307 Pages « < 296 297 298 299 300 > » Bottom

Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here

Lego Warfare
post Oct 1 2021, 05:15 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 1 2021, 04:09 PM)
Yeah, i saw that thread already, but im just more concerned whether IEM bass can be as good as headphones. Seems there is rarely proper comparison between the two, which of course is not surprising since both totally different form factor and usage scenario. Currently for office use im using ATH M50X. The bass is good but just wonder if IEM can be better.
Sure, but the price will not be proportionate to the value.

I'm sure the EE Legend X or even IE900 bass is way better than the M50X, but I'm sure you wouldn't want to spend that much for an office IEM use...

This post has been edited by Lego Warfare: Oct 1 2021, 05:15 PM
VagueConcerns
post Oct 2 2021, 01:35 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 1 2021, 12:40 PM)
Long time no ask recommendation.

Sifus with experience with both IEM and headphones, generally which of the two is better for bassheads?

I know IEMs have good seal and can give that tight deep bass, but headphones can give me that whole head rumbling feel. Dunno whether IEM can achieve this as I have very limited experience with IEM.

Looking at JVC FW01 btw, so wanted to know more before splurge on this.
IEMs produce bass better in general. With bass, the "head rumble" you experience with headphones is no different than what IEMs do and is not the function of them actually putting pressure on your head. You can feel that headphones have a "larger" hit because with music bass instruments don't play single tones. What headphones do much better - especially over-ears - are sound staging and imaging, because they allow the sound to interact with your outer ear. Bass in music have harmonics which present themselves in higher frequencies that the headphone can image better. You can compare the bass energy on IEMs and headphones by playing pure sine tones on both. You'll find that they feel exactly the same.

I've only ever owned two "bass kings". The Sony MDR-XB90EX, and the Futuresonics Atrio M5 with the MG7 driver. You can't find them anymore, they're discontinued. I have never owned or tested the JVC FW01, but it would likely have a more balanced sound compared to the Denon you have that is deliberately tuned to be on the bassier side. You could find the treble detail either refreshing or distracting, but I can't imagine them lacking in bass at all.

In any case, if purely for bass you can have them in any form. Good basshead headphones are just as good as basshead IEMs. It's just that getting that bass with IEMs is a lot easier (for manufacturers and for users).

This post has been edited by VagueConcerns: Oct 2 2021, 01:48 AM
xxboxx
post Oct 2 2021, 09:34 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 1 2021, 12:40 PM)
Long time no ask recommendation.

Sifus with experience with both IEM and headphones, generally which of the two is better for bassheads?

I know IEMs have good seal and can give that tight deep bass, but headphones can give me that whole head rumbling feel. Dunno whether IEM can achieve this as I have very limited experience with IEM.

Looking at JVC FW01 btw, so wanted to know more before splurge on this.
Can try KZ iem first. Well known for it's good bass, and it's cheap too.
danny_sp15
post Oct 2 2021, 03:12 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 1 2021, 05:15 PM)
Sure, but the price will not be proportionate to the value.

I'm sure the EE Legend X or even IE900 bass is way better than the M50X, but I'm sure you wouldn't want to spend that much for an office IEM use...
Yeah, this is more to fill in the gap as my M50X leaks a bit of sound (i listen kinda loud) and I worry might bother my colleagues. So not looking to spend huge. Would probably just give it a try since i dont have any IEM at all.
Thanks for the advice!

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Oct 2 2021, 01:35 AM)
IEMs produce bass better in general. With bass, the "head rumble" you experience with headphones is no different than what IEMs do and is not the function of them actually putting pressure on your head. You can feel that headphones have a "larger" hit because with music bass instruments don't play single tones. What headphones do much better - especially over-ears - are sound staging and imaging, because they allow the sound to interact with your outer ear. Bass in music have harmonics which present themselves in higher frequencies that the headphone can image better. You can compare the bass energy on IEMs and headphones by playing pure sine tones on both. You'll find that they feel exactly the same.

I've only ever owned two "bass kings". The Sony MDR-XB90EX, and the Futuresonics Atrio M5 with the MG7 driver. You can't find them anymore, they're discontinued. I have never owned or tested the JVC FW01, but it would likely have a more balanced sound compared to the Denon you have that is deliberately tuned to be on the bassier side. You could find the treble detail either refreshing or distracting, but I can't imagine them lacking in bass at all.

In any case, if purely for bass you can have them in any form. Good basshead headphones are just as good as basshead IEMs. It's just that getting that bass with IEMs is a lot easier (for manufacturers and for users).
I never had IEM with strong bass, in fact only ever had 1 IEM so I'm quite curious what are the capabilities of an IEM. I was under the impression that smaller driver would mean more limitations, but from everyone's advice this doesn't seem to be the case. Thanks for the enlightenment!

