125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

Minecrafter
post Jun 23 2014, 04:50 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Jun 23 2014, 04:40 PM)
haha. I should have clarified it was a 4k budget. But again, is it still possible?
The question about the discount is because a friend in SG managed to get it directly from microsoft. He claimed as long as your email has a edu, you qualify. Wanted to confirm before I made a food of myself.

So, OC, for the usual person, not that important?
Non-OC build..possible. brows.gif

hmm.gif I haven't heard of that discount thinggy majiggy before.. sweat.gif

What do you mean by "usual person"?

Btw 4K gaming rig with OS+Monitor

CPU:Intel Core i5 4460 3.2Ghz RM599
Mobo:Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB GDDR5 RM1255
Ram:Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM244
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM174
PSU:Seasonic M12II 80+ Bronze 620W Modular RM359
Casing:Corsair Carbide Spec-03 Red LED Fan RM205
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
Monitor:LG 23EA53V 23' RM480
Total:RM4013
CPU,Mobo,GPU and Casing are from Lingloong@GS,Monitor is from Hoodidi@GS,the rest are from Viewnet@LYP.

There.. nod.gif
EfanOne
post Jun 23 2014, 05:38 PM

Heyo sifus!

[Budget]: RM4k-6k (if possible..i realise i'm asking for some expensive stuff. Might be willing to overbudget slightly..but I would be happier the closer it is to 4k)

[Purpose]: Gaming, WatchDogs on max settings, the upcoming Witcher 3 on max settings too tongue.gif
heavy video & photo rendering/editing as well

[Hardwares that will be re-use]: None

[Monitor resolution]: 1980X1080p [I already have a monitor]

[Personal preferences]
I have my eyes on these babies:
- CPU: Intel Core i7-4820K
- GPU: MSi GTX780Ti Twin Frozr Gaming OC Edition
- RAM: 16gb (please recommend a brand)
- HDD: 2TB
- SSD: 256gb or 128gb? Prefer more of course but I might settle for less if the overall price has gotten out of hand..
- Casing: Something badass coz i'm looking to show it off brows.gif

[Location]
Kuala Lumpur

I'm not looking to overclock or anything, but I don't know if the above setup requires water-cooling or whatnot.

Also..I was wondering; when you guys quote the total price does it include assembly of the rig? I'm definitely not gonna be able to assemble all these things myself sweat.gif

Thanks in advance everyone! thumbup.gif
Zgames
post Jun 23 2014, 05:43 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(EfanOne @ Jun 23 2014, 05:38 PM)
Heyo sifus!

[Budget]: RM4k-6k (if possible..i realise i'm asking for some expensive stuff. Might be willing to overbudget slightly..but I would be happier the closer it is to 4k)

[Purpose]: Gaming, WatchDogs on max settings, the upcoming Witcher 3 on max settings too  tongue.gif
heavy video & photo rendering/editing as well

[Hardwares that will be re-use]: None

[Monitor resolution]: 1980X1080p [I already have a monitor]
[Personal preferences]
I have my eyes on these babies:
- CPU: Intel Core i7-4820K
- GPU: MSi GTX780Ti Twin Frozr Gaming OC Edition
- RAM: 16gb (please recommend a brand)
- HDD: 2TB
- SSD: 256gb or 128gb? Prefer more of course but I might settle for less if the overall price has gotten out of hand..
- Casing: Something badass coz i'm looking to show it off  brows.gif

[Location]
Kuala Lumpur

I'm not looking to overclock or anything, but I don't know if the above setup requires water-cooling or whatnot.

Also..I was wondering; when you guys quote the total price does it include assembly of the rig? I'm definitely not gonna be able to assemble all these things myself  sweat.gif

Thanks in advance everyone!  thumbup.gif
If not into OC'ing I'd recommend getting a Xeon. Cheaper and the same as an i7-4770. If not into OC'ing just go for a simple aircooling setup. Maybe pick up a LED Bling Bling Aftermarket Heatsink that cost around RM 150+

Badass casing is so many in the market right now. One of em is NZXT 530. Ain't that right Sentinel92 brows.gif
EfanOne
post Jun 23 2014, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(Zgames @ Jun 23 2014, 05:43 PM)
If not into OC'ing I'd recommend getting a Xeon. Cheaper and the same as an i7-4770. If not into OC'ing just go for a simple aircooling setup. Maybe pick up a LED Bling Bling Aftermarket Heatsink that cost around RM 150+

Badass casing is so many in the market right now. One of em is NZXT 530. Ain't that right Sentinel92 brows.gif
Thanks for the reply Zgames!

I've not researched the Xeon and have no idea how it compares to the i7, but what if i want to OC in the future? Would a Xeon be a hindrance to that?

NZXT 530..is it this one?
http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/134-phantom-530.html

That does look badass rclxms.gif

...but then after awhile though I thought it looked familiar...turns out a friend of mine has the exact same one!

