307 Pages « < 294 295 296 297 298 > » Bottom

Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here

clivengu
post Sep 3 2021, 11:39 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Sep 3 2021, 05:20 PM)
You mentioned comfort as one of your main concern last time. In that case, I dont think Grado should be considered. Grado users please correct me if I'm wrong, but Grados are known to be uncomfortable.
yeah. But even the supposely comfortable Fidelio also doesn't feel comfortable for me, so i figured it might caused by some other factor. I look at Grado, because it is the only one more similar to the Koss Porta Pro (that is my daily driver for over 2 years)... which is "on ear" rather than over the ear , which people usually related to not as comfortable...

I am hoping the reduced weight, and also overall size footprint could work for me. I know people dont like "on ear", but i think the benefit of it should be the ears feeling less hot, compare to over the ear headphone. Im not sure.. thats why hoping any Grado owner can share some insight.

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 3 2021, 08:34 PM)
G-Cush is amazing biggrin.gif But not many likes butchering their ears with the increased trebles when changing to this
Which model are you using? I am thinking at least with Grado I can work around with the pad to figure out between comfort /sound.
Lego Warfare
post Sep 4 2021, 12:12 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 3 2021, 11:39 PM)
yeah. But even the supposely comfortable Fidelio also doesn't feel comfortable for me, so i figured it might caused by some other factor.  I look at Grado, because it is the only one more similar to the Koss Porta Pro (that is my daily driver for over 2 years)... which is "on ear" rather than over the ear , which people usually related to not as comfortable...

I am hoping the reduced weight, and also overall size footprint could work for me. I know people dont like "on ear", but i think the benefit of it  should be the ears feeling less hot, compare to over the ear headphone. Im not sure.. thats why hoping any Grado owner can share some insight.
Which model are you using? I am thinking at least with Grado I can work around with the pad to figure out between comfort /sound.
Most find on ear more uncomfortable compared to over ears though.
terradrive
post Sep 4 2021, 12:32 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Hi all, any recommended mmcx style bluetooth wireless cable? I currently have UE900 with mmcx connector.

Is the bluetooth system sounded bad? I previously plug my UE900 directly to my iphone 6s and it sounded fine, but now I had the iphone X the sound quality via 3.5mm connector really sux.

I figure that wireless maybe convenient so asking for opinions here, ty

I currently have a cheap realme buds too for trying out wireless buds, it's nice but the bass is just too much and of course doesn't sound as good as a real hifi iems does.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Sep 4 2021, 12:33 PM
terradrive
post Sep 4 2021, 12:39 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 3 2021, 11:39 PM)
yeah. But even the supposely comfortable Fidelio also doesn't feel comfortable for me, so i figured it might caused by some other factor.  I look at Grado, because it is the only one more similar to the Koss Porta Pro (that is my daily driver for over 2 years)... which is "on ear" rather than over the ear , which people usually related to not as comfortable...

I am hoping the reduced weight, and also overall size footprint could work for me. I know people dont like "on ear", but i think the benefit of it  should be the ears feeling less hot, compare to over the ear headphone. Im not sure.. thats why hoping any Grado owner can share some insight.
Maybe 12 years ago I had Grado sr60 and audio technica AD300. sonically the grado sounded way better but it's uncomfortable to use even for 1-2 hours. I can wear the AD300 for whole day, it just super comfy. In the end sold my sr60 and stay with the AD300 instead, until I got myself a beyer DT770 Pro 250ohm after 1-2 years that I still use, even typing this while using it now haha.

The DT770 Pro already considered over ear and exert more clamping force than normal over ears, alot less comfortable to comfy over ears like senn HD600 series. But it still way comfier than the grado.
power911
post Sep 4 2021, 02:52 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 4 2021, 12:39 AM)
I'm using the sister company Alessandro MS-1I from Grado Labs with Misodiko G-Cups.
Honestly, with Grado, you can buy all the fake copies of their earpads to find your favorite comfort fit.
I'd even recommend going with the newer X series because their SR range finally getting the "padded" headband.

