Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

jasperng
post Oct 24 2018, 10:43 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Hi I'm looking for wedding band particularly eternity band.

I went to radiance jewellery, Audrey's, le lumiere and love and co.

They pretty much offer similar design. Any recommended where I should be getting my wedding band ?

Is Audrey's trustable ? They seems to offer the cheapest price so far. They told me they import from HOng Kong and even told me they can copy design of high brand such Tiffany and co , cartier too.

Love and co design wise seems better.

Abit confused where should I get it as I know there's no certification for the diamond in eternity band as the carat is too small. This means every shop seems the same and I'm not sure should I go for the cheapest one which is offered by Audrey's
Below is the band
https://www.audreys.com.my/18k-white-gold-diamond-band.html

As for radiance jewellery at bangsar, I went there because their google review is like super high , although I'm abit doubtful if all the reviews are real. Anyone got experiences with them ?

jasperng
post Oct 24 2018, 11:16 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

As for men wedding band, i think i will go for classic design comfort fit, I got quoted by Audrey's which costs about rm 2900 (4.5mm) 18k white gold
https://www.audreys.com.my/wedding-band-for-him-10.html

However it seems much cheaper offered by whiteflash
About usd 325 for comfort fit 4mm 14k white gold
https://www.whiteflash.com/wedding-rings/co...g-band-1189.htm

Not sure how much it would cost after adding tax and shipping but I think it will still cheaper than the one quoted locally by Audrey.

Any advice if I should get my men wedding band from oversea?

This post has been edited by jasperng: Oct 24 2018, 11:16 PM
jasperng
post Oct 25 2018, 09:28 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 25 2018, 10:34 AM)
The small diamonds on the wedding bands are known as melee diamonds. Though no cert, but if the diamonds are cut to tight proportions and high optical precision, it will perform well. I find that a lot of jewellers do not focus much on melee diamonds. A jeweler told me that their melee is well-cut, but upon examination, that is not the case. What I can say is that these melee diamonds will look white on the band, but may lack the colour sparkle. My wife had a Brian Gavin ear ring with 0.02ct melees. I melted that ear ring and made into a ring. The effect looks good. The side diamonds on another ring looks plain when compare side-by-side. Eternity bands from Brian Gavin and WhiteFlash don't come cheap though.

TailoredJewel is offering wedding bands from Hong Kong too. Price looks pretty good. https://www.tailoredjewel.com/shop/timeless...me-ring-5-00mm/. Not sure whether is comfort fit or not.

As for comparison with the 14k white gold from WhiteFlash, I got that one in rose gold. Very nice workmanship. Comfort fit is decent. Weight is not bad. Havent got time to write about it. I bought it before SST is back. I only know loose diamonds do not have tax now, not sure about rings. Anyway, you are comparing 14k gold to 18k gold, in other words comparing 58.5% gold against 75% gold. Naturally 18k gold will be more expensive. But I still think RM 2900 is too expensive IMO because I can already buy 2 14k gold rings from WhiteFlash. Another thing you have to know is the rings are produced by Benchmark not WhiteFlash. Benchmark is a long-standing jeweller in US and WhiteFlash is the reseller. You can find Benchmark rings from other places as well, such as Amazon, but WhiteFlash offers pretty good price. If you are considering melee diamonds, remember to choose WhiteFlash as the designer. That way you can ensure the melee are ACA melee.

Now here comes my affiliate work:
For example, this one looks nice:
https://www.whiteflash.com/wedding-rings/ha...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). Again, I am not sure whether is comfort fit or not, but it is one of the best sellers. They are also some more options, such as this one:
https://www.whiteflash.com/wedding-rings/pe...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). Compare to the one above, the stones on this one are lesser but the individual stones are slightly bigger it seems. I just use total carat weight divide by number of diamonds, but the colour is slightly lower.

These are not full eternity, but personally would use this for comparison because I am interested in the diamonds more despite they are melee. They also have full eterntiy with 0.04ct each, such as this one:
https://www.whiteflash.com/wedding-rings/di...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). Price? Crazy for standard Malaysians.

Also, remember that US size and our local size is different. So make sure you choose the ring size by converting it accordingly. You can find the conversion chart online.

Let me know if you have other questions, I will try my best to answer you, can be from any vendors, not necessarily those I affiliate with. If you want to have a look at my ring, PM me your email and I will try to capture some photos tonight.

