Streamyx Streamyx 4Mbps Club V6
Michaelbyz23
Dec 7 2016, 04:33 PM
I was at TM point just now in Kuching, applying for upgrade from 4mbps to 8mpbs (for free due to I am paying RM140 for 4mbps plan currently). But the service person said my area doesnt support 8mbps.. What kind of reason is this? I feel that they just want to brush me off. Anyone know how and where else can i apply? Through vendor or 3rd parties will do? Because my area memang can support 8mbps, previously also got this option to apply, and my neighbours are using it as well. Plus, this afternoon TM technician guy just came over because I made a report that my speed is constantly below 3mbps, he fixed it, now is 4mbps. He also said my area memang can support.. up to 21mbps.
Help!
This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Dec 7 2016, 04:47 PM
Ebony & Ivory
Dec 7 2016, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Dec 7 2016, 04:31 PM) They are expanding the coverage, but the area of which the expansion is taking place is mystery I guess. My hometown got unifi at neighbouring residence (high-rise building) but my residence (grounded houses) didn't. While my uncle living in lunas already get his Unifi upgrade last month.  expand? they just merely focus on new housing area, those old housing area/sub urban/kampung, they just abandon lol.
kiritoffx
Dec 7 2016, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Dec 7 2016, 06:01 PM) expand? they just merely focus on new housing area, those old housing area/sub urban/kampung, they just abandon lol. true. mine waited more than 10 years to be able to sub 4mbs. as 8mbs, maybe i died first then it will be available
JohnLai
Dec 7 2016, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Dec 7 2016, 06:01 PM) expand? they just merely focus on new housing area, those old housing area/sub urban/kampung, they just abandon lol. QUOTE(kiritoffx @ Dec 7 2016, 06:28 PM) true. mine waited more than 10 years to be able to sub 4mbs. as 8mbs, maybe i died first then it will be available Meanwhile, on my friend side, his new housing area only has unifi, but no copper line. He can't even afford unifi due to house loan repayment. He want cheaper streamyx due to his commitment, but there isn't copper line available.....
yorkhan
Dec 7 2016, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(Exeunt @ Dec 7 2016, 01:42 PM) good finding bro..we shall wait the new 'upgrade' plan next year june..zzzz say only... my place (terrace house, klang) already they say no more 8mbps....4 is the max.. so how?
Mubarak90
Dec 7 2016, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Dec 7 2016, 06:01 PM) expand? they just merely focus on new housing area, those old housing area/sub urban/kampung, they just abandon lol. But my uncle's residence is an old housing area. Maybe because they're expanding not far from there, that's why they included unifi to the housing area.
Ebony & Ivory
Dec 7 2016, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Dec 7 2016, 06:34 PM) Meanwhile, on my friend side, his new housing area only has unifi, but no copper line. He can't even afford unifi due to house loan repayment. He want cheaper streamyx due to his commitment, but there isn't copper line available.....  afterall, it is still depend on user requirement. for me, i willing to pay for it if tm can make it become available.
Ebony & Ivory
Dec 7 2016, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Dec 7 2016, 06:36 PM) But my uncle's residence is an old housing area. Maybe because they're expanding not far from there, that's why they included unifi to the housing area. most old housing area still not supported, even 8mbps is not available.
Mubarak90
Dec 7 2016, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Dec 7 2016, 06:38 PM) most old housing area still not supported, even 8mbps is not available. Yeah, just pray that there will be a new housing area / restructuring there, so that TM will pull the fibre cable across, so everyone will benefit.  My hometown really is just beside the high-rise building, but since lots of road to cover, maybe that's why they opt out.
teak87
Dec 7 2016, 07:41 PM
Hi All. Just upgraded to 4Mbps package. But below is the highest rate that my internet can go. I know my place in kampung area in Penang island because if not mistaken previously my kampung only capable to install 2Mbps. I feel not good on the upload speed. Should get 500kbps or 50kb/s for this package. Already lodged report but no one yet to call for checking an onsite support or tested out my line over here. Any ideas? Or just dream. Using TP-Link Model ADSL2+ Router. The SNR margin is excellente (18-25.5dB) but Line Atenuation under good only (42-25.7dB). (Down-Upstream) UPDATE: Today 8 Dec 2016, TM technician came in for inspection. They still working on it now. Need to evaluate later once at home. Cant wait to see the improvement. huhu This post has been edited by teak87: Dec 8 2016, 11:53 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
MGM
Dec 7 2016, 09:07 PM
For those stuck with high-price streamyx package with no Unifi availability, have u all tried Webe as a replacement option?
