9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

izso
post May 26 2015, 11:01 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 25 2015, 10:52 PM)
Oh was actually wanting to get some car drugs for this weekend Sepang track day,  but I couldn't make it in time and he closed for the day already cry.gif

He mentioned to be about someone wanting 0w20 after seen what I've shared lol.
Just curious,  would you happen to have myvi owner or service manual?  Particularly on viscosity chart/recommendations.
Not too often I see someone wanting such thin viscosity engine oil wink.gif

And no la,  not sifu (nor lubricant engineer :lol)
Just another enthusiast still learning and sharing just the same as everyone else biggrin.gif
I'm using the Honda (Idemitsu) oil on my Myvi too. Myvi manual says 5W30, but nothing wrong using a thinner oil since it's a daily putter and not a heavy foot drive car. Monitoring for FC improvements.
izso
post May 27 2015, 08:43 AM

48 posts

Sorry - I forgot clarify I'm using the Honda 0W20 fully syn oil on my Myvi.

I've used 0W20 on my Nissan but it wasn't that great cuz I'm a heavy footer. At the top end the engine response was lacking like it it was running on water. I don't know how to explain that in better terms.

Anyway if you're tracking the engine oil temp and pressure, you'll see that thinner oils run hotter when redlined and pressure is surprisingly higher when revved hard. You're better off with slightly thicker oils with good a base and efficient temp additives.

Personal experience on the Sepang track in a non-standard Wira NA :

- Pennzoil highest recorded temperature was 160 deg Celsius. Which is bad. Changed out the oil due to poor engine performance right after that track day.

- Rock oil maintained a constant 120 deg Celsius no matter how much I revved. Lasted another 1k km after that before I had to change the oil out.

- Ravenol highest recorded temperature was 130 deg Celsius too. Lasted 1k km after that track day.

- Lastly Adnoc Image highest recorded temp was 140 deg Celsius.

All using 5W30 weight and all fully syn. So just by looking at my 4 case studies above, the more expensive the oil the better it is for hard revving drivers with hot engines. (I guess)
izso
post May 27 2015, 08:46 AM

48 posts

highly unscientific I know - but instead of throwing around figures and facts at each other why not just share experiences? But the condition to this sharing is that the oil is minimally TUV or API certified. Otherwise the result from the oil may not be consistent.
izso
post May 28 2015, 10:25 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Mau @ May 27 2015, 10:16 AM)
So far mine is still okay after few days of using it. I'll see how does the engine feels during on PLUS highway when I go back to hometown this weekend.  hmm.gif
Feeling is very unpredictable. Do you have meters or gauges to monitor?

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 27 2015, 06:24 PM)
Hi bro, I plan to try Rock Oil for my next oil change. What would you recommend? smile.gif
Just use whatever you can afford la. Go fully syn though.
izso
post Jun 1 2015, 07:03 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ May 30 2015, 08:33 AM)
Do not insult Perodua semi syn because that 'piece of crap' has kept my 7 years old stock ezi myvi running passed 200,000 km with all the appropriate abuse it can get. laugh.gif

Off topic but Bro iszo, garage mane yg reliable nak buat forged 4EFTE?
Yeah, I actually have to agree with the P2 oil, the Petronas oils are actually quite decently good. Value for money. As for where to do forged 4EFTE.. I have no idea what that even is. Corolla ke?

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ May 31 2015, 11:10 PM)
may i know what is the market rate price for labour charge on changing engine oil? engine oil n filter on our own.
Usually about 10-15 bucks
izso
post Jun 2 2015, 09:22 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Jun 1 2015, 08:07 AM)
Me too only this week knew about it. Year 1999 production on Starlet GT and glanza V only but they put it in corolla too for aftermarket upgrade. Engine worth putting high grade eo. 1.3 turbo.
Oh.. I don't know too many shops that handle old cars like that. Maybe you can start your own post somewhere and wait for someone with experience to reply you.
izso
post Jun 2 2015, 09:30 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 1 2015, 12:04 PM)
- i personally believe engine temperature and pressure is not the sole indication of how your engine performs nor how much it was wearing.
so long it's as rev happy as ever and having minimal wear, slightly higher engine temperatures/oil pressure should be acceptable.

Experiences are always appreciated, however if you can further back them with UOA or more solid information, that would be perfect!
in other words, why not both?! biggrin.gif

side note: how would one tell if an oil is really TUV certified? in fact, i don't think a huge majority of engine oil manufacturers bothers with TUV albeit i know that their directories are query-able. (that is the case for electrical appliances/tires anyways)
for API, almost all racing oil are no API certified due to their added additives which will not mean the latest SN environment requirement/concerns.
for one, 300V is NOT API certified laugh.gif
- Well, I consider temperature and pressure has some form of significance since they are indirectly related to oil shearing. The stability of the oil has an effect on the cars performance no? But I guess on normal days you'd never reach that level of oil fatigue compared to track days.

