QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 8 2014, 10:54 AM)
No. I leave it all the time inside. Reason? No time if I want to quickly take a candid shot of my 18 month old. Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!
Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!
Aug 8 2014, 04:22 PM
342 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 8 2014, 11:14 PM
633 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 8 2014, 03:54 PM) if you shoot once a week.. then it is OK.. else best to take out esp if you are forgetful.. extended discharge can cause irreversible damage to any LiPO battery! Best not to shoot until battery is totally flat. |
Aug 9 2014, 03:55 AM
12,698 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 8 2014, 10:54 AM) I'd suggest to remove it as it's no good for battery. You only need max 5 seconds to put on a battery...for my case, 3 seconds is more than enough. This post has been edited by yok70: Aug 9 2014, 03:56 AM |
Aug 9 2014, 09:11 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
723 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Aug 9 2014, 11:02 AM
219 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Finally got my SEL35F18, totally amazing lens.
One question tough, the aperture blades tend to produce grinding noise during focusing phase when its open and close. It is normal? Here is the relevant video I found, exactly the same noise: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJ_sBxWvLiE This post has been edited by Neo_Y: Aug 9 2014, 11:11 AM |
Aug 9 2014, 11:15 AM
29 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 9 2014, 11:02 AM) Finally got my SEL35F18, totally amazing lens. Bro, One question tough, the aperture blades tend to produce grinding noise during focusing phase when its open and close. It is normal? Here is the relevant video I found, exactly the same noise: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJ_sBxWvLiE Share some photos. I am thinking about this lens. Need some racuning. |
Aug 9 2014, 01:20 PM
394 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(ChinWY @ Aug 8 2014, 11:14 PM) if you shoot once a week.. then it is OK.. else best to take out esp if you are forgetful.. extended discharge can cause irreversible damage to any LiPO battery! Best not to shoot until battery is totally flat. hello, Sony Batt are Li-ion.....yes, all rechargeable battery cannot be 100% flat. once it become zero, the battery is dead, only with special device or high end charge 'may' short it to bring it back to life (no guaranty). shooting for 5 years, never removed it. but will always check the % before leave house. *edit: before someone make a joke out of it, no, i still remove it for charging... not as if the batt is inside the camera for 5 years without charging. QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 9 2014, 11:02 AM) Finally got my SEL35F18, totally amazing lens. the Zig Zag is normal. the sound is noticeable with all my lens, on the 35, the aperture is much bigger then other lenses.One question tough, the aperture blades tend to produce grinding noise during focusing phase when its open and close. It is normal? Here is the relevant video I found, exactly the same noise: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJ_sBxWvLiE i. the sound is due to wider aperture lens, F/1.8 is a really wide aperture. the 'distance' for the aperture to close down from F1.8 to F4 is more then F3.5 to F16, hence the distances means louder and longer obvious noise. DSLR/SLT aperture create the same noise too, just that mirror flaps and shutter sound is too loud that you wouldnt able to heard it. ii. why there is a zigzag to begin with? it only happens when you focus... the aperture will open widest it can to focus because it will need all the light it can get to focus. and will close back down to the aperture you are on (eg, F4), and if you notice, when closed down, the Liveview will show a little more noise in darker environment due to the light gain on F4(or darker) for liveview. DSLR only closes the aperture during shutter release because if its close down full time, imagine a F8 optical viewfinder, its going to be really dark. but if you shoot wide open like F1.8-F2.2, you will hardly hears it. This post has been edited by edpaul: Aug 10 2014, 12:12 AM |
Aug 9 2014, 05:45 PM
209 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 9 2014, 11:02 AM) Finally got my SEL35F18, totally amazing lens. hi bro, how much u got it from? =)One question tough, the aperture blades tend to produce grinding noise during focusing phase when its open and close. It is normal? Here is the relevant video I found, exactly the same noise: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJ_sBxWvLiE |
Aug 9 2014, 07:58 PM
219 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(edpaul @ Aug 9 2014, 01:20 PM) hello, Sony Batt are Li-ion..... When I first unbox the lens and test it indoor which is a quiet environment, that's why the noise is pretty much noticeable. yes, all rechargeable battery cannot be 100% flat. once it become zero, the battery is dead, only with special device or high end charge 'may' short it to bring it back to life (no guaranty). shooting for 5 years, never removed it. but will always check the % before leave house. the Zig Zag is normal. the sound is noticeable with all my lens, on the 35, the aperture is much bigger then other lenses. i. the sound is due to wider aperture lens, F/1.8 is a really wide aperture. the 'distance' for the aperture to close down from F1.8 to F4 is more then F3.5 to F16, hence the distances means louder and longer obvious noise. DSLR/SLT