LCD Monitor Thread v13.

akmalrosli
post Feb 1 2015, 08:58 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Feb 1 2015, 08:54 PM)
I mean d resolution. Boz gc is 1600, whereas monitor is 1440.
1440 is lesser than 1600. Yes, it is supported.
karwaidotnet
post Feb 1 2015, 11:21 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

can recommend me a ips 23" monitor, glossy and wifout those anti glare coating.
im setting up a darkroom for my pc...so i dun have to worry abt reflections or external bright lightings...
ongweiping
post Feb 1 2015, 11:34 PM

151 posts

Poison, poison everywhere! 1440p... drool.gif
Can see 970 users a lot. Graphics on game can only on medium - high settings? minimal AA?
marfccy
post Feb 1 2015, 11:40 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Feb 1 2015, 08:54 PM)
I mean d resolution. Boz gc is 1600, whereas monitor is 1440.
dual link DVI supports max 2560x1600 resolution, your HD7950 should come with Display Port which allows up to 4K resolution (3840x2160)

no issue at all
karwaidotnet
post Feb 2 2015, 07:16 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Feb 1 2015, 11:40 PM)
dual link DVI supports max 2560x1600 resolution, your HD7950 should come with Display Port which allows up to 4K resolution (3840x2160)

no issue at all
i think his concern is whether the gc downgrding the resolution to the monitor native reso would be an issue or not...

i think no.
chinkw1
post Feb 2 2015, 07:17 AM

3,155 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Feb 1 2015, 11:40 PM)

no issue at all
Tq bro.
So display port is higher resolution than dvi or hdmi?
djlah
post Feb 2 2015, 07:19 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Feb 1 2015, 11:21 PM)
can recommend me a ips 23" monitor, glossy and wifout those anti glare coating.
im setting up a darkroom for my pc...so i dun have to worry abt reflections or external bright lightings...
how's your budget?
Dell S2340L
if you have higher budget, get latest model, S2415H. it's just 0.8" bigger in display size, the overall physical dimension are very close, because the latest design come with slim border thumbup.gif

both are IPS and Glossy.
karwaidotnet
post Feb 2 2015, 09:29 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 2 2015, 07:19 AM)
how's your budget?
Dell S2340L
if you have higher budget, get latest model, S2415H. it's just 0.8" bigger in display size, the overall physical dimension are very close, because the latest design come with slim border  thumbup.gif

both are IPS and Glossy.
still DELL huh...im wondering why dell suddenly bcome the mainstream monitor brand now hmm.gif
last i recall it was Samsung....

but thanks for the recommendation.
i wanna setup dual monitor for my PC and gonna pair it with my old samsung xl2370.
one for gaming, another one for photo editing.

ok...not sure if i can ask this next question here...but how do one setup dual monitor on his pc? sweat.gif

my old samsung monitor is having hdmi input only....while my gc only has 1 hdmi output but 3 displayport output.
can i still setup a dual monitor using one hdmi, while another one displayport?

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Feb 2 2015, 09:43 AM
khaiandrew
post Feb 2 2015, 09:49 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

Thinking of changing from triple 1920x1080 to 4k+ 2 1920x1080.. Any recommendations on budget 4k monitors? Maybe under 1.5k or so?
djlah
post Feb 2 2015, 09:56 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Feb 2 2015, 09:29 AM)
still DELL huh...im wondering why dell suddenly bcome the mainstream monitor brand now  hmm.gif
last i recall it was Samsung....

but thanks for the recommendation.
i wanna setup dual monitor for my PC and gonna pair it with my old samsung xl2370.
one for gaming, another one for photo editing.

ok...not sure if i can ask this next question here...but how do one setup dual monitor on his pc? sweat.gif

my old samsung monitor is having hdmi input only....while my gc only has 1 hdmi output but 3 displayport output.
can i still setup a dual monitor using one hdmi, while another one displayport?
Why DELL? price, specs, and warranty service. the best, at least for me.
Samsung? low end use TN and mainstream use PLS. IMHO, I prefer IPS more than PLS. samsung most problem is, highest end model very very expensive for me.

yes, you can, current gc dual monitor sure no problem. some rich fag even go for triple or quad with their high end gc. old samsung can continue using HDMI. xl2370 for gaming still fine. but for photo editing, better get Dell UltraSharp. glossy monitor is big NO for photo editing.

now dell have many choices of UltraSharp model, starting from U2414H, U2415H, U2515H, etc...... depend on your budget and requirement.

djlah
post Feb 2 2015, 10:08 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Feb 2 2015, 09:49 AM)
Thinking of changing from triple 1920x1080 to 4k+ 2 1920x1080.. Any recommendations on budget 4k monitors? Maybe under 1.5k or so?
may consider add little bit budget and check for Dell P2815Q.
karwaidotnet
post Feb 2 2015, 10:27 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 2 2015, 09:56 AM)
Why DELL? price, specs, and warranty service. the best, at least for me.
Samsung? low end use TN and mainstream use PLS. IMHO, I prefer IPS more than PLS. samsung most problem is, highest end model very very expensive for me.
yes, you can, current gc dual monitor sure no problem. some rich fag even go for triple or quad with their high end gc. old samsung can continue using HDMI. xl2370 for gaming still fine. but for photo editing, better get Dell UltraSharp. glossy monitor is big NO for photo editing.

now dell have many choices of UltraSharp model, starting from U2414H, U2415H, U2515H, etc...... depend on your budget and requirement.
but from i google so far - glossy provides better display, whereas matte may sort of like dull the color...
just like how i experience between matte screen protector vs a glossy screen protector for my handphone. although glossy will be a magnetic fingerprint...but im have no reason to touch my monitor here..so...

