anyway is there other better options other than uob? for 12 months.
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2
Oct 15 2014, 06:13 PM
6,372 posts Joined: May 2007 |
can't seem to find any info on uob website regarding the 12 months 4.05% fd, can just go to the bank and ask? or it's under counter too?
anyway is there other better options other than uob? for 12 months. |
Oct 15 2014, 07:03 PM
1,820 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 15 2014, 01:28 PM) QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 15 2014, 01:40 PM) Contacted RM earlier, she first said only promotion was 3.8% for 12 months (ending today apparently)I mentioned I heard about the 4% upfront interest and 3.87% 3 month, and yeah is available for fresh fund. My FDs aren't maturing until 27/28th so hopefully this offer will still be active then. If I uplift an FD, can I just bank it into say a CIMB savings account - then get a bankers draft from them the next day and deposit as fresh funds? |
Oct 15 2014, 07:12 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,520 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 15 2014, 06:13 PM) can't seem to find any info on uob website regarding the 12 months 4.05% fd, can just go to the bank and ask? or it's under counter too? no need under table. it is displayed on the counter top itself.anyway is there other better options other than uob? for 12 months. |
Oct 15 2014, 08:46 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 14 2014, 10:16 PM) Statement based is actually better than cert. If want to report the FD cert is lost, the bank has to get verification and confirmation from all joint names of FD Statement - your joint name party quietly withdraw the money, next month knew already when statement comes. While there is one bank does send letter to inform particular FD has been uplifted once the uplifting is made. So cannot "quietly" withdraw. Cert - no statement, forever don't know your joint party has withdraw the money if you don't hold on the cert. Even you have the cert, the joint party can report it as a loss, and replace with another and withdraw, and your old cert is invalid, and forever think you still have the money with a invalid cert. Also, with cert, when old time, may forget where it placed already, and may forget how many cert has been placed. Statement, everything clear in a page. depositors listed on the FD cert. One party cannot make a valid report that the FD cert is lost (unless it is single name). For example, If Ah Goat, Uncle Magic and I have a joint name FD cert, and Ah Goat holds the FD cert. Now, if Uncle Magic has a bad intention and he wants to withdraw all the money and run away to Caribbean Islands by cheating to the bank that the cert is lost, then the bank will need to get confirmation from Ah Goat and me that the cert is actually lost. |
Oct 15 2014, 09:54 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Oct 16 2014, 12:04 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
184 posts Joined: May 2009 From: ----*Malacca & Puchong*---- |
To all sifus,
I want to get some opinions from you guys. Currently my credit card debt approx 15k, and I dont have any FD with me. But I have my EPF acc 2 that able to settle up my CC and I plan to withdraw all and balance put in FD.(because can withdraw one time only,if i sell away my first house then different story) Any suggestion that I can get from you guys? |
Oct 16 2014, 01:27 AM
360 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(Pisang_Dy88 @ Oct 16 2014, 12:04 AM) To all sifus, Quickly settle your credit card debt! Interest rate is crazy at >16%!I want to get some opinions from you guys. Currently my credit card debt approx 15k, and I dont have any FD with me. But I have my EPF acc 2 that able to settle up my CC and I plan to withdraw all and balance put in FD.(because can withdraw one time only,if i sell away my first house then different story) Any suggestion that I can get from you guys? Try not to touch your EPF at all! It is meant for your retirement and its dividend rate is higher than FD rates anyway! why do want to withdraw EPF A/C 2 and put it into FD with lower yield? You may end up spending away the money...lol! http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/about-epf/in.../dividend-rates |
Oct 16 2014, 01:52 AM
QUOTE(kwokwah @ Oct 15 2014, 02:30 AM) For SC "Just one AC": There are 3 types of Just One AC holders ie Personal, Preferred and Priority with minimum deposit of 1.5K, 5K and 10K per month to enjoy the same benefits like 1% extra interest. It would seem a bit silly to open a Priority one compared to the Personal one in this case. Can anyone enlighten me on this one? Priority account can earn 4% in JustOne priority SA if deposit RM 10K to priority CA every month, but can use online banking to transfer RM 10K from priority CA to priority SA to earn 4% on the same day. https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/prb-acquisition/index.html Non-priority account can only earn total 2% in saving account. QUOTE(kwokwah @ Oct 15 2014, 02:30 AM) It seems that Just One Priority AC may be the only prerequisite to enjoy the so called 4% and 4.25% FD promo earlier. No. 4% is for 12 months tenure; 4.25% is for 15 months and latest revised tenure 18 months.The prerequisite to open JustOne priority account is the deposit amount which is min RM 250K. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Oct 16 2014, 01:55 AM |
