6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

miong93
post Dec 4 2014, 09:26 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

1. Preferred Brand : Any Brand
2. Budget : Strictly below RM 4.5k
3. Usage : Gaming + Programming (multitask a lot, no business model as I think it will not perform well when I'm playing games like crysis 3 or some demanding game)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 - 15 inch
5. Preferences : not too bulky, possible below 3.2cm thick, design not too "eye attractive"

I had my eye on illegear Z5 and Lenovo Y50.. I can't find much review for illegear Z5 though.. Anyone can enlighten me which model is better in build quality + more future proof ?

Other brand laptop is good for me also so feel free to suggest me.. Business type is ok also as long as it can play those demanding game..

Edit : No heat issue laptop is preferred

This post has been edited by miong93: Dec 4 2014, 09:29 PM
miong93
post Dec 4 2014, 09:42 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 4 2014, 09:36 PM)
latitude  e7440
Is it suitable to play those demanding game ? So far i see the GPU is not good to play games like crysis 3 or diablo 3 wo.. can enlighten me more on the model ???

Thanks for the fast reply yar biggrin.gif
miong93
post Dec 4 2014, 10:09 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 4 2014, 09:45 PM)
latitude strictly  for work lo. inspiron 7537 maximum spec  u wan? ori more than 4k.  now rm3299
Will take a lot at it.. will let you know once i decided. Thanks yar..

P/S: Still waiting for other suggestion ~~
miong93
post Dec 27 2014, 01:12 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Elodin7 @ Dec 27 2014, 12:55 PM)
Good afternoon Sifus, which to choose?

1. Preferred brand: None, good customer service after buying
2. Budget : Around RM3000
3. Usage: Student stuff, editing videos, mild gaming.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13-14 inch, less than 1.9kg, fast (transfer files hopefully 40mbps above), reliable

a) HP Pavilion 13-b113TU 13.3" Laptop/ Notebook:

1. i5-4210U
2. 256GB SSD
3. 8GB DDR3 RAM
4. Intel® HD Graphics 4400
5. 3-cell, 43.5 Wh Li-ion, 45 W AC power adapter

PROS: 256gb SSD  rclxm9.gif   , cheaper (RM2,299.00), lighter
CONS: Battery? How long can it last? No review to be found  hmm.gif
b) Dell Inspiron 14 7000 Series 7437U-2165SG-W8 14" Laptop/ Notebook

1. i5-4210U
2. 500GB SATA HDD + 32GB SSD
3. 6GB DDR3 RAM
4. Intel® HD Graphics 4400
5. 4-Cell Battery (integrated) Prismatic (58 WHr) Lithium Ion

PROS: Longer lasting battery rclxms.gif
CONS: Hybrid SSD only, more expensive (RM2,709.00)

I may be buying either of these laptops from www.techhypermart.com.

The weight is another issue, according to techhypermart, Dell Inspiron 14 is only 1.76kg, while HP Pavilion is around 1.7 kg. (Perfect for me, as I'm looking for laptops to carry around, below 1.9kg)

BUT....many other websites say Dell Inspiron 14 is 2kg!  icon_question.gif
It depends on your usage.. If you game a lot.. both laptop is not good for you.. If for normal usage then should be fine.. Also U type processor is not meant for multitasking

Do note that even though HP got SSD, you need to make sure it can add extra HDD or upgradable.. Cause if the only storage option is just the 256 SSD.. You will most likely end up having not enough space for your program.

Dell aftersale service is good.. but i suggest you to check out other model as 2.7k can get a better spec laptop..
Good luck finding smile.gif

Edit: 2kg not much different with 1.7kg.. 2kg is considered quite light ad.. excluding the power adapter

This post has been edited by miong93: Dec 27 2014, 01:14 PM
miong93
post Dec 27 2014, 01:42 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 27 2014, 01:23 PM)
i feel like he kena con by the sales person... 3000 can get alot better spec de... even dell retail  he can get i7 wif 2999
Aiya.. at least he haven't buy it XD
The price maybe is from internet de lo.. Or maybe lelong ? haha
miong93
post Dec 27 2014, 06:17 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

RM3k got a lot of choice.. Dell Inspiron or XPS, Acer Nitro (top up few hundred bucks), Lenovo.... Dell after sale service is among the best..
Or you can try out Illegear or Aftershock.. these 2 brand is customizable laptop.. mostly gaming laptop.. if you're not good in laptop stuff then better go for other big brand..

QUOTE(Elodin7 @ Dec 27 2014, 05:47 PM)
Thanks for the replies sifus smile.gif

1. So... what can RM3000 buy me?
a. Windows system
b. below 2kg
c. around 6 hours battery life when web browsing
d. specs fast enough (hopefully is ssd?)
a. Most laptop come with ori win OS.. except you told them if there's an option to exclude OS

b, c will contradict each other..
if you want a long lasting battery life laptop, the weight will most likely be more than 2kg.. my z5 can last about 4-5 hours with 2.6kg weight..

d. what do you mean by specs fast enough ? If you mean booting or loading speed then SSD is the choice.. if you mean processing speed like when you're actually running something then CPU/processor is the place to look at..