dannychen
Dec 7 2016, 10:33 PM
CODE RM0.00 TM: As a token of appreciation, we're giving away 'Thank You Surprises' & more exciting offers in 2017. Keep a lookout for the surprises coming your way!
sl3ge
Dec 7 2016, 10:45 PM
Hi, about the "2017 THE BROADBAND IMPROVEMENT PLAN"
During oct2016 i had add RM10 upgrade from 1mbps to 4mbps(now bill rm128). May i know 2017 am i eligible to free upgrade from 4mbps to 8mbps?
This post has been edited by sl3ge: Dec 7 2016, 10:46 PM
zeronehza
Dec 7 2016, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(teak87 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:41 PM) Hi All. Just upgraded to 4Mbps package. But below is the highest rate that my internet can go. I know my place in kampung area in Penang island because if not mistaken previously my kampung only capable to install 2Mbps. I feel not good on the upload speed. Should get 500kbps or 50kb/s for this package. Already lodged report but no one yet to call for checking an onsite support or tested out my line over here. Any ideas? Or just dream. Using TP-Link Model ADSL2+ Router. The SNR margin is excellente (18-25.5dB) but Line Atenuation under good only (42-25.7dB). (Down-Upstream) this is normal PASS level range .. for 512 upload.. if ur upload below 0.4 then can complain.. if above 0.4 is normal
syazwanreno
Dec 8 2016, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 7 2016, 09:07 PM) For those stuck with high-price streamyx package with no Unifi availability, have u all tried Webe as a replacement option? webe is for phone right? And i hear you can't even tether.
kiritoffx
Dec 8 2016, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Dec 8 2016, 01:04 AM) webe is for phone right? And i hear you can't even tether. using 3g modem
syncomp
Dec 8 2016, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(teak87 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:41 PM) Hi All. Just upgraded to 4Mbps package. But below is the highest rate that my internet can go. I know my place in kampung area in Penang island because if not mistaken previously my kampung only capable to install 2Mbps. I feel not good on the upload speed. Should get 500kbps or 50kb/s for this package. Already lodged report but no one yet to call for checking an onsite support or tested out my line over here. Any ideas? Or just dream. Using TP-Link Model ADSL2+ Router. The SNR margin is excellente (18-25.5dB) but Line Atenuation under good only (42-25.7dB). (Down-Upstream) This is good. Mine would get 0.2 Mbps all the way for upload speed. Sometimes 0.0 Mbps. Doesnt matter how many times I've restarted the modem
teak87
Dec 8 2016, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(zeronehza @ Dec 7 2016, 10:54 PM) this is normal PASS level range .. for 512 upload.. if ur upload below 0.4 then can complain.. if above 0.4 is normal Sure heh? Huhu...ya acceptable but i just wanted to hear from them either this is the highest speed can go in my place or they need to check their infrastructure in my place either to fix or upgrade only..
teak87
Dec 8 2016, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(syncomp @ Dec 8 2016, 09:16 AM) This is good. Mine would get 0.2 Mbps all the way for upload speed. Sometimes 0.0 Mbps. Doesnt matter how many times I've restarted the modem Mercy on you hoho. How can till 0mbps? huhu where is your location? I think either your modem or the infrastructure (TM line/port) problem. I just follow up with TM. They working on it to come to my home today.
zeronehza
Dec 8 2016, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(teak87 @ Dec 8 2016, 12:02 PM) Sure heh? Huhu...ya acceptable but i just wanted to hear from them either this is the highest speed can go in my place or they need to check their infrastructure in my place either to fix or upgrade only.. sure.. if 1mb / 2mb streamyx upload only 384, around 0.2x only mine 8mb capp 639, around 0.5x only