induction cooker vs gas stove

weikee
post Oct 1 2014, 05:11 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 1 2014, 05:04 PM)
The problem consist of button no feeling when press, button spoil after warranty and totally no function.

The most important of using induction is, don't OFF the main after cook. The internal fan will cool down the coil and OFF itself. Than you can OFF the main. Otherwise bye bye your induction.
I think some brand the control/dial are more lasting. My colleague unit, the burner (induction coil) itself damage. Maybe he use it too long for soup boiling and the copper get damage.
Zot
post Oct 1 2014, 05:23 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 1 2014, 04:57 PM)
Get 10KVA UPS biggrin.gif

Than again, for 4 burners, what is the KWh rating? 3000? or 4000?  Wiring setup to handle that load?
The design to some extend already robust for house electrical but component failure is not predictable. The design of power supply is not like you imagine. Let say the power is 3kW. It will be shared among all 4 hobs. If you use one hob at one time, maximum designed power for that hob is supplied but if you use 2 hobs at same time the power might be reduced to share. So each hob might not operate at maximum design capacity. Even for branded one I believe all like this.

Just like aircon, you might not want to share wiring with other appliances. For my house I pulled separate cable, same size as incoming from TNB to kitchen and has separate DB (Distribution Box). So part of the kitchen and room at the back of my house go through separate DB than the original from constructors.

I save a lot of money because I did this together with my friend wink.gif , Necessary or not? Can't really tell because depends on actual house wiring. Mostly wiring contractor not really honest on wire they use
SUSleonhart88
post Oct 1 2014, 06:55 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 1 2014, 04:22 PM)
Gas stove have to depend what type. As said, those 4 burners with oven below won't have high efficiency compare to those rm50-100 type.
Also, have to depend on the quality of LPG also, if the content having more heavier HC fractions, it will affect the firing also.
Gas burners depend greatly on air/fuel ratio sweat.gif
But again, when comparing on the price, good induction cooker cost rm1+++ or more while a good gas stove will just cost rm50-100.
I saw toyda or cornell induction cooker only rm 100. they are good right? any brand also good
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 06:58 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Oct 1 2014, 06:55 PM)
I saw toyda or cornell induction cooker only rm 100. they are good right? any brand also good
Don't ask me on this, I never bother to such cooker. Too expensive for me.
SUSleonhart88
post Oct 1 2014, 08:08 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 1 2014, 06:58 PM)
Don't ask me on this, I never bother to such cooker. Too expensive for me.
rm 100 also expensive meh?
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 08:35 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Oct 1 2014, 08:08 PM)
rm 100 also expensive meh?
The bill that come later on sweat.gif
PJusa
post Oct 2 2014, 08:33 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 1 2014, 04:31 PM)
sorry i missed that. yes the first 200 unit will cost RM43.6

guys, this is not arguing. this is factual discussion on the cost.
before this people (even i) have no actual calculation on how much different induction VS gas. until the other guy posted the DOE link on energy comparison.

even tho it's normalized to india, the numbers inside it is based on fact. normalizing it to malaysian prices is easy once you know the number.

wife have been asking numerous time to go induction.
now i have scientific proof to turn her down. thanks to you guys. tongue.gif
if you truely want to consider the cost you should not cost-average the electricity. you would be using units on and above you current consumption. so you need to check the marginal costs i.e. how much will an *additional* unit of power cost me. this makes it even less cost-effective.
halcyon27
post Oct 2 2014, 10:14 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 1 2014, 04:22 PM)
Gas stove have to depend what type. As said, those 4 burners with oven below won't have high efficiency compare to those rm50-100 type.
Also, have to depend on the quality of LPG also, if the content having more heavier HC fractions, it will affect the firing also.
Gas burners depend greatly on air/fuel ratio sweat.gif
But again, when comparing on the price, good induction cooker cost rm1+++ or more while a good gas stove will just cost rm50-100.
The 50-100 burners you referred to is the one with 3 distrubtion rings as those used in CKT stall or Tai Chow? The ones that need a high pressure regulator types or some other units? Love those. When it's hot, it's very hot. On high burn mode, it gives a satisfying 'whrrr' sound.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 2 2014, 10:15 AM
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 11:26 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 2 2014, 10:14 AM)
The 50-100 burners you referred to is the one with 3 distrubtion rings as those used in CKT stall or Tai Chow? The ones that need a high pressure regulator types or some other units? Love those. When it's hot, it's very hot. On high burn mode, it gives a satisfying 'whrrr' sound.
Nope, 1 grade lower, but still the firing is good thumbup.gif
Those type need lots of air, else will result to yellow fire.
weikee
post Oct 2 2014, 11:33 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 2 2014, 11:26 AM)
Nope, 1 grade lower, but still the firing is good thumbup.gif
Those type need lots of air, else will result to yellow fire.
The burner have breather hole. I use all the restaurant type, from "coke can" type to "mui fa lou" silver color type where fried kueh teow always use.