Oct 16 2014, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 15 2014, 06:13 PM) can't seem to find any info on uob website regarding the 12 months 4.05% fd, can just go to the bank and ask? or it's under counter too? Just opened FD accounts with UOB today. The 12mths@4.05% FD promo info is not on their website. You have to walk-in to any UOB branch and the promo pamphlet is on top of the banker's desk. anyway is there other better options other than uob? for 12 months. I have opened two FD accounts with UOB: - 1st one is 12mths@4.05% - 2nd one is 3mths@6.9% (limit to only 10% of 1st FD principal) ex. 1st FD principal 100k, 2nd FD max principal only 10k In order for you to enjoy the 3mths@6.9% FD, you need to buy Prudential insurance from them! More info on their website under BANCASSURANCE. I have also opened a basic savings account (min initial deposit $20) with ATM card (No annual fee of $8 but with restrictions) and Internet Banking facilities. More info on their website under DEPOSITS. This is optional if you do not need another savings account and ATM card. I chose to open since there is no recurring fees and may need it in the future to deposit the FD interest. Of course, you can just open the 12mths@4.05% FD without any of the above. This post has been edited by kimmo88: Oct 16 2014, 04:08 AM |
Oct 16 2014, 02:58 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 15 2014, 11:06 AM) QUOTE(kinabalu @ Oct 15 2014, 11:28 AM) Noted you guys posted at 11+am yesterday, I have yet to even leave the house. Boy, you guys really impatient and expect me to report immediately, like me ex-boss. I more like kuli than captain here Anyway, I did go to a branch that has a Premier Wealth Relationship Manager and I tell you the experience was actually very good. I am going to write about it in my upcoming article. Now I have two items to write about. In the meantime, here's a brief report: 1. At MBB reception counter, told the lady I wanted to enquire about Premier Wealth Banking and FD. 2. Was referred to a Relationship Manager. 3. First thing RM asked was my NRIC. 4. She then key in my NRIC No. into the system and was happy to note what was stated in there. And she immediately inform me that she was inviting me to be a MBB Premier Wealth Customer and will get HQ to sent me a card where I'll entitled to all the privileges of a Premier Wealth Customer. Now, I have not deposited a single sen yet. Freaking good service I must say. I will elaborate this later in my upcoming article. 5. I then proceeded to the matter of interest to me, i.e. FD. She showed me a FD promo which was very attractive but then said she has to check if quota is finished! 6. I then asked her about the 4% upfront FD targeted to attack the 3 banks. I told her I have RHB account and like I said earlier, I took my RHB PB cheque book as proof. I then asked if I can use my HLB Personal Cheque to place the FD. She said that should be ok but requested that I allow her to photocopy the slip in front of my cheque book which showed my name and account number (this slip is supposed to be teared off but I never bothered to do so). 7. She then took the slip and my IC and told me to wait. 8. She return and presented me several FD options and started to brief me. She said that for the 4% Upfront, I can withdraw the dividend credited to my Savings Account and place into another FD immediately (like what bbgoat reported earlier). 9. I did not deposit a sen yesterday and I even said that I may stick with HLB if they can offer me good rates but yet she spent close to an hour chit chatting with me. We talked about numerous deposit products where I actually learned some useful stuff and she offered to assist me in getting increase for my MBB credit card Credit Limit (which is tough since I don't have any salary slips). I tell you, this sweet MBB RM is better than all my other RMs from other banks who seem to always be in a rush. QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 15 2014, 12:26 PM) Upfront interest paid immediately! this is something new to me! So, you can rollover the interest paid to another FD. A bit of a hassle to open another FD. I will try UOB then. To reiterate - my soon to be RM said I can withdraw the dividend deposited into CASA immediately and use it to place another FD on the spot. bbgoat also mentioned this before.QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 15 2014, 02:10 PM) No hassle and u can do it in 1 FD. I have the same idea Bro if I am to go with MBB. Say u have rm104000 cash but want to keep about rm4000 for expenditure. Put in rm104000 in 4% FD and get rm4160 interest paid upfront for expenditure, 1 time