230 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

bb100
post Jan 6 2017, 08:53 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(theline @ Jan 5 2017, 04:56 PM)
Thanks for feedback. The diamond is ok. but the ring itself is expensive. I choose 3k diamond, but the ring itself cost another 2k ><
Seriously? That's more than half the price of your diamond man!

sweat.gif

If you are buying the diamond and customising the setting as one package with the same shop, the setting should not cost that much. Unless your diamond is very small lahh, then the material + workmanship costs of the setting will of course be comparatively at a higher percentage.
SUScute_miao
post Jan 10 2017, 03:13 PM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

hihi..

i wana to ask about the wedding band.

is it true that the man must buy for the girl, and the girl must buy for the man? got such law?

or the boy can pay for both?
SUScute_miao
post Jan 10 2017, 03:17 PM

1,438 posts

can anyone share with me, how to daftar perkhawinan?

any forms need to be printed in advanced?

if want to go for marriage in church, anyone knows the procedure?
leeyh4891
post Jan 10 2017, 05:10 PM

75 posts

Greetings LYN,
I was looking for a diamond ring for my gf. I decided to purchase a diamond from Habib. Below are the spec:
Hearts On Fire
0.248ct
AGS 0009056709
Cut Grade AGS Ideal 0
Color Grade AGS 0.5 (E)
Clarity Grade AGS 3 (VS1)
It cost above 6k for the stone. Is it consider normal price for this spec?
Thank you
bb100
post Jan 10 2017, 07:32 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(leeyh4891 @ Jan 10 2017, 05:10 PM)
Greetings LYN,
I was looking for a diamond ring for my gf. I decided to purchase a diamond from Habib. Below are the spec:
Hearts On Fire
0.248ct
AGS 0009056709
Cut Grade AGS Ideal 0
Color Grade AGS 0.5 (E)
Thank you
Seriously RM6,000 plus for a 0.25 carat?? Not normal. What's so special about this diamond?
leeyh4891
post Jan 16 2017, 08:20 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jan 10 2017, 07:32 PM)
Seriously RM6,000 plus for a 0.25 carat?? Not normal. What's so special about this diamond?
This diamond had another certificate call heart on fire. The cutting for this diamond is excellent and have a better shining effect.

This post has been edited by leeyh4891: Jan 16 2017, 08:21 AM
bb100
post Jan 16 2017, 10:37 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(leeyh4891 @ Jan 16 2017, 08:20 AM)
This diamond had another certificate call heart on fire. The cutting for this diamond is excellent and have a better shining effect.
That one I believe is an in-house certificate, which is as good as a piece of paper. Sorry to be crude but yea, this is the reality. If you are ever going to trade-in your diamond, people will only look at your AGS cert.

Signature cuts are known to have better performance compared to those normal 3Ex ideal cuts. This is because they are cut in such a way that their proportions make the diamond look exceptional. So you are basically being charged a premium for a better cut quality.

If you are fine with paying extra for cut, go ahead cuz cut is king. Otherwise, an above average 3Ex ideal cut diamaond should look fine without the added cost.
ZZR-Pilot
post Jan 20 2017, 08:01 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(leeyh4891 @ Jan 10 2017, 06:10 PM)
Greetings LYN,
Hearts On Fire
0.248ct
AGS 0009056709
Cut Grade AGS Ideal 0
Color Grade AGS 0.5 (E)
Thank you
WTF.... you should be getting a much bigger VS1 stone for that kind of money..!

'Heart on Fire' means nothing once u step out of the store. It's just a licence to bump up the price & set ur wallet on fire.

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jan 20 2017, 08:12 PM
kambingkoh
post Jan 23 2017, 10:03 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(leeyh4891 @ Jan 10 2017, 05:10 PM)
Greetings LYN,
Hearts On Fire
0.248ct
AGS 0009056709
Cut Grade AGS Ideal 0
Color Grade AGS 0.5 (E)
Thank you
Firstly, for 6k, you can get at least a 0.3ct super ideal cut, but probably around F colour. Do remember each 0.1ct has a big jump in price. For this price, the extra you paying is for:

1. The brand name.
2. All-in-one service.

Secondly, you have to check what ring setting they are giving you. How many grams is the setting? Is it 18k white gold? If yes, then it will consist of 75% gold and 25% miscellaneous material. So, the question is what are the other 25% materials? Is it Palladium? Or is it Nickel? Palladium is hypoallergenic (unlikely to cause allergic to skin), while Nickel is not (although I believe most people is okay with it). Just that Palladium is more expensive than Nickel. For 6k, you are able to get a 0.3x super ideal cut + 18k white gold with palladium ring setting already.