- UOA is good but not everyone is going to fork out RM200+ everytime just to analyse their used oils. I for one am too lazy to collect and too broke to send.

- Well, TUV tests are as stringent if not more than API. Whilst API has more followings, TUV is respectable in their own right so to me if an oil is TUV certified I'm perfectly ok that it's not API certified. Either or will work for me.
izso
post Jun 18 2015, 11:21 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ Jun 12 2015, 03:51 PM)
I once saw Tesco got offer but not dare to buy scare the quality and where does the EO come from  unsure.gif
Haiya.. this has been discussed a thousand times all over the internet. Tesco imports their stock from Tesco HQ in Europe. So it's Euro blend. And because of the sheer volume they buy their prices are pretty attractive. The only real difference between Tesco Mobil 1 and Mobil 1 from Malaysia is the packaging and additive contents. Mobil 1 M'sia packaging has been updated and looks different. Their formulation is suited for Malaysian weather so OCI claims of 10k km is believable. Euro blend is for Euro scenario. Not saying it won't work here in KL, it will but don't expect the same performance. But most people won't be able to tell the difference unless you are Quazacolt and send your used oil for analysis every time.

QUOTE(epyy @ Jun 17 2015, 07:35 PM)
show you a video..

Polytron
That doesn't mean anything. Any engine can idle with a thin layer of oil in it. In fact you can use Palm Oil or cooking oil and the engine will idle like that also. Try driving without engine oil and see what happens to it.

There are other brands out there who claim their cars can run brand X oil, drain it and still drive. But they never show the condition of the engine internals after their oil-less run. Then you'll never see the same car in their tests ever again after that.

All bullshit marketing hype.

QUOTE(kelvencck @ Jun 17 2015, 11:33 PM)
vios suitable using redline auto transmission fluid? Which model is preferable? Sifus pls recommend !!
Redline is a brand. You want to use the right type of transmission fluid. Any brand also ok, just use the right type. So if the Redline Transmission fluid says it's compatible with Toyota Type-IV oil, then yes you can use it.

This post has been edited by izso: Jun 18 2015, 11:22 AM
izso
post Jun 26 2015, 09:23 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jun 25 2015, 09:45 PM)
Sifus,
Which type if EO is good for my Alnera ? Thanks and kindly advice.
Whatever semi/fully syn oil you can afford that has an API stamp of approval
izso
post Jun 26 2015, 09:25 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 26 2015, 12:20 AM)
yea, especially Motul ATF 1A.
about rm50+/liter
Fuuuuuuuh.. 1A.. that's expensive like hell
izso
post Jun 30 2015, 08:36 AM

48 posts

Group UOA.. I want in
izso
post Jul 13 2015, 10:21 AM

48 posts

As it's been probably said a few times before, Tesco takes their stock from Europe. Most of their cars there use 5L or more oil so it would make sense for them to sell 5L bottles.

How much is Tesco selling 5W40 FS 5L?
izso
post Jul 15 2015, 08:41 AM

48 posts

wait wait.. my previous oil was crap. My current one is too new. Earliest I'll join is either after a track day (which will be impossible since my car isn't made for track abuse) or after 4-6 months when my OCI is due.

izso
post Jul 23 2015, 07:37 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Jul 22 2015, 09:17 PM)
Hi guys, my friend bought this 4L Castrol engine oil, but the packaging is different compared to other Castrol products. I tried searching for this particular oil but cant find any matches. Was my friend cheated or something?
Is that the Tection series? But 20W50 probably means it's mineral. I can't find any info on this. But looks suspiciously like the Tection Extra series, usually used on trucks and buses.
izso
post Jul 29 2015, 07:26 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(myeddylim @ Jul 28 2015, 01:06 PM)
yes, the marketing is like non existence, got this from my friend, they are distributing it. price wise is much lower than those known brand. Some of my friends tried and and gave it a thumbs up! thumbup.gif  my turn to give it a try.
Good things are meant to be shared. Share the price and source please. I wouldn't mind some cheap API certified oil
izso
post Jul 29 2015, 03:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(myeddylim @ Jul 29 2015, 08:24 AM)
hahaha.. and share i will, its in my engine now, as for smoothness, i feel it is the same as Eneos or Castrol, but loses out to Mobil, quietness, it is better than all what i had used before. BTW i am using 10w 40. Liking it.  nod.gif
How much and where to buy?
izso
post Jul 29 2015, 03:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(myeddylim @ Jul 28 2015, 09:05 AM)
Hey guys, anyone here used Magna EO before? any comments? would like to know if it is any good. BTW, i am using eneos now, would like to try this brand. thanks in advance
I think I found out who Magna is. They are from United Oils who distribute Repsol amongst other brands.
izso
post Aug 6 2015, 08:08 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Aug 4 2015, 12:10 PM)
Went to one of this myvi sparepart shop to replace the window's rubner seal and saw Penzoil 15w50 bottles on the shelf. I asked what's it for? Guess the answer.
Um... it's an engine oil. Therefore it's for engines? whistling.gif

