[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

hazard_puppet
post Jun 25 2014, 10:28 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jun 25 2014, 10:01 AM)
Is the PC able to be booted up by just using the onboard graphics (if any)? Also, what is the PSU?
he dont have the necessary cable to use the onboard graphics, he only have dvi cable, so cant test that out, his psu is tagan 700w bwt, at first the graphic card is working normally but after reboot this problem happen (he said he change some setting on gpu scaling)

so any other thing to test out bro?
sp3d2
post Jun 25 2014, 10:28 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jun 22 2014, 11:40 PM)
This should suffice for your needs. smile.gif

Intel Pentium Dual Core G3220 - RM169
Asrock H81M-VG4 - RM164
Corsair Value Ram 4GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM129
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD - RM179
Gigabyte GZ series casing - RM69
Gigabyte PoweRock 420W PSU - RM95
Leadtek GTX 750 - RM449
Lite-On 24x DVDRW - RM59
Acer K202HQL 20" monitor - RM274

Total - RM1587 (prices are from Viewnet)
hi guys. based on recommedation by rav3n82 above, i got this quotation near my place.

Intel Pentium Dual Core G3220 = rm192.00
Gigabyte GA-81M S2PV SOCKET 1150 MAINBOARD = RM215
KINGSTON 4GB RAM DDR 3 1600MHZ = RM125
WD 3.5" Blue 1TB HDD SATA = RM190
SONIXZ MODEL : 5882/5828/ 5813/ML215B/ MLM2R ATX CASING = rm80
Or MODEL : E SUPERCASE (ESC-C3010BS/C3062BR/C3010BR) ATX CASING = RM80
GIGABYTE 420W POWER SUPPLY (GZ-EQS420NC4) = RM85
GIGABYTE GF GTX750 1GB GDDR5 PCIE = RM540
Or
LEAKTEK GTX 760 2GB DDR5 = RM799
LG GH24NSBO 24X SATA INTERNAL DVD RW = RM58
LG 20M35A 19.5 INCH LED MONITOR = RM269
Or
SAMSUNG 30C300B LED 20 INCH = RM310

my concern is motherboard. is it future/upgrade proof for gpu/cpu? it is not h81m but ga-81m, and the powersupply (Gigabyte PoweRock 420W PSU vs GIGABYTE 420W POWER SUPPLY (GZ-EQS420NC4)) is it good enough to run my rig compare to rav3n82 suggestion coz its cheaper. hmm.gif

thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sp3d2: Jun 25 2014, 10:35 AM
rav3n82
post Jun 25 2014, 10:37 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 25 2014, 10:28 AM)
hi guys. based on recommedation by rav3n82 above, i got this quotation near my place.
my concern is motherboard. is it future/upgrade proof for gpu/cpu? it is not h81m but ga-81m, and the powersupply is it good enough to run my rig compare to rav3n82 suggestion coz its cheaper. hmm.gif

thanks.  smile.gif
I think there is a typo on the motherboard model no. It should be GA-H81M-S2PV, there is only one H81 board in Gigabyte that bears the S2PV suffix number. tongue.gif

Every other thing looks ok. smile.gif You can consider going with B85 / H97 board if you want more USB 3.0 ports, SATA 3 or PCI-E 3.0, else H81 is the best entry level Intel board (LGA 1150) that you can find.

The PSU quoted is the same as mine, Powerock 420W. I recommend going for at least 500W if you intend to go with a GTX 760.

This post has been edited by rav3n82: Jun 25 2014, 10:38 AM
Clem1982
post Jun 25 2014, 10:38 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 25 2014, 10:28 AM)
my concern is motherboard. is it future/upgrade proof for gpu/cpu? it is not h81m but ga-81m, and the powersupply is it good enough to run my rig compare to rav3n82 suggestion coz its cheaper. hmm.gif

thanks.  smile.gif
Spotted a few things

1- seems that the CPU is overpriced??
2- The PSU will be okay of you're going with the GTX750 but if you opt for the Gtx760, better to get a 500W to 550W PSU
3- mobo is okay so long ast you're not thinking of CFX or SLI

Where is your location??
sp3d2
post Jun 25 2014, 10:56 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jun 25 2014, 10:37 AM)
I think there is a typo on the motherboard model no. It should be GA-H81M-S2PV, there is only one H81 board in Gigabyte that bears the S2PV suffix number. tongue.gif

Every other thing looks ok. smile.gif You can consider going with B85 / H97 board if you want more USB 3.0 ports, SATA 3 or PCI-E 3.0, else H81 is the best entry level Intel board (LGA 1150) that you can find.

The PSU quoted is the same as mine, Powerock 420W. I recommend going for at least 500W if you intend to go with a GTX 760.
thanks bro. notworthy.gif ill stick with h81 board then. gtx 750 is ok with me. i think better i get 500 or 550 watt so that i can run better gpu in 3 or 4 years in the future.

