191 Pages « < 161 162 163 164 165 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

miong93
post Feb 13 2015, 01:18 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(mkabw90 @ Feb 13 2015, 12:48 PM)
Hi all,ive narrowed down my choice to asus g751jt,msi ge62 2qf.which is better?(don't care about warranty).
Preferred brand:dell,msi,asus
Budget 5.5k (can go to 6k if necessary)
Usage:heavy gaming
Screen size:15 above
Must have dual fan,i7 4th gen and gtx970m.planning to get it in 1st or 2nd week of march.thanks in advance.
If comparing these 2 model, I would choose Asus. As you really don't care about Asus bad warranty.
I doubt GE62 will have better cooling than Asus as it is slimmer. But still need to read more actual gaming reviews before I can be sure. Now there is too little reviews regardng GE62 so....
AW 15 or 17 is also good option. Their price spec ratio is not as OP as last time.
Clevo model is also a good choice.

IMHO, if only these 2 model, Asus win.
roscha
post Feb 13 2015, 01:33 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Feb 13 2015, 11:56 AM)
Hey Roscha,

For CorelDraw and Photoshop it's more reliant on the processor than GPU for performance correct?

Suggest you shop around for something with an Intel i7 GPU that meets your requirements.

Alot of designers are also checking out the GS60 2PL GHOST from MSI. RM4,899 with 15'6in screen in a slim and stylish Mg-Li body
http://my.msi.com/product/nb/GS60-2PL-Ghos...o-specification

Saw that they also have a gold edition with 4k display but price is crazy at RM7,999 (cause using latest 970M graphic card)  sweat.gif
You won't need that imho as you can also have 4k output to external displays with the GS60 2PL

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Hi DragonRiderStar,

Thanks a lot for the recommendation. However it is about a thousand out of my budget (I need to buy the OS dan Office too.) Checked it out.. wow, gorgeous beast.

Can I ask for a lower-priced recommendation?
crazycharm
post Feb 13 2015, 02:48 PM

19 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Anything
2. Budget: Below 3.5K
3. Usage: Web browsing, make documents/presentations (MS Office/Powerpoint), clear audio.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13-15 inches
5. Extra Info : Preferably Windows OS (I'm more familiar with it than any other user interface. Good keyboard and touchpad. Extendable battery life (if possible)
Additional request: If possible, a hybrid laptop if one is available and within budget. Thank you! smile.gif notworthy.gif

crazycharm
post Feb 13 2015, 02:48 PM

19 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Anything
2. Budget: Below 3.5K
3. Usage: Web browsing, make documents/presentations (MS Office/Powerpoint), clear audio.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13-15 inches
5. Extra Info : Preferably Windows OS (I'm more familiar with it than any other user interface. Good keyboard and touchpad. Extendable battery life (if possible)
Additional request: If possible, a hybrid laptop if one is available and within budget. Thank you! smile.gif notworthy.gif

mkabw90
post Feb 13 2015, 05:39 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 13 2015, 01:18 PM)
If comparing these 2 model, I would choose Asus. As you really don't care about Asus bad warranty.
I doubt GE62 will have better cooling than Asus as it is slimmer. But still need to read more actual gaming reviews before I can be sure. Now there is too little reviews regardng GE62 so....
AW 15 or 17 is also good option. Their price spec ratio is not as OP as last time.
Clevo model is also a good choice.

IMHO, if only these 2 model, Asus win.
Ya haven't seen enough user review on msi ge62 2qf.that asus still got sound issue is it?(sound coming from sub only)
miong93
post Feb 13 2015, 06:34 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(mkabw90 @ Feb 13 2015, 05:39 PM)
Ya haven't seen enough user review on msi ge62 2qf.that asus still got sound issue is it?(sound coming from sub only)
Well I'm not Asus ROG user so I can't answer you that, you need to find out yourself. Sorry sad.gif
But comparing based on price and spec, Asus ROG is a good choice.
Also, please go and find today's thread, titled Alienware 15.
The guy is offering a very good price for AW15. RM5.6k something.. SSD + 970m and 3 years Pro warranty from Dell..
You may consider that also
metalkure2
post Feb 13 2015, 07:58 PM

Hi all, first time buying laptop and need advice

1. Preferred Brand: Asus or Lenovo
2. Budget: Below 2.5K
3. Usage: Mostly gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: The bigger the better
5. Extra Info : Games I played:-
-Dark Souls 2
-Starcraft 2
-Osu!
-Hearthstone
-DragonNest
-Binding Of Isaac Rebirth

P/s; Can I run Dark Souls 2 on high setting is my main reason in asking forum, thanks in advance >.<

This post has been edited by metalkure2: Feb 14 2015, 09:07 AM
spiritz09
post Feb 13 2015, 08:53 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Feb 12 2015, 04:17 PM)
Asus x452LD i3-4030u, 2gb ram, gt820m, windows 8.1 bing, 500gb hdd, price around 1.3k
Sifu, will the model X452LD have adequate cooling system for normal use? My friend bought a X453LD, but when I first time saw it, I was like "lol sweat.gif , cant detect any outlet for hot air to come out..."
ashraf095
post Feb 13 2015, 09:13 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(spiritz09 @ Feb 13 2015, 08:53 PM)
Sifu, will the model X452LD have adequate cooling system for normal use? My friend bought a X453LD, but when I first time saw it, I was like "lol sweat.gif , cant detect any outlet for hot air to come out..."
Yeah. It does have one.