Sound idk la since I'm happy with my MS-1i but it shouldn't be that different since I couldn't differentiate my MS1i with G cup with the PS1000i when I go AB side by side HAHAHA laugh.gif
degraw1993
post Sep 4 2021, 06:51 PM

1,892 posts

so theres a new beats studio earbuds just released month ago and does it really good or on par with airpods?
clivengu
post Sep 4 2021, 11:58 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 4 2021, 12:12 AM)
Most find on ear more uncomfortable compared to over ears though.
Yeah I meant generally ppl prefer over ears. Maybe I am the minority here.. but X2HR is my first over ear...and I really still find it uneasy to wear... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(terradrive @ Sep 4 2021, 12:39 PM)
Maybe 12 years ago I had Grado sr60 and audio technica AD300. sonically the grado sounded way better but it's uncomfortable to use even for 1-2 hours. I can wear the AD300 for whole day, it just super comfy. In the end sold my sr60 and stay with the AD300 instead, until I got myself a beyer DT770 Pro 250ohm after 1-2 years that I still use, even typing this while using it now haha.

The DT770 Pro already considered over ear and exert more clamping force than normal over ears, alot less comfortable to comfy over ears like senn HD600 series. But it still way comfier than the grado.
Thank you for the feedback.. notworthy.gif it makes me a little worry.. perhaps I should just get a cheaper used one, to get a feel of it first before I jump in to get the new higher model.

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 4 2021, 02:52 PM)
I'm using the sister company Alessandro MS-1I from Grado Labs with Misodiko G-Cups.
Honestly, with Grado, you can buy all the fake copies of their earpads to find your favorite comfort fit.
I'd even recommend going with the newer X series because their SR range finally getting the "padded" headband.

Sound idk la since I'm happy with my MS-1i but it shouldn't be that different since I couldn't differentiate my MS1i with G cup with the PS1000i when I go AB side by side HAHAHA laugh.gif
Oh.. I didnt know they have a sister company. I'll look into them as well.. So do you find using different pad, making these headphone actually bearable to wear long hours?
power911
post Sep 5 2021, 12:08 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 5 2021, 12:58 AM)
Oh.. I didnt know they have a sister company. I'll look into them as well.. So do you find using different pad, making these headphone actually bearable to wear long hours?
The Alessandro series is long gone already. It was the "tamer" version of Grados with fewer characteristics sound.

Only with the G-Cush I can wear the entire day editing videos. The stock pancake S-Cush and the donut L-Cush gives a different sound which I like but they physically hurt my ears in less than 5 minutes of wearing. Stinging pain is not something I enjoy.

The original S-Cush and maybe the yaxi variant is very soft which felt extremely comfortable on my first try but they slowly sink in and the sharp plastic pokes you. L-Cush is just shaped weird to begin with and I didn't enjoy it.

G-Cush is the only one that is hard and rarely compresses compared to other fluffy foam but it is so big it basically evens out the pressure. Unless you have giant elephant ears, these are basically over-ear headphones for grado. Considering Malaysia's hot and humid weather, the big foam does get warm over time but not as bad as leather/pleather type.

Happy headphone hunting thumbsup.gif
sonyman
post Sep 5 2021, 12:51 PM

1,043 posts

can i ask headphones sifu. where can i buy this in malaysia?

Sony MDR-HW700DS TV Wireless Headphones Review

any place to audition this?
clivengu
post Sep 5 2021, 11:46 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 5 2021, 12:08 PM)
The Alessandro series is long gone already. It was the "tamer" version of Grados with fewer characteristics sound.

Only with the G-Cush I can wear the entire day editing videos. The stock pancake S-Cush and the donut L-Cush gives a different sound which I like but they physically hurt my ears in less than 5 minutes of wearing. Stinging pain is not something I enjoy.

The original S-Cush and maybe the yaxi variant is very soft which felt extremely comfortable on my first try but they slowly sink in and the sharp plastic pokes you. L-Cush is just shaped weird to begin with and I didn't enjoy it.