2. Also, 32gb ssd cache and 8gb ssd cache no difference in performance?
it's the same i think.. just that you can cache more stuff w/ 32gb

3. GPU or CPU more important in your opinion?
CPU is important.. as it determine how well your laptop process thing..
GPU is important only when you're playing game.. It determine how smooth your game can be..
CPU is a must while GPU is optional (if no play game no need good gpu)

4. So the HP Pavilion 13-b113TU (3 cell, 43.5 Wh Li-ion) can last for how long?
Not sure though..

P/S: Assuming the you're not doing media editing work, if so then gpu is an important factor also

miong93
post Dec 27 2014, 06:28 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Dec 27 2014, 06:22 PM)
Just to clarify, the Z5 is 2.4kg smile.gif
Really ? I think I included the power adapter doh.gif Lol
Looking forward to meet you on Monday rclxm9.gif
miong93
post Dec 27 2014, 07:06 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

I suggest Dell as it got better after sale service.. you can contact @myway to know more about the price.. he's dell dealer..

Lenovo I not so sure.. but some of my friend is having issue when claiming for warranty..
Or you could try Illegear, they also have normal usage laptop, their service is top notch.. on par with Dell..

You can pm Prince J to know more or ask him to offer you some laptop w/ best price smile.gif
miong93
post Dec 27 2014, 08:02 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Dec 27 2014, 07:48 PM)
this laptop comes with 2 speakers and 1 SUBWOOFER. how about the subwoofer performance? this is the first time I heard laptop is equipped with subwoofer...
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 27 2014, 07:52 PM)
bro i not dealer.. just a guy who got lubang to get some cheaper stocks... no money to pay for the license. ...

aftershock seem cheaper becoz promo now... press the sales person bit more
Pai seh.. I keep forgetting sleep.gif
I use dealer cuz i dono got wad term to describe you ad.. lol
Sorry for misleading ppl
miong93
post Jan 3 2015, 07:18 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jan 3 2015, 05:02 PM)
Hi..

Looking for a laptop for my lil brother.

1. Preferred Brand
Any

2. Budget
RM 2-2.5k

3. Usage
MS Office, Simulation software (MATLAB,  Arduino, etc.. most of them are electrical-simulation software), light gaming, web surfing. Might as well consider multitasking..

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
14"

thanks! smile.gif
How your bro want to use MATLAB ?? To train data ?? if so then better get at least 8gb ram.. cause if you do heavy training/simulation in MATLAB it used up quite a lot of ram.. my classmate train his data for about 1 days.. in the end get Out Of Memory error sweat.gif
99% ram used doh.gif
miong93
post Jan 3 2015, 11:15 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jan 3 2015, 10:16 PM)
oh, MATLAB that heavy huh?
let me check with him first..

what kind of laptop can afford MATLAB?
huhu..
No no.. all laptop can run Matlab fine.. just what task your bro gonna do with it.. Cause Matlab can do resource intense stuff.. like training data for iris/face recognition, data mining etc etc.
it's a fantastic tool.. and obviously licensed sweat.gif
If your bro is doing very intense stuff with Matlab then better get a better laptop.. probably business grade..
But I think he won't be doing all these intense stuff with Matlab using laptop..
miong93
post Jan 4 2015, 11:29 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jan 3 2015, 11:49 PM)
yeah, i dont think he will be doing the heavy stuff too. maybe light programming/simulation only.

lol.
Then should be find.. but incase your bro like to multitask a lot.. get a 8gb ram laptop smile.gif
Cause doing simulation together with programming take up some memory..
miong93
post Jan 4 2015, 05:47 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jan 4 2015, 04:46 PM)
any recommendations?
brows.gif  brows.gif
Erm.. Dell inspiron or XPS lo.. Since Dell after sale service is the best.. ask myway see got what deal..
But those U processor not meant for heavy multitasking lar.. For normal task like browsing + doing some Office/programming is no problem..
If you want do heavy multitasking then 2k cant get you anything lo smile.gif

Or try Lenovo.. Sometime lenovo have a very durable unit.. sometime not.. lol
miong93
post Jan 5 2015, 02:17 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(simchengheng @ Jan 5 2015, 11:10 AM)
I guess sifus missed my post =.="
Top up 300++
Acer V Nitro.. although you need to pre-order.. almost all shop no stock now..
If not then Dell XPS / Inspiron full spec
If still kennot then Lenovo..
Asus if you want to risk your luck when claiming warranty

Illegear and Aftershock you can consider also.. but their mid range gaming laptop is 3.5k abv.. low end 1 not sure..

