126 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

december88
post Jan 13 2008, 10:25 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Lemonfish @ Jan 13 2008, 08:31 PM)
Yea. I am thinking of the same too. BTW, what course r u doing and which uni??
Got Chemical Engineering, got in touch with them again and asked for Petroleum Engineering, so confirm doing Petroleum Engineering at Adelaide University.

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 13 2008, 08:35 PM)
yea, that place looks good. How far is it from UniSA?

but internet is given 1.5GB limit bo....can tahan for ppl like us onot?  tongue.gif
1.5 GB i die la, sure can't download with 1.5 Gb probably enough for ' research surfing' sadly .....
What sicken me is that in certain hostel they have an agreement with 'certain' ISP, that could ripped your heart out. Anyway the most shocking check this out http://www.unitrans.com.au/i_fees.html, $250 for 3 GB and not even broadband speed! of course it was back in 2006 but still ........
Anyway i will do with 20 GB max. Oh man hope i can make it alive in 6 months there find few friends to moved in then subscribe to a leeching plan, especially TPG plan http://bc.whirlpool.net.au/isp.cfm/TPG-Int...-5.html?p=14195 , just hoping the connection is fine and done break, if break then waste my GB for sure. Anyway can't wait to go Adelaide, i heard alot of good stuff there when the representatives from the uni came here to give a pre-departure briefing last wednesday. But no. 1 priority now is find accomodation, worst come to worst i find my place when i arrived. pyroboy1911 why go so late end Feb, when your orientation ?

This post has been edited by december88: Jan 13 2008, 10:26 PM
Lemonfish
post Jan 13 2008, 10:35 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 13 2008, 10:25 PM)
Got Chemical Engineering, got in touch with them again and asked for Petroleum Engineering, so confirm doing Petroleum Engineering at Adelaide University.
1.5 GB i die la, sure can't download with 1.5 Gb probably enough for ' research surfing' sadly .....
What sicken me is that in certain hostel they have an agreement with 'certain' ISP, that could ripped your heart out. Anyway the most shocking check this out http://www.unitrans.com.au/i_fees.html, $250 for 3 GB and not even broadband speed! of course it was back in 2006 but still ........
Anyway i will do with 20 GB max. Oh man hope i can make it alive in 6 months there find few friends to moved in then subscribe to a leeching plan, especially TPG plan http://bc.whirlpool.net.au/isp.cfm/TPG-Int...-5.html?p=14195 , just hoping the connection is fine and done break, if break then waste my GB for sure. Anyway can't wait to go Adelaide, i heard alot of good stuff there when the representatives from the uni came here to give a pre-departure briefing last wednesday. But no. 1 priority now is find accomodation, worst come to worst i find my place when i arrived.  pyroboy1911 why go so late end Feb, when your orientation ?
Yup. 1.5Gb is not sufficient for me too. I think i gonna go for something like 4 GB at least. BTW, when is your orientation and when will you be going?? Taking Malaysia Airlines?? Possible to meet up??
december88
post Jan 13 2008, 10:48 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Lemonfish @ Jan 13 2008, 10:35 PM)
Yup. 1.5Gb is not sufficient for me too. I think i gonna go for something like 4 GB at least. BTW, when is your orientation and when will you be going?? Taking Malaysia Airlines?? Possible to meet up??
NP bro. Yeah funny recommended arrival for International student to Adelaide for the orientation was 11 Feb, but the orientation is split to many groups e.g Engineering, Arts, Medicine blah blah. SO happen my Orientation is on the 19th for the engineering group. And my course starts on the 3rd of March. Anyway Orientation is not something to miss ppl coz they will tell you alot there, e.g where to shop and how to open bank account and etc. Anyway those who go with MAS could asked for an extra 5 kg (just call them up and ask la MAKE SURE YOU TELL THEM YOU'RE A STUDENT, if you get then good if not at least you asked). Yeah i'm goin with MAS, hope no delays arriving there in the 10th in the morning with my mom. ANd yeah we can meet up for sure.

What you all gonna miss from Malaysia?

i say 4 things.