Thirdly, for Hearts on Fire, you should be allowed to see its Hearts and Arrows (H&A). Are the images provided? H&A may be their selling point, but we need to verify it ourselves as a consumer. 8 hearts must be symmetrical to each other, sames goes for the 8 arrows. Ask for the images. If they fail to provide you, or let you see, then is just all talk only, imo. I would advise you to check the other images like ASET as well, to determine light performance.

Lastly, I can't find the AGS cert online: https://www.agslab.com/verify-diamond-grading-report.php. What is the birth date of this diamond based on the certificate? Is it new? Or is it old? And what type of cert they are providing? This one: https://www.americangemsociety.org/en/the-p...uality-document or this one: https://www.americangemsociety.org/en/diamo...uality-document.

Good luck! thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Jan 23 2017, 10:23 AM
kambingkoh
post Jan 23 2017, 10:09 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 10 2017, 03:13 PM)
hihi..

i wana to ask about the wedding band.

is it true that the man must buy for the girl, and the girl must buy for the man? got such law?

or the boy can pay for both?
Different people different perspective, not sure about the common law/practice though. But for me, yes, I think that should be the way. I will just view it as the same concept as birthday present, your birthday, he buy you present, his birthday, you buy him present.

If the boy wants to pay all, then by all means let him lor. tongue.gif

If the boy hopes that you can pay for his and if you can afford, why not? And if can't afford, then try to find something cheaper or save some money first. smile.gif
kambingkoh
post Jan 23 2017, 10:21 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 10 2017, 03:17 PM)
can anyone share with me, how to daftar perkhawinan?

any forms need to be printed in advanced?

if want to go for marriage in church, anyone knows the procedure?
If you want to marry in church, then you have to find the church that is able to provide you such service. For me, I did it in Thean Hou Temple. Before going there, I need to get some forms from the govt. office at Jalan Duta. I filled up the forms there and then as well. Can't remember which forms already, but I believe you can ask your church and see or just go to jabatan perkahwinan and tell them, then they will assist you accordingly. You will need to prepare passport size photos for both husband and wife. I think actually can mix different background colour, but just to be safe, just prepare the passport photo with same background colour. If both white, then both white, if both blue, then both blue. After filling up the forms, you will have to find commissioner of oath (pesuruhjaya sumpah) to stamp your forms. You are able to find one of them at the same govt building at Jalan Duta, so it is convenient there. A fee is required (I think around 10 ringgit, not sure, but it is not too much). I finished all the forms stuff less than an hour during weekdays. After that, I can proceed to hand the form to Thean Hou Temple, choose a date and time, and pay the necessary fee.

The benefit of using a temple/church is that both couples do not need to change the state on the IC.

Anything else, you can just search in forum or google. Better still, just call up jabatan perkahwinan or chuch to ask.

Good luck! thumbsup.gif
SUScute_miao
post Jan 23 2017, 02:59 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 23 2017, 10:21 AM)
If you want to marry in church, then you have to find the church that is able to provide you such service. For me, I did it in Thean Hou Temple. Before going there, I need to get some forms from the govt. office at Jalan Duta. I filled up the forms there and then as well. Can't remember which forms already, but I believe you can ask your church and see or just go to jabatan perkahwinan and tell them, then they will assist you accordingly. You will need to prepare passport size photos for both husband and wife. I think actually can mix different background colour, but just to be safe, just prepare the passport photo with same background colour. If both white, then both white, if both blue, then both blue. After filling up the forms, you will have to find commissioner of oath (pesuruhjaya sumpah) to stamp your forms. You are able to find one of them at the same govt building at Jalan Duta, so it is convenient there. A fee is required (I think around 10 ringgit, not sure, but it is not too much). I finished all the forms stuff less than an hour during weekdays. After that, I can proceed to hand the form to Thean Hou Temple, choose a date and time, and pay the necessary fee.

The benefit of using a temple/church is that both couples do not need to change the state on the IC.

Anything else, you can just search in forum or google. Better still, just call up jabatan perkahwinan or chuch to ask.