FD only. Instead of put rm100k in 1st FD then take the interest of rm4k as 2nd FD. Almost same result, I think. QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 16 2014, 02:04 AM) Just opened FD accounts with UOB today. The 12mths@4.05% FD promo info is not on their website. You have to walk-in to any UOB branch and the promo pamphlet is on top of the banker's desk. Bro, 3 months 6.9% sounds great but I confuse, must buy the Prudential Insurance or not?I have opened two FD accounts with UOB: - 1st one is 12mths@4.05% - 2nd one is 3mths@6.9% (limit to only 10% of 1st FD principal) ex. 1st FD principal 100k, 2nd FD max principal only 10k In order for you to enjoy the 3mths@6.9% FD, you need to buy Prudential insurance from them! More info on their website under BANCASSURANCE. This is optional if you do not need any insurance. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 16 2014, 03:00 AM |
Oct 16 2014, 03:58 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 16 2014, 02:58 AM) Noted you guys posted at 11+am yesterday, I have yet to even leave the house. Boy, you guys really impatient and expect me to report immediately, like me ex-boss. I more like kuli than captain here Yes, prudential insurance is a prerequisite for the 3mths 6.9% FD!Anyway, I did go to a branch that has a Premier Wealth Relationship Manager and I tell you the experience was actually very good. I am going to write about it in my upcoming article. Now I have two items to write about. In the meantime, here's a brief report: 1. At MBB reception counter, told the lady I wanted to enquire about Premier Wealth Banking and FD. 2. Was referred to a Relationship Manager. 3. First thing RM asked was my NRIC. 4. She then key in my NRIC No. into the system and was happy to note what was stated in there. And she immediately inform me that she was inviting me to be a MBB Premier Wealth Customer and will get HQ to sent me a card where I'll entitled to all the privileges of a Premier Wealth Customer. Now, I have not deposited a single sen yet. Freaking good service I must say. I will elaborate this later in my upcoming article. 5. I then proceeded to the matter of interest to me, i.e. FD. She showed me a FD promo which was very attractive but then said she has to check if quota is finished! 6. I then asked her about the 4% upfront FD targeted to attack the 3 banks. I told her I have RHB account and like I said earlier, I took my RHB PB cheque book as proof. I then asked if I can use my HLB Personal Cheque to place the FD. She said that should be ok but requested that I allow her to photocopy the slip in front of my cheque book which showed my name and account number (this slip is supposed to be teared off but I never bothered to do so). 7. She then took the slip and my IC and told me to wait. 8. She return and presented me several FD options and started to brief me. She said that for the 4% Upfront, I can withdraw the dividend credited to my Savings Account and place into another FD immediately (like what bbgoat reported earlier). 9. I did not deposit a sen yesterday and I even said that I may stick with HLB if they can offer me good rates but yet she spent close to an hour chit chatting with me. We talked about numerous deposit products where I actually learned some useful stuff and she offered to assist me in getting increase for my MBB credit card Credit Limit (which is tough since I don't have any salary slips). I tell you, this sweet MBB RM is better than all my other RMs from other banks who seem to always be in a rush. To reiterate - my soon to be RM said I can withdraw the dividend deposited into CASA immediately and use it to place another FD on the spot. bbgoat also mentioned this before. I have the same idea Bro if I am to go with MBB. Bro, 3 months 6.9% sounds great but I confuse, must buy the Prudential Insurance or not? |
Oct 16 2014, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 16 2014, 02:58 AM) Noted you guys posted at 11+am yesterday, I have yet to even leave the house. Boy, you guys really impatient and expect me to report immediately, like me ex-boss. I more like kuli than captain here Captain, we are just interested to know your "under counter" findings. Dare not ask our Captain to report ....... Anyway, I did go to a branch that has a Premier Wealth Relationship Manager and I tell you the experience was actually very good. I am going to write about it in my upcoming article. Now I have two items to write about. In the meantime, here's a brief report: 1. At MBB reception counter, told the lady I wanted to enquire about Premier Wealth Banking and FD. 2. Was referred to a Relationship Manager. 3. First thing RM asked was my NRIC. 4. She then key in my NRIC No. into the system and was happy to note what was stated in there. And she immediately inform me that she was inviting me to be a MBB Premier Wealth Customer and will get HQ to sent me a card where I'll entitled to all the privileges of a Premier Wealth Customer. Now, I have not deposited a single sen yet. Freaking good service I must say. I will elaborate this later in my upcoming article. 