Which brand carry lab grown diamond rings in Malaysia, those with physical store?
Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!
Sep 24 2022, 04:17 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,520 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Which brand carry lab grown diamond rings in Malaysia, those with physical store?
Sep 24 2022, 07:05 PM
76 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 24 2022, 04:17 PM) Love & co got some lab growns, but the cert I am not sure whether is IGI or not. SK jewelry, which is their parent company should have some too. You can find these 2 store brands in shopping centers.The other brand is Gordon Max. You can Google it up. I think iDo jewelry may also take in some lab grown, you can WhatsApp them and ask. ZCOVA also carry lab grown, but I am not sure whether they keep some ready stock or not. This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Sep 24 2022, 07:06 PM Human Nature liked this post
Sep 24 2022, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Sep 24 2022, 07:05 PM) Love & co got some lab growns, but the cert I am not sure whether is IGI or not. SK jewelry, which is their parent company should have some too. You can find these 2 store brands in shopping centers. Thanks, I have SK store near me, will go have a look and compare. I checked at Zcova website too, did some customatization but didnt proceed till final stage. A good pricing indicator, for me at least.The other brand is Gordon Max. You can Google it up. I think iDo jewelry may also take in some lab grown, you can WhatsApp them and ask. ZCOVA also carry lab grown, but I am not sure whether they keep some ready stock or not. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 24 2022, 10:42 PM |
Oct 2 2022, 12:23 PM
Anyone here has experience buying from DeGem via online/shipping? Is the lead time conforming to their stated time?
I brought my GF to look-see wedding bands at Poh Kong and also to get her ring size. After that we also self measure her finger circumference, diameter to check with the ring chart. First observation, there is a huge 4 size difference. Maybe our self measurement is not accurate enough. Second observation, most of the physical shops that I been (on my own), only carry small ring size for diamond rings, so will have to rework on the setting anyhow. |
Oct 2 2022, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 2 2022, 12:23 PM) Anyone here has experience buying from DeGem via online/shipping? Is the lead time conforming to their stated time? Based on the time estimate, I think is possible for them to send out in 3 weeks. DeGem online lets you choose the ring size accordingly as well. Since you visited Poh Kong, I think you can consider visiting DeGem as well to get the correct ring size.I brought my GF to look-see wedding bands at Poh Kong and also to get her ring size. After that we also self measure her finger circumference, diameter to check with the ring chart. First observation, there is a huge 4 size difference. Maybe our self measurement is not accurate enough. Second observation, most of the physical shops that I been (on my own), only carry small ring size for diamond rings, so will have to rework on the setting anyhow. |
Oct 2 2022, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 2 2022, 05:15 PM) Based on the time estimate, I think is possible for them to send out in 3 weeks. DeGem online lets you choose the ring size accordingly as well. Since you visited Poh Kong, I think you can consider visiting DeGem as well to get the correct ring size. There is no DeGem store here, but based on their customization tool, looks ok, within my budget and can pick the setting design and size. Later need to check if they follow the same sizing as Poh Kong. Else any alteration will have to send by post. I visited 3 poh kongs, 2 wah chans and 1 SK |
Oct 2 2022, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 2 2022, 05:32 PM) There is no DeGem store here, but based on their customization tool, looks ok, within my budget and can pick the setting design and size. Later need to check if they follow the same sizing as Poh Kong. Else any alteration will have to send by post. I visited 3 poh kongs, 2 wah chans and 1 SK Try and see if there is Diamond & Platinum, they belong to the same group of companies. Human Nature liked this post
Oct 3 2022, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 2 2022, 11:01 PM) Interesting, I see that they carry the same diamonds in their website but Diamond & Platinum has a slightly cheaper setting. In one of your old post, you meantioned about depth max 62% and table frrom 55-58% for a decent diamond. This refers to the cut. Would you pick VG but with none flourescent, or EX with a medium blue one. Both colour is J. I would assume that EX is prefered over VG in this case becauce Cut is one of the big 4C, while flourescent is not. Or am I misguided here? Thank you. What are your thoughts on micro pave halo setting? For a small carat diamond, it does make the apppearance look bigger. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 3 2022, 05:45 PM |