Yellow fire only happen when there is blockage or the burner are dirty, a full blast of fire will solve the problem.

This post has been edited by weikee: Oct 2 2014, 11:34 AM
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 11:38 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 2 2014, 11:33 AM)
The burner have breather hole. I use all the restaurant type, from "coke can" type to "mui fa lou" silver color type where fried kueh teow always use.

Yellow fire only happen when there is blockage or the burner are dirty, a full blast of fire will solve the problem.
Emmm, not enough also, as coming to the end of life, the firing are very pure and leaving black residue on the wok's bottom.
weikee
post Oct 2 2014, 11:50 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 2 2014, 11:38 AM)
Emmm, not enough also, as coming to the end of life, the firing are very pure and leaving black residue on the wok's bottom.
That is the gas, any gas tank going to be empty soon will have some yellowish.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 12:00 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 2 2014, 11:50 AM)
That is the gas, any gas tank going to be empty soon will have some yellowish.
Not really, mine when reach 50% already start giving yellow fire. The gas quality matters.
ozak
post Oct 2 2014, 12:14 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 2 2014, 10:14 AM)
Last time, I used to repair this 'jet engine'. Scary. sweat.gif
weikee
post Oct 2 2014, 12:17 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 2 2014, 12:00 PM)
Not really, mine when reach 50% already start giving yellow fire. The gas quality matters.
Possible, but i use red tank so far so good when reach around 20% or 1+month balance only have slight yellowish.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 12:32 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 2 2014, 12:17 PM)
Possible, but i use red tank so far so good when reach around 20% or 1+month balance only have slight yellowish.
Blocked burner head will cause this also sweat.gif
But again, how much such burner cost? My side only rm65, still way cheaper than induction cooker thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by supersound: Oct 2 2014, 12:32 PM
cfa28
post Oct 2 2014, 12:39 PM

4,830 posts

Induction cookers is good for cooking which requires minimal movement of wok from the heat souce such as Boiling soups, stew, etc

But things like stir firing which requires some movements, when the wok is lifted from the induction for too long, the alarm will ring or power is cut off

thus if we watch Hell Kitchen, its usually Gas that I see is being used

halcyon27
post Oct 2 2014, 02:26 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 2 2014, 12:14 PM)
Last time, I used to repair this 'jet engine'. Scary. sweat.gif
Wah...how so?
ozak
post Oct 2 2014, 08:27 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 2 2014, 02:26 PM)
Wah...how so?
The fire burn strong and like jet engine sound. If you slow flame up the burner after open the valve, the bom sound scary. And you need skill to control open the valve how big. Nowadays all have pilot flame beside for easy fire up. Beginning time, no such pilot flame. If you use matchstick, prepare get burn your hand. So people light up a newspaper , put on the burner and than open the valve.

halcyon27
post Oct 3 2014, 12:28 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 2 2014, 08:27 PM)
The fire burn strong and like jet engine sound. If you slow flame up the burner after open the valve, the bom sound scary. And you need skill to control open the valve how big. Nowadays all have pilot flame beside for easy fire up. Beginning time, no such pilot flame. If you use matchstick, prepare get burn your hand.  So people light up a newspaper , put on the burner and than open the valve.
Ah... ok I get it. Yes, did here an ocassional 'bom' sound when they operate it during my school years.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:03 AM