Thanks for your information. You mentioned you bought the benchmark comfort fit classic design for wedding band for men. I want to ask about us sizing compared to the sizing that we measured in malaysia, is our sizing considered the sizing for china in whiteflash conversion table ? I know that my ring size which I measure at jewellery shop in malaysia is 16.

As for eternity band , I don't pay much attention on the melee jewel that you mentioned as it is small jewels anyway. It has no certificates. From what I heard they usually use at best F/G VS . Normally they would use G/H VS. It's so small that naked eyes can't really see the different . That said, I do realise as you mentioned whiteflash seems to offer expensive eternity band as compared to what I can get locally. Love and co eternity band costs about 3800-4000 for 0.2 carat eternity band.

Hence I'm thinking maybe I should get my men comfort fit classic wedding band from whiteflash as it cheaper than what I can get from malaysia. As for women eternity band I can get it locally. Do you think his arrangement is ok? I'm thinking to get the eternity bandnfrom. Audrey as theirs cost about 2200-2300 for half eternity band. Are they trustable ?

As for the classic comfort fit men wedding band, is benchmark the only producer at whiteflash?

jasperng
post Oct 25 2018, 09:37 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

To add on I just had a look at tailor jewel, their price seems similar to Audrey's . Maybe because both of them also getting from Hong Kong for their rings.

Just wondering which one more reliable

jasperng
post Oct 27 2018, 03:09 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Thank you very much for your recommend I will take take note on it.
jasperng
post Nov 24 2018, 09:30 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(Chrizalix @ Nov 18 2018, 11:56 PM)
After reading this thread for like countless times lately. I would really want to thanks kambingkoh for sharing his knowledge. I've bought a diamond ring from love&co last year, I thought I wanted to get one ring for my gf without any research prior to the purchased. I've spent close to 7k for a 0.3ct ring that I kinda like but wasn't up to my standard (Impulsive purchase, i know). Well, bad shit happened and I didn't manage to propose to my gf last year.

So quick forward to 2018, After knowing this year is the right time to go for the proposal. I was kinda struggled not knowing what to do with my existing ring after a year later. Well, turn out I dont quite like the setting although the diamond is pretty good. So, I give a call to LnC and they told me they don't do any remounting, or even a change of setting will take up to 3 months. Yes, the after sales service wasn't that pleasant and they weren't being friendly to me either (probably I was wearing T shirt and shorts). Indeed, I was disappointed not knowing what to do standing outside the retail at the Gardens. It was my mistake but I just can't give a ring that don't quite up to my standard to my soon-to-be wife. You can call me picky.

Anyway, after reading some of the recommendations from Kambingkoh, I decided to put more efforts to study about diamonds, GIA reports, 3EX cuts, clarity, pavilion angles and etc. After knowing all this, I just move on and decided to get a new one (Not from retail anymore after the LnC bad experience) So, I took a gamble and get a new diamond ring from Memory. At first I thought of changing the setting which memory could do as well. But, after much consideration, I decided to buy a new diamond and just leave the existing ring aside. I got myself a 0.5ct, purely based on GIA info, HCA, and the expert advise from KY. Turn out, just after 2 weeks, my ring is ready. Their service is top notch, and everything is done within 2 weeks! Just to share, LnC took me almost 1.5 - 2 months for the entire process.

I just got the new ring last week and all I can say it is freaking goooood. I just can't stop smiling while looking at it. The setting is brilliant, the diamond is excellent. The moment I get it, I know i've hit the right one!

What I want to share is that, somehow before knowing all these bits of knowledge, I always thought retails like Tiff, Love N Co, de Gem are the best place to go. Well, I don't deny that they have really nice setting, good grade diamonds. But from what I've experienced so far, I think it is time to give more credits to the local jewellery sellers. The price is definitely more affordable and IMO service is also better.

If you guys are looking for a diamond ring, do read up Kambingkoh's replies and feel free to consider online/local sellers.
Can I confirm with you that , are you referring to memory jewellery for the new ring that you got ?

