111 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V13

waja2000
post Oct 15 2014, 12:59 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 14 2014, 08:10 PM)
And how would buying 2 ex-freighters throw off this equation somehow that they make it hard for us to buy LPDs? Plus you and I are probably savvy enough to know even if it says $100 mil on the price tag, the end price will be much higher than that. Also factor in the cost of helicopters, landing craft & the troops deployed onboard, plus other 'hidden costs' I'd wager to say the total cost will run way,way more than that. But that's besides the question.

What I'm saying is it so ridiculous for RMN to buy 1 or 2 good condition used ex-freighters at reasonable price (probably no more than $30 mil USD for 2), send to shipyard for modifications for 6 months, train sufficient crew until they can run a freighter and then within half a year you can get dedicated Navy-owned cargo ships to go on cross-SCS transport runs every month at your pleasure. I'm pretty sure that is a worthwhile target.

Heck, If RMN is also that dirt poor, another option RMN can take some ships on long-term lease from MISC, paint them grey and hire civilian crews as reservists to man the ships on supply runs. As long as we have dedicated logistics fleet running regular supply runs that don't rely 100% on civilian contractors.

"Amateurs talk about tactics,professionals study logistics"- General Robert S. Barrow (US Marine Corps)
Is very annoying can buy $500 mil on Each Gowind, but can't afford $500mil for 2 LPD. feel is our Gov policy model make RMN poor.
some reason i thinking,
1) Bcos our country prefer "more famous brand asset", sure price is high.
2) Bcos Gov policy always like local make means TOT/IP so price easy cost extra 25~50% and extra time to complete construction
3) Some military fans say RMN more prefer Military-Spec ship. no safe to operate civilian-spec ship
4) a good brand military-spec LPD will cost around at lease $200~300+ mil for 8k~10k tons LPD
5) Gowind and 8x8 used up a lot budget.
6) some fans say we can't buy value Military asset from Singapore/Indonesia/China due to politic reason, or there product is questionable on reliability.

as i said, procurement will pay over few year so not make cost too high.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 15 2014, 01:08 AM
kucinganaz
post Oct 15 2014, 01:04 AM

17 posts

Taruk misil Klub-K kat Bunga Mas pun best gak... laugh.gif
vapeace
post Oct 15 2014, 01:22 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(Piap @ Oct 14 2014, 12:10 AM)
Why need to repaint bunga mas to grey colour. Better leave it look like normal civilian vessel but fitted with club k containers on deck.
violation to naval warfare conduct. more of gentleman agreement on how war is conducted

any military related ship even maned by civilian should indicate that she it armed. The easiest way is to paint navy grey

QUOTE(kucinganaz @ Oct 15 2014, 01:04 AM)
Taruk misil Klub-K kat Bunga Mas pun best gak... laugh.gif
sejak bila we got club-k?

unless seen or spotted. it nothing but just a speculation. The news from russian just mentioned in some website. Personally, i think it just gomen interest but blow out of scale until say we bought it
emanresu
post Oct 15 2014, 03:21 AM

QUOTE(meedoot @ Oct 15 2014, 01:57 AM)
18 to 19 military planes have met with accidents just in the last three years.. bloody cow  shocking.gif

lack spare part, bad maintenance, bad luck ??? hope indo and msia sukhoi will be fine til the end of its service  sweat.gif
maybe west have advance way to down soviets jets now
vapeace
post Oct 15 2014, 03:47 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(emanresu @ Oct 15 2014, 03:21 AM)
maybe west have advance way to down soviets jets now
west sam is by far subpar compared to east sam system

what west excel in ins better aircraft and training but the f35 everyone is calling a joke
KYPMbangi
post Oct 15 2014, 04:27 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(meedoot @ Oct 15 2014, 12:57 AM)
18 to 19 military planes have met with accidents just in the last three years.. bloody cow  shocking.gif

lack spare part, bad maintenance, bad luck ??? hope indo and msia sukhoi will be fine til the end of its service  sweat.gif
As expected from the bulk is mig-21s.. even the chinese copy j-7 has ceased production in 2013
atreyuangel
post Oct 15 2014, 07:11 AM

