[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

Clem1982
post May 15 2014, 10:33 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2014, 03:10 AM)
Oh btw guys, you can actually build a super budget WC setup. Get a basic XSPC kit, add this to your 750Ti and you'll have the ultimate budget WC build.

why would you wanna WC a GTX750Ti?? the card is not a very hot card to begin with.. can't think of anything other than bling... cause if you want performance there's always the Gtx760 mini
Clem1982
post May 15 2014, 04:54 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(DaTaPcHousE @ May 15 2014, 04:41 PM)
AMD APU is not good? i thought it will be better for HD media playback
AMD APU is good if you're looking to build a PC without a GPU, you can run BF4 on medium settings on the 7850K APU alone, plenty powerful for media playback

QUOTE(y4ng @ May 15 2014, 04:45 PM)
yeah building a rig...i dont wanna ask the same question like the others...RM2.5-3k etc, better go through the forum. I understand there's a difference between open GL and Direct X, I am aiming for gaming and photoshop most of the time, sometimes AutoCAD.

any suggestions? I am looking for RM500 - RM1000 depending on range and reliability (of course, with i5 4440 that can cope with it). RAM just use normal value for money RAM? Why not those ultimate blah blah?

Mobo, another headache, things like Asrock B85M-Pro4 does not come with Wifi support...anything with it?
RM500 - RM1000 for which component?? the i5 can cope but it's not the best if that's what you're after

just value RAM will do, sure the premium RAMs are better but in terms of real-world usage.. the difference is minimal and un-noticeable

for wifi, just add on an adaptor.. should run at about RM30-RM50 depending on the make and model but it's inexpensive for that expansion
Clem1982
post May 19 2014, 02:05 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ May 19 2014, 01:58 PM)
i like titanfall as theres fps+mecha
i like these kind of multiplayer games...
bf4 need buy  yawn.gif
will try tomb raider,hitman n max payne

alright, thx for the tips!  thumbup.gif
another good one is Hawken, its free to play but it's only mecha fps so you can't get out of the mech as a person lolz just download on steam
Clem1982
post May 21 2014, 02:07 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Ah Lo Mak @ May 21 2014, 12:49 PM)
Got this quotation from my local nearby PC shop.

Processor: Intel I5 4440
Motherboard: MSI B85 Gaming
VGA: Gainward GTX760 2GB
RAM: Avexir Core LED White 1600Mhz 4GB x 2
HDD: WD Blue 1TB
PSU: FSP Hexa 500Watt
Chasis: NZXT Phantom 410 White
ODD: LiteON 24X

TOtal: RM2929.00

Which one is better ? Need any adjustment ?
Go with Rav3n82's build, not only the GPU but the PSU is superior as well, the only thing the PC shop has that's better is the chassis and RAM which will do nothing to the performance of the PC
Clem1982
post May 27 2014, 04:06 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 27 2014, 04:02 PM)
Jangan lupa Kingston Hyper X Fury Mang. Hahahaha.
I don't think the KHX Fury is needed here, the user just wanna play games and it's indifferent to add to the RAMs like that.. if you really wanna show off the rig then just the chassis will do and the ScoutII will be quite a looker.. else can get BitFenix Neos for the cheaper alternative or go big like the Silverstone Fortress04 that'll do
Clem1982
post May 27 2014, 04:55 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ May 27 2014, 04:43 PM)
he can go with it, needed or not.
the quotation price is way below the budget..why not.
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 27 2014, 04:47 PM)
The Hyper X Fury is only RM10-15 more expensive but vastly better timings than value ram, works well for games like BF4. Worth the tiny bit extra if you ask me. Plus his budget isn't breached yet. biggrin.gif
well to me that's just like saying "he can get the x79 platform, needed or not" but yeah the price difference is very little, up to user anyway
Clem1982
post May 28 2014, 09:55 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ May 28 2014, 09:23 AM)
Hi guys.. I need some help in building a new rig..This is going to be my first time on building rig..Though I don't have much experience/knowledge blush.gif

[Budget] RM 2,500

[Purpose] Gaming mostly / Watching movies.

