191 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

NanaLiew
post Feb 17 2015, 05:51 PM

239 posts

hi guys, I have been eyeing this laptop by Acer, the v3 371. It's a 13.3 inch with FHD display,non touch, the latest Haswell i5 processor, hybrid drive and its light and thin (1.5kg) with 7+ hours of battery life and it's under 2k. But I can't find any reviews about it and everyone keeps warning me about how Acer has poor build quality and I should be careful. Anyone has any experience with this laptop or any recommendations of other similar models?

Battery life and weight is a very important factor and budget is below 2.2k if preferable. Used mostly for watching movies and browsing. Touch screen would be a nice addition smile.gif
ashraf095
post Feb 17 2015, 07:23 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(NanaLiew @ Feb 17 2015, 05:51 PM)
hi guys, I have been eyeing this laptop by Acer, the v3 371. It's a 13.3 inch with FHD display,non touch, the latest Haswell i5 processor, hybrid drive and its light and thin (1.5kg) with 7+ hours of battery life and it's under 2k. But I can't find any reviews about it and everyone keeps warning me about how Acer has poor build quality and I should be careful. Anyone has any experience with this laptop or any recommendations of other similar models?

Battery life and weight is a very important factor and budget is below 2.2k if preferable. Used mostly for watching movies and browsing. Touch screen would be a nice addition smile.gif
Here they got review

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Aspire-V...w.135831.0.html
cravingstar
post Feb 17 2015, 08:30 PM

201 posts

Hi Sifus, anyone can recommend me a laptop/notebook

Budget: RM800-RM1000

1) Thin, light, sturdy portable.
2) Good for serving web, typing, songs and Movies
3) Good battery Life
4)10' to 13.3'

Dont mind changing to ssd for better performance under RM1200
Thanks for the feedback! smile.gif

This post has been edited by cravingstar: Feb 18 2015, 11:49 AM
tabs
post Feb 18 2015, 01:15 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Feb 17 2015, 10:12 AM)
Hey tabs,

If you're looking for MSI notebooks then i suggest you wait for the new models with the Nvidia 960 and 950M GPUs.
Should be around your budget (give or take RM100+)

Heard some Lowyat dealers say that new stock already coming. I'm guessing that it will be under the MSI GE series for this GPU.

Go check it out.  cool2.gif
yes GE70 got new stock coming in soon. it is confirmed. come with VIDIA GeForce GTX 960M discrete graphics card with GDDR5 2GB VRAM. but problem is will it overheat the msg when play game? since only have single fan inside the system
SUSVelocity
post Feb 18 2015, 01:41 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(nerp @ Feb 17 2015, 05:14 PM)
hello bros.

im thinking of buying an acer netbook for RM 899. its size is 11.6'.
it comes with intel celeron, 500gb hardisk, no fan (silence computing), 2gb ram and other stuff.

is this netbook worth the price?
or is it overpriced?
depends what your purpose on the device
SUSVelocity
post Feb 18 2015, 01:44 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(roscha @ Feb 17 2015, 03:15 PM)
Thanks for the input, DragonRiderStar, Velocity, aloy88 n those who inboxed me. The input really helped to make up my mind. Now I am thinking of the Dell and Illegear Z5 ha ha ha... if it weren't for the aggressive look of the Z5, I would call it a slamdunk. But it doesnt go with my 'look'. I teach 18 & 19 year olds... I can imagine the reactions if I were to carry the Z5 into my classroom. Ha ha ha...25 years ago, I would go for it but now hmmmm...
i did also consider illegear but addtiional of 3799 for me not worth. I always allocate my max budget for notebook to 3k.

