Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience
Jan 12 2008, 05:28 PM
491 posts Joined: May 2007 From: [P]etaling [J]aya || [M]elbourne |
I'm going to Aussie for my foundation studies. Still need to get my student visa
Trinity College anyone?? |
Jan 14 2008, 01:24 AM
God, the student visa is application is driving me mad~~Must go for medical check-up later today~~Wish me luck...Hope can see you lowyatians in Australia soon (Melbourne part)
Jan 14 2008, 09:01 PM
Anyone going to Trinity College here?? Just want to find out
Jan 14 2008, 11:17 PM
Jan 17 2008, 06:38 PM
Is it better to buy stationaries in Malaysia or in Australia?? I mean which country sell cheaper??
Jan 28 2008, 05:07 PM
I'm flying off liao this wednesday..for college..so sad
wish me luck guys |
Jan 28 2008, 06:08 PM
lol. melbourne. i was suppose to go this Friday too
EDIT: by the way, what documents must i bring over to enter Australia as a student? This post has been edited by HyeoshinX: Jan 28 2008, 06:09 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 28 2008, 06:25 PM) your student visa; your Ecoe(enrolment letter) incase they ask ...officers Trinity College support document such as visa fee and other documents if u need welcome to melb! which college anyway? EDIT: spelling error This post has been edited by HyeoshinX: Jan 28 2008, 06:37 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 28 2008, 07:02 PM) Its really really good....I'll guarantee that you'll enjoy your time in Aussie and in Trinity. Drama is like the BEST subject ever I'd like to ask a question. For english, its divided to 3 subs right??Drama, EAP and Literature..are we suppose to pick 2 out of the 3 or we must learn all 3??99 for chem FTW ____________ It seems a lot of people are flying off already...well good luck guys! |
Jan 28 2008, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 28 2008, 08:37 PM) No...English is divided into 2-Lit and Drama where lit counts for 70% while drama is worth 30% of your final English mark. WoW EAP is a totally different subject whatsoever. EAP is more of the grammar, academic writing, speaking etc. Both English and EAP are compulsory. You need to pass the EAP hurdle to enter Uni but EAP cannot be counted as one of your best 4 subjects. On the other hand, your English mark can be counted as best 4 and in certain courses(Engineering, Med, Dentistry...etc), must be included in your best 4 mark. I'll give you the mark breakdown. English Term 1->2 literature essays about 400 words each based on 2 poems(1 from lectures and 1 from tutorials)-5% Term 2->1 lit essay about 1500 words based on a novel or short story [20%] and drama monologue [10%] Term 3->1 lit essay about 1500 words, comparing a novel and a short story [20%] and drama group project [10%] Term 4->1 lit essay about 1500 words based on a play(eg:Shakespeare) [15%] and drama group performance [10%] Total=90%+(10% participation)= 100% EAP Term 1->nothing Term 2->Homework essay-400 words[5%] + Exam Essay-800words[25%] Term 3->Homework essay-600 words[5%] + In-class exam essay-700 words[10%] Term 4->Oral presentation, 10 mins[25%] + Exam Essay-700words[30%] N.B: All EAP essays must be academic writing (references..etc...) Total=100% Hope this post clears your confusion! Hope you have a good time in Trinity(I sure did and are we suppose to write it down or can we type it down? |
Jan 28 2008, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 28 2008, 09:52 PM) You can only type down the EAP homework stuff but all the other exam essays must be handwritten in the examination booklet. Well..even though I suck in accounting, im taking up accounting in uni.The recommended length of 1500 words is usually too short for a good literature essay and most students will go up to 2500-3000. The length of the literature exam is usually 3 hours. Trinity really helps you for uni even though the course may be quite intense and tough at times. It is after the all the best (and most expensive) foundation course in australia.... you don't want to pay 20k AUD for nothing, do you? Don't worry too much, I can guarantee that you'll be able to write that much by the time you reach term 4. By the way, what are you planning to do in university and what subjects are you doing in trinity? in trinity, it will be English, History of Ideas, Accounting, Mathematics (either 1 or 2), and 1 more subject...which i havent made up my mind yet. any suggestions?? Edit: what does academic writing means?? This post has been edited by HyeoshinX: Jan 28 2008, 10:00 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(zltan @ Jan 28 2008, 10:22 PM) hmm...let me see.... I guess you will benefit from taking both Maths 1 and maths 2 if you like maths. That will make 3 electives but I will suggest that you throw in another elective such as economics. You could always drop one subject if you think you can't handle it, but I think you'd do quite well with accounting, maths 1, maths 2 and economics. Hmm..taking 4 electives may be too much for me too handle..i'm afraid i wont do well in accounting and maths (i like maths but..and i suck at accounting during secondary school period) and is there like a tuition classes that we can take?? I was aiming for something along the health science stream so I took maths 1, maths 2, chem and physics. When I received my results, I realised that taking 4 electives really paid off since all 4 of them contributed to my best 4 score. Academic writing is the way universities want their essays to be written. It is mainly researching, building up an argument and writing an essay. You will be expected to use proper English register, grammar..etc and NOT plagiarize. Once again, don't worry...as Trinity will teach you academic writing in EAP and HOI. |
Jan 29 2008, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(genejere @ Jan 29 2008, 12:15 AM) hey..Im going to trinity too. we are allowed 5 subjects..2 core + 3 electives.. I am aiming for dentistry so Im going to take maths 1, chem and biology. I don't think i would be able to handle maths 2 and physics, so do you have any suggestions on my 4th electives ? hyeoshinx when are you leaving to melbourne ? EDIT : ok I see you are going this wednesday (didn't see the previous post just now), so you are not going to celebrate CNY here ? im not going to celebrate CNY... and i'm feeling really sad leaving many friends any family behind (even though i'm staying with my relatives) + scared about studying the subjects i'm taking... |
Jan 29 2008, 10:53 PM
I'm leaving liao tomorrow morning..9.30am flight!!
Jan 30 2008, 12:32 AM