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Mostly MMORPG

[Personal preferences] Nvidia GPU, 8GB of RAM, Excluding monitor, keyboard/mouse.

Thank you sifus!
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 28 2014, 09:38 AM)
Which MMORPG games?

Bro, excluding monitor kb & mouse la tongue.gif

anyway Xypheria try this

Intel Core i5 4440 RM559
Asrock B85M PRO 4 RM279
Leadtek GTX760 2GB RM849
kingston value RAM 8GB 1600MHz RM244
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM179
FSP Raider 550W RM219
BitFenix Comrade RM149
Asus 24x DVDRW RM59

Total RM2537
Clem1982
post May 28 2014, 10:21 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 28 2014, 10:03 AM)
Clem1982's build below includes a better PSU. smile.gif
yawn.gif Sleepy lol. tongue.gif

Prices are from where BTW?Xypheria might be wondering. biggrin.gif
lmao mostly viewnet excet for chassis can get in All-IT
Clem1982
post May 29 2014, 12:32 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(whut? @ May 29 2014, 11:07 AM)
hey guys between these cases which are the best?

Cooler Master N300
AeroCool Strike X-Predator X1
Cooler Master K350 /K380
Cooler Master Elite 431 Plus USB 3.0
AeroCool Strike X One Advanced USB 3.0

PS: emphasis on cable management and cooling
1st things 1st.. whats your budget?? biggrin.gif and why only CM and Aerocool?
Clem1982
post Jun 2 2014, 10:49 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Jun 2 2014, 10:45 AM)
guys, need your recommendation for budget rig. Upgrading from P4 which is super slow now.

Budget around 1k. Monitor, Hard Disk, CD-Rom, sound card not required.

Used by parents for normal surfing.
Try this setup

Intel G3220 1150 RM174
Asrock K H81M-DGS RM179
Kingston Value RAM 4GB RM129
WD Blue 1TB HDD RM179
FSP Hexa 500W RM149
BitFenix Comrade RM149

Total RM959
Clem1982
post Jun 2 2014, 04:55 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(littlesun1990 @ Jun 2 2014, 03:21 PM)
Hi Sentinel.

Is the graphic card nice ? Because I only know Geforce and AMD LOL.
Hahaha . Sorry for that >.<
you mean NVidia and AMD smile.gif these are the Chip makers

Asus, MSI, Gigabyte, Powercolor, Sapphire, Leadtek, Gainward etc etc are manufacturers / brands of the chips
Clem1982
post Jun 5 2014, 01:15 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jun 5 2014, 12:59 PM)
Hi guys
planning to upgrade my graphics card and get an ssd
Currently using HD4870.
So wanna ask what the best card I can get for 1080p gaming on max settings?
My budget around 1k for both gfx card and the ssd . Planning to use the ssd for the OS.
first of all, what PSU do you have?

and RM1K...

With SSD:
Plextor M5S RM274
MSI R7 270X twin frozr oc 2GB RM759

Total RM1133

Without SSD:
Sapphire R9 280x dual-x oc 3GB RM1149
Clem1982
post Jun 5 2014, 01:34 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jun 5 2014, 01:27 PM)
Can't really remember what PSU I'm using already  tongue.gif  have to go back and check. My desktop already 5 years old  blush.gif IIRC its a 600W Silverstone PSU. Should be ok right? Considering the new cards should need less energy compared to my aging 4870
yes, should be sufficient smile.gif
Clem1982
post Jun 16 2014, 03:02 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kennykuan84 @ Jun 16 2014, 02:42 PM)
Hey all,

Would appreciate some suggestions on a new gaming rig.

