LCD Monitor Thread v13.

marfccy
post Aug 2 2014, 05:49 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 2 2014, 03:24 PM)
im using ATI Radeon, does it have any effect?
dont think so

the prob so far only for Nvidia cards

but can be fixed
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 2 2014, 11:42 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 2 2014, 05:49 PM)
dont think so

the prob so far only for Nvidia cards

but can be fixed
what problem? can elaborate?
marfccy
post Aug 2 2014, 11:44 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 2 2014, 11:42 PM)
what problem? can elaborate?
Nvidia have this problem where the full range of colours on HDMI and DP is not full 0-255 colours, but 16-235 colours that most TVs have

this will result in some 'washed out' look, bad for colour accuracy
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 2 2014, 11:48 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 2 2014, 11:44 PM)
Nvidia have this problem where the full range of colours on HDMI and DP is not full 0-255 colours, but 16-235 colours that most TVs have

this will result in some 'washed out' look, bad for colour accuracy

What's the best 16:10 monitor you recommend? Thinking of Dell Ultra sharp 2412m

Not sure whether there's any others available in Malaysia.
marfccy
post Aug 2 2014, 11:49 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 2 2014, 11:48 PM)

the problem has been ongoing for very long, yet Nvidia still havent fixed it doh.gif

as at this moment, best price to perf would be U2412M RM900+

there are others by Lenovo and HP, but i do not know the pricing
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 2 2014, 11:56 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 2 2014, 11:49 PM)
the problem has been ongoing for very long, yet Nvidia still havent fixed it doh.gif

as at this moment, best price to perf would be U2412M RM900+

there are others by Lenovo and HP, but i do not know the pricing
I see, so this U2412M still has problem with Nvidia graphic cards? All of them?
marfccy
post Aug 3 2014, 12:03 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 2 2014, 11:56 PM)
I see, so this U2412M still has problem with Nvidia graphic cards? All of them?
as long you dont use HDMI or Display Port connectors, youre fine (U2412 only have 1 VGA, DVI and DP)

there are ways to fix it though, manually

agewisdom
add-on:

An Nvidia GTX 780 was used on our test system and we tested both DisplayPort and HDMI – with interesting results. When using either DisplayPort or HDMI the GPU sent out the wrong colour signal (‘Limited Range RGB 16-235’ instead of ‘Full Range RGB 0-255’). This reduced gamma, skewed white point, hugely impacted contrast and simply gave everything a washed out look. We are quite used to seeing this with Nvidia GPUs connected via HDMI as that is their default behaviour – treat the connected device as an HDTV. But we aren’t used to seeing this over DisplayPort which is currently a PC-only output. We tested the ‘MiniDP’ port as well as the full sized DP port using both DP 1.1 and DP 1.2. The screenshot below shows that the native resolution of the monitor (1920 x 1080) is listed under ‘Ultra HD, HD, SD’ as ‘1080p, 1920 x 1080 (native)’ when connected by DisplayPort. This list of resolutions is designed for output in RGB 16-235 to devices such HDTVs.

This can be rectified for both DisplayPort and HDMI by creating a custom resolution with a 59.999Hz refresh rate. This will be treated by any application* as 60Hz but uses the correct Full Range RGB 0-255 colour signal. The process for setting this up is shown in the video below.

*Some games seem to ignore custom resolutions and will instead revert to using the default Limited Range RGB 16-235. That is why a preferred method for correcting the colour signal over HDMI is to use this utility. You just run the .exe file included in the .zip and click the button at the top right which is labelled ‘Set Full Range (0-255)’. You then simply restart your computer. You don’t have to re-run the tool every time the computer starts up, only if you ‘clean install’ a new graphics driver or replace your OS.

Unfortunately this utility doesn’t do anything to the DisplayPort signal. We only had one U2414H with us for testing, but suspect that running them in ‘Surround’ using the MST/Daisy Chain capability of the monitor will use the correct signal as well because the resolution used (5760 x 1080) is PC only. If not a solution would be to use HDMI ports (or DVI ports using a DVI to HDMI cable) on the GPU(s). We simply used the HDMI connection and the utility to correct the colour signal (universally – even for games that ignore custom resolutions) and the difference in gamma, colour depth and contrast compared to an uncorrected signal was remarkable. AMD GPU users don’t have to worry about this and should be able to use DisplayPort or HDMI quite happily.
sauce from one of the latest monitors
http://pcmonitors.info/reviews/dell-u2414h/
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 3 2014, 12:06 AM

729 posts

Thanks bro. Appreciate the advice. Got used to 16:10 aspect ratio, can't stand the ai-chai... 16:9 aspect ration monitors.
f5calvin
post Aug 3 2014, 03:00 AM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 2 2014, 11:48 PM)

i've read ppl saying the 2412m is using medium matte screen, where ur pictures may turn out a little grainish compared to newer matte screen ultrasharp models..
SSJBen
post Aug 3 2014, 04:13 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Regarding the HDMI/DP color issue on Nvidia cards, Nvidia did say they are targeting a fix for this by November this year, if not early 2015. This isn't official, but the source is from Nvidia's rep; ManuelG.