Please recommend me another one so I can be unique and special flex.gif (against my friend at least)
xKeneshirox
post Jun 23 2014, 06:03 PM

338 posts

Thanks for the info. I'll try asking their customer support and see if I can get the discount. Maybe even snag a cheap Microsoft Office sweat.gif

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 23 2014, 05:50 PM)
Non-OC build..possible. brows.gif

hmm.gif I haven't heard of that discount thinggy majiggy before.. sweat.gif

What do you mean by "usual person"?

Btw 4K gaming rig with OS+Monitor

CPU:Intel Core i5 4460 3.2Ghz RM599
Ram:Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM244
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM174
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
Monitor:LG 23EA53V 23' RM480
Total:RM4013
CPU,Mobo,GPU and Casing are from Lingloong@GS,Monitor is from Hoodidi@GS,the rest are from Viewnet@LYP.

There.. nod.gif
Hmm... Do you think it will be a good idea to go for i5 4670? I'm gonna hopefully save on cutting out the driver and getting a discount on the OS
By usual, I guess I mean someone who just enjoys gaming but not really interested in learning about OC. I was concerned that I would be CPU bound in the future.

Thanks for the information!
heizad
post Jun 23 2014, 06:11 PM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

actually for the OS part..you can download the installation media from the microsoft site and buy the key from garage sales seller..i just bought 1 for RM50..win 8 pro 64 bit...hehe..the seller even asked me to activate the key first n only pay him if the key works wink.gif
Zgames
post Jun 23 2014, 06:17 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(EfanOne @ Jun 23 2014, 06:02 PM)

I've not researched the Xeon and have no idea how it compares to the i7, but what if i want to OC in the future? Would a Xeon be a hindrance to that?

That does look badass  rclxms.gif

...but then after awhile though I thought it looked familiar...turns out a friend of mine has the exact same one!

Please recommend me another one so I can be unique and special  flex.gif (against my friend at least)
Unique eh? Hmmm

How about the NZXT H440? Or the Bitfenix Ghost? Or the Corsair 450D or Corsair Carbide 500R?

About the CPU no, the Xeon does not support OC. If you want to OC you'll need to find an Intel Proc that has the K which means it can unlock and pair it with a Z87 or Z97 series motherboard.
TSSentinel92
post Jun 23 2014, 06:17 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

Yeap. But 530 has two models mang. Source and phantom. hahaha. Better be distinct next time. tongue.gif

QUOTE(EfanOne @ Jun 23 2014, 06:02 PM)

That does look badass  rclxms.gif

Please recommend me another one so I can be unique and special  flex.gif (against my friend at least)
Xeon cannot be OC-ed. But performance wise at stock speeds is basically the same as the 4770K. Its basically a non OC and Graphicsless 4770K. smile.gif

Bro there is two 530's btw. Phantom 530 and Source 530. Both at very different price points. At the cheaper Source 530 range you can have a look at the Phanteks Enthoo Pro as well.
Zgames
post Jun 23 2014, 06:22 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Jun 23 2014, 06:17 PM)
Yeap. But 530 has two models mang. Source and phantom. hahaha. Better be distinct next time. tongue.gif
Xeon cannot be OC-ed. But performance wise at stock speeds is basically the same as the 4770K. Its basically a non OC and Graphicsless 4770K. smile.gif

Bro there is two 530's btw. Phantom 530 and Source 530. Both at very different price points. At the cheaper Source 530 range you can have a look at the Phanteks Enthoo Pro as well.
Aye sorry, not much a fan of NZXT so abit out of date on their side laugh.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 23 2014, 08:20 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

Eh,don't forget about Fractal Design R4.. brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Jun 23 2014, 06:03 PM)
Thanks for the info. I'll try asking their customer support and see if I can get the discount. Maybe even snag a cheap Microsoft Office sweat.gif
Hmm... Do you think it will be a good idea to go for i5 4670? I'm gonna hopefully save on cutting out the driver and getting a discount on the OS
By usual, I guess I mean someone who just enjoys gaming but not really interested in learning about OC. I was concerned that I would be CPU bound in the future.

Thanks for the information!
IMHO,going just for .2GHz increase for about RM100-110 more isn't worth it TBH. nod.gif

If the person wants to OC,then the person needs a i5 4690k/4670k or the i7 4790k/4770k,Z97/87 motherboard and a good third party cooler. nod.gif
CPU bound?Huh? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Zgames @ Jun 23 2014, 06:22 PM)
Aye sorry, not much a fan of NZXT so abit out of date on their side laugh.gif
I knew it,you don't even like the boxy Source 210. laugh.gif

Sentinel92
Adoii,i didn't know subscribing to the topic makes me get the notifications every time a person posts ifdhis thread.I thought i got 9 replies. laugh.gif
TSSentinel92
post Jun 23 2014, 08:24 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 23 2014, 08:20 PM)

Sentinel92
Adoii,i didn't know subscribing to the topic makes me get the notifications every time a person posts ifdhis thread.I thought i got 9 replies. laugh.gif
=_________= You have much to learn young one. LEL.
thefryingfox
post Jun 23 2014, 09:24 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

hi guys, I got a budget of RM 3k. Can you let me know what is the best system I can get assuming I have monitor/speaker/keyboard/mouse/SSD/Hd already?

