sandwich_box
post Jan 12 2008, 10:43 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(wartevar @ Jan 12 2008, 10:23 AM)
yo....i'm from unisa, city west...how bout u? smile.gif
hai... biggrin.gif
how long you being in UNISA? smile.gif
simple overview about adelaide please..?
life style,food,house renting and so on.

Lemonfish
post Jan 12 2008, 12:12 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(sandwich_box @ Jan 12 2008, 10:43 AM)
hai... biggrin.gif
how long you being in UNISA?  smile.gif
Yup. Plez give some details about adelaide too. I am going for Foundation in Uni Adelaide. Going end of January lolx...Wanna organize LYN Adelaide gathering somewhere in CNY??
kamagotchi
post Jan 12 2008, 01:41 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Jan 12 2008, 12:20 AM)
Haha cool. But it is kinda surprising to see a first year student going there so late though, usually they prefer to go earlier to settle down first before commencing their semester.
What would you be taking for your undergrad?
Urm, yeh, but there's nothing to do if I go there earlier and I already have my accommodation settled.
I'm taking Landscape Architecture smile.gif

techlover
post Jan 12 2008, 02:03 PM

Wassup, guys! Anyone from Mel Uni?! Will be doing pharmaco and biotech~ MIght meet up sooner later...cheers.
pyroboy1911
post Jan 12 2008, 02:05 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

Hi, I'm going to Adelaide for pharmacy course in UniSA this Feb, i would appreciate it if anyone can recommend good place to stay in. biggrin.gif
jae
post Jan 12 2008, 02:19 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 12 2008, 01:41 PM)
Urm, yeh, but there's nothing to do if I go there earlier and I already have my accommodation settled.
I'm taking Landscape Architecture smile.gif
You can always go around and get familiar with the suburbs, bus routes etc. It helps a lot later unless you are already familiar with Sydney.
Nevertheless, it is good to know that you already have your accommodation settled, I will still have to look for mine after i arrive, hopefully it won't take too long. Btw, just wondering where would you be staying?

This post has been edited by jae: Jan 12 2008, 07:06 PM
kamagotchi
post Jan 12 2008, 02:29 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Jan 12 2008, 05:19 PM)
You can always go around and get familiar with the suburbs, bus routes etc. It helps a lot later unless you are already familiar with Sydney.
Nevertheless, it is good to know that you already have your accommodation settled, I will still have to look for mine after i arrive, hopefully it won't be take too long. Btw, just wondering where would you be staying?
Yeh, I did UNSW foundation so I am already familiar with Sydney. Urm, I was told that its 30mins away from uni, 30mins isn't that far compared to friends of mine from Blacktown and Liverpool but. Im planning to find a new place to stay once I find some ppl to live with.

This post has been edited by kamagotchi: Jan 12 2008, 02:55 PM
haya
post Jan 12 2008, 03:36 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(ceciliacmf @ Jan 12 2008, 10:22 AM)
anybody going QUT nxt mth?  rclxms.gif
I'm in QUT now. Whatcha you doing?
wartevar
post Jan 12 2008, 04:31 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(sandwich_box @ Jan 12 2008, 10:43 AM)
hai... biggrin.gif
how long you being in UNISA?  smile.gif
i'm there in adelaide since july 2007. basically i just completed my 1st sem there...so which campus ru in?

lifestyle there is really calm and peaceful. cant expect much frm a small city. i didn't get use to it as i came frm KL. so to me, i would say is boring. nothing much to do there. but cant deny is a good place to study tho. not much distraction ma.hehe... so wen it comes to hols...urgh....boring.......i would encourage u to join societies like malaysia association society. it's a good start to begin with. thats where i get to know lots of people thru the society. besides tat, it do organise lots of activities.. if i didn't join that, i will definately miss out alot of stuff lor.. cos i went there alone...and didn't know anyone from there smile.gif

food is not too bad..but i advise u to get some cooking books frm here b4 goin thr...bcos u won't b able to afford eatin out everyday unless ur loaded..hehe. house rental has increased dis year so im not too sure bout tat. cant wait for my contract to end to find another place..hehe...

QUOTE(Lemonfish @ Jan 12 2008, 12:12 PM)
Yup. Plez give some details about adelaide too. I am going for Foundation in Uni Adelaide. Going end of January lolx...Wanna organize LYN Adelaide gathering somewhere in CNY??
wah...ur goin so earli? wat foundation ru doin? too bad i wont be in adelaide til end of feb.. wink.gif just came back to Kl actually...is anyone flyin to adelaide on 29th feb? hehe
HyeoshinX
post Jan 12 2008, 05:28 PM

491 posts

I'm going to Aussie for my foundation studies. Still need to get my student visa sweat.gif sweat.gif

Trinity College anyone?? blush.gif blush.gif
-Jonathan-
post Jan 12 2008, 06:17 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 12 2008, 01:32 AM)
Obviously you don't need to live like a beggar, yet the conversion thingy must be kept in mind for all times. It's way too easy to overspend in Australia as the figures and numbers over there are quite small, hence very attractive for one to wave the cash. Almost everything goes for 1, 2 bucks in markets yet when you add up the total it can reach quite high numbers if you're not careful.

Necessities wise, by all means go ahead and buy them... these are things that you can't afford to be stingy.
Save a dollar a day, and by the end of the month you'll get enough for a movie or even two.

Not everyone can afford to work part time over in Australia, the timetables are freaking crazy (at least mine is).
But if you can find time to earn some spare cash it'll help your wallet a lot.