I tried to call their number at their website , however I didn't manage to contact them. It makes me wonder if they are in business. Can you share how to contact them?

jasperng
post Nov 24 2018, 09:37 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Another question I have is , is there any standard for comfort fit in the industry? I had bad experience where sales person convince me that there is the standard for comfort fit but when the product was produced, it didn't meet my expectation of comfort fit. I googled about comfort fit and found out that comfort fit has like a half dome that reduces the surface of the ring touching my finger. Hence it creates the feeling as if you are not wearing any ring on your finger.
jasperng
post Nov 2 2022, 03:07 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Hi Kambingkoh sifu

I see you use whiteflash when checking out the diamond . Issit more cheaper to buy from whiteflash and do setting locally ? For setting which place is recommended ?

jasperng
post Nov 9 2022, 09:52 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(Melhere @ Nov 8 2022, 11:02 AM)
Whiteflash is a super ideal cut company. The prices will be more expensive by 20 to 40% compared to generic GIA diamond as super ideal cut requires carat weight to be sacrificed for a better shine. 

If you are aiming for top quality diamond then it makes sense to look at super ideal cut. But if you are not very particular and just want a diamond ring, then you should just go for GIA diamond.
Actually there is always this misconception that buying diamond overseas will be cheaper. In fact, the local jewellers (those with GIA listing online) are now very competitive that even the biggest US online player, Blue Nile is not that cheap.

For example a GIA 0.3 carat H VS2 3EX None with starting price of 18k setting:-

Baemont                      : RM2,069 + RM1,399 (setting starting price) = RM3,468
Diamond & Platinum      : RM2,170 + RM900 (setting starting price) = RM3,070
Lavin New York              : RM4,050 (inclusive of simple setting)
Zcova                          : RM2,180 + RM1,650 (setting starting price) = RM3,830
Michael Trio (Singapore) : RM2,274 + RM1,584 (setting starting price) = RM3,858
Blue Nile                      : USD 421+ USD 600 (setting starting price) = RM4,850

*Very important to look at setting price too as some will charge cheap for diamond but high for setting (ie Blue Nile).

Of course, this is a simple search based on 4Cs, without taking into account the type or location of inclusion, the actual proportion etc. But you get the idea. All of them is cheaper than Blue Nile.
thanks for the clear explanation. Now i know how to compare.

Even singapore company seems to be competitive however we need to include shipping fee.

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Nov 8 2022, 07:44 PM)
You can try ask boa jewels, Ido jewellery, ZCOVA, or probably even Lazo.

I also do ring settings for some WhiteFlash customers.
Thanks for recommendation!

jasperng
post Feb 4 2023, 12:05 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Hi i visited lavin . It seems their price fluctuates a lot. After few days I visited them the price can drop by 300-400 . They claim due to new stock lower fx rate. I compared their diamond with zcova they said zcova doesn’t not keep stock hence they price might be lower now because fx rate is lower.

Anyway I saw this diamond seems not bad as it doesn’t have feather in clarity. Currently priced at rm3800. Any advice ?

https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=2436916357

jasperng
post Feb 28 2023, 05:34 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Feb 6 2023, 01:03 AM)
I think expert will tell you the pavilion angle is too steep, I think this one is better :

https://zcova.com/mined-diamond/selected-di...8?start=diamond

this has the perfect CA/PA and not much inclusion
what pavillion angle should i be looking at that is acceptable ?

i couldnt view the zcova diamond link. any GIA number ?
jasperng
post Mar 1 2023, 09:35 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Feb 28 2023, 10:42 PM)
it was sold, that's why you couldn't view it.

For reference , see attached

thanks for this table ! so i should be looking for balanced , around 41 degree. any other particularly data i should also look at ?

if the HCA calculator unable to detect GIA that i put , i need to manually put in the data myself ?

If i buy diamond locally, issit recommended to look at zcova ? any other recommended provider ?

jasperng
post Mar 2 2023, 10:08 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 2 2023, 02:38 AM)
Best is all round tolkowsky proportions, it will be premium price, I prefer more firey. If you have a budget, best bang for buck per carat is j si1. if you have more dough g or h vs2 should be more than enough for us regular consumer. of course if you want the best then d or e vvs1 will be the best of the best, but vvs is kinda overkill especially for diamond below
1 carat. if you have a budget and carat size preference , I can give you some suggestions

for hca, it will work if you enter the gia number, if not then you have to enter manually , you only have 3 free checks, after that you have to subscribe to it for more checks.

zcova, Audrey's, TheGemTribe , wah chan, lazo, diamond and platinum you can try. if you are not in a hurry best to try whiteflash and get their a cut above ACA diamond, good luck bro!
Noted on the proportion

Budget RM 4k-5k for diamond i think with this budget only can get 0.4 carat . 0.5 carat all 7k above it seems. I seems to prefer color over clarity. i think VS2 is good enuff for clarity as naked eyes cant see much anyway.
Do recommend if you have recommendations!

