QUOTE(Hanapi-ap @ Aug 19 2022, 12:57 PM)
Usually not easy. I saw people tried in caurosell, not sure success rate.You can try and see if the shop got trade-in policy. Trade it for some item that can resell, maybe gold bar or something.
Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!
Aug 19 2022, 01:18 PM
76 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Hanapi-ap @ Aug 19 2022, 12:57 PM) Usually not easy. I saw people tried in caurosell, not sure success rate.You can try and see if the shop got trade-in policy. Trade it for some item that can resell, maybe gold bar or something. |
Aug 19 2022, 02:06 PM
25 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
Aug 20 2022, 05:49 PM
72 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
Hi sifu-sifu sekalian,
Any feedback on these diamonds: https://www.igi.org/reports/verify-your-report?r=530208791 https://www.igi.org/reports/verify-your-report?r=520282984 Which one do you think is better? They are about the same price Thanks in advance. |
Aug 20 2022, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(ebayer @ Aug 20 2022, 05:49 PM) Hi sifu-sifu sekalian, I like the proppotions of the E SI1 more.Any feedback on these diamonds: https://www.igi.org/reports/verify-your-report?r=530208791 https://www.igi.org/reports/verify-your-report?r=520282984 Which one do you think is better? They are about the same price Thanks in advance. |
Aug 29 2022, 11:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
676 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
https://gia.degemdiamond.com/gia/VSHIL036
Is this ok? How do I know whether it is lab grown or natural? Budget 10-15k. Any other options (0.4-0.5)? How about estrella? I prefer platinum. Is it better than white gold? This post has been edited by axn992: Aug 30 2022, 12:01 AM |
Aug 30 2022, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(axn992 @ Aug 29 2022, 11:57 PM) https://gia.degemdiamond.com/gia/VSHIL036 I checked the hearts and arrows image, definitely not 100% hearts and arrows. However the proportions are decent enough. In real life you may not noticed too much difference I supposed if the diamond is cut to a better level of cut quality. Estrella may be better since they brand it as hearts and arrows, but the price should be higher too. For a virtual diamond and DeGem (brick-and-mortar) backing it up, I will say the diamond you asked has a fair price. Do note that this diamond has Faint fluorescence, which is actually nothing significant at this level, just that it is one of the factors that make the diamond price lower.Is this ok? How do I know whether it is lab grown or natural? Budget 10-15k. Any other options (0.4-0.5)? How about estrella? I prefer platinum. Is it better than white gold? For your budget you can definitely go for 0.5ct, but don't have to be IF clarity, unless you want it. Btw, Estrella belongs to Diamond and Platinum, which owns by DeGem as well. Personally, i will also prefer platinum overall white gold. They are actually rarer than gold if not mistaken, also, scratching it simply moves the platinum material around the same band, making a patina, while scratching a gold will make the gold trade paint with the surface you scratch against... This is what I read about before. In other words, scratching platinum is highly unlikely to let you lose platinum over the time, but scratching gold may. Anyway, take this with a pinch of salt. |
Aug 30 2022, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 30 2022, 10:55 AM) I checked the hearts and arrows image, definitely not 100% hearts and arrows. However the proportions are decent enough. In real life you may not noticed too much difference I supposed if the diamond is cut to a better level of cut quality. Estrella may be better since they brand it as hearts and arrows, but the price should be higher too. For a virtual diamond and DeGem (brick-and-mortar) backing it up, I will say the diamond you asked has a fair price. Do note that this diamond has Faint fluorescence, which is actually nothing significant at this level, just that it is one of the factors that make the diamond price lower. Hi thanks for the reply. It is very informative. I went to DeGem and they recommended me to buy Forevermark diamonds. Are Forevermark diamonds good? Do they have GIA certification?For your budget you can definitely go for 0.5ct, but don't have to be IF clarity, unless you want it. Btw, Estrella belongs to Diamond and Platinum, which owns by DeGem as well. Personally, i will also prefer platinum overall white gold. They are actually rarer than gold if not mistaken, also, scratching it simply moves the platinum material around the same band, making a patina, while scratching a gold will make the gold trade paint with the surface you scratch against... This is what I read about before. In other words, scratching platinum is highly unlikely to let you lose platinum over the time, but scratching gold may. Anyway, take this with a pinch of salt. I got a quote for Forevermark ring 0.4CT F VS1 Triple Excellent RM9800 with casing. Is the price ok? |
Aug 30 2022, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(axn992 @ Aug 30 2022, 08:14 PM) Hi thanks for the reply. It is very informative. I went to DeGem and they recommended me to buy Forevermark diamonds. Are Forevermark diamonds good? Do they have GIA certification? Forevermark will have a markup for their brand, they are graded by Forevermark themselves, and not relying on any third-party independent lab like GIA.I got a quote for Forevermark ring 0.4CT F VS1 Triple Excellent RM9800 with casing. Is the price ok? They have sufficient marketing, so if you want a brand that is known of internationally, then you can consider about it. The price have to depends what design of the casing they provided, does it come with some side diamonds? Halo? Pave? All these can affect the final price of the casing. RM 9800? I think without the 'branding', you can find some jewelers that can probably do it for you below 8k, together with a solitaire setting. Here is an example. I filter it by LUMOS (ZCOVA in-house branding for their better diamonds), so I guess this diamond will meet LUMOS requirement. ![]() This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Aug 30 2022, 10:24 PM |
Aug 31 2022, 05:17 PM
341 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Is tailoredjewel a good brand?
