137 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

de1929
post Aug 8 2014, 11:23 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 8 2014, 11:07 AM)
To find out, need to join the community then. Community is important for spiritual growth, to be there to support, encourage and spur one another towards love and  good deeds (Heb 10:24-25)
Ngai, Sonido is catholic background. Sonido also still learning about Holy Spirit. i have some conversation with him in this forum you can check backward few pages to get sonido point of view.

Sonido, if i were wrong about above conclusion so sorreyyy...
ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 11:23 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Aug 8 2014, 12:14 PM)
I feel no such desire to do that. Chruch must not give a false belief to people that they can be saved simply by being active or a part in chruch  and its activities.
No la, i don't think church will purposely give false belief la unless it is cult church. Of course, no single church is perfect. Every church does have its strength and weakness. If we would like to be part of it, to be belong to the church (the body of Christ), we should accept it as a whole. Instead of being negative/critical, we bear with its weakness (when the church admit it) and build it up by providing constructive input. I think you have much negative impression on church in general. Perhaps bad experience in the past. if so, I hope that it won't hinders you to be open to find a church(spiritual family) whom you can belong to icon_rolleyes.gif
pehkay
post Aug 8 2014, 11:36 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Aug 8 2014, 11:23 AM)
Ngai, Sonido is catholic background. Sonido also still learning about Holy Spirit. i have some conversation with him in this forum you can check backward few pages to get sonido point of view.

Hmm .. that will explain his understanding of the church and the statement that salvation = "being in the church" ...

This post has been edited by pehkay: Aug 8 2014, 11:36 AM
ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 11:40 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Aug 8 2014, 12:23 PM)

i see, thanks for the info ya. icon_rolleyes.gif
de1929
post Aug 8 2014, 11:47 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Aug 8 2014, 11:36 AM)
Hmm .. that will explain his understanding of the church and the statement that salvation = "being in the church" ...
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 8 2014, 11:40 AM)
i see, thanks for the info ya.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Can we agree to intercede for sonido guys ? thumbup.gif
ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 03:17 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 8 2014, 03:55 PM)
its not just that, church people are not as what they market themselves to be. You go to some mega churches, they advertise on the big screen how fun they are...even play the video...do some flash dance etc etc. But when you join their ministries, u start to notice their ugly side...bickerings, politics, favortims, abuse of funds, backstabbing.

there is this botak christian so-called friend, i cut him off. He used to request for my accounting knowledge to help him in his ministries. He even ask me to pray together with him to find a job. I been there for him, when he was in trouble, and my biggest regret was to teach him my top secret winning formula in a job interview !

then when he got his job, he became lan see. At the church, got one old auntie was attracted to him, but he rejected her and criticized her, even became sore and bitter at her because she tried to pursue him. He think he so dam high standard. Come on, man...a girl like u, u dun like, then dun layan lah, but he got his whole cg, to boycott her because he is the boss, the cg leader. The auntie cried and left...what a cruel CG leader...he himself think he so hansom, purposelly want to kao all the girls half his age..but they know he is a mid 30 year old uncle who practice favortism.

then got one time, i ask him out to yam cha...he literally FFK on me. I was mad...none of my non-christian fren ever do this to me, not even my dates with my female friends. I scolded him and he turned up..then a small disucssion over cell group multiplication, he got mad for no reason, got offended so easily, walked out.

this is so disgraceful behaviour. Sometime i yam cha with him, i really want to slap him, because he criticize other christians and he thinks he so dam great. I wonder if he would condemn me behind my back too because i shared some stuff with him which i regretted thinking that he is trustworthy.

I realise that some christians tend to wanna be the whistleblower show off...so they will RAT on you. So never share any secret with a fellow christian.

There are two other christians that i trust, my real brother in flesh and my other best friend whom i have known for 14 years.

But this botak guy, i really cut him off, no yee hei one...even worst than a non christian in terms of friendship.
This reminds me of the story in 1 Samuel. Those days even the priest (Eli, the high priest, own sons did not follow the Godly way. They turned aside after dishonest gain and accepted bribes and perverted justice (1 Sam 8:3). But, I respect Samuel. In spite of the challenging environment, he still serve God faithfully from a small boy until old age.

For your friend, I think you can from time to time speak the truth in love to him. icon_rolleyes.gif
Sophiera
post Aug 8 2014, 05:45 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

For some reason I feel irritated/uncomfortable when a person praise/pray/cry out loudly to the Lord. I also don't like the majority of modern Christian music. That always made me wonder if that a sign I'm not geniune. Genuine Christians should be super happy with anything about God

Right?

I like old fashioned hymns though. Or no issue. Not sure what to say anymore.
ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 06:04 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 8 2014, 06:45 PM)
For some reason  I feel irritated/uncomfortable when a person praise/pray/cry out loudly to the Lord. I also don't like the majority of modern Christian music. That always made me wonder if that a sign I'm not geniune. Genuine Christians should be super happy with anything about God

Right?

I believe you are referring to a charismatic church where by you see believers cry and speak in tongue with a lot of emotions?

I think the bible didn't specifically said which type of worship music is the right/wrong one. As long as the attitude and heart is right, God is pleased.

