5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

onelove89
post Aug 16 2007, 07:22 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

hey guys, i'm off to aus next yr, mayb melb to study foundation.

then i have a few choice, cos i wanna take medicine, i might go into monash or come bak. but medicine in aus is hard to go in right? >.< anyone studying medicine in aus here?
onelove89
post Aug 22 2007, 06:51 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 16 2007, 09:59 PM)
Trinity foundation? Monash foundation?

Monash university requires international students to take ISAT before applying to medicine. Melbourne University(through Trinity) does not require ISAT or UMAT, but there isn't Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery/Bachelor of Medical Science in 2009 due to the Melbourne Model. Although, Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery is still offered(2009 being the last year as undergraduate). 2009 is also the last year Bachelor of Dental science in Melbourne University.

The score for Medicine and Dentistry for Melbourne Uni through trinity is 98% average. Yes, it is tough you virtually cannot afford to lose any marks. But, Trinity is a very good course, I've learnt a lot here. I am planning for Bachelor of Dental Science next year in 2008.
all the best mate, i'm off to trinity (confirm) next yr. and I'll do my best to go into monash U in medicine =) wanna be a great doctor in teh future.
onelove89
post Aug 23 2007, 08:27 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 22 2007, 10:36 PM)
You could actually enter Melbourne Uni for medicine. If you get an average of 98% in English, Chemistry, Maths 1 or 2 or physics and one other subject(total 4), you'll be guaranteed a place.

Take 3 years biomedicine and 4 years medicine(no need to attend interview for the graduate medicine programme, other hassle, automatically enter since you are a trinity student, as long as you pass all your biomedicine subjects)
but i tot its 6 yrs in medicine after the undergraduate degree? thats what i tot, in total i will take 10 yrs if i go melb U to study. 1 yr foudation in trinity, 3 yrs biomedicine and 6 yrs in medicine. >.< can anyone clarify? if its 4 yrs then i'll think bout it. Even if i don wanna do medicine after my biomedic, i can go into biomedical engineer. =)
onelove89
post Aug 24 2007, 08:49 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

oh sweet! thanks, i tot its 6 yrs >.< i'll consider going into melb U then.
onelove89
post Aug 24 2007, 06:25 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yeah i'm from miri =)
onelove89
post Aug 24 2007, 11:15 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yup going to melb next yr ehehehe~ Trinity college =)
onelove89
post Sep 1 2007, 08:56 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

mayb i'll get one, any stocks in miri? =) anyway, wanna ask those in melb, where do u guys live, need to find a place to live >.<
onelove89
post Sep 2 2007, 04:59 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

i'm 18 xD so no more homestay, plus i need find a cheap accomodation, as long its quiet and safe. =) needa work hard nxt yr. very hard >.<
onelove89
post Sep 2 2007, 06:15 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

thanks guys~ ^^ i'll look into it, how much is CMC XD wohoo~ KFC below (ok if i stay there i'm gonna get reaaaaaallly fat xD )
onelove89
post Sep 3 2007, 09:28 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yes i'm gonna be the so called white rat for the new model, sheehs, no wonder they put medicine as a postgraduate >.< damit, I'll try to get into monash then.
onelove89
post Sep 6 2007, 09:39 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Sep 6 2007, 04:43 PM)
it is not obvious to say tat uni melb is too hoo hahhh thier new system
beware, sometime a system might fail also ~.

onelove89, if im in your situation i will not burn my parents money with system still testing.
yeah, my first choice is still monash first cos it offers 5 yrs medicine. but if no choice then i'll go for melb u, but on the bright side, if i dont wanna waste too much money on medic if i'm in melb u i can oways take something else after the biomedicine degree. =)
onelove89
post Sep 7 2007, 09:50 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

oh, sydney is a nice place, bit hot in summer, loads of bush fire and stuff. but nice scenes, prob is the cost of living is high and the fees for uni is quite exp rite? >.< but, i'll apply to different uni after my foundation.
onelove89
post Sep 8 2007, 04:51 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

i might go find a job there too, =)
onelove89
post Sep 9 2007, 01:46 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Sep 8 2007, 06:41 PM)
onelove, man...
have you been to melbourne before?
not easy here..especially you are new to new environment..
it is totally different from miri i tell you..

Added on September 8, 2007, 6:44 pm

still bagus..
i work at one asian shoppie in chaddy there....walao..
1 hr -7.50 ...
some malaysia there work more than visa time..
i know, but i will try, i've been there once only.
onelove89
post Sep 9 2007, 06:17 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

yup, crappy 3 hours apart from malaysia time, oh well xD
onelove89
post Sep 9 2007, 07:45 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 9 2007, 06:30 PM)
Summer will only last for a month or so, then you'll enter the great yellowness in autumn and darkness in winter...*Evil laugh*

Have you thought of what subjects you are going to take in Trinity yet?
english, history of ideas is a must right? and then i needa choose 3 electives? If 3 electives then maths A/B, chemistry and biology. but if i can take 4, then physics too.
onelove89
post Sep 10 2007, 09:26 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 9 2007, 10:05 PM)
Are you serious? Chem, Bio and physics?!?

You can take 4 electives but they won't allow you to take chem, bio and physics together, there won't enough time.

You have 4 periods a day, lasting 1.5 hours each.

Literature, HOI, Maths 1 takes up 3 hours( 1 lecture and 1 tute) each
Drama takes up 1.5 hours
EAP takes up 3 hours a week
Chem takes 4.5 hours(2 lectures and 1 tute) and 3 hour practical every alternate week
Bio and physics takes up 3 hours(1 lec, 1 tute) and 3 hour practicals every alternate week

That makes up 24 hours of lectures and tutorials every week and 9 hours of practical every alternate week. That is called suicide.

This is still possible, but you'll end up with only 2 free periods every alternate week. And, practicals ARE very stressful. In terms 2+3, the HOI essays come in and you are required to research on the topics in the libraries.

Below is the list of assignments throughout the year:
Term 1-nothing
Term 2-HOI essay(1200 words, 20%, due in week 6), Drama monologue presentation(10% of English mark, due in week 7), EAP essay(5%, due in week 5)
Term 3-HOI essay(1500 words, 30%, due in week 6), Drama group performance(10% of English, due in week 7), EAP essay(5%, week 5), Chemistry presentation(10%, week 7)+winter
Term 4-Drama group performance(10% of English, week 7), EAP presentation(25%, due in week 2)

As you can see, term 3 is hell term. tongue.gif

If you want 4 electives, take 2 sciences, maths 1 and one other.
oh thanks... then i might drop off physics then =( but i love science subjs xD oh well, what to do. I only have 24 hours a day.

onelove89
post Sep 12 2007, 02:48 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

jonathan, medical campus for monash is at outskirt right?
onelove89
post Sep 16 2007, 06:48 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

all the best, i hate summer in aus, dead hot. if there isnt any wind, it gets worse.
onelove89
post Sep 16 2007, 08:35 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

i'm in spm this yr too. i'm off to mel to do medic hopefully. going to trinity for foundations, A lvl is ok if u dont mind 2 yrs to kill, dont go for stpm, its wasting time. foundation is around 18k aussy money. good luk ya, we are future doctors xD

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0460sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:36 PM