Aug 31 2022, 08:00 PM
7,349 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
Sep 1 2022, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 30 2022, 10:20 PM) Forevermark will have a markup for their brand, they are graded by Forevermark themselves, and not relying on any third-party independent lab like GIA. Good information. I am pondering between Estrella and Forevermark. With DeGem's ForeverMark, all casing comes in white gold which I don't really like. I went to Tiffany and Co yesterday and was presented withThey have sufficient marketing, so if you want a brand that is known of internationally, then you can consider about it. The price have to depends what design of the casing they provided, does it come with some side diamonds? Halo? Pave? All these can affect the final price of the casing. RM 9800? I think without the 'branding', you can find some jewelers that can probably do it for you below 8k, together with a solitaire setting. Here is an example. I filter it by LUMOS (ZCOVA in-house branding for their better diamonds), so I guess this diamond will meet LUMOS requirement. ![]() 0.4 I ES VVS1 RM16.1k I like the Tiff and Co casing as it has a platinum finish and although the diamond color is I, it looks really nice. I'll head back to Estrella again and have a quick look and compare the price. What are your thoughts on Tiffany and Co? |
Sep 1 2022, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(axn992 @ Sep 1 2022, 11:45 AM) Good information. I am pondering between Estrella and Forevermark. With DeGem's ForeverMark, all casing comes in white gold which I don't really like. I went to Tiffany and Co yesterday and was presented with Do make sure Tiffany and Co is selling you a 3EX diamond, at the very least.0.4 I ES VVS1 RM16.1k I like the Tiff and Co casing as it has a platinum finish and although the diamond color is I, it looks really nice. I'll head back to Estrella again and have a quick look and compare the price. What are your thoughts on Tiffany and Co? To me, T&Co is like one of the more famous brands for branded engagement rings. Wear it on hand, nobody will know it is a Tiffany ring since it looks pretty generic. Nonetheless, if my other half wants this and if I can afford it, then I will definitely getting one of these rings. If I am the one making the decision, then I will probably use the custom ring road. To put it simpler, it is like buying an Alienware PC or a custom gaming PC. |
Sep 1 2022, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Sep 1 2022, 01:23 PM) Do make sure Tiffany and Co is selling you a 3EX diamond, at the very least. I guess when you say 3EX, you meant Excellent in precision of cut, polish and symmetry. Is that correct?To me, T&Co is like one of the more famous brands for branded engagement rings. Wear it on hand, nobody will know it is a Tiffany ring since it looks pretty generic. Nonetheless, if my other half wants this and if I can afford it, then I will definitely getting one of these rings. If I am the one making the decision, then I will probably use the custom ring road. To put it simpler, it is like buying an Alienware PC or a custom gaming PC. coolguy99 liked this post
Sep 1 2022, 02:11 PM
Sep 2 2022, 11:12 AM
Hi guys,
Just confirming that price is non-negotiable in Tiffany and Co. Is that right? |
Sep 2 2022, 02:55 PM
Sep 4 2022, 09:14 PM
92 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Sep 4 2022, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Sep 4 2022, 09:14 PM) Dear Sifus, The proportions seem alright, medium blue fluorescence can help to negate some possible "yellow" tint of the L colour diamond. To me, neither diamond nor white gold has much resell value, so I will just say buy something that you feel comfortable with and fits your budget.Im planning to buy an engagement ring budget RM3k or less, Is this ring from Wah Chan worth it or should i buy something from Zcova and if so what is the recommendation? Your input is much accpreciated. Thanks in advance! ![]() Alternatively, if you can top up around 10% (approximately RM 3300), you can consider getting a lab-grown diamond from ZCOVA, together with a 14k ring setting. While 14k is not that standard in Malaysia market, it is quite common in counties like US. 14k uses less gold than 18k (58.5% vs 75%), hence cheaper price. ![]() Of course, this is just some quick search from their website, it is best if you can ask them personally and let them know your requirements. Maybe they can help to find a decent diamond that is slightly lower in colour and clarity and fit in into your budget. |
Sep 5 2022, 12:53 AM
92 posts Joined: May 2014 |
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Sep 4 2022, 10:15 PM) The proportions seem alright, medium blue fluorescence can help to negate some possible "yellow" tint of the L colour diamond. To me, neither diamond nor white gold has much resell value, so I will just say buy something that you feel comfortable with and fits your budget. Thanks. I think buying from Zcova is much better value for money.Alternatively, if you can top up around 10% (approximately RM 3300), you can consider getting a lab-grown diamond from ZCOVA, together with a 14k ring setting. While 14k is not that standard in Malaysia market, it is quite common in counties like US. 14k uses less gold than 18k (58.5% vs 75%), hence cheaper price. ![]() Of course, this is just some quick search from their website, it is best if you can ask them personally and let them know your requirements. Maybe they can help to find a decent diamond that is slightly lower in colour and clarity and fit in into your budget. |
Sep 16 2022, 01:15 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I read the first few pages, many said get the proposal ring that your gf or future wife likes. Noobie question, isn't proposal normally a suprise hence the proposal ring is a surprise as well? How to know whether she will like it or not?
| Change to: | 0.0420sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:59 AM |