I think his model is Asus x453MA, which use low power intel celeron N2940 processor ( bay-trail ) with low TDP, even passive cooling is enough for it.

Btw, i'm not sifu. Just a casual forumer here.
SUSVelocity
post Feb 13 2015, 11:25 PM

3,188 posts

I haven't bought gadget for some time so I am out of sync with the trends. Now my work needs me to buy a notebook was seeing this dell is a good spec

Guys my budget for notebook is about 3k at the moment very interested with this. Is this a good buy. I have a few questions, hope some sifu can help.

my usage time all in one including
gaming, photo shop, illustrator, video processing and editing.

1) will anytime soon dell might come out an updated version?

2) any alternative options similar or better than this spec within my budget of 3k.

3) from the trending of this notebook and offer maybe during pc fair how low can the price get? I got offer for rm3159 with free bag. Is this the cheapest?

4) any recommendation seller for this model online?

5) can this be upgradable to ssd?

6) from sifu estimating how future proof is this notebook?

7) any major problems with this notebook, I want review from user not, reviewer or seller.

thank you all

Model Dell Inspiron 14 7447-71814G-W8 Laptop/ Notebook
Operating System Windows 8.1 64 bit
Processor Force feedback Intel® Core™ i7-4710HQ Processor
Memory 8GB Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz (4GBx2)
HDD 1TB 5400 rpm SATA Hybrid Hard Drive with 8GB Cache
Graphics Force feedback NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 850M 4GB DDR3
Display 14.0 inch LED Backlit Anti Glare Display with IPS and FHD resolution (1920 x 1080)
2 years dell warranty

ashraf095
post Feb 14 2015, 12:24 AM

1,259 posts

You might wanna check here then:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3374715

akira87
post Feb 14 2015, 09:29 PM

Weeeee~
779 posts

Hi, im looking for a laptop for my sis, my requirements as below:

1. Preferred Brand: lenovo, dell, will consider others as well
2. Budget: strictly rm1700 and below
3. Usage: assignment, movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: preferably 14"

Im currently looking at lenovo flex 2-14, any other suggestions?
sil3ntlif3
post Feb 14 2015, 11:38 PM

617 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: 3k below=
3. Usage: Programming for Engineering student and mainly Gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any

any recommendation biggrin.gif the best at 3k and below
Thanks!
dlct87
post Feb 14 2015, 11:46 PM

474 posts

Preferred Brand: Asus, will consider other brand only if quality is good
2. Budget: max RM3500
3. Usage: assignment, gaming (Civ Beyond Earth, Diablo 3 etc)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15.6"
wcypierre
post Feb 15 2015, 11:18 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo
2. Budget: Below 2.2k
3. Usage: Web browsing, programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 inch

Are there any i5 out there without the discrete gpu(gt720m, gt820m, and the likes)?
alphasonic
post Feb 15 2015, 11:21 AM

Hello smile.gif

1. Preferred Brand: any brand except Asus.
2. Budget: RM1500
3. Usage: microsoft office, movie, browsing internet.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: As big as possible.

thanks!
Micky78
post Feb 15 2015, 12:34 PM

1,192 posts

1. Preferred Brand: reputable and good after sales
2. Budget: Below 2.5k
3. Usage: Web browsing, download
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15 inch above with FHD

myway1985
post Feb 15 2015, 01:17 PM

12,090 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Feb 15 2015, 12:34 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: reputable and good after sales
2. Budget: Below 2.5k
3. Usage: Web browsing, download
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15 inch above with FHD
Dell inspiron 5547.. so option I can think of at such a low budget of dell.. Lenovo hv a few I think
ashraf095
post Feb 15 2015, 04:33 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Feb 15 2015, 11:18 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo
2. Budget: Below 2.2k
3. Usage: Web browsing, programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 inch

Are there any i5 out there without the discrete gpu(gt720m, gt820m, and the likes)?
Acer v3-371, i5-5200u, 4gb ram, 500gb sshd, 13.3" full hd display, 1.5kg.
Dell latitude with i3-4005u
As for Lenovo, i think only s410 and thinkpad edge e440 i3 version fit into your budget. Most laptop today are equipped with discrete gpu.

QUOTE(alphasonic @ Feb 15 2015, 11:21 AM)
Hello  smile.gif

1. Preferred Brand: any brand except Asus.
2. Budget: RM1500
3. Usage: microsoft office, movie, browsing internet.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: As big as possible.

thanks!
Dell inspiron 15 3542, i3-4005u, 4gb ram, 15.6" hd, windows 8.1
ZyD86
post Feb 16 2015, 12:03 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Feb 12 2015, 04:47 PM)
The thinkpad e-series (E440) comes with VGA.
around 2.5k for basic spec and the only thing i would suggest upgrading is the ram for the stuffs she would be doing.

Most academic institution still uses VGA after all.
Thanks for the recommendation. But too late, im just read it..
I already bought Lenovo Y40-70.

Hope this laptop is OK.

191 Pages « < 161 162 163 164 165 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:53 PM