406 posts

HAL happened, they have a bad record in everything from parts to maintenance.

one of the reason why Rafale deals stall is due to HAL wanted Dassault to take responsible of every Rafale produced by HAL
KYPMbangi
post Oct 15 2014, 07:17 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 15 2014, 07:05 AM)
Anybody knows if the mica vl on our gowinds is a gone case?? Or could there be a chance of getting something else
Smart-S mk2 right now supports VL Mica, ESSM and in the future CAMM. Not much choice if wanna let go mica
patt_sue
post Oct 15 2014, 07:30 AM

867 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 14 2014, 08:10 PM)

Heck, If RMN is also that dirt poor, another option RMN can take some ships on long-term lease from MISC, paint them grey and hire civilian crews as reservists to man the ships on supply runs. As long as we have dedicated logistics fleet running regular supply runs that don't rely 100% on civilian contractors.

RMN indeed dirt poor.... They already did that to Bunga emas 5 and bunga emas 6 ... They leased both ships for RM 1 ( satu ringgit) per ship indefinitely from MISC and even crewed by civilians/reservist ..... tongue.gif
xtemujin
post Oct 15 2014, 07:52 AM

318 posts

2014 Exercise Bersama Lima

Australian Army members compete on an obstacle course in mixed teams with the other Five Power Defence Arrangements countries at Mandai Hill Army base in Singapore. The training and team building is leading up to joint urban assault exercises 14.

http://video.defence.gov.au/Mobile.aspx?me...0,DateAdded,All

This post has been edited by xtemujin: Oct 15 2014, 07:53 AM
Frozen_Sun
post Oct 15 2014, 08:44 AM

41 posts

I think, it is more about accident : number of aircraft ratio. India has more than a hundred flankers, so a couple of accidents would be somewhat acceptable.

That's why we also heard United States' F-18 and F-15 crash quite often
[MY]Sandman
post Oct 15 2014, 10:23 AM

Salam and good day, ladies and gents

I am new here and might joining you guys if I have time.

But for now, I present to you the eye catcher at recent Kuala Lumpur International Tattoo 2014

Frozen_Sun
post Oct 15 2014, 10:26 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(MYSandman @ Oct 15 2014, 10:23 AM)
Salam and good day, ladies and gents

I am new here and might joining you guys if I have time.

But for now, I present to you the eye catcher at recent Kuala Lumpur International Tattoo 2014

Philippines?
MilitaryMadness
post Oct 15 2014, 10:47 AM

1,302 posts

Huapang Shipyards launch Jiangkai II-class Type 054A FFG hull number 20

Huapang shipyards in Guangzhou have launched the 20th unit of the highly successful type 054A FFG back in July 2014 and are currently under fitting before undergoing sea trials at the end of 2014 or early 2015. It is hoped that this Type 054A will be ready for commissioning by 2016.The PLA Navy is said to be ending its serial production of the Type 054A at hull number 22, which is already under early stages of construction.

Reports say the PLA Navy is already designing an improved version of the Type 054A, called the Type 054B. The improved version, which will have improved detection & weapons systems and an electric propulsion engine, for slated for possible future production.
kimyee73
post Oct 15 2014, 11:21 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Oct 15 2014, 12:59 AM)
Is very annoying can buy $500 mil on Each Gowind, but can't afford $500mil for 2 LPD. feel is our Gov policy model make RMN poor.
some reason i thinking, 
2) Bcos Gov policy always like local make means TOT/IP so price easy cost extra 25~50% and extra time to complete construction
3) Some military fans say RMN more prefer Military-Spec ship. no safe to operate civilian-spec ship
4) a good brand military-spec LPD will cost around at lease $200~300+ mil for 8k~10k tons LPD
6) some fans say we can't buy value Military asset from Singapore/Indonesia/China due to politic reason, or there product is questionable on reliability.