For dell 7447 the battery life is quite amazing full charge nearly 5 hours continuous using and you also need to remember the factory of weight.

even for the 7447 14inch its very heavy so you imagine 15 "
slyrock
post Feb 18 2015, 08:11 AM

1)budget 3000-3500
2)gaming
3)reliable brand
4)satisfaction

brands in my mind - illegear,msi,asus,lenovo

This post has been edited by slyrock: Feb 18 2015, 08:15 AM
nerp
post Feb 18 2015, 03:54 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Feb 18 2015, 01:41 AM)
depends what your purpose on the device
im gonna use it for assignments, movies and dota 1. is it worth it?
ayamstim
post Feb 19 2015, 11:50 AM

122 posts

I'm looking for a laptop with the following details:

1. Preferred Brand: any brand with good warranty and after sales service/support
2. Budget: RM3-4k
3. Usage: systems development
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" FHD

I prefer laptops that don't get too hot under heavy stress and can be easily maintained/upgraded. I'm currently eyeing the ILLEGEAR RU-14 PRO, but their store is closed until Monday next week, and I need a laptop for work on that day itself. Yes, it's a last minute purchase. sweat.gif
roscha
post Feb 19 2015, 01:48 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Feb 18 2015, 01:44 AM)
i did also consider illegear but addtiional of 3799 for me not worth. I always allocate my max budget for notebook to 3k.

For dell 7447 the battery life is quite amazing full charge nearly 5 hours continuous using and you also need to remember the factory of weight.

even for the 7447 14inch its very heavy so you imagine 15 "
Yes I agree...Im currently using a 14" laptop...it really tests my strength when the laptop bag is full.
miong93
post Feb 19 2015, 06:38 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(roscha @ Feb 19 2015, 01:48 PM)
Yes I agree...Im currently using a 14" laptop...it really tests my strength when the laptop bag is full.
Well it depends. Now most laptop are using aluminum. So it will be lighter. About 2.4kg mostly (include adapter + battery)
myway1985
post Feb 20 2015, 12:48 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 19 2015, 06:38 PM)
Well it depends. Now most laptop are using aluminum. So it will be lighter. About 2.4kg mostly (include adapter + battery)
So quiet... haha... nobody online all holiday
apitzhnu
post Feb 20 2015, 01:59 AM

169 posts

Hey guys need suggestion

1. Preferred Brand: Any, but with good after sales service (except Acer)
2. Budget: RM 4K n below
3. Usage: Gaming, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15" full hd

Im eyeing these both:
Lenovo y50 - run gtx860m but TN panel screen really hold me back
Asus g551JM - not bad spec afterall

Any other suggestion? Thanks!
miong93
post Feb 20 2015, 10:40 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Feb 20 2015, 01:59 AM)
Hey guys need suggestion

1. Preferred Brand: Any, but with good after sales service (except Acer)
2. Budget: RM 4K n below
3. Usage: Gaming, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15" full hd

Im eyeing these both:
Lenovo y50 - run gtx860m but TN panel screen really hold me back
Asus g551JM - not bad spec afterall

Any other suggestion? Thanks!
Asus after sale service is not so good compared to others. Some time you need to depend on your luck to have a smooth claiming process.
Lenovo Y50 screen is not good. If I'm not mistaken the screen response time is 48hz instead of 60hz
4k Budget got quite a lot choices, Acer V Nitro (which you don't want), ILLEGEAR Z5 or Aftershock (Clevo model)
All these offer fhd with IPS option also.

P/S: If you can wait and not in rush, try wait for new 960m or 965m card laptop. If the price is also around 4k then go for that. If it is above 4.5k then just stick to 860m laptop
apitzhnu
post Feb 20 2015, 11:27 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 20 2015, 10:40 AM)
Asus after sale service is not so good compared to others. Some time you need to depend on your luck to have a smooth claiming process.
Lenovo Y50 screen is not good. If I'm not mistaken the screen response time is 48hz instead of 60hz
4k Budget got quite a lot choices, Acer V Nitro (which you don't want), ILLEGEAR Z5 or Aftershock (Clevo model)
All these offer fhd with IPS option also.

P/S: If you can wait and not in rush, try wait for new 960m or 965m card laptop. If the price is also around 4k then go for that. If it is above 4.5k then just stick to 860m laptop
Thanks for the reply, I check they expected launch on March, which probably coming in to Malaysia after GST.