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 2 2021, 09:34 AM)
Can try KZ iem first. Well known for it's good bass, and it's cheap too.
Thanks for the recommendation. Very new in IEM market so I'm not familiar with the brands, though i have heard good things about KZ. Will do more research. Thanks!
VagueConcerns
post Oct 3 2021, 05:43 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 2 2021, 03:12 PM)
Yeah, this is more to fill in the gap as my M50X leaks a bit of sound (i listen kinda loud) and I worry might bother my colleagues. So not looking to spend huge. Would probably just give it a try since i dont have any IEM at all.
Thanks for the advice!
I never had IEM with strong bass, in fact only ever had 1 IEM so I'm quite curious what are the capabilities of an IEM. I was under the impression that smaller driver would mean more limitations, but from everyone's advice this doesn't seem to be the case. Thanks for the enlightenment!
Thanks for the recommendation. Very new in IEM market so I'm not familiar with the brands, though i have heard good things about KZ. Will do more research. Thanks!
If you have never heard a proper basshead IEM before something cheap and "disposable" to first dip your feet in could be a good idea. Someone recommended KZ and that's a good start, but be wary that their signature sound is the U-shaped tuning - strong bass presence with a similarly uplifted treble. Some have more aggressive treble than others, like the ZS10 Pro and ZSX (the one I have). KZ ATE and KZ ZST are two safest choices that you could try, each costs less than RM50 and RM70 respectively from the official KZ store in Lazada. If you don't like them sell them off for cheap, or if you do and want an upgrade from it immediately you can save them as backup or also sell them off cheap as well. It's better than spending RM1000 on something you might not like.

I mentioned XB90EX before, but the current "equivalent" might be the XB55AP which I think may be more up your alley depending on how much of a basshead you are. I like its bass but my music preference limits their use for me. If you can find a demo unit at any Sony store you can try it out. Less than RM200 last time I saw them.
Punanister
post Oct 8 2021, 07:08 AM

19 posts

Hi! I am an IEM user and thinking of switching over to headphones to rest my ear canals. Hehehe! I hope you guys can help me out.

With that in mind, here are the things I am looking for:
1. Good sound(I will be using it for music listening and playing games.)
2. Bluetooth + Wired
3. ANC
4. No lags.
5. -RM400

I am currently looking at the Tribits, although there is not much info about them and what their differences are (QP, QP 50, QP 72) and the Anker Soundcore Life Q30. Which one do you guys think is more bang for the buck? Do your guys have other recommendations with the same features?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Punanister: Oct 8 2021, 07:09 AM
Selectt
post Oct 15 2021, 07:28 PM

wattttt!!
1,709 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Sep 20 2021, 03:56 AM)
looking for a pair of wireless headset with mic for work and home use, budget around RM500-700. Are gaming headsets the only options that I have?

Any other recommendation?
the build/spec for gaming headset is different than office use. You must be referring to home use. Office headset emphasize on reducing delay, longer battery life and clear voice transmission over anything else. You dont use fruit knife to cut meat.
Edifier
post Oct 18 2021, 09:23 AM

Store Representative
9,158 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Sep 9 2021, 08:38 PM)
Sifus, could you recommend a headset for games and college conf calls, which has bluetooth and wife, so that can be used for both PC and cell. Tkasih

Recently bought both the below units, still on delivery...for my nephew and niece but need another one as well. Budget around 500 bucks only cry.gif

TKasih
You can give Edifier G33Bt a try - https://shopee.com.my/Edifier-G33BT-PixArt-...bb-e93014cf9a77
Maknusia
post Oct 18 2021, 10:37 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Oct 18 2021, 09:23 AM)
Thanks bang...but already purchased for my niece and nephew.

They are happy with it, the boy enjoys the 7.1 surround for games and the gal enjoys the external sound muffing
Edifier
post Oct 18 2021, 02:32 PM

Store Representative
9,158 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Oct 18 2021, 10:37 AM)
Thanks bang...but already purchased for my niece and nephew.

They are happy with it, the boy enjoys the 7.1 surround for games and the gal enjoys the external sound muffing
You are most welcome! smile.gif
Waffler
post Oct 21 2021, 12:08 AM

31 posts

Hi bosses, considering a few options of headphones (over-ear), open to suggestions as well.

I just want:
1. Comfort (I use headphones quite abit since I'm a CS student)
2. Portable (Something that's not too bulky, that i could study in uni library with if needed)
3. Decently durable (since I'm paying so much, i feel it should last quite long too)

I found a couple of used headphones (not sure what you guys think abt it),
Bose QC35 (1 year+) for RM 600
M40x (new) for RM300

Yep, those are my considerations, tbh, I don't really need the noise cancelling and I don't see the issue with wired devices but I know the QC35's are really comfortable. But yeah, are there any

Wired, comfortable and portable headphones out there? Budget: around the used items above, but lower is alwayss better since im a student.
ohmy.gif also sound quality isn't that big a deal for me, like i think most over-ears are fine hahah

This post has been edited by Waffler: Oct 21 2021, 12:11 AM
sagethesausage
post Oct 21 2021, 10:03 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Sep 9 2021, 01:05 AM)
Beyers are known to be built pretty solid, and some models (DT990, DT770) fall within your price bracket.