5. I then proceeded to the matter of interest to me, i.e. FD. She showed me a FD promo which was very attractive but then said she has to check if quota is finished! 6. I then asked her about the 4% upfront FD targeted to attack the 3 banks. I told her I have RHB account and like I said earlier, I took my RHB PB cheque book as proof. I then asked if I can use my HLB Personal Cheque to place the FD. She said that should be ok but requested that I allow her to photocopy the slip in front of my cheque book which showed my name and account number (this slip is supposed to be teared off but I never bothered to do so). 7. She then took the slip and my IC and told me to wait. 8. She return and presented me several FD options and started to brief me. She said that for the 4% Upfront, I can withdraw the dividend credited to my Savings Account and place into another FD immediately (like what bbgoat reported earlier). 9. I did not deposit a sen yesterday and I even said that I may stick with HLB if they can offer me good rates but yet she spent close to an hour chit chatting with me. We talked about numerous deposit products where I actually learned some useful stuff and she offered to assist me in getting increase for my MBB credit card Credit Limit (which is tough since I don't have any salary slips). I tell you, this sweet MBB RM is better than all my other RMs from other banks who seem to always be in a rush. To reiterate - my soon to be RM said I can withdraw the dividend deposited into CASA immediately and use it to place another FD on the spot. bbgoat also mentioned this before. Thank you for your detailed and interesting report !! Actually MBB Private/Priviledge banking has been voted as one of the tops in M'sia. But the Penang branch did not live up to that reputation. I once was given that PB status (they will auto select you once you met the criteria). Got some gift during birthday. But later as they do not have good FD promo, I closed one account which was linked to the PB status and lowered down my deposit there. So the Klang valley side really live up to the reputation. You must have impressed them with your history/record ! So the leng lui must be a beauty (sorry to any lady Moderator who may be seeing the leng lui wordings). Quickly get her to be ur RM but make sure someone else did not know it. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 16 2014, 08:43 AM |
Oct 16 2014, 08:44 AM
2,606 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 15 2014, 08:46 PM) If want to report the FD cert is lost, the bank has to get verification and confirmation from all joint names of FD depositors listed on the FD cert. One party cannot make a valid report that the FD cert is lost (unless it is single name). For example, If Ah Goat, Uncle Magic and I have a joint name FD cert, and Ah Goat holds the FD cert. Now, if Uncle Magic has a bad intention and he wants to withdraw all the money and run away to Caribbean Islands by cheating to the bank that the cert is lost, then the bank will need to get confirmation from Ah Goat and me that the cert is actually lost. Ah Boom, really the expert, covering all angles. Learnt something today, joint account can have 3 names. |
Oct 16 2014, 09:00 AM
6,372 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 15 2014, 07:12 PM) QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 16 2014, 02:04 AM) Just opened FD accounts with UOB today. The 12mths@4.05% FD promo info is not on their website. You have to walk-in to any UOB branch and the promo pamphlet is on top of the banker's desk. thanks, will check it out next week. I have opened two FD accounts with UOB: - 1st one is 12mths@4.05% - 2nd one is 3mths@6.9% (limit to only 10% of 1st FD principal) ex. 1st FD principal 100k, 2nd FD max principal only 10k In order for you to enjoy the 3mths@6.9% FD, you need to buy Prudential insurance from them! More info on their website under BANCASSURANCE. I have also opened a basic savings account (min initial deposit $20) with ATM card (No annual fee of $8 but with restrictions) and Internet Banking facilities. More info on their website under DEPOSITS. This is optional if you do not need another savings account and ATM card. I chose to open since there is no recurring fees and may need it in the future to deposit the FD interest. Of course, you can just open the 12mths@4.05% FD without any of the above. |
Oct 16 2014, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(magika @ Oct 16 2014, 08:44 AM) Ah Boom, really the expert, covering all angles. Learnt something today, joint account can have 3 names. Okay..2nd episode of story continues... Once bank confirms that the FD cert is lost, then bank will request FD depositors to make a "sumpah" so that bank can use "sumpah" to void the lost FD cert and re-issue another new FD cert. Can, joint account can have 3 names. If I am not mistaken, can have up to 4 names. QUOTE(magika @ Oct 14 2014, 10:10 PM) Not interested in waiting as per day will lose my pocket money, eat grass loh, think I am Ah Goat meh.. Then let's see what FD promo will come out next month..Hope you and AH Goat update me on latest promo next month, but most probably let it remain where it is. |