I agree with your opinion thumbup.gif Usually decision is not value for money and not meeting timeline, just trying to fulfill ToT requirement but industry sustainability is questionable. If government take action to stop leakage, there would be extra buying power for ATM long time ago. Just look at audit report every year and yet no action taken to plug it doh.gif
Frozen_Sun
post Oct 15 2014, 11:21 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 15 2014, 10:47 AM)
Huapang Shipyards launch Jiangkai II-class Type 054A FFG hull number 20

Huapang shipyards in Guangzhou have launched the 20th unit of the highly successful type 054A FFG back in July 2014 and are currently under fitting before undergoing sea trials at the end of 2014 or early 2015. It is hoped that this Type 054A will be ready for commissioning by 2016.The PLA Navy is said to be ending its serial production of the Type 054A at hull number 22, which is already under early stages of construction.

Reports say the PLA Navy is already designing an improved version of the Type 054A, called the Type 054B. The improved version, which will have improved detection & weapons systems and an electric propulsion engine, for slated for possible future production.
From the overall hull/superstructure design and weapon loadout, looks like a modern version of Oliver Hazard Perry class. Need to have plenty of these, good patrol/escort vessels.

MilitaryMadness
post Oct 15 2014, 12:07 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Oct 15 2014, 11:21 AM)
From the overall hull/superstructure design and weapon loadout, looks like a modern version of Oliver Hazard Perry class. Need to have plenty of these, good patrol/escort vessels.
Well, the PLA Navy already has about 20 of them in service, with the current batch ending at hull no.22, so there are already a sizeable number of them in service. They started building these back in 2005, so at rate of 2 ships per year for 10 years is a good rate of production.

With the current batch's production winding down, the next step would probably be the PLA Navy having to decide whether to start production of the improved Type 054B or start production of a new design (said to be called type 057 FFG). Some people say these two are the same ship but most people say the Type 057 is a separate new design. Also there would be no reason for the PLA to re-designate an improved version of an existing design by assigning a new number (for example the improved Type 052C is designated Type 052D, because they are essentitally the same design descended from the original Type 052)

Proposed design layout of the Type 057 FFG

SUSMrUbikeledek
post Oct 15 2014, 12:18 PM

580 posts

The awesome CAD WEST. A place where the RAF fighters training for a low level flight. Do we have similar place in Malaysia?

TSyinchet
post Oct 15 2014, 12:36 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Oct 15 2014, 12:59 AM)
some reason i thinking, 

btw I dun think famous brand is what the government looking at.
if not we already have tons of german, england and us stuff.
As for china stuff it is best we avoid their high tier stuff first wait for them to build up their reputation.
I dun think we have problem in buying indonesia stuff.
singapore and israel yes a huge political hurdle is there.

Well as for me.
what our government military policy need to look at.

1. Look at the overall assets which have to urgently replace and which have to build on number and which have to trim off.
2. Looking at what our priority is in short term, mid term, long term and most of all which direction are we going to.
3. Review the entire procurment process what is the sop, bidder requirements,
what other benefits we are looking at - commercial tot? Military tot? Education development? Business, trades? And so on.
feasibility study is seem to be lacking of here. Av-8 is the best example here.
Frozen_Sun
post Oct 15 2014, 12:51 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 15 2014, 12:07 PM)
Well, the PLA Navy already has about 20 of them in service, with the current batch ending at hull no.22, so there are already a sizeable number of them in service. They started building these back in 2005, so at rate of 2 ships per year for 10 years is a good rate of production.

With the current batch's production winding down, the next step would probably be the PLA Navy having to decide whether to start production of the improved Type 054B or start production of a new design (said to be called type 057 FFG). Some people say these two are the same ship but most people say the Type 057 is a separate new design. Also there would be no reason for the PLA to re-designate an improved version of an existing design by assigning a new number (for example the improved Type 052C is designated Type 052D, because they are essentitally the same design descended from the original Type 052) 

Proposed design layout of the Type 057 FFG
Yes....good, muscular design for a frigate. Build another 20 units of this would be nice for PLAN.

111 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0372sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:06 AM