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jun 25 2014, 10:38 AM)
Spotted a few things

1- seems that the CPU is overpriced??
2- The PSU will be okay of you're going with the GTX750 but if you opt for the Gtx760, better to get a 500W to 550W PSU
3- mobo is okay so long ast you're not thinking of CFX or SLI

Where is your location??
thanks buddy. biggrin.gif i dont intend to run cfx or sli. just want to play diablo 3 only. im at malacca. that may answer why the price is a bit expensive. i dont want to drive all the way to kl for this. blush.gif
Clem1982
post Jun 25 2014, 11:00 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 25 2014, 10:56 AM)
thanks bro.  notworthy.gif  ill stick with h81 board then. gtx 750 is ok with me. i think better i get 500 or 550 watt so that i can run better gpu in 3 or 4 years in the future.
thanks buddy.  biggrin.gif i dont intend to run cfx or sli. just want to play diablo 3 only. im at malacca. that may answer why the price is a bit expensive. i dont want to drive all the way to kl for this.  blush.gif
OIC... have you tried asking Idealtech if they could cater for your build? they do delivery as well wink.gif

BTW if 500W unit can go for FSP Hexa 500W, retails at RM149 in KL
sp3d2
post Jun 25 2014, 11:04 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jun 25 2014, 11:00 AM)
OIC... have you tried asking Idealtech if they could cater for your build? they do delivery as well wink.gif

BTW if 500W unit can go for FSP Hexa 500W, retails at RM149 in KL
thanks. can they pasang siap2 then send to me? or is it part by part coz i dont know really know how to install by myself.
Clem1982
post Jun 25 2014, 11:11 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 25 2014, 11:04 AM)
thanks. can they pasang siap2 then send to me? or is it part by part coz i dont know really know how to install by myself.
they'll assemble everything before sending biggrin.gif

LYN link - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1324904
Webpage - http://www.idealtech.com.my/store/

do give them a call as their reply in LYN is prompt and very straight translation lol tongue.gif
sp3d2
post Jun 25 2014, 01:17 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jun 25 2014, 11:11 AM)
they'll assemble everything before sending  biggrin.gif

LYN link - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1324904
Webpage - http://www.idealtech.com.my/store/

do give them a call as their reply in LYN is prompt and very straight translation lol  tongue.gif
sure ill ask them. by the way, why this shop quote me avf 500 watt rm45 while GIGABYTE 420W POWER SUPPLY (GZ-EQS420NC4) RM85.

more power but lower price? blink.gif

heizad
post Jun 25 2014, 01:29 PM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 25 2014, 01:17 PM)
sure ill ask them. by the way, why this shop quote me avf 500 watt rm45 while GIGABYTE 420W POWER SUPPLY (GZ-EQS420NC4) RM85.

more power but lower price?  blink.gif
the efficiency and build quality needs to be taken into consideration for psu imo smile.gif
Clem1982
post Jun 25 2014, 02:12 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Jun 25 2014, 01:29 PM)
the efficiency and build quality needs to be taken into consideration for psu imo smile.gif
+1

stay away from AVF or other similar power supplies, quality control is one, they also don't have the protection mechanisms and components that should be in a PSU. it may say 500W but thats normally peak power, by right, they should be running at about 300W at best

stick to prominent brands like FSP, Corsair, Seasonic, Antec, Thermaltake, Enermax, Gigabyte etc to be safe..... but just in case, check with all of us here at LYN wink.gif

have a read as well: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2620035

SUSTheHitman47
post Jun 25 2014, 02:25 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

i have a question, why does the GTX690 didnt get as much attention as the GTX780 Ti or Titan Black?.
zhen^wei
post Jun 25 2014, 02:35 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 25 2014, 01:17 PM)

more power but lower price?  blink.gif
dont worry. the AVF 500w is oem by same factory of CM PSU.
I tested with Radeon 7790 rigs before.
rav3n82
post Jun 25 2014, 02:43 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Jun 25 2014, 02:25 PM)
i have a question, why does the GTX690 didnt get as much attention as the GTX780 Ti or Titan Black?.
Well, it did when it first came out 2 years ago. biggrin.gif It was hands down the most beautifully crafted reference design card ever, until the Titan came out. But then again, there was always this little doubt why did Nvidia still hold back on the true "tank class" GPU, the GK110. Mind you, GTX 680 or 690 only had the "hunter class" GK104 cores. G*104 based cards are always found on Nvidia's mid range card aka best-bang-for-buck cards like the GTX 460 and 560 Ti. No idea why did it end up on a flagship GTX 680 class graphics card in the first place. tongue.gif

And when GTX Titan came out, then the spot light is finally on this new card (and also its absurdly high pricing). However, it only had 14 out of 15 SMX enabled, so the question again; where is the full fledged GK110 card? hmm.gif Finally, only late last year did the 780 Ti appear, featuring a fully enabled GK110 and also the uncanny of having the title of "fastest single GPU card ever". Titan Black is simply a 780 Ti with CUDA double precision capability and slightly boosted core clock speed. smile.gif