By the way, some one did mention the high interest savings account... That's a pretty good thing to do. What I normally do is to bank in the tuition fees, leave it alone and don't touch it, and wait for the interest to snowball. One can easily get at least AUD60-100+ (or even more) with a considerable amount of money in these accounts. This alone will contribute a big share towards the weekly food/transport costs.
Of course, you need to be able to bank in a considerable amount of money before you can reap the high interests.
190 per week.... in the city somemore... pretty good.
Can go DFO every week too if you're a shopping freak biggrin.gif

By the way Jonathan... just read your blog regarding the train station flood... LOL !! sweat.gif
If you are going back Malaysia often, then its better to buy electronic items or sometimes clothings.
I think, fruit wise, (cherrries and kiwi's) are utmost priorities to buy here. :-)
My timetable was crazy, thats why i dont work during the semester, only during the holidays (26 hours per week, i think thats insane)

Now i wish it rains. Not so heavily, but a slight drizzle next week will be good. 41 degrees morning/afternoon, 36 degrees at night.
Lemonfish
post Jan 12 2008, 06:29 PM

229 posts

[QUOTE][quote=pyroboy1911,Jan 12 2008, 02:05 PM]
Hi, I'm going to Adelaide for pharmacy course in UniSA this Feb, i would appreciate it if anyone can recommend good place to stay in. biggrin.gif

[/quote]

hmm. I am staying in Bradford Lodge. You can try to have a look in www.aiv.com.au.
Patrick12
post Jan 12 2008, 06:40 PM

14 posts

Anyone from USYD or going there soon? notworthy.gif
wartevar
post Jan 12 2008, 06:42 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Jan 12 2008, 06:17 PM)
If you are going back Malaysia often, then its better to buy electronic items or sometimes clothings.
I think, fruit wise, (cherrries and kiwi's) are utmost priorities to buy here. :-)
My timetable was crazy, thats why i dont work during the semester, only during the holidays (26 hours per week, i think thats insane)

Now i wish it rains. Not so heavily, but a slight drizzle next week will be good. 41 degrees morning/afternoon, 36 degrees at night.
wah....tats crazy hot man....wat ru doin thr btw? come back for hols la....i seriously kenot tahan the hot weather...i even got tanner cry.gif every1 was shocked basically..dey tot i will b fairer...LOL..

has any1 tried working voluntary with companies? how does that work? bcos in my line, accounting i need working experience for my future...anyone has any knowledge on that?if yes, kindly pls pm me..thanks rclxms.gif
-Jonathan-
post Jan 12 2008, 06:50 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Work is too tempting to let go
wartevar
post Jan 12 2008, 06:54 PM

170 posts

haha....true especially when you convert back to rm.... i didn't want to come back at 1st but miss my sis so much....hehe tongue.gif
sandwich_box
post Jan 12 2008, 07:49 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(wartevar @ Jan 12 2008, 04:31 PM)
i'm there in adelaide since july 2007. basically i just completed my 1st sem there...so which campus ru in?

lifestyle there is really calm and peaceful. cant expect much frm a small city. i didn't get use to it as i came frm KL. so to me, i would say is boring. nothing much to do there. but cant deny is a good place to study tho. not much distraction ma.hehe... so wen it comes to hols...urgh....boring.......i would encourage u to join societies like malaysia association society. it's a good start to begin with. thats where i get to know lots of people thru the society. besides tat, it do organise lots of activities.. if i didn't join that, i will definately miss out alot of stuff lor.. cos i went there alone...and didn't know anyone from there smile.gif

food is not too bad..but i advise u to get some cooking books frm here b4 goin thr...bcos u won't b able to afford eatin out everyday unless ur loaded..hehe. house rental has increased dis year so im not too sure bout tat. cant wait for my contract to end to find another place..hehe...
wah...ur goin so earli? wat foundation ru doin? too bad i wont be in adelaide til end of feb.. wink.gif just came back to Kl actually...is anyone flyin to adelaide on 29th feb? hehe
thanks for sharing some informations.
erm..actually im going to UNISA for my student exchage program and it will starts on 18 Febuary till 4 July...still waiting for my application later from UNISA..the person whos in-change was Ms.Janene Pellarin,Regional Officer - Student Mobility,UniSA International. <----you know her? hehe..
dont know yet where is my campus.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sandwich_box: Jan 12 2008, 07:50 PM
aladdin
post Jan 12 2008, 08:06 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

QUOTE(ceciliacmf @ Jan 12 2008, 10:22 AM)
anybody going QUT nxt mth?  rclxms.gif
emm...welcome to QUT/brisbane...was studying there....a nice place i would say

ya...scary week...are u taking summer course? hot weather make me feel lazy to go uni... sweat.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jan 12 2008, 10:35 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Electronics hehe... indeed... students usually sapu printer cartridges before returning to Australia. Comes in handy if you need to print loads of notes.

Fruits... I say bring mangoes. Lots of them. Big, juicy, sweet, yellow mangoes. The mangoes in Msia are seriously crap while imported ones costs over 10 ringgit for ONE. In Australia they can go as low as 3 for 5AUD or even lower. And buy timtams.... The timtams sold in Msia which are made in Indonesia are horrible.

41 degrees hehe... best thing to do if you don't have aircon is to hang around in the library... air con on full blast and no one's there tongue.gif
Or go to the beach and enjoy the water... Brighton's gorgeous, WAAAAYYYY better than the overrated St Kilda. Careful of the UV though, they scorch the skin like an inferno.

126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:25 AM