[Budget] RM3000 or 3500 with monitor

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] HDD, Keyboard, Mouse

[Location] Klang Valley

Thanks a lot in advanced.
Try:

Intel Core i5 4440 RM559
Asrock H87 PRO 4 RM319
Kingston Value RAM 8GB RM249
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD RM259
Asus R9 280X dcii top oc 3GB RM1199
Seasonic M12II 620W RM359
BitFenix Shadow Chassis RM229

Total RM3173

Clem1982
post Jun 17 2014, 08:44 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kennykuan84 @ Jun 17 2014, 03:22 AM)
if intel core 4460 will it worth and better?
may i know the different between 8 series and 9 series? 

will radeon will have the overheat problem? as per my previous rig for few years ago are facing these problem.

asrock h97m and b85 killer, which 1 will be more suitable for dota 2 connection to avoid lag and latency?

cooler master k380, CM scout 2 and bitfenix, which 1 will have more airflow to avoid overheat? because i probably will let the rig open 24 hours although i din play it 
tongue.gif  tongue.gif

thank you for in advance since i've been long time outdated, only feel that my rig very low when the game watchdog appeared~~LOLz
Well the 9 series does have some features that the 8 series doesn't have such as m.2 port, but not all of them are like that, google is your best answer to this

and Radeon's overheat? well.. that depends on the cooler, chassis and environment that you place your rig in... but generally GPUs run fine up to 100°C so I believe that's not really an issue if it runs hot, so long as it doesn't burn out

All three chassis is good with airflow imo, again this depends on where you place the rig, having the PC on idle (on none or little process) actually generate little heat as modern day GPU and CPU will throttle down and require less energy when they're not doing anything intensive... which generates less heat in return

This post has been edited by Clem1982: Jun 17 2014, 08:45 AM
Clem1982
post Jun 17 2014, 03:08 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jun 17 2014, 03:06 PM)
i also think of sticking with intel. More mobo choices, especially ITX form

btw, i3 dual core is sufficient for games right?
sufficient for MOST games... but newer games tend to rely on the CPU more and more, such as battlefield 4 and Watchdogs so while you still can go with a dual core i3, it's advisable to go with a quad core CPU
Clem1982
post Jun 18 2014, 03:25 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(tribal94 @ Jun 18 2014, 09:48 AM)
Thanks for all ur replies  biggrin.gif
I dont know whether  to ask a shop to build it or build it on my own cause i never build one before  sweat.gif
if you buy a whole system from one shop, normally installation is free... but please ensure you take back all the boxes and accessories that comes with the components

having said that, learning to build your own PC isn't so hard at all, Youtube is a good source and there is no shortage of knowledgeable forumers in LYN as well
Clem1982
post Jun 18 2014, 04:16 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(vincent_hong @ Jun 18 2014, 04:11 PM)
Hey guys, I would most probably be getting the new cpu this weekend. Just to double confirm, are the spec below good enough? This was suggested by a fellow member of this forum.
Purpose : Gaming (Assassin's creed,Battlefield,etc) & 3D graphic projects (Adobe softwares)
CPU:Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 CPU at RM799
Mobo:Asrock H81M-DGS RM179
GPU:Gainward GTX750Ti GS 2GB GDDR5 RM519
RAM:8GB DDR3 1600Mhz is RM244 (What brand?)
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM174
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM148
Casing:CM K380 RM149
Total:RM1643
GPU is from Lingloong@GS,the rest are from Viewnet.
erm.. this one will benefit more towards the graphic porjects and less towards gaming.. you can game I suppose but on lowered details, if that's fine then go for it
Clem1982
post Jun 18 2014, 05:17 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(vincent_hong @ Jun 18 2014, 04:55 PM)
hahaha.. cannot la.. i had to squeeze that 2.5k out ald.. another thing is, where is GBros? and Lingloong? in lowyat? also, my dad was asking if there can be usb slot in front of the cpu? is it just an issue of casing?
erm... lingloong and Gbros main operate in the Garage sale and receives mail orders....

where are you located? might wanna take a look at Idealtech in Pandan Indah if you happen to be in cheras

and not to worry, the chassis will have USB ports in front
Clem1982
post Jun 19 2014, 11:00 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Jun 19 2014, 10:18 PM)
finally got my rig..thx the sifus for the help biggrin.gif

My Rig smile.gif
Shared into the BitFenix Malaysia Facebook page bro!! smile.gif