if you don't bother to ask or do your research, you won't get good results.

pyroboy1911
post Jan 18 2008, 09:53 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 18 2008, 07:14 PM)

Bintulu ppl eh? not reli maju la, shopping mall also like sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

yea, i agree with zltan. malaysian attitude cannot survive in Australia. In fact, cant survive in most of other part of the world. Assignment is no longer copy-paste, and late means late. have to discipline myself from now on. sweat.gif
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Jan 18 2008, 10:41 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 18 2008, 07:14 PM)
One of my friend who is is now in Melbourne University told me alot of Sarawak ppl there esp. Miri ppl so i guess after SPM most of the Miri students go there for Trinity College then enrolled in University of Melbourne.  Rumah Melaban= Fighting House ???, no i don't sadly ....
I applied in KL... I applied for Multimedia and Digital Arts...

QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 18 2008, 09:41 PM)
Australians are generally very efficient. If they want to get something done, they usually say in 5 working days.(and they mean it!) If something is not done by that time, send an e-mail to them.

Also bear in mind that Australia is not a spoon-feeding country. You must do your research(eg: finding out the prerequisite, entry scores, requirements to enter university). Their website is a good place to start.

So, to every new students going to Australia-try to get rid of the Malaysian mentality in doing things (last minute work, spoon-feeding). The lecturers are not going to care if you can cope or not. They will keep on going at a fast pace and if you don't bother to ask or do your research, you won't get good results.
Yea, have to start taking things seriously now that its getting closer...
Cruzer
post Jan 18 2008, 10:50 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 18 2008, 09:38 PM)
did any of u do a levels before going to australia? if u did, what was ur AS result and did u apply with ur as results only or A2 results as well? and what did u get for A2 if u applied using A2 results?
i did. did 3 subs, AS and A2 all A. i applied using my forecast results to get a conditional offer. once the real results were out. then get firm offer.
Cheesenium
post Jan 19 2008, 12:46 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jan 17 2008, 10:12 PM)
You will be fine. Every computing, electrical and mechatronics engineering student will have to do it.
C will be used. Tim Lambert will be teaching it. He's an awesome lecturer and I bet you'll enjoy it.
http://www.cse.unsw.edu.au/~cs1911/
Ok,thanks a lot.Then,i guess i'll take that.It will help me a lot in my modding,at least,since im taking civil engineering.

Whats is the recommended amount of subjects to take in one semester?Is it 4 subjects?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 19 2008, 12:48 AM
sandwich_box
post Jan 19 2008, 02:16 AM

456 posts

any from UniSA here?
i will attend my orientation at City West Campus on 18 February 2008. biggrin.gif
Plant
post Jan 19 2008, 02:28 AM

219 posts

The accent won't really be much of a problem. You'll get pretty used to it once you get there. If watching American dramas doesn't trouble you, then the Australian accent will be quite easy to pick up. In fact, you'll start to speak like them very soon. It's only those people with very heavy accents that might be a bit weird, especially those who come from rural areas. City dwellers are usually quite OK.

Hehe, I still find British accent more soothing to the ear... Aussie accent sounds too casual and "rough".

The issue of homesickness... Can't help you here, you just gotta live with it. It ain't that bad if you're going with a bunch of friends.

As for the questions, well Australia is relatively safe compared to our country, don't have to worry about rempits or snatch thieves even if you're walking alone at 12am. Just watch out for drunkards with a special mention to those whose footy team just lost a match

Malaysian community... not sure about Brisbane, but surely there will be a lot of South East Asian students around. Not a worry there.

China people... avoid stereotyping my friend, but sometimes it's unavoidable I must say. They're just foreign students like you and I are, no worries too.

"Will i improve my work if i study oversea if i work very to do?" This, I don't understand hehe... if you're talking about job opportunities after you graduate, well you'll probably attempt to find work in Australia since you're going to be trained here and you mentioned about the reluctance to return home. It's good experience basically, and living in a foreign country makes you think more. Sometimes I wonder how good our country will become if our people had the same first world mentality. We have the resources and the personnel, just that we lack a good mentality and a leadership with calibre. Bah, that's discussion for another day.

Enjoy your time overseas... It's an eyeopener more than anything else.

Oh i see, thanks for the reply.. it shouldn't be a problem for me since i likes to watch american dramas/movies. I don't really understand much australia accents. Yea, i agree with u about too casual and "rough", i dont wanna mention when i play online games with australian, i couldnt even understand what they are saying, but for the australian.. they know what they are saying. laugh.gif

For starters, what did you get for your IELTS?

First thing: get rid of your "sifu" mentality". None of use are "experts" here. We just have been in Australia for an extended amount of time, but take what we say in this thread as a rough set of guidelines, not as a hard set of rules. Learn this, before thinking further.

IELTS? from British Council, got like 3 cert while studying there, No idea this is IELTS approval or not, what they email and wrote to me i don't need to attend any english courses in australia which is good news to me. biggrin.gif

Trust me on this: deflate your ego.Now. Before you leave.

Brisbane may be a tourist area, but remember, you are there to study, not to have (too much) fun. Even more so when you have a questionable academic past. Put your head down, and work hard. Many people will want the chance to go overseas.

Just one question: did you do a credit transfer with your diploma to get into QUT? What did you do for your Diploma, and what do you intend to do?

Nah, my brother will be going to QUT, he is going to study QS for one year and the half.
I wanted to choose QUT but the courses doesn't related what i am study so i choose, Griffith Uni School Of Art which i got in.