aperture create the same noise too, just that mirror flaps and shutter sound is too loud that you wouldnt able to heard it. ii. why there is a zigzag to begin with? it only happens when you focus... the aperture will open widest it can to focus because it will need all the light it can get to focus. and will close back down to the aperture you are on (eg, F4), and if you notice, when closed down, the Liveview will show a little more noise in darker environment due to the light gain on F4(or darker) for liveview. DSLR only closes the aperture during shutter release because if its close down full time, imagine a F8 optical viewfinder, its going to be really dark. but if you shoot wide open like F1.8-F2.2, you will hardly hears it. Today, I brought it outdoor and the noise was much muted. Yes, shot it wide open produce no sound at all. QUOTE(babyploy86 @ Aug 9 2014, 05:45 PM) I got it from Fotokem (MV), cost me RM1050, need a week or two to order. |
Aug 9 2014, 10:38 PM
52 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 9 2014, 07:58 PM) When I first unbox the lens and test it indoor which is a quiet environment, that's why the noise is pretty much noticeable. u are very lucky of u get it with special price. now no more adyToday, I brought it outdoor and the noise was much muted. Yes, shot it wide open produce no sound at all. I got it from Fotokem (MV), cost me RM1050, need a week or two to order. |
Aug 10 2014, 01:07 AM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
just a quick question on camera servicing
the best place to send ur camera back for servicing would be the sony center right? or is there any 3rd party camera shop who can do a better job since it is already out of warranty? pls advise |
Aug 10 2014, 01:18 AM
394 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
3rd party ah? KYSHAM. XD
Aug 10 2014, 01:52 PM
2,546 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Cyberjaya |
hi sifu
wanna ask HVL-F20AM should work with adapter on newer hotshoe bodies rite? also it could be use as 'like' pop up flash trigger on a850/a900 . can it be use the same on newer bodies ? a99? possible to trigger f43AM? |
Aug 10 2014, 02:35 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(mastering89 @ Aug 10 2014, 01:52 PM) hi sifu It should, but I can't confirm this because my HVL-F20AM died before I got my A99. wanna ask HVL-F20AM should work with adapter on newer hotshoe bodies rite? also it could be use as 'like' pop up flash trigger on a850/a900 . can it be use the same on newer bodies ? a99? possible to trigger f43AM? I have however tried the ADP-AMA with the A99 and HVL-F58AM to trigger the HVL-F43AM and it does work. |
Aug 10 2014, 03:43 PM
757 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(mastering89 @ Aug 10 2014, 01:52 PM) hi sifu I'm using the 20am flash with adapter on nex 6, works no problem. the only way to control flash output is through the flash power setting in the camerawanna ask HVL-F20AM should work with adapter on newer hotshoe bodies rite? also it could be use as 'like' pop up flash trigger on a850/a900 . can it be use the same on newer bodies ? a99? possible to trigger f43AM? |
Aug 10 2014, 03:52 PM
2,546 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 10 2014, 02:35 PM) It should, but I can't confirm this because my HVL-F20AM died before I got my A99. i see.I have however tried the ADP-AMA with the A99 and HVL-F58AM to trigger the HVL-F43AM and it does work. tempting coz got some1 selling cheap. if could trigger, then dont need fund to get F58/F60 for now hahaa QUOTE(nixonyang @ Aug 10 2014, 03:43 PM) I'm using the 20am flash with adapter on nex 6, works no problem. the only way to control flash output is through the flash power setting in the camera noted.yup F20 is just like pop up flash only it can do bounce (if enuf power la) |
Aug 10 2014, 04:47 PM
1,619 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Aug 10 2014, 05:18 PM
723 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Aug 10 2014, 05:52 PM
29 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 10 2014, 04:47 PM) this price soooooo nice ! the lowest i found is 1280 I used to buy from Fotokem when I was in my early days of photography many years back. But when I started moving on to more expensive gear, I found Fotokem too expensive.if anyone know any seller sell lower than 1280 pls pm me Eventually I went with YLCamera in Pudu and Boeing Photo in Sungei Wang. And even then, after YLCamera started to expand, their prices became less competitive and now I get almost all my gear from Boeing Photo. You can try them. But not sure whether they give very good prices to new clients or whether Fotokem have become competitive again since my last visit 4 to 5 years ago. |
Aug 10 2014, 06:20 PM
757 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(pugger79 @ Aug 10 2014, 05:52 PM) I used to buy from Fotokem when I was in my early days of photography many years back. But when I started moving on to more expensive gear, I found Fotokem too expensive. boeing still selling at a good price from my last visit 2 months ago. comparable to the whole area, the price inside lowyat plaza is sky high compared to themEventually I went with YLCamera in Pudu and Boeing Photo in Sungei Wang. And even then, after YLCamera started to expand, their prices became less competitive and now I get almost all my gear from Boeing Photo. You can try them. But not sure whether they give very good prices to new clients or whether Fotokem have become competitive again since my last visit 4 to 5 years ago. |
| Change to: | 0.0606sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:32 AM |