41 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Are you guys ready for hike in interest rate?, Interest rate rising in July & September

Are you guys ready?

Yes, my loan percentage is low compared to my earning. [ 124 ] ** [63.59%]
No. (Explain why no?) [ 71 ] ** [36.41%]
Total Votes: 195

SUSgogo2
post Jul 8 2014, 03:53 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Jul 8 2014, 03:49 PM)
Interest rate is expected to rise, not confirm to rise. Just wait for another 48 hours, you will know the outcome.

if increase by .25%, for outstanding loan of 1mil, monthly instalment increase about rm100 - RM 150 per month depending on tenure of the loan. For people who can get 1mil loan, will it be a problem?

I bet there will be no rate increase in 2014.  icon_rolleyes.gif
So rise 0.25% not an issue at all. rclxms.gif
bcpbeancounter
post Jul 8 2014, 03:54 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jul 8 2014, 11:01 AM)
Collapse is difficult.. bit correction deoending on location could be as high of 30% from the asking price not the original purchased price..

all in still untung margin low.. for subsequent subsales purchase price stagnation confirm there for 5 years at least especially newly vp by 2012 onwards .
increase 25 basis point you expect prop price to drop 30% rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif cry.gif
bearbearwong
post Jul 8 2014, 04:06 PM

9,533 posts

Interest rate is expected to rise, not confirm to rise. Just wait for another 48 hours, you will know the outcome.

if increase by .25%, for outstanding loan of 1mil, monthly instalment increase about rm100 - RM 150 per month depending on tenure of the loan. For people who can get 1mil loan, will it be a problem?

wow 1 million loans... me and my gf jointly qualify more than this but we felt this is going to be burdening.. why ? 100-150(per house) increase of course ok.. for loans only and for the remaining 6 months of 2014.. other increase such as goods, necessities,, each categories of necessities increase 100-150 monthly and coupled with GST.. easily hit 1k per person one..

you also notice hire purchase interest also naik di.. 2.7% or 3.1% per annum

when it is alone, of course not going to affect, but when all are bundle together and in numbers, you will see the effect..

right?
Showtime747
post Jul 8 2014, 04:17 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jul 8 2014, 03:31 PM)
all system in IT...juz one update everyting is system process; include letter notification.
Ya. I am sure there will be a thread to report whether installment increase or not after the rate hike
bearbearwong
post Jul 8 2014, 04:18 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 8 2014, 04:17 PM)
Ya. I am sure there will be a thread to report whether installment increase or not after the rate hike
i opined increase in installments.. otherwise why bother increasing the interest?
Showtime747
post Jul 8 2014, 04:20 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jul 8 2014, 04:18 PM)
i opined increase in installments.. otherwise why bother increasing the interest?
To curb further spending, ie new purchases
yeelong
post Jul 8 2014, 04:21 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jul 8 2014, 04:18 PM)
sometimes bank no bother by the old loan installment when then can absorb the increment of interest as they can earn back from other investment. Coz they know customer will jump if increase of interest while their competitor staying put.
LDP
post Jul 8 2014, 04:23 PM

638 posts

A one time increase of 0.25 will not hurt much.

It will become interesting when there are 2 -3 hikes in a year, significantly increasing borrowing cost.
cherroy
post Jul 8 2014, 04:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Jul 8 2014, 04:21 PM)
sometimes bank no bother by the old loan installment when then can absorb the increment of interest as they can earn back from other investment. Coz they know customer will jump if increase of interest while their competitor staying put.
Home loan interest rate out there either quoted in BLR +/- or Klibor + x%.

When BNM raised the OPR, it will affect the BLR and Klibor.

There is no such thing of old loan doesn't affected by rate changing unless the loan is fixed rate in the first place.

Bank doesn't bother to adjust the monthly repayment, doesn't mean one is not affected by higher rate, bank charge the interest rate based on your home loan stated rate, which is either BLR +/- or Klibor, which means instead of finish the loan at 25 years, it needs more time to clear up the loan due to higher rate.

Look at your statement of home loan sent which stated clearly the outstanding amount, interest charge etc.

yeelong
post Jul 8 2014, 04:33 PM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 8 2014, 04:30 PM)

There is no such thing of old loan doesn't affected by rate changing unless the loan is fixed rate in the first place.

Bank doesn't bother to adjust the monthly repayment, doesn't mean one is not affected by higher rate, bank charge the interest rate based on your home loan stated rate, which is either BLR +/- or Klibor, which means instead of finish the loan at 25 years, it needs more time to clear up the loan due to higher rate.

Look at your statement of home loan sent which stated clearly the outstanding amount, interest charge etc.
LOL.... i dun dare to watch... later scared 14 floor.. but i will observe all banks how they gonna do with the raise of interest rate. If got one bank staying put then i will switch loan liao.
twincharger07
post Jul 8 2014, 04:34 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 8 2014, 04:30 PM)

for owners who bought earlier with lower rate, good for rental play especially for those with +cashflow...
bearbearwong
post Jul 8 2014, 04:35 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Jul 8 2014, 04:23 PM)
A one time increase of 0.25 will not hurt much.