Oct 16 2014, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 15 2014, 08:46 PM) If want to report the FD cert is lost, the bank has to get verification and confirmation from all joint names of FD Good example of "Good" guy wanted to go to Carribean Island. depositors listed on the FD cert. One party cannot make a valid report that the FD cert is lost (unless it is single name). For example, If Ah Goat, Uncle Magic and I have a joint name FD cert, and Ah Goat holds the FD cert. Now, if Uncle Magic has a bad intention and he wants to withdraw all the money and run away to Caribbean Islands by cheating to the bank that the cert is lost, then the bank will need to get confirmation from Ah Goat and me that the cert is actually lost. Losing FD cert is really a trouble. Last time years ago, MBB even asked me to do a police report ! |
Oct 16 2014, 10:46 AM
2,606 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 16 2014, 10:24 AM) Good example of "Good" guy wanted to go to Carribean Island. Ah Boom ah.. you got wrong person running to Carribean Island Losing FD cert is really a trouble. Last time years ago, MBB even asked me to do a police report ! I remember once BR issuing receipt type instead of cert but later revert back. OCBC using receipt type so lose also nevermind, no need to sumpah people.. |
Oct 16 2014, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(magika @ Oct 16 2014, 10:46 AM) Ah Boom ah.. you got wrong person running to Carribean Island I was there years ago. Can be your tour guide there. Lots of leng lui (known for leng lui and Beauty Queens), beautiful islands, clear water, fresh air ....... Come, come .............. I remember once BR issuing receipt type instead of cert but later revert back. OCBC using receipt type so lose also nevermind, no need to sumpah people.. For UOB just need to produce ic and can uplift FD already. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 16 2014, 10:51 AM |
Oct 16 2014, 11:00 AM
1,167 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Joined: Today, 08:45 AM |
About the FD cert hor, sorry i m not very clear on the old school type.
How does the FD cert work ah? Any benefit on holding that piece of paper? What happen if mickey mouse chew a corner of it, still can be use? I have been used to do FD thru Maybank2u or CIMB click. |
Oct 16 2014, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(Pisang_Dy88 @ Oct 16 2014, 12:04 AM) To all sifus, If you can withdraw RM 15K from your EPF account 2, then I suggest to withdraw RM15 K from your EPFI want to get some opinions from you guys. Currently my credit card debt approx 15k, and I dont have any FD with me. But I have my EPF acc 2 that able to settle up my CC and I plan to withdraw all and balance put in FD.(because can withdraw one time only,if i sell away my first house then different story) Any suggestion that I can get from you guys? account to settle your credit card debt, because your pay more interest to your credit card, and when you have extra money later, you can deposit up to RM 60K per year to your EPF account anytime. Like what kimmo88 mentioned, don't withdraw EPF and put in FD because EPF usually can give better interest rate than FD. Besides this, you have to adjust your life style to minimize your living expenses. For example, disconnect Astro, stop using air-cond but use fan instead, stop using water heater if you can, try not to go out for social often and stay home to watch TV. Eat at home rather than eat outside. Stop using expensive smart phone if you can, or sell your expensive smart phone and buy another cheap smart phone and this can get you some money back. No more buying new shirts within 2 years. Only have your hair-cut in Indian barber shop every 3 months. Try to keep more stocks when seeing items that you have to use daily are on sale, example like tooth paste, tooth brush and etc.. I noticed you are using an AMD PC with high power consumption with at least 80w, you can sell your PC and change it to entry level with low power consumption PC. You can consider to get Intel Pentium G series and H81M socket 1150 motherboard, those are really value for money with low power consumption, average 54w. If you are not running many big files, you do not need to use 4GB RAM, but you can use Windows7 32 bit with 2 GB RAM. After you settle your credit card debt, you can always buy back your desired PC. Don't under-estimate the PC power consumption, sikit sikit boleh jadi bukit. I only can notice your PC spec, but I do not know your life style and how do you use your money. You have to set your goal to settle your RM 15K within a short period of time. If you still have some problem to settle your credit card debt, you can ask for help from AKPK: http://www.akpk.org.my/happenings/news/pre...inancial-advice |
| Change to: | 0.0188sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:19 AM |