171 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

g88
post Oct 23 2014, 03:30 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(oxygen_ @ Oct 23 2014, 02:51 PM)
hi guys
my 18-55 autofocus not functioning
i'm in kl, where can i send the lens for service? how much the cost??

If its under warranty, send back to Canon service center (peremba square) else might wanna consider get another lens. This is famous problem or 18-55 kit lens' ribbon
g88
post Oct 23 2014, 03:31 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Oct 21 2014, 11:13 PM)

What do you guys think? Over edit?
This picture looks like telling thunderstorm is coming (or i believe your original intention is to show case the tower ?)
oxygen_
post Oct 24 2014, 09:19 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 23 2014, 03:30 PM)
If its under warranty, send back to Canon service center (peremba square) else might wanna consider get another lens. This is famous problem or 18-55 kit lens' ribbon
not under warranty anymore.. so, not worth it to send service? the service cost almost the same / higher than buying new lens?
g88
post Oct 24 2014, 09:43 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(oxygen_ @ Oct 24 2014, 09:19 AM)
not under warranty anymore.. so, not worth it to send service? the service cost almost the same / higher than buying new lens?
yes
teikboon
post Oct 24 2014, 12:39 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(oxygen_ @ Oct 24 2014, 09:19 AM)
time to upgrade biggrin.gif
Rice_Owl84
post Oct 25 2014, 12:36 AM

603 posts

Just installed Magic Lantern on the EOS M. The focus peaking is not that great. The zoom box for focusing while recording seems more useful. I couldn't find anything to get 1080p60 which is what I wanted. I think I found the function to remove the 29 min time record limit. Have not tried Raw video yet because I think I read I'm suppose to have a really fast card for it like over 45+mb/s.

Overall not really much extra features and I feel it does make the camera body feel hotter than usual.

Wanting to get 1080p60. Maybe I have to be brave and ML the 650D.
tbcheese
post Oct 25 2014, 12:54 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Oct 25 2014, 12:36 AM)
Just installed Magic Lantern on the EOS M.  The focus peaking is not that great.  The zoom box for focusing while recording seems more useful.  I couldn't find anything to get 1080p60 which is what I wanted.  I think I found the function to remove the 29 min time record limit.  Have not tried Raw video yet because I think I read I'm suppose to have a really fast card for it like over 45+mb/s. 

Overall not really much extra features and I feel it does make the camera body feel hotter than usual. 

Wanting to get 1080p60.  Maybe I have to be brave and ML the 650D.
Got one myself and I noticed it running hotter and battery goes down faster with ML too.

I'm not sure if it's cos of the focus-by-wire mechanism of the STM lenses, it seems a bit difficult to land on the peak confidently. Gotta go back and forth a few times. Peaking while in the ML zoom box is a bit hard to see as well. Any idea how to increase the resolution of the zoom box?

I agree ML doesn't seem to bring much to the table for the M but I just got the camera and haven't had a chance to field test it yet. Probably leave it on until I test it out properly.
LegendLee
post Oct 25 2014, 06:36 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Oct 25 2014, 12:36 AM)
Just installed Magic Lantern on the EOS M.  The focus peaking is not that great.  The zoom box for focusing while recording seems more useful.  I couldn't find anything to get 1080p60 which is what I wanted.  I think I found the function to remove the 29 min time record limit.  Have not tried Raw video yet because I think I read I'm suppose to have a really fast card for it like over 45+mb/s. 

Wanting to get 1080p60.  Maybe I have to be brave and ML the 650D.
You installed the nightly build? ... wait I think EOS M only has the nightly build version.
The nightly build does drain more battery than the stable versions.

1080p 60 fps is possible on ML 650D ?
Last I checked it's not really 1080p but somewhere in between 720p and 1080p.

Focus peaking isn't useful for wide aperture lens. More often than not, it tricked me to the wrong focus.
Don't think it's possible to increase zoom box resolution. Need to zoom in manually. If you manage to find an alternative/way, please share it here.
tbcheese
post Oct 25 2014, 08:01 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 25 2014, 06:36 PM)
You installed the nightly build? ... wait I think EOS M only has the nightly build version.
The nightly build does drain more battery than the stable versions.

1080p 60 fps is possible on ML 650D ?
Last I checked it's not really 1080p but somewhere in between 720p and 1080p. 