How long will whiteflash purchase takes ? as i read, many do not setting if we didnt buy diamond from them. what would be our options for setting ?

Further more, wanna know is the price cheaper for those ruby, saphhire or non round shape diamond ? i feel ruby / bllue diamond looks much cooler than standard round diamond.

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 2 2023, 10:17 AM
jasperng
post Mar 3 2023, 03:18 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 2 2023, 02:57 PM)
Yes you have to do bring the diamond to do the setting, I know zcova and thegemtribe do it.

Kambingkoh can advise on the delivery time from whiteflash, I think probably 1 to 2 weeks

If you want ruby, or sapphire, then i think you better go thegemtribe and ask them, they should be able to help you.

I thinhk you can consider the below :

https://zcova.com/mined-diamond/selected-di...8?start=diamond - IMHO this one bang for buck, it's LUMOS guaranteed brilliance - it's a new diamond graded, the inclusion is prongable plus not dark, faint fluor hence it's cheaper... it will look bigger than its size, you can check HCA, plus you can do installment lol

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/0...ut-sku-a4555961

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/0...ut-sku-a4557710

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/0...cut-sku-4538726

Setting will cost you 1.5 to 2k...

Thanks for the recommendation.

what makes you think highly of the zcova diamond ?
I can see the crown able and pavillion meets the all round criteria. May i know how do you check inclusion from the GIA report ?  Issit from the Clarity charateristic ? What is Crystal, feather which i have seen from other GIA report. Which is acceptable  and which is not?

White flash diamond seems good but due to conversion. it appear to be pricey than thosei n zcova, or even lavin

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 2 2023, 04:00 PM)
Coloured gem stones price can vary also, I am not familiar in those, but rule of thumb is, if the colour or intensity of the colour is rare, price is higher. All these precious gems and stones are usually priced based on rarity. For example natural type 2a diamonds are very rare. Pink diamonds are very rare too. So those command a higher price.

WhiteFlash delivery is usually within a week. If you pay on Monday, you probably can get it by Thursday or Friday. They use FedEx International Priority based on my last experience. Shipping is fully insured.

Other gem stones are not as strongest as diamond on the mohs scale. Diamond is the strongest. That being say, they are not that fragile, but just execute extra precautions when wearing them.

Non-round brilliant diamonds are usually cheaper by price per carat. Based on my understanding, this should be quite true as far as standard non-round brilliants, such as Princess Cut is considere. However, jeweler special cut or proprietary cut are usually more expensive, for instance, Jann Paul's Decagon. Also, you may also want to see from which jeweler you are buying the stone from, different jeweler will have different pricing too.
Wow delivery is fast ! 1 week. will there be any custom issue from your exp. I think i beeter go with diamond . Gem stone probably suitable for anniversary etc.

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 3 2023, 02:27 AM)
wow someone sniped the zcova diamond lol, I hope it's you bro jasperng 😁
haha it's not me. i just saw your post.
I think it is still available right ? i thought FLUORESCENCE should be none so it wont have any reaction. any implication if it's faint ?

What do you think about this diamond ?
https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=6432423816

D VS2 0.42c
table 59%
Crown Angle 34
Pavillion 40.8 ( All round spec)
Excellent cuts
Fluorescense None
Clarity Characteristics
Crystal, Feather
Any other criterias to look at ?

Price is RM 4475.00

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 3 2023, 03:26 PM
jasperng
post Mar 9 2023, 11:47 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 3 2023, 09:26 PM)
eh you are right, it is still available, this is the report , dated Feb 22, 2023 very very new

https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=5453884418

I like zcova because it's all in one, less hassle, comparable pricing and best is I can do installment lol

whiteflash one word ACA - A CUT ABOVE - oops that's 3 words lol, their upgrade policy is one of the best, plus they have been around forever...

https://www.whiteflash.com/a-cut-above-diamonds/

fluor is bang for buck, I got a strong blue and under most lighting condition, you don't even know it

based on stats, it looks very good, if table is 57%, it'll be perfect, but have to see if the inclusion is dark or not, if it's white then it's all good, Correct clarity characteristic, avoid any reports that's say "Clarity grade is based on xx that are not shown,", other than that, it should be fine. as long as you are able to view the diamond video in 360 degree then you be able to tell. for me, if you are buying vs2 diamond and the size is below 1crt, you are pretty safe with any characteristics.
noted on ZCOVA and whiteflash