Illegear is Malaysian brand isn't? Never heard of them before (inmcluding clevo)

Here's another my shortlist: http://www.lelong.com.my/msi-ge60-2pe-apac...6-01-Sale-P.htm (Cons: single fans)

But seems like if fork out another RM500, I can get GTX 965M for MSI model. Again.. I have no idea how was their after sales service. Another brand under my shortlist are Gigabyte.
miong93
post Feb 20 2015, 12:20 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Feb 20 2015, 11:27 AM)
Thanks for the reply, I check they expected launch on March, which probably coming in to Malaysia after GST.

Illegear is Malaysian brand isn't? Never heard of them before (inmcluding clevo)

Here's another my shortlist: http://www.lelong.com.my/msi-ge60-2pe-apac...6-01-Sale-P.htm (Cons: single fans)

But seems like if fork out another RM500, I can get GTX 965M for MSI model. Again.. I have no idea how was their after sales service. Another brand under my shortlist are Gigabyte.
Gigabyte is too OP for you already IMHO. Their price is mostly luxury range (still got some decent price range one). ILLEGEAR is Malaysia brand, Aftershock is SG brand. Both are using Clevo. Clevo is quite popular in oversea for their good built quality.

GST starts on April. So if you're not in rush, you can always wait a bit longer to see how thing goes.
Also, DO NOT GET MSI GE60 Apache Pro. It has serious heat issue (personal experience, my friend is using it). The CPU and GPU can heat up to 90+ degree C under full load. For that price range better get dual fan model.
Acer V Nitro is best bang of buck currently.

For the GPU, I would top up RM700+ to get GTX970m rather than 965m. IMHO, if I got the money, I would go for 970m/980m, if not just get 860m or 960m (if the price is quite similar, <RM100 different). I doubt 960m is able to play mid high settings on up coming demanding game also, so no point paying more to get it. I would only get it if the price is not much different with 860m

P/S: Just to let you know, ILLEGEAR S5 is having 970m and 965m variant. The price different is just about RM200, so either buck up more to get a top range decent gpu, or just stick to mid range gpu like 860m. 965m seems to stuck in between. (I'm not advertising on ILLEGEAR, just show you an example. Other brand I believe will be doing the same also)
AloneJL
post Feb 20 2015, 03:10 PM

Hi. I want to ask for recommendation on laptop.

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand that last long
2. Budget: below 2.5k
3. Usage: office use and gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: normal size

if possible, hope to get more choices for choosing, TQ~ smile.gif
roscha
post Feb 20 2015, 07:38 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 19 2015, 06:38 PM)
Really? Okay, I will wait a while longer... not really in a hurry... just worried about GST.

Thanks for the input biggrin.gif
apitzhnu
post Feb 20 2015, 09:33 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 20 2015, 12:20 PM)
Gigabyte is too OP for you already IMHO. Their price is mostly luxury range (still got some decent price range one). ILLEGEAR is Malaysia brand, Aftershock is SG brand. Both are using Clevo. Clevo is quite popular in oversea for their good built quality.

GST starts on April. So if you're not in rush, you can always wait a bit longer to see how thing goes.
Also, DO NOT GET MSI GE60 Apache Pro. It has serious heat issue (personal experience, my friend is using it). The CPU and GPU can heat up to 90+ degree C under full load. For that price range better get dual fan model.

For the GPU, I would top up RM700+ to get GTX970m rather than 965m. IMHO, if I got the money, I would go for 970m/980m, if not just get 860m or 960m (if the price is quite similar, <RM100 different). I doubt 960m is able to play mid high settings on up coming demanding game also, so no point paying more to get it. I would only get it if the price is not much different with 860m

P/S: Just to let you know, ILLEGEAR S5 is having 970m and 965m variant. The price different is just about RM200, so either buck up more to get a top range decent gpu, or just stick to mid range gpu like 860m. 965m seems to stuck in between. (I'm not advertising on ILLEGEAR, just show you an example. Other brand I believe will be doing the same also)
Alrite many thanks bro now I get the clear picture 👍
apitzhnu
post Feb 21 2015, 03:39 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 20 2015, 12:20 PM)

Harvey Norman offer me rm3999 - rm580 disc. I THINK I would go wif lenovo, it is dual fan anyhow tongue.gif

191 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0307sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:57 PM