Focus peaking isn't useful for wide aperture lens. More often than not, it tricked me to the wrong focus.
Don't think it's possible to increase zoom box resolution. Need to zoom in manually. If you manage to find an alternative/way, please share it here.
Yeah nightly. Mine is 8 Oct and so far never kena shutterbug with the 18-55mm *touchwood*

Found an alternative that I just posted in dpreview forums (edit: being moderated so not there yet). If you're using MF only, you can enable liveview zoom on halfshutter to 10x through the "Liveview zoom tweaks" on Magic Lantern. But no peaking/edge detection while doing this.

This post has been edited by tbcheese: Oct 25 2014, 08:11 PM
LegendLee
post Oct 25 2014, 08:11 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Oct 25 2014, 08:01 PM)
Yeah nightly. Mine is 8 Oct and so far never kena shutterbug with the 18-55mm *touchwood*

Found an alternative that I just posted in dpreview forums. If you're using MF only, you can enable liveview zoom on halfshutter to 10x through the "Liveview zoom tweaks" on Magic Lantern. But no peaking/edge detection while doing this.
Hmmm interesting, thanks for sharing.
Only available on nightly ?

I mostly use the stable versions of ML.
I use the Back AF button for focusing so half pressing the shutter should help me zoom without needing to change to MF mode hmmm...
tbcheese
post Oct 25 2014, 08:24 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 25 2014, 08:11 PM)
Hmmm interesting, thanks for sharing.
Only available on nightly ?

I mostly use the stable versions of ML.
I use the Back AF button for focusing so half pressing the shutter should help me zoom without needing to change to MF mode hmmm...
Yup eos-m supported only by nightlies.

Back AF can activate the magic zoom box. In fact I learnt to use Back AF cos my hands shake real bad on halfshutter and makes it hard to focus. Back AF handily activates the MF override fulltime =)

The liveview zoom tweak is automatically overridden when AF is on, regardless AF only or AF+MF.
LegendLee
post Oct 25 2014, 08:30 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Oct 25 2014, 08:24 PM)
Yup eos-m supported only by nightlies.

Back AF can activate the magic zoom box. In fact I learnt to use Back AF cos my hands shake real bad on halfshutter and makes it hard to focus. Back AF handily activates the MF override fulltime =)

The liveview zoom tweak is automatically overridden when AF is on, regardless AF only or AF+MF.
Right now the magic zoom box activates when I physically try to change the lens focus ring.
Which is good, but the zoom box still has a poor resolution.

tbcheese
post Oct 25 2014, 08:45 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 25 2014, 08:30 PM)
Right now the magic zoom box activates when I physically try to change the lens focus ring.
Which is good, but the zoom box still has a poor resolution.
Yeah really difficult to see on the zoom box. Sometimes don't know if it's really sharp cos the edges gets blurred by the edge detect indication. But beats pressing the magnifier button I guess.
vankodoq
post Oct 26 2014, 02:11 AM

377 posts

Hi sifus, I have a 600D (with SC of approx. 27500), at what price would be a good price to sell it away? I'd say the condition's still good with no fungus or dust inside. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vankodoq: Oct 26 2014, 02:11 AM
th8
post Oct 26 2014, 02:45 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Oct 23 2014, 03:30 PM)
yeahh, I have problem with mine too. It works intermittently and sometime it does focus but you can't take a shot. I was thinking of repairing it myself but not sure if there will be too much work involved. Anybody here tried repairing the unit themselves?
LegendLee
post Oct 26 2014, 09:00 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Oct 26 2014, 02:11 AM)
Hi sifus, I have a 600D (with SC of approx. 27500), at what price would be a good price to sell it away? I'd say the condition's still good with no fungus or dust inside. hmm.gif
600D, body only will cost about RM 900 - 1100
mingyuyu
post Oct 27 2014, 05:40 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 26 2014, 09:00 PM)
that was a pretty good price blink.gif

i sold my 550D + 18-135 that both just over warranty for 1.1k cry.gif
vankodoq
post Oct 27 2014, 09:02 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 26 2014, 09:00 PM)
Thanks for the info. nod.gif
teikboon
post Oct 27 2014, 09:41 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Oct 26 2014, 02:11 AM)
plan to upgrade? brows.gif
vankodoq
post Oct 27 2014, 09:53 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(teikboon @ Oct 27 2014, 09:41 AM)
plan to upgrade?  brows.gif
Did I sound that obvious? brows.gif

171 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top