but why u said glossy is a big NO for photo editing. i thought glossy cons is the reflection, which i would have it solved by sitting in a darkroom...

i mean whats not to love on the glossy screen (left matte, right glossy)

but i thought u mentioned glossy is good for movie...why not for photo editing...now im totally confuse... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Feb 2 2015, 10:31 AM
khaiandrew
post Feb 2 2015, 11:01 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 2 2015, 10:08 AM)
may consider add little bit budget and check for Dell P2815Q.
Heard there are problems with the 30Hz tho.. mouse lag etc
djlah
post Feb 2 2015, 11:06 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Feb 2 2015, 10:27 AM)
but from i google so far - glossy provides better display, whereas matte may sort of like dull the color...
just like how i experience between matte screen protector vs a glossy screen protector for my handphone. although glossy will be a magnetic fingerprint...but im have no reason to touch my monitor here..so...

but why u said glossy is a big NO for photo editing. i thought glossy cons is the reflection, which i would have it solved by sitting in a darkroom...

i mean whats not to love on the glossy screen (left matte, right glossy)

but i thought u mentioned glossy is good for movie...why not for photo editing...now im totally confuse... rclxub.gif
trues, last time matte screen is really dull the color. but not for today. recent line up, is some sort of semi-glossy. close to glossy beauty but still under matte categories. why glossy is not for photo editing? coz glossy coating is like "adding" or improve and crispy the display, and we will miss-judge the origin color of picture. this is my personal experience, the photo editing done on glossy monitor, very satisfied. but when move to friend's monitor and other display, complaint why my photo editing so doh.gif all color range gone...

yes, the best is we have matte screen for editing, once done, drag to glossy monitor to see again will be perfect. (left matte, right glossy)

that's correct, movie or gaming can take glossy screen, are still fine. why not for photo editing? take Dell monitor as example, glossy monitor like S2340L, the color gamut specs are low. professional at least get P series and best go for UltraSharp. which offer much better color gamut, more accuracy and standard of ARGB and sRGB.
djlah
post Feb 2 2015, 11:10 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Feb 2 2015, 11:01 AM)
other than gaming, that's not a serious issue. can't complaint much on entry level bro.....
what's your main usage?

SUSgogo2
post Feb 2 2015, 11:16 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 2 2015, 11:06 AM)
trues, last time matte screen is really dull the color. but not for today. recent line up, is some sort of semi-glossy. close to glossy beauty but still under matte categories. why glossy is not for photo editing? coz glossy coating is like  "adding" or improve and crispy the display, and we will miss-judge the origin color of picture. this is my personal experience, the photo editing done on glossy monitor, very satisfied. but when move to friend's monitor and other display, complaint why my photo editing so  doh.gif  all color range gone...
yes, the best is we have matte screen for editing, once done, drag to glossy monitor to see again will be perfect. (left matte, right glossy)
that's correct, movie or gaming can take glossy screen, are still fine. why not for photo editing? take Dell monitor as example,  glossy monitor like S2340L, the color gamut specs are low. professional at least get P series and best go for UltraSharp. which offer much better color gamut, more accuracy and standard of ARGB and sRGB.
Why don't you say that 1% of people in Malaysia use good IPS monitor to edit photo. But when display in 99% of Malaysia monitor, all color wash out.

So better buy non-IPS monitor so that it can be enjoy by 99% of monitor in Malaysia which is non-IPS. rclxms.gif
khaiandrew
post Feb 2 2015, 11:29 AM

Fuji <3
1,271 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 2 2015, 11:10 AM)
other than gaming, that's not a serious issue. can't complaint much on entry level bro.....
what's your main usage?
Surfing the net, and playing league, thinking of getting the Samsung U28D590D 4k monitor, any idea where I can get it?
karwaidotnet
post Feb 2 2015, 11:38 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 2 2015, 11:16 AM)
Why don't you say that 1% of people in Malaysia use good IPS monitor to edit photo. But when display in 99% of Malaysia monitor, all color wash out.

So better buy non-IPS monitor so that it can be enjoy by 99% of monitor in Malaysia which is non-IPS.  rclxms.gif
so true...i was just having that same thought as well....

even if i get the most expensive IPS monitor now and fully calibrate it to produce true to life colour...
but when export it out to the internet, it's gonna be view by non-ips viewer who may claim the color is meh... sad.gif

sigh...decision...decision...

anyway, im starting to catch up on the latest monitor tech and spec available and your explanation and recommendations has really help along the way djlah.
many thanks. notworthy.gif

now i need to look at my wallet, google, plan and decide... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by karwaidotnet: Feb 2 2015, 11:42 AM
karwaidotnet
post Feb 2 2015, 12:05 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 2 2015, 11:44 AM)
That why the guy above is talking rubbish. LOL...

Actually good monitor and good photo editing is meant to be enjoyed by one self only.  laugh.gif

If you want to do photo editing for other people, just use a lousy monitor and crank up the color in photo editor.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, just buy according to ur budget. But the most expensive one because you going to use it for your own entertainment and not for others.
no need to say like that...he's just expressing his own opinion...which i respect and appreciate it.

but thanks for your advice as well. will take note of it. smile.gif
akmalrosli
post Feb 2 2015, 12:40 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(khaiandrew @ Feb 2 2015, 11:01 AM)
Better off with the P2415Q. 24" 4K. 60Hz. IPS panel. 1.9k on the Dell's website.

172 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0187sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:16 PM