Can also consider this:
[attachmentid=10970399]
Dayum missed out on this promo last month. That hd599 is a new unit for rm700? What a steal
GNR
post Oct 23 2021, 06:13 PM

26 posts

Hi Sifus,

I've been doing some research for a week now but have not reached an answer for myself but at least I have a sense of what I want from my headphones. Please help to recommend.

- Your rig (mp3 players, amps, sound card etc) : Sony TV x90j
- What type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc) : Movies (Mainly Netflix)
- File format used in your source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc) : native Netflix app
- Genre of music you listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc) : All sorts of movies/animes,
- Headphone/ earphone type (closed, open, circumaural, IEM etc) : Closed I guess since I stay in an apartment and would prefer no disturbance from external noises.
- Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, 5.1ch, 7.1ch etc) : Wireless. No need mic. Preferably ANC. No need for Dolby Atmos, 5.1 or 7.1. Comfortable for long hours as I like to binge series. Decent sound quality will do but must have low latency (i guess aptx ll?) so that video and audio syncs.
- Budget 500 to 800

Also a quick question - for headphones that don't support aptx ll, does hooking it up to a aptx ll receiver allows one the headphones to be aptx ll enabled?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by GNR: Oct 23 2021, 06:15 PM
xxboxx
post Oct 23 2021, 08:54 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GNR @ Oct 23 2021, 06:13 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I've been doing some research for a week now but have not reached an answer for myself but at least I have a sense of what I want from my headphones. Please help to recommend.

- Your rig (mp3 players, amps, sound card etc) : Sony TV x90j
- What type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc) : Movies (Mainly Netflix)
- File format used in your source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc) : native Netflix app
- Genre of music you listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc) : All sorts of movies/animes,
- Headphone/ earphone type (closed, open, circumaural, IEM etc) : Closed I guess since I stay in an apartment and would prefer no disturbance from external noises.
- Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, 5.1ch, 7.1ch etc) : Wireless. No need mic. Preferably ANC. No need for Dolby Atmos, 5.1 or 7.1. Comfortable for long hours as I like to binge series. Decent sound quality will do but must have low latency (i guess aptx ll?) so that video and audio syncs.
- Budget 500 to 800

Also a quick question - for headphones that don't support aptx ll, does hooking it up to a aptx ll receiver allows one the headphones to be aptx ll enabled?

Thanks in advance.
Maybe if still can find Sony XM3, can get around that price. Big brand with good ANC hard to get at that price.

I don't think 1 device with APTX LL is enough to get both support APTX LL.
GNR
post Oct 23 2021, 11:10 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 23 2021, 08:54 PM)
Maybe if still can find Sony XM3, can get around that price. Big brand with good ANC hard to get at that price.

I don't think 1 device with APTX LL is enough to get both support APTX LL.
XM3 does not support aptx ll, only aptx and aptx HD.
xxboxx
post Oct 24 2021, 08:46 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GNR @ Oct 23 2021, 11:10 PM)
XM3 does not support aptx ll, only aptx and aptx HD.
Your tv support APTX LL?
GNR
post Oct 24 2021, 02:22 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 24 2021, 08:46 AM)
Your tv support APTX LL?
No. That's why I was wondering if a Bluetooth receiver with aptx ll at headphones, and a Bluetooth transmitter with aptx ll would solve the problem
xxboxx
post Oct 24 2021, 02:44 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GNR @ Oct 24 2021, 02:22 PM)
No. That's why I was wondering if a Bluetooth receiver with aptx ll at headphones, and a Bluetooth transmitter with aptx ll would solve the problem
Maybe there's gaming headphone that have APTX LL since gamer need it to be as less lag as possible. Don't know any gaming headphone.

For video playback, many devices have ways to compensate for bluetooth latency, usually is by delaying the video few hundred miliseconds. You have tried with any bluetooth headphone/earphone and notice the lag?

Some gaming headphone also have it's own RF transmitter which it claim to have less latency than bluetooth. Only thing is your tv can recognize the transmitter as audio output device or not.
danny_sp15
post Nov 1 2021, 01:51 PM

==============
3,045 posts

If anyone is interested in trying planar headphones, the hifiman he-x4 is on sale at 99usd on Drop. At that price you can get it without being taxed.
ben3003
post Nov 1 2021, 02:09 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Nov 1 2021, 01:51 PM)
If anyone is interested in trying planar headphones, the hifiman he-x4 is on sale at 99usd on Drop. At that price you can get it without being taxed.
this better buy compare to he-400i se international version? or the china version which is similarly priced.

307 Pages « < 296 297 298 299 300 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:00 AM