G-Cush is the only one that is hard and rarely compresses compared to other fluffy foam but it is so big it basically evens out the pressure. Unless you have giant elephant ears, these are basically over-ear headphones for grado. Considering Malaysia's hot and humid weather, the big foam does get warm over time but not as bad as leather/pleather type.

Happy headphone hunting thumbsup.gif
I see. Thanks for sharing. I know any kind of on ear cushion will eventually give way. My old Porta Pro changed the cushion at least 3 times over the 2 years period of ownership. But that one is extremely light weight, in comparison to Grados. After consideration, I decided to just look for used old gr80e just to give it a try, and not directly jump in and buy the expensive gr325x (which also worried me because of the extra weight).

I really thought I bought the X2HR, and I'll stick with it... didnt intend to buy more headphones.. but now it feels like I could end up with 2-3 headphones at the same time just to look for the ONE.
power911
post Sep 6 2021, 08:38 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 6 2021, 12:46 AM)
I see. Thanks for sharing. I know any kind of on ear cushion will eventually give way. My old Porta Pro changed the cushion at least 3 times over the 2 years period of ownership. But that one is extremely light weight, in comparison to Grados. After consideration, I decided to just look for used old gr80e just to give it a try, and not directly jump in and buy the expensive gr325x (which also worried me because of the extra weight).

I really thought I bought the X2HR, and I'll stick with it... didnt intend to buy more headphones.. but now it feels like I could end up with 2-3 headphones at the same time just to look for the ONE.
Yeah. Start small first le. Grado is some of the headphone I find upgrading doesn't really do much. Maybe if I own them for a month then I'll notice the difference le but even with the MS1i I bought I already lurk in Jaben damn long before deciding on this.

And it's normal le to own multiple headphones when trying to achieve perfect sound. Cuz none of them can do it all and if they can do it all they don't excel well in sound laugh.gif
The higher you go the more specific that headphone gets sweat.gif
cloud_valentine89
post Sep 8 2021, 11:40 AM

45 posts

Hi all, interested to audition ZMF Auteur in Klang Valley area. Dont mind paying to try it before pulling my trigger. Thanks!
Lego Warfare
post Sep 8 2021, 04:21 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(cloud_valentine89 @ Sep 8 2021, 11:40 AM)
Hi all, interested to audition ZMF Auteur in Klang Valley area. Dont mind paying to try it before pulling my trigger. Thanks!
No one sells it in Malaysia, only way is to blind buy like me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Lego Warfare: Sep 8 2021, 04:45 PM
xPrototype
post Sep 8 2021, 06:49 PM

316 posts

Previously I have been using ATH 40X for 3 years then the earcups joint broke in 2020. I then replaced with cheaper option of Cooler Master MH752 due to WFH, needing a mic.

Now I am looking to enjoy music again.

Is there any good deals going on 9/9? My budget is around 500-700, I am reluctant to go back Audio Technica due to the joint thing

Thanks everyone

Edit: Saw shopeepeeeepee gonna have 959 flashsale on the 1000-xm4 ... might increase budget grab those

This post has been edited by xPrototype: Sep 8 2021, 07:01 PM
danny_sp15
post Sep 9 2021, 01:05 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(xPrototype @ Sep 8 2021, 06:49 PM)
Previously I have been using ATH 40X for 3 years then the earcups joint broke in 2020. I then replaced with cheaper option of Cooler Master MH752 due to WFH, needing a mic.

Now I am looking to enjoy music again.

Is there any good deals going on 9/9? My budget is around 500-700, I am reluctant to go back Audio Technica due to the joint thing

Thanks everyone

Edit: Saw shopeepeeeepee gonna have 959 flashsale on the 1000-xm4 ... might increase budget grab those
Beyers are known to be built pretty solid, and some models (DT990, DT770) fall within your price bracket.