All I need is RAM/CPU/Motherboard/PSU/VGA/Casing
Minecrafter
post Jun 23 2014, 09:34 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jun 23 2014, 09:24 PM)
hi guys, I got a budget of RM 3k. Can you let me know what is the best system I can get assuming I have monitor/speaker/keyboard/mouse/SSD/Hd already?

All I need is RAM/CPU/Motherboard/PSU/VGA/Casing
Gaming?Monitor resolution?

CPU:i5 4460 3.2Ghz RM599
Ram:Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600mhz RM235
Total:RM2982
Prices are from Lingloong@GS. smile.gif
xKeneshirox
post Jun 23 2014, 11:03 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 23 2014, 09:20 PM)

IMHO,going just for .2GHz increase for about RM100-110 more isn't worth it TBH. nod.gif

If the person wants to OC,then the person needs a i5 4690k/4670k or the i7 4790k/4770k,Z97/87 motherboard and a good third party cooler. nod.gif
CPU bound?Huh? hmm.gif
I play Planetside 2. And it's kinda an unoptimized piece of shit so my CPU tanks like mad. so... yeah...

KSP as well.. especially when you start building sillier space stations.

Unfortunately, the main games I play for now tend to be a bit more CPU heavy.
thefryingfox
post Jun 23 2014, 11:06 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jun 23 2014, 09:34 PM)
Gaming?Monitor resolution?

CPU:i5 4460 3.2Ghz RM599
Ram:Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600mhz RM235
Total:RM2982
Prices are from Lingloong@GS. smile.gif
thanks mate. appreciate it

I am currently using the following spec;
Proc :I7 2600k at 4.5Ghz
Mobo : P8P67 Pro
GPU : Radeon 6950 ( flashed to 6970)
Ram : Crosair XMS 2Gbx4 (8gb total)
PSU - something silver 80%
Casing - CM HAC case
Disk - Samsung evo 840 128gb SSD ( primary for games etc)
2TBx2 WD black for other non essential stuff

thinking of getting something a tad more powerful. just that industry standard sikit sikit change socket lol now render my board useless for an upgrade.

I usually play game at 1920x1080 on my Samsung p2770 screen. Played NFS Rival + Tomb Raider ( 2013 ) version and kind of laggy. Tomb Raider was at normal setting at the said resolution and when the water scene or smoke or etc, become laggy. same with nfs.

This post has been edited by thefryingfox: Jun 23 2014, 11:09 PM
rav3n82
post Jun 23 2014, 11:52 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jun 23 2014, 11:06 PM)
thanks mate. appreciate it

I am currently using the following spec;
Proc :I7 2600k at 4.5Ghz
Mobo : P8P67 Pro
GPU : Radeon 6950 ( flashed to 6970)
Ram : Crosair XMS 2Gbx4 (8gb total)
PSU - something silver 80%
Casing - CM HAC case
Disk - Samsung evo 840 128gb SSD ( primary for games etc)
2TBx2 WD black for other non essential stuff

thinking of getting something a tad more powerful. just that industry standard sikit sikit change socket lol now render my board useless for an upgrade.

I usually play game at 1920x1080 on my Samsung p2770 screen. Played NFS Rival + Tomb Raider ( 2013 ) version and kind of laggy. Tomb Raider was at normal setting at the said resolution and when the water scene or smoke or etc, become laggy. same with nfs.
Save your bucks and just go with a graphic card upgrade. Your processor is actually still very powerful today. Am using the same one myself. Go with a GTX 780 Ti.

HD 6950 (or 6970 unlocked) wouldn't cut it anymore.
thefryingfox
post Jun 24 2014, 12:02 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

roger that sir!

will scout for a good one.....amd or NVidia which is better? I'm lost with technology....ati has mentle or something like that that gives direct access to the gpu right?

anyway - i'l take your advise and get a killer vga. I wonder if I can use larger ram memory like 8gb x2 or so? not sure if my board supports these memory but will be nice to have > 10gb of ram
rav3n82
post Jun 24 2014, 12:11 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jun 24 2014, 12:02 AM)
roger that sir!

will scout for a good one.....amd or NVidia which is better? I'm lost with technology....ati has mentle or something like that that gives direct access to the gpu right?

anyway - i'l take your advise and get a killer vga. I wonder if I can use larger ram memory like 8gb x2 or so? not sure if my board supports these memory but will be nice to have > 10gb of ram
Well, they both have their own unique features. It's really up to you. But at a budget of about RM2.3k, the GTX 780 Ti is the fastest single GPU card in the market.

8GB of RAM should suffice for most needs. wink.gif
Narako
post Jun 24 2014, 12:12 AM

what?
705 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jun 24 2014, 12:02 AM)
roger that sir!

as for Graphic card it all depends on your budget.

and having more than 8gb ram doesnt really help with anything especially when using it normally
thefryingfox
post Jun 24 2014, 12:15 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

thanks mate. i'l prolly get a midrange one instead. r9 280x 3gb of ram is about 1100 ringgit thereabout which offers about 70% better performance than the current card. use the rest of the cash to prolly get another 1 more ssd and raid 0 it

125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:27 PM