Myself, as a so called song-leader sometimes feel guilty or in dilemma while singing in front of the crowd because sometimes i feel like kinda faking it, just like that pharisee (sing with lip but not heart). But if i am being real, then i kinda look 'down' hmm.gif anyway, my point is attitude and heart is more important than which type of music during service. Different genre has its own plus and minus. icon_rolleyes.gif
de1929
post Aug 8 2014, 06:12 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 8 2014, 05:45 PM)
For some reason  I feel irritated/uncomfortable when a person praise/pray/cry out loudly to the Lord. I also don't like the majority of modern Christian music. That always made me wonder if that a sign I'm not geniune. Genuine Christians should be super happy with anything about God

Right?

aha.... so i assume you like hymn great is thy faithfulness ? my favorite song

too bad these youngsters probably don't know this song.
Sophiera
post Aug 8 2014, 06:45 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Aug 8 2014, 06:12 PM)

Ya I like the old fashioned stuff like those Bach era choirs and old hymns.

Though, I could never remember a full song before. Secular or not, sure cannot recall the full thing.

De_Luffy
post Aug 8 2014, 10:22 PM

737 posts

Some songs for soul searching tonight hope you guys enjoyed the songs smile.gif

Prayers for the nations

The Great Awakening

this 3 songs is enough to set your heart to ponder upon and those who claim that modern music is suck and lousy this song is to prove you that modern songs is meaningful too

this last song make my heart melt and made me sad cause it remind me of a close friend and school junior of mine who loved this song alot in fact it was his favorite song cry.gif

ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 11:47 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Aug 8 2014, 07:12 PM)

what about "Be thou my vision" and "it is well with my soul"? biggrin.gif
De_Luffy
post Aug 8 2014, 11:50 PM

737 posts

i liked hymns too as there is a meaning behind the all hymns, like it is well with my soul is written by a father who losses his childrens in freak ferry accident and as he grieve for them he wrote those song

This post has been edited by De_Luffy: Aug 8 2014, 11:50 PM
ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 11:55 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Aug 9 2014, 12:50 AM)
i liked hymns too as there is a meaning behind the all hymns, like it is well with my soul is written by a father who losses his childrens in freak ferry accident and as he grieve for them he wrote those song
wa you still remember the whole ya, not bad thumbup.gif
De_Luffy
post Aug 8 2014, 11:56 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 8 2014, 11:55 PM)
wa you still remember the whole ya, not bad thumbup.gif
i am very curious about certain hymns that lead me to find out the source of the hymn story

for example Amazing Grace hymn is written by a blind person
ngaisteve1
post Aug 8 2014, 11:59 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Aug 9 2014, 12:56 AM)
i am very curious about certain hymns that lead me to find out the source of the hymn story

for example Amazing Grace hymn is written by a blind person
i see...one of the lyric of old song i like is called "Follow Me"...very relatable lyric
TankerGadget Store
post Aug 9 2014, 10:39 AM

222 posts

few days ago i went to SUNWAY PYRAMID and there is a couple of KOREAN AND CHINESE holding bible around and telling people there is a god mother in the world. he uses the verse in

Genesis 1:26 >>

Then God said, "Let us make man in our image, in our likeness, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth, and over all the creatures that move along the ground."

OUR image

they make a man and a woman.

therefore they claim there is a mother god. After i research on internet i saw their trinity is the father, the son and the anshanghong god (anshanghong is a korean guy)
TSunknown warrior
post Aug 9 2014, 10:58 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(TankerGadget Store @ Aug 9 2014, 10:39 AM)
few days ago i went to SUNWAY PYRAMID and there is a couple of KOREAN AND CHINESE holding bible around and telling people there is a god mother in the world. he uses the verse in

Genesis 1:26 >>

Then God said, "Let us make man in our image, in our likeness, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth, and over all the creatures that move along the ground."
OUR image
they make a man and a woman.

therefore they claim there is a mother god. After i research on internet i saw their trinity is the father, the son and the anshanghong god (anshanghong is a korean guy)
This one can be answered like this.

Jesus never reveal a Mother God. Not once, not anywhere in the Bible.
If there is, there would have been incidents of an account.
We cannot take speculation as a doctrine.

He came revealing only Father God and the Holy Spirit.

In Genesis chapter 1 it is a summary of God's creation.
In Genesis chapter 2, The Bible explains a more detail account of chapter 1, Adam was created first and Eve was formed later out of the ribs of Adam.

And Adam said

“This is now bone of my bones
and flesh of my flesh;
she shall be called ‘woman,’
for she was taken out of man.”

The word in our Image and in our Likeness is first imprinted on Adam, the Hebrew word for Image is Masculine and the Hebrew word for Likeness is Feminine.

In the context of Genesis 1:26,

Image & Likeness print is imprinted on Adam first, Eve was formed out of from Adam.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Aug 9 2014, 12:16 PM
Sophiera
post Aug 9 2014, 02:53 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

I think they're from the Mun Ni cult
sonido
post Aug 9 2014, 08:18 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Aug 8 2014, 11:23 AM)

yes i am a catholic. though its not a perfect church why i remain in catholic is because it is a quiet church, it is still actively doing many good things particularly to young kids by introducing and teaching them about God. like i was before.

now tell me bro, how do u view the Trinity concept, which is also taught in Catholic? What is your view of the 'Holy Spirit'? For me I am now going to change that term to 'the Spirit of God' cuz i don't want other people to misundestood me.

137 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:34 PM