Can also consider this:

This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Sep 9 2021, 02:13 AM
xPrototype
post Sep 9 2021, 08:14 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Sep 9 2021, 01:05 AM)
Beyers are known to be built pretty solid, and some models (DT990, DT770) fall within your price bracket.

Can also consider this:
Thanks for your recommendations
cloud_valentine89
post Sep 9 2021, 11:29 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 8 2021, 04:21 PM)
No one sells it in Malaysia, only way is to blind buy like me tongue.gif

I see, afraid on the comfort and being too similar to HD6x0 series. Seems like Auteur fell abit short of technicalities too... Looks like Verite has a vastly improvement in overall.
Lego Warfare
post Sep 9 2021, 11:59 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(cloud_valentine89 @ Sep 9 2021, 11:29 AM)
I see, afraid on the comfort and being too similar to HD6x0 series. Seems like Auteur fell abit short of technicalities too... Looks like Verite has a vastly improvement in overall.
Comfort wise is subjective, but for me i find it a bit heavy as it is nearing the 500g weight. Definitely not that similar to the HD6X0 series, the Auteur has a much better bass extension & slam and also treble extension. It doesn't roll off like the 6X0.
Technicalities depends on what you are comparing to, if to 800S then yes definitely not on par. But tonality and timbre the Auteur is one of the best to me.
VC is much heavier and obviously more expensive. Technically it is better, but sound signature is of course different as well. Only reason why i didn't consider getting VC is the weight.
cloud_valentine89
post Sep 9 2021, 02:40 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 9 2021, 11:59 AM)
Comfort wise is subjective, but for me i find it a bit heavy as it is nearing the 500g weight. Definitely not that similar to the HD6X0 series, the Auteur has a much better bass extension & slam and also treble extension. It doesn't roll off like the 6X0.
Technicalities depends on what you are comparing to, if to 800S then yes definitely not on par. But tonality and timbre the Auteur is one of the best to me.
VC is much heavier and obviously more expensive. Technically it is better, but sound signature is of course different as well. Only reason why i didn't consider getting VC is the weight.
Yup, i feel like keeping my hd6xx and Auteur will probably make my HD6xx irrelevant. I mean music genre wise. So, i am more inclined to choose a pair that is more analytical.
I picked ZMF mainly because of bad experience with planar driver failure and ZMF have a lifetime warranty on driver. Right now having a hard time deciding between VC and VO. Apparently VO is lighter than Auteur in general with its Magnesium chasis.
Like all closed back headphones, i am afraid that it may not be well ventilated. Especially in places like Malaysia, sweat and the pressure feeling around my ears will be a deal breaker. However, it seems like VC is more well received in terms of sound quality.
Will probably go for the opened back, comfort is more important
Lego Warfare
post Sep 9 2021, 07:04 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(cloud_valentine89 @ Sep 9 2021, 02:40 PM)
Yup, i feel like keeping my hd6xx and Auteur will probably make my HD6xx irrelevant. I mean music genre wise. So, i am more inclined to choose a pair that is more analytical. 
I picked ZMF mainly because of bad experience with planar driver failure and ZMF have a lifetime warranty on driver. Right now having a hard time deciding between VC and VO. Apparently VO is lighter than Auteur in general with its Magnesium chasis.
Like all closed back headphones, i am afraid that it may not be well ventilated. Especially in places like Malaysia, sweat and the pressure feeling around my ears will be a deal breaker. However, it seems like VC is more well received in terms of sound quality.
Will probably go for the opened back, comfort is more important
To me both 6XX & Auteur don't sound the same, 6XX is more mid centric and thick/warm. Auteur in comparison is more neutral with some warmth in the mids but with better bass & treble extension. The Aeolus is generally more compared more similar to the 6XX than the Auteur.
If you want analytical, HD800S is a good choice. Their drivers/build quality are one of the best in the industry. I also prefer open back than closed, the only closed back i considered was VC mainly because of the aesthetics lol. And yes, VC is more well regarded compared to VO from what i've seen as well.

307 Pages « < 294 295 296 297 298 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:02 AM