1. My family&friends.
2. Internet , hate the cap& cost in aussie. now i appreciate TMNet.
3. FOOTBALL + ASTRO!
4. Our cheap subsidize life here in Malaysia.
snowcandy
post Jan 13 2008, 10:50 PM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 13 2008, 10:25 PM)
Anyway i will do with 20 GB max. Oh man hope i can make it alive in 6 months there find few friends to moved in then subscribe to a leeching plan, especially TPG plan http://bc.whirlpool.net.au/isp.cfm/TPG-Int...-5.html?p=14195 , just hoping the connection is fine and done break, if break then waste my GB for sure. Anyway can't wait to go Adelaide, i heard alot of good stuff there when the representatives from the uni came here to give a pre-departure briefing last wednesday. But no. 1 priority now is find accomodation, worst come to worst i find my place when i arrived.  pyroboy1911 why go so late end Feb, when your orientation ?
Just curious, what was the briefing about? smile.gif
pyroboy1911
post Jan 13 2008, 10:54 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

hehehe...i have special arangements with Professor Milne of UniSA himself brows.gif

coz I'm from this college called SIT who previously had twinning arrangements with UniSA for pharmacy, but they cancelled it. So, to compensate, they allow us a number of confirmed seats. but our exam only ends at 21st Feb, so we were allowed to arrive late...i think.

the orientation should be from 18th onwards, that week la. i really do not know what will happen, but whatever happens, i'm sure Prof Milne is there to help us (me and another friend) out.

Added on January 13, 2008, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(Lemonfish @ Jan 13 2008, 10:35 PM)
4GB? cannot la...i need 10 at least tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jan 13 2008, 10:59 PM
december88
post Jan 13 2008, 11:12 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jan 13 2008, 10:50 PM)
Just curious, what was the briefing about? smile.gif
well alot of things. Obviously it was more abt Adelaide University especially what should you do and all when you get there. But the no.1 emphasis was that GET YOUR ACCOMMODATION ASAP! All International students from the uni will get a guaranteed 1 week accomodation ($60 pernight i think which is expensive). The reps. said some ppl(no accomodation yet) came there and wasted the first 3 days out of 7 days enjoying them self and finding out later how tough it was to rent or finding a nice place there , and he told us that find you home ASAP b4 you go out and enjoy. Another thing is that if you wanna rent a home, it must be done in person aka can't do it over the net but you can research the place, he gaves us a few good website, http://www.realestate.com.au/ , http://www.domain.com.au/ , http://www.realestateview.com.au/ and http://www.adelaidemetro.com.au/index.html for public transport. And also Immigration rules, the quarantine crap, no herbs to bring in especially if it's in powder form( they think it's drugs ), and DECLARE ALL YOUR STUFF ESPECIALLY FOOD PRODUCTS, DON'T bring dairy products (milk,cheese, butter, etc). If you have to bring something then SEALED IT AND DECLARE IT. And please note that Australia has among the strictest quarantine laws in the world, ones the dog sniff something funny from your bag they WILL OPEN all your BAGS, and like the reps told me THEY WILL FIND IT. So yeah word of advice SEALED and DECLARE simple.
And don't bring Maggi Mee, they said alot of Asian shop selling it there( other brand then maggi of course but hey it's still instant noddle). What else hmm ....... yeah buy all your electronic stuff from here, then i heard something abt the 'laptop' rules where you pay tax on it if it's less than 1 year old and also prove of purchase blah blah but they said there the rules have been scraped, not too sure abt that though. And buy australian adapters or international (3 flat pins or 2 flat pins depends on where you live in aussie), then buy extension, you save money coz 1 adapter+1 extension= a lot of plugs for your malaysian hardwares= save money and spaces. And also some crabbing(social activities) season there. But yeah it was really interesting, the conference room was kinda full, they expected 70 students there and i saw a few Indonesian there and most of the students there were with their parents ...... And buy all your winter stuff there and your T-Shirts, pants and etc here coz cheaper. And they suggested duck quilt for your blanket( not the cheap blankets ok) during winter coz it could get COLD there and also windy.

AND YEAH another thing get comfy with your PROF. They will help you out in tough time and always respect them and address them accordingly.

This post has been edited by december88: Jan 13 2008, 11:16 PM
snowcandy
post Jan 13 2008, 11:20 PM

828 posts

Ohh I see. Thanks for all the info, december88. =)

QUOTE(december88 @ Jan 13 2008, 10:48 PM)
What you all gonna miss from Malaysia?
I'm going to miss Tiara, my little poodle a lot. As well as my family and friends.
Oh and of course, my own room. Nothing beats sleeping on my own bed. =x
As well as the variety of cheap food in Malaysia. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by snowcandy: Jan 13 2008, 11:24 PM
-Jonathan-
post Jan 13 2008, 11:32 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 13 2008, 05:30 PM)
mmm macam itu this week la; when is hot day? tats the good time to go  thumbup.gif
According to my trusty weather forecast, the weekdays gonna be max 30. So that ain't real hot

I wouldn't be able to go out to beach, it would be best to go in morning/afternoon, but i'll be working.