Thanks for your comment on the GIA i shared. Im still comparing price and value now. thanks for your inputs now i know what to look at .
jasperng
post Mar 10 2023, 12:36 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 9 2023, 03:31 PM)
No problem, if not urgent, just take your time and survey, I took more than 2 months to survey and did my due diligence, finally bought the diamond, my wife super like the diamond! It was an expensive 20th anniversary though lol

btw, someone grabbed the ZCOVA diamond already, not surpirsed coz I feel it's a good diamond plus it has GemEX certification too.... if I have a GF, I may buy that for her lmao....

You can also try MichaelTrio, just notice they have upgrade policy too... which is excellent if you want to upgrade in the future.
any other diamond caught your eye ? haha

Whats GemEX certificvation ? issit more highly regarded than GIA ?
jasperng
post Mar 13 2023, 05:45 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 10 2023, 05:03 PM)
Read here, it's on top of GIA :

https://gemex.com/certified-diamonds/certificate/

ZCOVA LUMOS selection diamond has both certification, GIA and GemEx

These looks good too but best ask the gemologist, they will find the best for you based on your budget :

https://zcova.com/mined-diamond/selected-di...0?start=diamond

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/0...ut-sku-a4555958

https://zcova.com/mined-diamond/selected-di...7?start=diamond

The 0.46 diamond is now back available... I think the buyer put on hold the diamond and now released back
oh cool noted ! on GEMEX

sure let me have a look what you listed. Thx
jasperng
post Mar 21 2023, 04:34 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 19 2023, 02:09 AM)
the green dot should be in between the red and blue line.
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 19 2023, 02:44 AM)
Basically don't buy diamonds with most arrows blurred out.

Buy diamonds that look like this:

Proportions wise, try not to go beyond 41.2 for pavilion angle for round brilliant, better chance on landing good diamonds.

For the clear arrows sample above, I use 56% table, 34.5 crown angle, and 40.8 pavilion angle. the crown angle and pavilion angle pairing is closest to the famous Tolkowsky proportions.
Thanks for the information. Good learning. i am focusing to look at this spec
Table 55-58%
Crown angle 34-36
Pavillion angle 40.6-40.8

Plus i learnt i need to look at the arrow with naked eye. If blur then move on.

QUOTE(entaro @ Mar 19 2023, 07:42 PM)
the settings depend on usage, if you wear it daily preferably with cathedral support or hidden setting. if it's worn once in a while then you won't go wrong with classic solitaire whether 4 or 6 prongs, most importantly is your other half preference.

Best is this, get a loaner or temporary setting, then after successful proposal or as a gift, then bring your partner to the showroom for her to select settings.

btw, you asked about lab grown , it is value for money but no resell value , for 5k you can get a very nice 1carat diamond. It's still a diamond, just not mined and thousand of years old lol

Good luck bro!
agreed to use loan or temporary setting , less headache. lol

as for mined diamond, will there still be resell value if it is installed in a setting ?

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 21 2023, 06:11 PM
jasperng
post Mar 21 2023, 04:40 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

The guide says
"The best cut diamonds will sit in the intersection between GIA Excellent and AGS Ideal."

Does it mean the green dot should be at the crossing point of red and blue line ?

I tried

Spec 1 Table 36 Crown angle 34.5 Pavillion angle 40.8 - Green dot in the middle of red and blue line area.

Spec 2 Table 36 Crown angle 34.5 Pavillion angle 40.6 - Green dot is at the crossing of red and blue line.

Which one is the ideal one ? Spec 2 ?

it seems to me 40.6 pic looks clearer.

another spec which i can see green dot at the crossing of Blue and red line will be Table 56 Crown 36 Pavillion 40.6

i tried changing the table % it appears the position green dot remain just the shape of red and blue line changes. does the shape of the red and blue line matter ?

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 21 2023, 05:13 PM
jasperng
post Mar 23 2023, 08:41 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Oic thanks both for your inputs

Can get opinion on this diamond ?

0.42c D VS2
Crown angle 35 pavillion 40.6 table 57%

https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=7413922317

Second diamond