It will become interesting when there are 2 -3 hikes in a year, significantly increasing borrowing cost.
for the record, our interest rates did hit some 13% to 14%, and is now being bankrupt.. good time to restart the property market.. even is too far fetch.. but if one of the bank collapse or being taken over which is highly likely, then the story will fall perfectly.. perfecto..
d.storey
post Jul 8 2014, 04:41 PM

115 posts

No rasa to me at all, my initial rate is 6.75 and drop to 5.xx. Bank asked me reduce installmt i rejected. Wait it raise to 13 and 14 maybe i got little bit feel
nkhong
post Jul 8 2014, 04:52 PM

2,442 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 8 2014, 12:01 PM)
so i used a home loan simulator to simulate loan repayment in an ideal condition:

RM 150k loan @ 6.6% interest & 6.85% interest for 20 yrs

@ 6.6% = 1,014 monhtly

@ 6.85% = 1,035 monthly

and additional of RM 21 / month

in summary:

1. an additional of 11.5 months longer loan tenure if the monthly commitment is the same

2. an additional of RM 5,040 interest (?)

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/calculator/for...c-homeLoan.html
Almost right this time, but the calculator input is house price not loan amount, so the loan amout is actually 135k and installment different is 21 rm different.

Also if bank negara decided to increase the interest rate by 0.25 doesnt means banks will follow to increase the, normally they will increase their blr by 0.25 or more maybe 0.3. BLR is decided by bank and not bank negara i think.
nkhong
post Jul 8 2014, 05:01 PM

2,442 posts

U rich people talk different, to me rm 150 can has few good meal aledi.

Hope it will not increase, i want to have more good meal ...
LDP
post Jul 8 2014, 05:02 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jul 8 2014, 04:35 PM)
for the record, our interest rates did hit some 13% to 14%, and is now being bankrupt.. good time to restart the property market.. even is too far fetch.. but if one of the bank collapse or being taken over which is highly likely, then the story will fall perfectly.. perfecto..
Yes, it did hit 10% ++ at one time. And a lot of uncle and aunty who have been hoarding cash all these while were going around shopping for best Fixed Deposit rate in town..Haha, this only apply to those who are loaded with cash.

Nevertheless, I don't foresee OPR hitting 10% ++ that soon UNLESS a crisis happened again.

Currently rates are very low in the US, as low as 0.25%. A lot of foreign fund manager are borrowing money with low interest rate and then they are dumping those money into MGS which is giving them very good return like 3 -4 % depending on the bond tenure. (You can research more about the yield of MGS in the paper everyday).

The party will start to end when the Fed start to increase interest rate in US. Of course, this will happen slowly, gradually, but a lot of analyst forecast that rate will slowly normalize to 4% within the next few years. (I am quoting analyst here, so don't shoot me, hahahaha. Nobody knows the answer here as everything is constantly changing all the time)

When rate is about to hit 4%, all the foreign fund manager will start selling their holdings in MGS, and bring their money back to US. Keep in mind that more than 40% of MGS are currently been sold to foreign funds. In order to prevent massive outflow of fund, BNM will have no choice but to raise rates in order to keep up with the rate increase in US.
bearbearwong
post Jul 8 2014, 05:40 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Jul 8 2014, 05:02 PM)
Yes, it did hit 10% ++ at one time.  And a lot of uncle and aunty who have been hoarding cash all these while were going around shopping for best Fixed Deposit rate in town..Haha, this only apply to those who are loaded with cash.

Nevertheless, I don't foresee OPR hitting 10% ++ that soon UNLESS a crisis happened again.

Currently rates are very low in the US, as low as 0.25%. A lot of foreign fund manager are borrowing money with low interest rate and then they are dumping those money into MGS which is giving them very good return like 3 -4 % depending on the bond tenure. (You can research more about the yield of MGS in the paper everyday).

The party will start to end when the Fed start to increase interest rate in US. Of course, this will happen slowly, gradually, but a lot of analyst forecast that rate will slowly normalize to 4% within the next few years. (I am quoting analyst here, so don't shoot me, hahahaha. Nobody knows the answer here as everything is constantly changing all the time)

When rate is about to hit 4%, all the foreign fund manager will start selling their holdings in MGS, and bring their money back to US. Keep in mind that more than 40% of MGS are currently been sold to foreign funds. In order to prevent massive outflow of fund, BNM will have no choice but to raise rates in order to keep up with the rate increase in US.
i tell you even it hit 13% 14% sure got ppl say no feeling one... but if you calculate it... 13% to 14% is not worthwhile of property investment
bearbearwong
post Jul 8 2014, 05:57 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(nkhong @ Jul 8 2014, 05:01 PM)
U rich people talk different, to me rm 150 can has few good meal aledi.

Hope it will not increase, i want to have more good meal ...
wah few good meal.. for me maybe 10 meals di or 12 meals... you all taikors
r3apers
post Jul 8 2014, 06:01 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Jul 8 2014, 05:57 PM)
wah few good meal.. for me maybe 10 meals di or 12 meals... you all taikors
150/0.70(bread) = app. 214 bread, so i can eat for 71 days of bread... sweat.gif
Showtime747
post Jul 8 2014, 06:21 PM

4,258 posts

You guys got money buy the cow, no money buy the rope tongue.gif

41 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1134sec    0.91    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:11 PM