Oct 4 2022, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 3 2022, 01:03 AM) Interesting, I see that they carry the same diamonds in their website but Diamond & Platinum has a slightly cheaper setting. The old post is based on WhiteFlash parameters for their ACA diamonds. In reality, different brands will have slightly different parameters. Personally, I don't mind a diamond that go above 62% depth, but not too far apart. Same goes for the table percentage of the diamond.In one of your old post, you meantioned about depth max 62% and table frrom 55-58% for a decent diamond. This refers to the cut. Would you pick VG but with none flourescent, or EX with a medium blue one. Both colour is J. I would assume that EX is prefered over VG in this case becauce Cut is one of the big 4C, while flourescent is not. Or am I misguided here? Thank you. What are your thoughts on micro pave halo setting? For a small carat diamond, it does make the apppearance look bigger. As for VG vs EX, I will go with EX as that is one of the main requirements for a good diamond. Fluorescence is alright as long as it doesn't affect the overall appearance of the diamond... Internet source says it may have a chance to make a diamond looks milky, but in reality, we have to see case-by-case basis. So if someone tells you that EX is more important compared to fluorescence, I don't think you are being misguided IMO. Micro pave halo setting to me looks elegant, but the wearer probably need to dress up abit to match it, at least that's what i think. For a wedding ring, it seems suitable because the bridge will most likely dress up nicely in a wedding dress. For day-to-day basis, I prefer non-halo. Halo does make the overall appearance looks bigger. This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Oct 4 2022, 09:39 AM Human Nature liked this post
Oct 4 2022, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 4 2022, 09:38 AM) The old post is based on WhiteFlash parameters for their ACA diamonds. In reality, different brands will have slightly different parameters. Personally, I don't mind a diamond that go above 62% depth, but not too far apart. Same goes for the table percentage of the diamond. Thank you, the last paragraph is so insighful and made me realize that is so true. Most websites didn't touch on the practical and 'occasion' aspect of the halo setting.As for VG vs EX, I will go with EX as that is one of the main requirements for a good diamond. Fluorescence is alright as long as it doesn't affect the overall appearance of the diamond... Internet source says it may have a chance to make a diamond looks milky, but in reality, we have to see case-by-case basis. So if someone tells you that EX is more important compared to fluorescence, I don't think you are being misguided IMO. Micro pave halo setting to me looks elegant, but the wearer probably need to dress up abit to match it, at least that's what i think. For a wedding ring, it seems suitable because the bridge will most likely dress up nicely in a wedding dress. For day-to-day basis, I prefer non-halo. Halo does make the overall appearance looks bigger. |
Oct 10 2022, 08:42 PM
Just to update that I finally ordered the ring from DeGem This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 10 2022, 08:42 PM kambingkoh liked this post
Oct 30 2022, 12:44 AM
42 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 31 2022, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(niamapunksai @ Oct 30 2022, 12:44 AM) Hi all sifu here, Looks nice. But I will say the price is a bit expensive. Comparing to a typical GIA 0.3 F VVS2 Non Florescence with side diamonds in platinum from ZCOVA, the price will more or less be around RM 6200. I am just choosing a random diamond without look into the specs too much because typically 4Cs are the main attributes that determine the price. Then again, sometimes some diamonds with higher cut precision (better hearts and arrows overall) will be slightly more expensive from supplier (if my memory serves me right), albeit nothing too drastic. The jeweler may also mark up the price a little if the hearts and arrows is good.This diamond ring from Diamond & Platinum (Estralla) caught my eye. It comes with IGI cert and Sarine Light Performance Report. 1 piece of 0.3 ct 16 pieces of 0.04 ct 3 ex F colour VVS2 IGI Cert No. : 537233868 It cost RM8k inclusive of the platinum ring, is it a good buy? ![]() ![]() Now, if we compare against WhiteFlash, https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link), this cost USD 922 (wire transfer), which converts to RM 4,387.99 on Wise (https://wise.com/my/). Assuming the price for the ring setting is also same as ZCOVA, which is RM 3150, your total will be RM 7537.99, slightly cheaper than Diamond and Platinum, one color grade higher, but more footwork for you (finding jeweler and getting it set to a ring). There is also another F VVS2 from WhiteFlash, but the price difference is quite minimal, so we just assume the price is more or less the same. I do provide setting service for people that buy diamonds from WhiteFlash, and I think I can do with RM 3150 as well for a ring that is somewhat similar (not inclusive diamond). WhiteFlash is graded by AGS so you can compare this with DeGem's Brilliant C if you want to "look and feel" of something graded by AGS. Just visit DeGem (which is btw, the sister company of Diamond and Platinum). Overall, IMO, I think that the price is slightly on the expensive side, but if you think that it is compatible with those that sell high precision diamonds, like WhiteFlash, then I think the price differences is acceptable. If you want to compare against a generic GIA diamond an custom made into a ring setting, then I think the price is not that worth it. 1.8k difference is quite substantial to me. So, try to digest and make a decision that is best for both of you. Good luck. niamapunksai liked this post
Nov 2 2022, 03:07 PM
1,264 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
Hi Kambingkoh sifu
I see you use whiteflash when checking out the diamond . Issit more cheaper to buy from whiteflash and do setting locally ? For setting which place is recommended ? |
Nov 4 2022, 11:06 AM
Probation
11 posts Joined: Sep 2021 |