I guess the common perception is still better to have the "fastest performing single GPU card", rather than an "overall faster card featuring two GPUs". At least you are spared from whatever issues plaguing dual cards setup (SLI/CFX).
SUSTheHitman47
post Jun 25 2014, 02:57 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jun 25 2014, 02:43 PM)
Well, it did when it first came out 2 years ago. biggrin.gif It was hands down the most beautifully crafted reference design card ever, until the Titan came out. But then again, there was always this little doubt why did Nvidia still hold back on the true "tank class" GPU, the GK110. Mind you, GTX 680 or 690 only had the "hunter class" GK104 cores. G*104 based cards are always found on Nvidia's mid range card aka best-bang-for-buck cards like the GTX 460 and 560 Ti. No idea why did it end up on a flagship GTX 680 class graphics card in the first place. tongue.gif

And when GTX Titan came out, then the spot light is finally on this new card (and also its absurdly high pricing). However, it only had 14 out of 15 SMX enabled, so the question again; where is the full fledged GK110 card? hmm.gif Finally, only late last year did the 780 Ti appear, featuring a fully enabled GK110 and also the uncanny of having the title of "fastest single GPU card ever". Titan Black is simply a 780 Ti with CUDA double precision capability and slightly boosted core clock speed. smile.gif

I guess the common perception is still better to have the "fastest performing single GPU card", rather than an "overall faster card featuring two GPUs". At least you are spared from whatever issues plaguing dual cards setup (SLI/CFX).
but how about the perfomance comparison.

GTX690 better than GTX 780 Ti right?.
rav3n82
post Jun 25 2014, 03:13 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Jun 25 2014, 02:57 PM)
but how about the perfomance comparison.

GTX690 better than GTX 780 Ti right?.
GTX 690 is faster just by a tiny bit. Hardly noticeable. Really no reason to go with GTX 690 anymore.

SUScharkoteow3
post Jun 25 2014, 03:17 PM

52 posts

[Budget] Around RM4-5.5k

[Purpose] Gaming, work.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Peripherals like mouse,keyboard and speakers. But no monitor.

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Office stuffs, VB, MatLab, LabView, Arduino IDE, Planetside 2.

[Personal preferences] mini-ITX, GTX 780 Ti if possible, silent (noctua fans/cooler?), modular psu. Not going to OC.

[Location] Perlis Maju 2076
Clem1982
post Jun 25 2014, 03:43 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(charkoteow3 @ Jun 25 2014, 03:17 PM)
[Budget] Around RM4-5.5k

[Purpose] Gaming, work.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Peripherals like mouse,keyboard and speakers. But no monitor.

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Office stuffs, VB, MatLab, LabView, Arduino IDE, Planetside 2.

[Personal preferences] mini-ITX, GTX 780 Ti if possible, silent (noctua fans/cooler?), modular psu. Not going to OC.

[Location] Perlis Maju 2076
for single 1080P and the uses you listed, a GTX770 should be enough try :

Intel Core i5 4690 RM709
Asrock H97M-ITX/AC RM349
Gskill Aegis 8GB 1600Mhz RAM RM239
Plextor M6S 120GB RM319
WD Blue 1TB RM189
Gainward GTX770 Golden Sample RM1199
Silverstone ST65F-G 650W PSU RM449
BitFenix Colossus-M RM349
Dell P2314H RM699

Total RM4501

optional Winfast LT-GTX780TI/3GD/D5 O.C RM2399 (total RM5701)

Price from Idealtech
SUSTheHitman47
post Jun 25 2014, 03:50 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jun 25 2014, 03:13 PM)
GTX 690 is faster just by a tiny bit. Hardly noticeable. Really no reason to go with GTX 690 anymore.

so by the price point it just not worth it right?.
now i understand why. nod.gif

wonder why nvidia dont lower the price down.

SUScharkoteow3
post Jun 25 2014, 04:13 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jun 25 2014, 03:43 PM)
for single 1080P and the uses you listed, a GTX770 should be enough try :

Intel Core i5 4690 RM709
Asrock H97M-ITX/AC RM349
Gskill Aegis 8GB 1600Mhz RAM RM239
Plextor M6S 120GB RM319
WD Blue 1TB RM189
Gainward GTX770 Golden Sample RM1199
Silverstone ST65F-G 650W PSU RM449
BitFenix Colossus-M RM349
Dell P2314H RM699

Total RM4501

optional Winfast LT-GTX780TI/3GD/D5 O.C RM2399 (total RM5701)

Price from Idealtech
Thank you Clem1982.

Do I really need a 650W PSU?
Was thinking about ditching out the HDD and grab another SSD.
Also, the BitFenix Colossus-M might be too tall for my liking, but are the provided fans quiet enough? A Cooler Master 130 Elite is a lot cheaper, might be able to throw in an air cooler for the cpu and a few 'quieter' fans.

125 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:46 AM