QUOTE(chemistry101 @ Aug 4 2015, 08:53 PM)
Total is french company specialized in oil and gas sector.
It is the 7th biggest O&G player in the world.
I would avoid any engine oil “blended ” and repacked.
If you must take Castrol, take the Castrol made in EU or Germany.
If you must take Shell, take FormulaShell made in USA.
Curious - why? Malaysian Mobil 1 vs Mobil 1 Europe are different blend in terms of additives to cater for different environmental conditions. Why is this sort of blending bad?

QUOTE(chemistry101 @ Aug 5 2015, 10:17 PM)
Yes,  Total EO is API certified.
I use PetroCanada Supreme (synthetic based,not fully synthetic) 5w30, RM118 for 4 liters.
That's pretty cheap. Where'd you get that price if you don't mind sharing?
izso
post Aug 7 2015, 02:07 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(chemistry101 @ Aug 6 2015, 10:50 AM)
Pardon my stubbornness. In Malaysia when the imported eo needs to be reblended, it is upon cost down consideration but not the issue of climate adaptation. You may agree or disagree with me due to lack of proof.

My brother in law is petroCanada reseller. But when hypermarts offer fully syn for RM129 i will buy from hypermarts. There isnt really significant difference in driving pleasure in both total quartz (full syn) and supreme (synthetic based) . It could be only me.
I never thought about it in the cost down perspective. I happen to be in the O&G industry and as far as the big companies are concerned, I've never seen them cut costs by spec-ing down their oils. Well, that's for Exxon and Shell anyway. I don't know about other companies.

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Aug 6 2015, 10:58 AM)
He said people buy it to put in myvi. A w50 grade must be that good. Smooth more power. He added it was his customers which asked him to import that oil. Money is money I guess.
Huh? Import? I can walk into any spare parts shop near my house and walk out with crates of this oil. It's abundant la, nothing special about it and I pity those Myvi owners. That oil if i'm not mistaken costs something like RM65 or 70 only.
izso
post Aug 10 2015, 08:31 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Aug 7 2015, 03:20 PM)
Haha I used the wrong word la. Was browsing nengun website so the word stuck in my head. I mean he dealt directly with dealer which should be a local one. That aside but a 50 thickness in a myvi already insane la. That oil mustve go down to 30 during high temp so maybe thats the trick.
Erm.. no. If the oil says 10W50 that means it's 50 viscosity at 100 deg Celsius. It'll never go "down" to 30. Once a 50, always a 50. And that's a cheap mineral 50. It's not a suitable oil for the Myvi regardless! Unless he's turbo charged, then maybe.

QUOTE(Albertlee @ Aug 8 2015, 12:30 AM)
Hi all,

I am a suzuki swift owner (manufactured in 2013), current: mileage 60k. All the while I sent my car back to suzuki centre to do the service due to it's under warranty. But due to the expensive charges (a simple minor service costs rm400) and the fully sync EO (rm210 they charge) they used is actually just Petronas brand, so I plan to buy the EO at spare parts shop and get it change at workshop outside.

I have gone through some researches, having difficulties to choose between Total Quartz 9000 SN Future 5w30 and Mobil1 0w40, your suggestion please?

My selection criteria:
My work requires frequent travel, 2.5 months can travel 10k km. That's why I choose a fully sync EO, so that I do not need to change it that frequently.
Understand that the said EO might be more expensive than common EO, but I am willing to pay slightly more to get good quality (perhaps better protection + better fuel consumption) EO for my car.

Thanks.  notworthy.gif
The manufacturer uses 5W30, stick with 5W30 la. 0W30 / 5W30 / 10W30 all is fine. I personally wouldn't use Total and personally I think Petronas oils are quite good. Just over priced like Mobil 1.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2093sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:55 PM