QUOTE(niamapunksai @ Oct 30 2022, 12:44 AM) Hi all sifu here, I am familiar with Estrella so I think i can give you some input here This diamond ring from Diamond & Platinum (Estralla) caught my eye. It comes with IGI cert and Sarine Light Performance Report. 1 piece of 0.3 ct 16 pieces of 0.04 ct 3 ex F colour VVS2 IGI Cert No. : 537233868 It cost RM8k inclusive of the platinum ring, is it a good buy? ![]() Estrella Diamond is a super ideal cut diamond, meaning the diamond is cut to the ultimate best proportion and has very perfect hearts and arrows. All of them come with ultimate 3 star grading from Sarine report (most reputable light performance lab) to prove what they claim. To achieve ultimate 3 star, they have to get the highest score for all criteria (brilliance, fire, scintillation and light symmetry). That is already like reaching top notch in terms of cut quality. You can't get any better than that. Hence it is only fair if you compare Estrella with Whiteflash's price (mentioned by Sifu Kambing). I have seen a Whiteflash too, which is also a super ideal cut, I would say both qualities are on par. If you want to compare with generic GIA diamond, Diamod & Platinum also offers normal GIA diamond. You can check them in their website. Currently i see that they are offering 0.3 carat F VVS2 3EX None at RM2,900. Inlcuding a platinum pave setting of RM2,000+, probably cost around RMRM5,000? |
Nov 5 2022, 07:47 PM
218 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Hi, has anyone ordered lab grown diamonds from Ritani before? I find their lab grown diamonds very affordable, plan to order it from them then get the ring settings here in Malaysia
Nov 8 2022, 11:02 AM
Probation
11 posts Joined: Sep 2021 |
QUOTE(jasperng @ Nov 2 2022, 03:07 PM) Hi Kambingkoh sifu Whiteflash is a super ideal cut company. The prices will be more expensive by 20 to 40% compared to generic GIA diamond as super ideal cut requires carat weight to be sacrificed for a better shine. I see you use whiteflash when checking out the diamond . Issit more cheaper to buy from whiteflash and do setting locally ? For setting which place is recommended ? If you are aiming for top quality diamond then it makes sense to look at super ideal cut. But if you are not very particular and just want a diamond ring, then you should just go for GIA diamond. Actually there is always this misconception that buying diamond overseas will be cheaper. In fact, the local jewellers (those with GIA listing online) are now very competitive that even the biggest US online player, Blue Nile is not that cheap. For example a GIA 0.3 carat H VS2 3EX None with starting price of 18k setting:- Baemont : RM2,069 + RM1,399 (setting starting price) = RM3,468 Diamond & Platinum : RM2,170 + RM900 (setting starting price) = RM3,070 Lavin New York : RM4,050 (inclusive of simple setting) Zcova : RM2,180 + RM1,650 (setting starting price) = RM3,830 Michael Trio (Singapore) : RM2,274 + RM1,584 (setting starting price) = RM3,858 Blue Nile : USD 421+ USD 600 (setting starting price) = RM4,850 *Very important to look at setting price too as some will charge cheap for diamond but high for setting (ie Blue Nile). Of course, this is a simple search based on 4Cs, without taking into account the type or location of inclusion, the actual proportion etc. But you get the idea. All of them is cheaper than Blue Nile. |
Nov 8 2022, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(jasperng @ Nov 2 2022, 03:07 PM) Hi Kambingkoh sifu You can try ask boa jewels, Ido jewellery, ZCOVA, or probably even Lazo.I see you use whiteflash when checking out the diamond . Issit more cheaper to buy from whiteflash and do setting locally ? For setting which place is recommended ? I also do ring settings for some WhiteFlash customers. |
Nov 9 2022, 09:52 AM
1,264 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Melhere @ Nov 8 2022, 11:02 AM) Whiteflash is a super ideal cut company. The prices will be more expensive by 20 to 40% compared to generic GIA diamond as super ideal cut requires carat weight to be sacrificed for a better shine. thanks for the clear explanation. Now i know how to compare. If you are aiming for top quality diamond then it makes sense to look at super ideal cut. But if you are not very particular and just want a diamond ring, then you should just go for GIA diamond. Actually there is always this misconception that buying diamond overseas will be cheaper. In fact, the local jewellers (those with GIA listing online) are now very competitive that even the biggest US online player, Blue Nile is not that cheap. For example a GIA 0.3 carat H VS2 3EX None with starting price of 18k setting:- Baemont : RM2,069 + RM1,399 (setting starting price) = RM3,468 Diamond & Platinum : RM2,170 + RM900 (setting starting price) = RM3,070 Lavin New York : RM4,050 (inclusive of simple setting) Zcova : RM2,180 + RM1,650 (setting starting price) = RM3,830 Michael Trio (Singapore) : RM2,274 + RM1,584 (setting starting price) = RM3,858 Blue Nile : USD 421+ USD 600 (setting starting price) = RM4,850 *Very important to look at setting price too as some will charge cheap for diamond but high for setting (ie Blue Nile). Of course, this is a simple search based on 4Cs, without taking into account the type or location of inclusion, the actual proportion etc. But you get the idea. All of them is cheaper than Blue Nile. Even singapore company seems to be competitive however we need to include shipping fee. QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Nov 8 2022, 07:44 PM) You can try ask boa jewels, Ido jewellery, ZCOVA, or probably even Lazo. Thanks for recommendation!I also do ring settings for some WhiteFlash customers. |
Nov 9 2022, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(VonGoLaDeciMo @ Nov 5 2022, 07:47 PM) Hi, has anyone ordered lab grown diamonds from Ritani before? I find their lab grown diamonds very affordable, plan to order it from them then get the ring settings here in Malaysia You can compare the price between them and what you can find here. Some Malaysia jewelers are carrying lab-grown too and might connect to the same supplier. |
| Change to: | 0.0360sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:41 AM |