just found on internet Cost usd 70 million for each AW159 with thales Flash Dipping sonar .. so expensive the system, (if Nh90, maybe around 90+ million) it look like seahawk have better chance.
tat when u visited mistral, the navy chief ada tunjuk interest tak?
again some say mistral is under heavy consideration because our past trading with DCNS and easier system integration but price tag abit mahal, - Bousted
then dokdo come in, cheaper and almost same capabilities and plus equip with US defence equipments( Only the hulls is korean, the rest sensors and defense system are provided the by US based on current dokdo class installation) - NGVTECH
then china type 071 come in, even cehaper - ini gua tak tahu siapa akan bina
lagi lama, lagi i pun tak tahu apa mindef tengah plan ni...
It more like Boustead VS NGVTech, siapa akan dapat contract
Agreed,but ground-launched fullsize version is more appropriate for coastal defense due to greater range. Air-launched BrahMos-M have shorter range due to smaller sized fuel tanks.
Besides all being cool having the capability to be packed into a completely random shipping container for CAMO!! (I wonder what inconspicuous form does the search/tracking radar take on? cement mixer perhaps?), any advantages/disadvantages over BrahMos? Because from what I'm reading,Klub missile acts more like a Russian Tomahawk subsonic Cruise missile rather than straight-up Anti-Shipping missile. And the BrahMos' big talking point is the mach 3.5 speed.
Not just shipping container. it can be anywhere on train on lorry or on some random location. it can be use as anti ship missile, or cruise missile. top speed iinm mach2.9. Not far from brahmos top speed.
i know this one, want is means exocet mm40 block2 use to attack container look like not so power, maybe warhead too small. SEAWOLF look sad overall exercise look live our navy need more power weapon/missile. I tot at lease can expected to see like below NSM just with 125kg warhead vs 155kg on MM40 Block2.
Iirc these have been discussed before not sure on which forum though. Mainly due to the explosion effect is differ on different target. As the explosion force were mostly lost when they hit the less solid container compare to the ship which is a more solid target.
yes, but it'll be not as accurate as the purpose build land attack missile. For one, the sensor is all wrong. Anti-ship Missile have radar/IR terminal seeker which is unsuitable for precision strike. That's why US created SLAM-ER.
Best precision strike still relying on laser targeting though. anyway the current upgrade of antiship missile having gps guidance system adding in waypoint command were enable it to have limited land attack functions.
This post has been edited by yinchet: Sep 12 2014, 08:34 AM
Talking about anti-ship missiles, I thought I saw photos from a parade in KL where they showcased a KH-31 (AS-17 'Krypton") but as I looked it up & found out what we have is only the anti-radiation missile version. No anti-ship version of KH-31 in our arsenal? Also, are there any more reliable methods of testing anti-ship missiles than shooting it at an old ship or floating barge/container? It seems to me shooting a guided missile at a stationary target that don't fight back is not exactly an exact simulation of real world anti-shipping warfare scenarios and a test of true tracking/evasion capabilities of a missile.
I mean, any decent missile can do a straight run & hit a dumb stationary target.
We have both type.
QUOTE(wanvadder @ Sep 12 2014, 09:03 AM)
Majlis penghormatan terakhir dan persemadian isteri kepada Lt Kdr Lee Vee Weng TLDM di Muar. TLDM turut menghantar wakil dalam majlis tersebut yang diketuai oleh Kept Chan Peng Cheong. TLDM mengucapkan takziah atas kehilangan saudara.
lousy ship? better study first, This type of ship is exactly we also need asap,i event hope gov can consider buy 24 unit for use in patrol ESCCOM, south china sea and Malacca strait. it just new trend design navy ship not for for war fighting, it specially design OPV for anti-Piracy, anti-narcotic, anti-Smuggling , anti-terrorism at sea, it happens now in south china sea and Malacca strait and also suitable use in Esccom. 80 meter ship,With advance radar, 2 RIB for fast boarding/insertion, event UAV heli or Unman boat,76mm navy, gun 25mm Typhoon navy gun, 2x 20mm navy gun, 2 x 12.7 mm navy gun, n 1150 tons with 30 navy personal and 30 Mission personal. design look like mini Gowind L'Adriod.
We need fac more than ever. 250 tonnage - 600 tonnage should be ideal for us to operates at silu sea.
This post has been edited by yinchet: Sep 13 2014, 01:12 AM