6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

Thrust
post Oct 22 2017, 08:31 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

My car have traveled 8,500KM to date using Honda SN0W30 FS oil. The oil currently looks really dark and I am worried it can't last till 10,000KM.

Should I change it now or wait till 10,000KM?

This post has been edited by Thrust: Oct 22 2017, 08:31 AM
Thrust
post Oct 23 2017, 08:46 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Oct 23 2017, 08:38 PM)
is this fully synthetic or semi synthetic engine oil?
if it is fully, it should be ok to run 10k, oil colour is not important
but if semi, time is up. you should change it immediately

i still remember one advertisement long time ago, Mobil 1 fully

they claim to be able to clean the engine, thus the oil is very dark in colour, but properties of the oil is still good

l

It is a fully synthetic oil. I just changed it yesterday clocking in at 8500km. After the oil change, can feel the engine runs smoother a bit and gain a bit more power (oil feels lighter).

For info, I drive in city area and always stuck in traffic jams.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Oct 23 2017, 08:46 PM
Thrust
post Nov 13 2017, 05:24 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 13 2017, 05:03 PM)
how many months for you to clock that 8500km? I just bought 0-30w honda fully syn as well, but have not use yet. planned to change every 6 months or 10000km, depending on which comes first. am still using honda 5-30w semi syn. was changing every 7.5k or 4 months, whichever first.
I guess roughly about 7 months.
Thrust
post Jun 14 2018, 09:24 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 13 2018, 09:47 AM)
My 9th gen accord required oil change every 10k km or 6 months interval whenever comes first, but have to use their Fully Synthetic engine oil from Sc. The Oil filter for every oil change. The Aircond filter every 20k km as well as the air filter.

Atf on every 60k km.

I will continue serve the car at sc until warranty expired and go to regular workshop with sc recommended services.
I would recommend you to change your ATF every 30k instead of 60k.
Thrust
post Jun 14 2018, 11:36 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(jamespaul @ Jun 14 2018, 11:27 AM)
isnt this too often?

Based on Japanese car manuals, it is typically, lifetime (which is about 5 years), or every 150k km.

30k km makes sense if you are towing or perhaps racing your car?
Just a suggestion I recommend that because at 60k, SC will only perform drain and refill procedure 1 time only. To fully replace ur transmission fluid, it actually requires 3x drain and refill. The 1x drain refill process only replaces about 30% of all the fluids in transmision.

That is why I recommend to change ATF once at 30k KM.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jun 14 2018, 11:36 AM
Thrust
post Jun 14 2018, 08:38 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 14 2018, 08:33 PM)
Hi guys, what would be the recommended brands for semi-synthetic EO other than Castrol and Shell? Wanted to try other brands
Perodua semi synthetic oil which is blended by Petronas is quite good.
Thrust
post Jun 19 2018, 09:47 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(jamespaul @ Jun 19 2018, 01:57 PM)
Interesting points! I do agree that some cars are made to have a life cycle in mind.

ATF is sealed nowadays, and for good reason, one of such reason is keeping the moisture out. As ATF is hyper-sensitive towards water

Cars engine bays being more packed is an inherent design to improve weight distribution and add more technology (be it turbo, or electrical motors). Is it harder to service? Sure.

But technology moves that way, look at the lovely Nokia 3310, removable everything (from case to battery to buttons). If they were to do it for say iphone X, would the phone be 1 inch taller and 1 inch wider and carries a huge lip for future serviceability?

You are right that planned obsolescence is here. But, if you want a car to look good, and have all the tech and safety features you have today, price to pay for moving forward?

Back to ATF, yes, following the service manual is minimum (and recommended), should you want to change it at any mileage (earlier) would be better. Kinda like changing your smartphone batteries yearly, is it better? Yea, but is it cost effective? No one knows.
Honda ATF DW1 only cost rm25 a litre. Honda City will only need about 3 litre and Honda Accord maybe 4 litre. All in all, rm100 is enough to replace the ATF provided you DIY. I would say its quite cheap as a preventive maintenance.
Thrust
post Jul 4 2018, 03:07 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Elijah Michaelson @ Jul 4 2018, 02:50 PM)
Hi. Im using a 1.3 Bezza. Perodua recommend me to use their engine oil that is 0w-20. I feel that the oil is too thin. im using (last engine oil is EXN brand) 0w-30 sometimes i use 5w-30 or 5w-40. Is that Ok? i just dont believe in Petronas's product, that is why i uses other brand. If it is not ok, do you have any suggestion?
Mercedes F1 team is using Petronas fuel and lubricants and have won numerous world championships.

What makes you think their oil is bad or untrusted?
Thrust
post Jul 6 2018, 07:53 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Jul 6 2018, 07:28 AM)
It's a funny world, so many of us wanna try cap ayam brands from mystery companies, but there is someone doesn't trust a winning F1 team partner's oil picked from the shelf.
This is called buntut gatal lor.
Thrust
post Jul 12 2018, 08:02 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(jamespaul @ Jul 9 2018, 04:32 PM)
Mineral oils would suffice for a Vios engine. If you rev more, then get the semi-syn ones.

Shell Helix Ultra would be overkill for your car, but if money is no biggie, get it. It is one of the best mass market oils out there
I would suggest to either go only mineral or fully synthetic. Semi synthetic blend are quite misleading as we don't know the percentage of fully synthetic oil blend. It could be 20, 15 or probably a measly 5% and manufacturers call them semi synthetic oil.

