Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

SUSVelocity
post Feb 10 2015, 09:23 PM

3,188 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Whichever good brands these days
2. Budget - Around the RM3k below
3. Usage - Mostly gaming, watching videos, surfing the web, video processing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"

Prefer SSD
Processor i7
No intel graphic card

SUSVelocity
post Feb 10 2015, 09:32 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Feb 10 2015, 09:30 PM)
AFAIK, no laptop below Rm3000 comes with ssd and dedicated graphic card. Best option is to buy 2.5k laptop + after-market ssd
Is it possible to buy dell 5480 i7 then swap for ssd?
SUSVelocity
post Feb 10 2015, 09:37 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Feb 10 2015, 09:35 PM)
Should be possible. But Dell 5480 is not a good choice if you are gaming a lot. Slim laptop tends to be hotter than normal laptop. Also, someone just mention that wifi reception is weak, same like the previous model.
Which model so u recommend within budget max of 3k
SUSVelocity
post Feb 10 2015, 10:34 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 10 2015, 10:21 PM)
to be honest dun touch vostro... wont last like they promised..
wanted it because of its slim design
SUSVelocity
post Feb 13 2015, 11:25 PM

3,188 posts

I haven't bought gadget for some time so I am out of sync with the trends. Now my work needs me to buy a notebook was seeing this dell is a good spec

Guys my budget for notebook is about 3k at the moment very interested with this. Is this a good buy. I have a few questions, hope some sifu can help.

my usage time all in one including
gaming, photo shop, illustrator, video processing and editing.

1) will anytime soon dell might come out an updated version?

2) any alternative options similar or better than this spec within my budget of 3k.

3) from the trending of this notebook and offer maybe during pc fair how low can the price get? I got offer for rm3159 with free bag. Is this the cheapest?

4) any recommendation seller for this model online?

5) can this be upgradable to ssd?

6) from sifu estimating how future proof is this notebook?

7) any major problems with this notebook, I want review from user not, reviewer or seller.

thank you all

Model Dell Inspiron 14 7447-71814G-W8 Laptop/ Notebook
Operating System Windows 8.1 64 bit
Processor Force feedback Intel® Core™ i7-4710HQ Processor
Memory 8GB Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz (4GBx2)
HDD 1TB 5400 rpm SATA Hybrid Hard Drive with 8GB Cache
Graphics Force feedback NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 850M 4GB DDR3
Display 14.0 inch LED Backlit Anti Glare Display with IPS and FHD resolution (1920 x 1080)
2 years dell warranty

SUSVelocity
post Feb 17 2015, 09:56 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(roscha @ Feb 16 2015, 09:29 PM)
After reading reviews and comments all over the internet, I have narrowed my choice of laptop down to two :
- Acer Aspire VN7-591G a.k.a. Acer Nitro
- Dell Inspiron 14 7447-71814G-W8

I read about the foam holding the Acer Nitro HDD in place (which is bad for the HDD when the foam ages) and thought the Dell would be better.  Then I read something about the Dell's fingerprint magnet rubber material that would break down over time.

HELP... I need more input.  Can you guys help me out?

p.s. I tend to keep my laptops about five or six years before I find myself having to upgrade out of desperation.
I was in the same dilemma as you acer or dell.

Eventually i went for DELL because of the support and price tag.

The lowest i can get on the dell 7447 14 is RM3059 and with alot of freebies.

Furthermore DELL notebook have a subwoofer speaker while the acer just 4 speakers around it.

The finger print is bad only when i carry it with alot stength putting back in notebook bag. Just a wet cloth you wipe its gone.

Overall i prefer the DELL

This post has been edited by Velocity: Feb 17 2015, 09:58 AM
SUSVelocity
post Feb 17 2015, 10:00 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(NanaLiew @ Feb 16 2015, 02:28 AM)
Hi guys, Would there be a big difference between a 1920x1080 and 1366x768 display on a 13 inch laptop? Mainly use the laptop for browsing, watching movies and some Word work, no gaming at all. Thanks for the input!
This very obvious when you watching video or movie HUGE difference and in editing softwares as well. ill go for 1920 x 1080 anytime
SUSVelocity
post Feb 17 2015, 10:02 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Feb 17 2015, 10:01 AM)
If you have such concerns about both these models then i suggest you go with whichever gives you the longest warranty and better after sales service coverage.
Everyone complains about Acers poor CS so i guess Dell would be your choice.

But with a budget for those models, why don't you look for notebooks with the new Nvidia 950M GPU?

Some brands should be releasing already.
dell 7447 is with Nvidia Geforce GTX 850M
SUSVelocity
post Feb 18 2015, 01:41 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(nerp @ Feb 17 2015, 05:14 PM)
hello bros.

im thinking of buying an acer netbook for RM 899. its size is 11.6'.
it comes with intel celeron, 500gb hardisk, no fan (silence computing), 2gb ram and other stuff.

is this netbook worth the price?
or is it overpriced?
depends what your purpose on the device
SUSVelocity
post Feb 18 2015, 01:44 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(roscha @ Feb 17 2015, 03:15 PM)
Thanks for the input, DragonRiderStar, Velocity, aloy88 n those who inboxed me. The input really helped to make up my mind. Now I am thinking of the Dell and Illegear Z5 ha ha ha... if it weren't for the aggressive look of the Z5, I would call it a slamdunk. But it doesnt go with my 'look'. I teach 18 & 19 year olds... I can imagine the reactions if I were to carry the Z5 into my classroom. Ha ha ha...25 years ago, I would go for it but now hmmmm...
i did also consider illegear but addtiional of 3799 for me not worth. I always allocate my max budget for notebook to 3k.

For dell 7447 the battery life is quite amazing full charge nearly 5 hours continuous using and you also need to remember the factory of weight.

even for the 7447 14inch its very heavy so you imagine 15 "

0.0261sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:35 AM