This post has been edited by miong93: Jan 5 2015, 02:17 PM
miong93
post Jan 6 2015, 08:36 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jan 6 2015, 07:53 PM)
A550jk only 4gb ram where as 7447 8gb ram?
I prefer asus because it's more hardy.. Have been using one since 5 years ago and it's still in good condition just that the spec already outdated and can't support my work now so need a more canggih one.

Dell on the other hand I heard reviews from friends that it's quite flimsy and it's casing can be damaged easily.. Eventho they do have good after sale service.

@myway1985
Your dell unit is new or DFO unit? Hehe
I think his unit is new 1.. not DFO..
If you want solid, go Dell latitude.. that 1 is damn solid and durable.. My boss been using for.. 8 years ? still can run current program without any failure laugh.gif
miong93
post Jan 6 2015, 10:20 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(kykyky007 @ Jan 6 2015, 09:32 PM)
Preferred Brand- Dell or others
Budget- The cheapest one cause just bought one MBP 15
Purpose- Pure gaming
Size-14+

Thanks guys
Without telling us budget it's quite hard to tell you.. Dell got AW..

AW 15 - coming soon (Gtx 965m)
ILLEGEAR Z5 RM3.8k
Aftershock M15 RM3.5k (if not mistaken)
Acer V Nitro RM3.4k
Lenovo Y50 RM3.6k

All is roughly the price..

QUOTE(FrazerNg @ Jan 6 2015, 09:47 PM)
I'm asked before already but after some research I'm back with questions

previous post :

What are the best cheapest i7 laptops that's <RM2500? Same criterias as my previous post above.
Also kindly inform me with ones that are slightly higher than RM2500 as (maybe) I could buy them during sales/IT fairs
Note that I'm planning to upgrade the HDD to SSD but the budget is still around RM2500

Thanks senpais

PS : OT but does anyone know if there's any IT sales around KL coming up? Except that IT Fair in Mid Valley this friday. Cuz I was waiting for Pikom PC Fair but they just announced it's Feb/March and it's in Johor n K.K. T_T
Dell Inspiron I think got.. XPS probably no.. Or try check some HP laptop.. I remember there's one with i7 for around 2.3k something..
And take note, most laptop with i7 and below 2.5k is U series processor.. which is not meant for heavy multitasking.

P/S: Depend what type of SSD you want to upgrade.. if it's a 2.5'' then maybe can manage to get 1.. but it's very hard to get in 2.5k range.. IMO I won't swap 128gb for a 1tb space.. later no space for program..
If your SSD is m.2 or mSata then definitely NO.. you can't get it within 2.5k
miong93
post Jan 10 2015, 01:45 AM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(yenyenboy @ Jan 9 2015, 06:55 AM)
Dear Sifu, can elaborate more on both laptops? which one is better in which way etc. I'm tech-noob.  cry.gif
someone suggest me Illegear z5 as well. what do u think? any other better laptop in this price range?
TBH now is not the time to get gaming laptop.. since there's new card coming out.. if you're not in rush.. wait till end of this monday or february..

860m and 960m.. see the price diff first.. if not much then those 2 model is not worth it anymore..

I personally got ILLEGEAR Z5.. cooling is top notch among 3-4k budget gaming laptop.. but it's priced at RM3.8k

Performance wise all is almost the same.. cuz same gpu..

If you can afford, i recommend you ILLEGEAR if you can bear the different in price for the same spec than other model..
ILLEGEAR service is good.. but all is my experience with them lar..
miong93
post Jan 14 2015, 01:40 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 14 2015, 01:17 PM)
haha
sure no problem
now u can XD
for aw 15 with ur spec just around 5k++
now they have 1tb hdd + 250gb ssd upgrade for free XD thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
But sadly the 1tb hhd is 5200rpm.. you will notice the damn differences when you're read/wrting thing to your 250ssd and 1tb hdd..
haha..
miong93
post Jan 18 2015, 07:27 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(firefake @ Jan 18 2015, 07:13 PM)
looking for new machine...

Brand: Any
Budget: RM3k or so
Usage: ultra setting on new game like a boss
Laptop/screen size: 15
FYI, 3-4k budget is impossible for you to play most high demanding game on ultra settings 1080p.. Eg: Watch Dogs, Crysis 3, BF4, Far Cry, AC IV or V etc etc.
So sad to say, you can't play like a boss doh.gif
miong93
post Jan 19 2015, 01:05 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jan 19 2015, 03:11 AM)
if 3.5k your suggestion bro?
As silvare said.. 3k heavy gaming is impossible, except your heavy gaming is mario.. lol
in 3-4k range.. Acer V Nitro is the best choice IMO.. if you can top up more till 4k.. Z5 is the best IMO..
I'm a Z5 user.. you can say I'm biased, but it doesn't disappoint me.
It got sub-woofer, 4gb vram, top-notch cooling and it's damn light weight.. maximum is 2.6kg..
If OS is an issue for you, and you're not a good technical guy who can set up the laptop yourself, then Acer is the best, if not Z5 is the best..

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0632sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:44 AM