Just top up a few extra bucks and get a fully sythetic oil that cost around RM150 will suffice. Make sure to get the one that suits the engine oil viscosity.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jul 12 2018, 08:02 AM
Thrust
post Aug 18 2018, 11:53 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Aug 18 2018, 06:13 PM)
Any Motul sifus, need ur advise here whether Motul Multi CVTF has security seal sticker at the opening? How to validate is it genuine Motul oil? Other than that, how long is the shelf life for this oil? Is the printing at the bottom of the bottle is the manufacturing date for the oil?
user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
For Motul Engine Oil, is this the security seal looks like in the photo? Looks like very simple unlike other brand EO security seal which have complex printing on it.
looks like the cvtf oil was manufactured back in 2012. You bought it at a discount?
Thrust
post Aug 19 2018, 09:51 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Aug 19 2018, 12:10 AM)
No discount also, bought it at one of the authorised dealer in Motul website. Inside the place light was ambient, after paid and carry to car only look at the labeling and realized the date, then brought back to the shop immediately. I asked what is the shelf life for transmission fluid and he answer maximum 3 years, then I showed him the date for the CVTF that I just bought. He claim that the printing is not the date but some unique serial number, I insisted that must be the date and asked him to bring over some bottles of other oil and the same oil to show me. He did that, other oil are printed different date but for for my CVTF, whole batch are all same date, he told me they just received the stock from their supplier, all are in same batch, even he close his eyes and grab one from the rack also same year. He claimed that is ok to use cus they stored in good environment.
I requested for refund but was told that because they have been opened during the time I make payment to check for the seal which I requested they to open for me. vmad.gif
So my concern is whether these CVTF are save to use?
Btw, what is the selling price here in Malaysia?
I think if the oil is not thick and murky after storing for so many years, it should be safe to use. Since you've already bought it, mind as well just use it.. monitor the oil and replace it when you feel your transmission isn't shifting well.
Thrust
post Aug 19 2018, 12:15 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Aug 19 2018, 11:47 AM)
Alright thanks, that shouldn't be a problem then icon_idea.gif
How to verify the oil is thick or not? I try to use torch light to penetrate the bottle to see if the oil still 'red' but couldn't get good result as light couldn't penetrate much inside the bottle.
Will it cause any harm or damage the gearbox if use these 6 years old fluid?
Pour out a bit onto your fingers and feel it.
Thrust
post Sep 19 2018, 09:38 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Sep 19 2018, 02:25 PM)
Guys where do you all buy Honda 0w30 (red bottle) outside SC? Trying find ori one
PH Auto at Seapark got sell at rm155 a bottle. However, I would recommend you to buy at Hingan for rm160... confirm original.
Thrust
post Sep 20 2018, 06:44 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Sep 19 2018, 10:39 PM)
PH auto wont confirm original? Just wondering
Where got seller will say their products are fake? tongue.gif
Thrust
post Nov 10 2018, 07:47 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(SZEHUE @ Nov 10 2018, 12:00 AM)
Sharing: changed EO today, was using Mobil EP 5w30.  Accumulated mileage approaching 20000km, changed because it has been a year.  Changed filter about 10000km in between.  Note that the oil became thick and I only collected slightly more than two 1-litre bottles of old EO.
This tells me the Mobil Extended Performance oil can't reach 20,000 KM as claimed in our hot climate country. Better just stick to 10,000KM OCI.
Thrust
post Jan 26 2019, 05:06 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Jan 26 2019, 02:31 PM)
Giant store
Made in Germany

If only GIANT would bring in the 5W30 oil. Then I will buy these cheap good oil.
Thrust
post Jan 26 2019, 08:27 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jan 26 2019, 08:20 PM)
If you think from economy of scale POV, Giant/Tesco may not be able to offer this low price anymore if they bring in 2 versions of SHU, as the volume of 5w40 will be halved (maybe) and that does not give them the bargaining chip to get lower cost.

Maybe they can start market survey by importing a small batch of 5w30 and sell it alongside the regular 5w40. Consumers can then "vote"" through their choice of viscosity and Giant/Tesco can adjust their order volume through this sales feedback.
Actually, newer cars are using 30 weight oil more and more. Perodua, Honda, Proton etc cars are all using 30 weight oil dy. Those 40 weight are usually used by Wira, Perdana etc.

My guess is if GIANT / TESCO bring in 30 weight oil, they will fly off the shelf a lot faster. biggrin.gif
Thrust
post Mar 5 2019, 06:26 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Mar 4 2019, 03:37 PM)
All enhine oil seller in lazada/shopee told me for honda city 2014
Its better to use 5w40 vs 0w20
Is it true?
Not true. The L15 engines were designed to run originally on 5W30 and later 0W20. It is ok to go back to 5W30 or 0W30 but to 40, I don't recommend doing so.
Thrust
post Apr 20 2019, 09:56 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Apr 18 2019, 06:21 PM)
Just changed mitasu EO! 0 W -30! Quite expensive Ler this oil! 6 L ....ouch!
How much? I am using Honda Genuine engine oil 0W30 also @ RM165 for 4 litre but you can buy 2 bottles of 1 litre packaging.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1389sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:37 PM