Only free on Saturday/Sundays

By the way, where do you live?
blaxez
post Jan 14 2008, 12:54 AM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 13 2008, 10:19 PM)
So, anyone who wants to go to UNSW O-week together, say "I"!
We'll set up the meeting point and stuff smile.gif
I'm also from UNSW, second year for me by the way. I don't mind going through O-week again to meet new people, not to mention its freebies. Add me in for the meet up nod.gif
HyeoshinX
post Jan 14 2008, 01:24 AM

491 posts

God, the student visa is application is driving me mad~~Must go for medical check-up later today~~Wish me luck...Hope can see you lowyatians in Australia soon (Melbourne part)
pyroboy1911
post Jan 14 2008, 01:27 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(HyeoshinX @ Jan 14 2008, 01:24 AM)
God, the student visa is application is driving me mad~~Must go for medical check-up later today~~Wish me luck...Hope can see you lowyatians in Australia soon (Melbourne part)
banyak loso la the application. ask whether got criminal record also want to ask until 10 questions.

I'll be doing my medical this friday, coz have to wait for my friend to get his original passport from his momma.
ATI.Bob
post Jan 14 2008, 01:41 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 14 2008, 01:27 AM)
banyak loso la the application. ask whether got criminal record also want to ask until 10 questions.

I'll be doing my medical this friday, coz have to wait for my friend to get his original passport from his momma.
Had my visa done and approved about a few weeks ago, but I didn't recall being asked about my criminal record. sweat.gif

BTW, I'll be heading off to Adelaide on the 16th Feb. My orientation's at the City West Campus on the 18th if not mistaken. Anyone here will be there also?
Nervosa
post Jan 14 2008, 01:56 AM

35 posts

any flying school in australia that provides a double degree program . .?
snowcandy
post Jan 14 2008, 02:09 AM

828 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Jan 14 2008, 01:41 AM)
Had my visa done and approved about a few weeks ago, but I didn't recall being asked about my criminal record.  sweat.gif

BTW, I'll be heading off to Adelaide on the 16th Feb. My orientation's at the City West Campus on the 18th if not mistaken. Anyone here will be there also?
Which airline will you be boarding? I'll be flying there on the 16th of February as well. xD
KVReninem
post Jan 14 2008, 05:55 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(HyeoshinX @ Jan 14 2008, 02:24 AM)
plenty laugh.gif whistling.gif

Added on January 14, 2008, 6:00 am
QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jan 14 2008, 12:20 AM)
Ohh I see. Thanks for all the info, december88. =)
I'm going to miss Tiara, my little poodle a lot. As well as my family and friends.
Oh and of course, my own room. Nothing beats sleeping on my own bed. =x
As well as the variety of cheap food in Malaysia. biggrin.gif
dont worry; here many poodles also.. laugh.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jan 14 2008, 06:00 AM
-Jonathan-
post Jan 14 2008, 07:15 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

1.5 Gig is definitely not enough
Just consider normal usage, downloading notes, your usual continuity connection (MSN, Skype etc), a little youtube, a little downloading here and there
It will be gone before you say "ahhh"

You need at least 10 gig to get you through safely without torrent

Added on January 14, 2008, 7:15 amwell at least, thats for me

This post has been edited by -Jonathan-: Jan 14 2008, 07:15 AM
onelove89
post Jan 14 2008, 09:18 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

10gb download is kinda expensive isnt it? I'm going for dial up unlimited mayb xD no bandwidth but it'll kill me to finish a dl, i'll jus leave it there while i study or chat. XD
Lemonfish
post Jan 14 2008, 10:01 AM

229 posts

Yea. Is there any Internet Service Provider than give unlimited download like our streamyx?? Hmm., Seems like i am the one going so early. HAHA
veronicawmh
post Jan 14 2008, 10:06 AM

15 posts

The only unlimited download service is dialup... just about all ISPs worth their salt put a cap to everyone's download so they don't oversell their bandwidth unlike our smartass streamyx.
Rel Centurica
post Jan 14 2008, 10:14 AM

127 posts

oops ahaha that was me above, forgot to logout gf account >.<

126 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:33 PM