So yeah, this problem should have been fixed on the driver side since a long time ago. But at least there's some hope now for Nvidia users using HDMI/DP on monitors.
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 3 2014, 12:06 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 3 2014, 03:00 AM)
i've read ppl saying the 2412m is using medium matte screen, where ur pictures may turn out a little grainish compared to newer matte screen ultrasharp models..
Thanks for the input bro. Unfortunately, it seems if I want a 16:10 aspect ratio, choices are extremely limited.
miioox
post Aug 3 2014, 11:03 PM

hi,wan to ask how about samsung s24d390hl??
V3nz
post Aug 4 2014, 12:22 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

Can anyone recommend me any cheap IPS monitor? around 21-24" and rm500-600

i see there's this Dell S series IPS monitor, are they reliable? hmm.gif
skylinelover
post Aug 4 2014, 05:14 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 1 2014, 11:14 PM)
16:10 is better than 16:9?
haha yeah...i still not yet change monitors after 9 years laugh.gif because no more 16:10 already doh.gif

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 3 2014, 12:06 PM)
Thanks for the input bro. Unfortunately, it seems if I want a 16:10 aspect ratio, choices are extremely limited.
dang this stinks doh.gif rclxub.gif
f5calvin
post Aug 4 2014, 05:15 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Aug 4 2014, 12:22 PM)
Can anyone recommend me any cheap IPS monitor? around 21-24" and rm500-600

i see there's this Dell S series IPS monitor, are they reliable?  hmm.gif
if u dun mind the glossy surface, go ahead. they are be reminded s series only has ips on 21,23 and 27 inch. the 24 inch s series is not IPS.
note: if you use ur computer in ur room, where there's not much light or have thick curtains / blinds covering the window, then it's okay. i've a touchscreen laptop, glossy surface. Really annoying when using outdoor.
P2314H seems nt bad. Light matte surface. 600+ i think.
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 4 2014, 05:25 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 4 2014, 05:12 PM)
haha yeah...i still not yet change monitors after 9 years laugh.gif because no more 16:10 already doh.gif
16:9 aspect is like short and ugly ~ I call them the 'ai-chai', short squatty monitors laugh.gif
16:10 aspect is just nice, slim and proportionate biggrin.gif
f5calvin
post Aug 4 2014, 10:01 PM

starsssss
1,557 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 4 2014, 05:25 PM)
16:9 aspect is like short and ugly ~ I call them the 'ai-chai', short squatty monitors  laugh.gif
16:10 aspect is just nice, slim and proportionate biggrin.gif
Makes me wanna get a 16:10 monitor now.. bt currently no good n cheap one right? only u2412m?
piecez
post Aug 5 2014, 02:31 AM

30 posts

can someone recommend me any cheap IPS and matte screen? FHD resolution around 21-24 inch
SUSagewisdom
post Aug 5 2014, 09:47 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 4 2014, 10:01 PM)
Makes me wanna get a 16:10 monitor now.. bt currently no good n cheap one right? only u2412m?
Yep, there are very few models with 16:10 aspect ratio. Best one would probably be Dell. I think Asus, BenQ, HP and Dell have but don't think common in Malaysian market.

Yeah, it's kinda sad. That's why I'm still sticking to my trusted 2008 monitor until now. At least there's still the Dell one but that model is from 2012(?) and hasn't been refreshed, I think.
wildwestgoh
post Aug 5 2014, 09:52 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Aug 5 2014, 09:47 AM)
Yep, there are very few models with 16:10 aspect ratio. Best one would probably be Dell. I think Asus, BenQ, HP and Dell have but don't think common in Malaysian market.
There's not enough demand for them to bring it into Malaysia market, normal consumer has been brain washed by the known brands for their TVs and such, which is why making 16:10 such a niche products. I would really prefer 16:10 over 16:9 any time, but price and availability really makes me think twice about getting it. doh.gif

172 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:28 PM