Good luck! thumbsup.gif
thanks bro

i did ask around. there is this thing namely as RENTAL in church. 1k oo
Stichy
post Jan 23 2017, 11:53 PM

19 posts

hi all, need some suggestion on these 2 diamonds, can you guys recommend me which 1 to get, price is about the same 5k

diamond 1
0.4c, E color, SI1, 3Ex cut

diamond 2
0.38 G color, VS2, 3Ex cut

This post has been edited by Stichy: Jan 23 2017, 11:56 PM
kambingkoh
post Jan 24 2017, 09:16 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Stichy @ Jan 23 2017, 11:53 PM)
hi all, need some suggestion on these 2 diamonds, can you guys recommend me which 1 to get, price is about the same 5k

diamond 1
0.4c, E color,  SI1, 3Ex cut

diamond 2
Can't decide based on 4Cs alone, any GIA cert number to refer to?
Stichy
post Jan 24 2017, 12:39 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 24 2017, 09:16 AM)
Can't decide based on 4Cs alone, any GIA cert number to refer to?
Hi kambingkoh this is the updated diamaond that i got, is now SI2 for 0.4 carat diamond, price is cheaper by abit. around 4.9k for 0.4carat and 5k for 0.38carat include setting

diamond 1 - GIA: 6211625016
0.4c, E color, SI2, 3Ex cut

diamond 2 - GIA: 1172933516
kambingkoh
post Jan 24 2017, 02:44 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Stichy @ Jan 24 2017, 12:39 PM)
Hi kambingkoh this is the updated diamaond that i got, is now SI2  for 0.4 carat diamond, price is cheaper by abit. around 4.9k for 0.4carat and 5k for 0.38carat include setting

diamond 1 - GIA: 6211625016
0.4c, E color,  SI2, 3Ex cut

diamond 2 - GIA: 1172933516
GIA: 6211625016
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

GIA: 1172933516
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

If only 2 to choose from, then GIA 1172933516 (diamond 2) is a better choice. However, if it is up to me, I won't buy neither one because the HCA score is too low to my liking. Standard advice is to filter out anything that goes above the score of 2. I also won't go for SI2 diamonds, just personal preference.

For around RM 5700, you can get this:
http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (this is an affiliate link) Together with a 18K white gold ring (with palladium content) from iDo Jewellery.

AGS-104090534005
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:
N/A (only available for GIA cert)

Minor complains I have for this diamond is probably the star length of 56%. The hearts and arrows look great to me, although I won't rate it really the best of the best.

Or maybe from BGD:
http://www.briangavindiamonds.com/diamonds...#33;prettyPhoto[gallery2]/1/ (not affiliate link... yet).

AGS-104090535018
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

Note: AGS is comparable to GIA, if not better.

For more info, you may refer here: http://myengagementringexperience.blogspot...-brilliant.html

One more advice: Always get the diamond images - Actual diamond image, ASET image, IdealScope image, Hearts & Arrows image.

Hope this helps and good luck! thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Jan 24 2017, 02:50 PM
Stichy
post Jan 24 2017, 04:01 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 24 2017, 02:44 PM)
GIA: 6211625016
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

GIA: 1172933516
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

If only 2 to choose from, then GIA 1172933516 (diamond 2) is a better choice. However, if it is up to me, I won't buy neither one because the HCA score is too low to my liking. Standard advice is to filter out anything that goes above the score of 2. I also won't go for SI2 diamonds, just personal preference.

For around RM 5700, you can get this:
http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (this is an affiliate link) Together with a 18K white gold ring (with palladium content) from iDo Jewellery.

AGS-104090534005
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

Minor complains I have for this diamond is probably the star length of 56%. The hearts and arrows look great to me, although I won't rate it really the best of the best.

Or maybe from BGD:
http://www.briangavindiamonds.com/diamonds...#33;prettyPhoto[gallery2]/1/ (not affiliate link... yet).

AGS-104090535018
HCA:

ANA:

Enchanted Cut Score:

Note: AGS is comparable to GIA, if not better.

For more info, you may refer here: http://myengagementringexperience.blogspot...-brilliant.html

One more advice: Always get the diamond images - Actual diamond image, ASET image, IdealScope image, Hearts & Arrows image.

Hope this helps and good luck!  thumbsup.gif
Thanks kambingkoh for recommendation. at first was hesitate to immediately or not, now will stop and look better option.
kambingkoh
post Jan 24 2017, 04:53 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Stichy @ Jan 24 2017, 04:01 PM)
Thanks kambingkoh for recommendation. at first was hesitate to immediately or not, now will stop and look better option.
No problem, all the best bro! thumbup.gif
bb100
post Jan 24 2017, 10:23 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jan 24 2017, 02:44 PM)

Stichy The first two diamonds really CMI man. Trust this guy, he knows his stuff well. A 3-pointer on the HCA score is just too low. You won't be able to get a good performing stone with that kind of HCA really.
drbone
post Jan 25 2017, 08:10 PM

1,754 posts

My girlfriend measured her ring size and says that it's a little tight to fit in for size 8 , however once in, fits snugly. As for size 9, it fits too but only slightly snug. She can't decide as she says both sizes are OK.
Any tips?
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by drbone: Jan 25 2017, 08:10 PM

230 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:21 PM