QUT does have trouble with qualifications other than Australian year 12. I also had my problems, but saying things like 'I wanna slap QUT employee" (even ignoring your poor grammar) is not going to help. As you have said, you applied through an agent, and as I've said, I'm not a big fan of agents. But believe me, once you get in, you will forget all that.

At least they didn't get your name wrong. that will be even worst.

Yea i am just trying to steam this issue off me, pardon my manner smile.gif

1)No such thing. The closest you can get is Sunnybank, a very Asian suburb. With Mainland Chinese and Taiwanese in the mix.

2)No. I walk alone home at 11pm. Brisbane is a very safe place. Generally. It doesn't mean there is no crime, and if you do stupid things, don't expect any mercy.

3)In QUT, there are very few Malaysians, and its very fragmented. The MSA (Malaysian student association) is all dominated by Malays, and frankly they don't make their presence felt, even during O week. Interestingly, some Malaysians join the Singaporean club.

4)"Will i improve my work if i study oversea if i work very to do?" I have no idea what you're trying to say. But let me put it this way: going overseas is not a silver bullet. It is not going to change your life overnight. Australians cherish meritocracy. Get rid of your sifu/NEP/Malaysian mentality. You can graduate from Unimelb (Australia's no 1 uni), but if you are an incompetent, lazy and useless employee, they'll chuck you out. Even more with Workchoices. You qualification only gets you into the interview room. Beyond that, it all depends on how you work.

BTw, if you haven't guessed by now, I'm a QUT student also.

4) Well i dont wanna to mention it at first, is about my art work soo well ..... yea.. i have some doubt of my art work. I couldnt say my art work is bad, since i work as a designer before and has good amount of good portfolia, well....... is okay for malaysia standard i can say. Okay dammit! I say out loud... my drawing sux but has design standard, since my college train me as a designer but not an artist. smile.gif

you need serious work on your english.......and will likely have a lot problems with your studies in english........ 

I am still trying to figure out 'it was 12 of Feb 2008'.........what is this. back to the future IV ???

Aw, that is my bad, umm..my bad! As i mention before, i am a high school drop out student... i trying my best to gain as much as i could, just like my mom always say to me "there is never too late to start" Thank for the advise though, i'll keep that in mind, always! smile.gif

Overall, thank for the kind reply and devoted your time to reply my anwser. You're Awesome, not awesome! SUPER DUPER AWESOME! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Plant: Jan 19 2008, 02:29 AM
Cruzer
post Jan 19 2008, 03:36 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 19 2008, 12:10 AM)
what are some of the better universities for engineering in australia?
mainly mechanical engineering smile.gif
hmm , im studying mech eng in melbourne uni.
Melbourne Uni is more theory based.
RMIT more practical workforce based.they have the best Formula SAE team in the world icon_idea.gif
Monash - not a clue.
dont really know about the rest

however for melbourne uni, u should know they are following the "melbourne model" starting this year.
look it up before u make ur final decision

This post has been edited by Cruzer: Jan 19 2008, 03:37 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 19 2008, 12:57 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Jan 19 2008, 02:28 AM)
Oh i see, thanks for the reply.. it shouldn't be a problem for me since i likes to watch american dramas/movies. I don't really understand much australia accents. Yea, i agree with u about too casual and "rough", i dont wanna mention when i play online games with australian, i couldnt even understand what they are saying, but for the australian.. they know what they are saying.  laugh.gif

4) Well i dont wanna to mention it at first, is about my art work soo well ..... yea.. i have some doubt of my art work. I couldnt say my art work is bad, since i work as a designer before and has good amount of good portfolia, well....... is okay for malaysia standard i can say. Okay dammit! I say out loud... my drawing sux but has design standard, since my college train me as a designer but not an artist. smile.gif
Aw, that is my bad, umm..my bad! As i mention before, i am a high school drop out student... i trying my best to gain as much as i could, just like my mom always say to me "there is never too late to start" Thank for the advise though, i'll keep that in mind, always! smile.gif
Overall, thank for the kind reply and devoted your time to reply my anwser. You're Awesome, not awesome! SUPER DUPER AWESOME! notworthy.gif
The Aussie slangs are indeed hard to pick up, unlike the accent. Accent != Slangs...
Nah, once you get the hang of it you'll really speak like them.
'No worries...', 'bloody...' and 'I reckon...' will come from your mouth far too often that you'll notice it.

Art and designs... the Aussies sense of art is a bit weird to be honest, especially in Melbourne where you'll find awkward-looking yet artistic sculptures and statues... At least they appreciate fine arts more than we do in our society.

Enjoy your time over there... you'll get used to it very soon.
Cheesenium
post Jan 19 2008, 01:07 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 18 2008, 09:38 PM)
did any of u do a levels before going to australia? if u did, what was ur AS result and did u apply with ur as results only or A2 results as well? and what did u get for A2 if u applied using A2 results?
I apply for my uni using my AS result after i finish my A2.They send me a conditional offer after 2-3 weeks.

Anyone going to UNSW's O-week?

Added on January 19, 2008, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 19 2008, 12:57 PM)
The Aussie slangs are indeed hard to pick up, unlike the accent. Accent != Slangs...
Nah, once you get the hang of it you'll really speak like them.
'No worries...', 'bloody...' and 'I reckon...' will come from your mouth far too often that you'll notice it.
Lol,im using quite a lot of "bloody" even when im still in Malaysia.Blame CoD's British slang.Bloddy here,bloody there.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 19 2008, 01:09 PM

126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:47 PM