Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

RedSiglap56
post Dec 3 2014, 09:24 PM

42 posts

That's true, sometimes when you socialize you might spend more than you plan. That's why it's important to have a budget.

Happy to see that you can work out roughly where your money goes.

Always 'pay yourself' first. Set aside $300 or whatever amount you plan when you get your gaji. Let that be your basic savings and don't touch that for your living expenses.

One way of doing that is to open another bank account and do a auto-debit from your bank account which receives the salary. That way, even if you have some unexpected socializing to do, you would have limited your own spending.
sheng291
post Dec 3 2014, 09:24 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 3 2014, 09:15 PM)
My 1 day also $10 one. But now back to office don't know where to eat follow colleagues lo. Expensive also must go lo. Need face mah biggrin.gif
haha,that's consider socialize so still ok..
i m lucky to have manager and colleagues that can eat in hawker center together.XD
IwanAGP
post Dec 3 2014, 09:37 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Dec 3 2014, 09:24 PM)
That's true, sometimes when you socialize you might spend more than you plan. That's why it's important to have a budget.

Happy to see that you can work out roughly where your money goes.

Always 'pay yourself' first. Set aside $300 or whatever amount you plan when you get your gaji. Let that be your basic savings and don't touch that for your living expenses.

One way of doing that is to open another bank account and do a auto-debit from your bank account which receives the salary. That way, even if you have some unexpected socializing to do, you would have limited your own spending.
biggrin.gif I know exactly where my money goes. Just spent ~1k on a camera I wanted for years. Spent another ~400 on my CNY ticket. Bloody hell money flies that way.

Btw... It's when you're spending money you realise how good is that you're earning SGD.

1k SGD on a camera, yes it's a lot but when you put it in terms of your monthly salary, nah it's just part of my savings each month. Put it the other way round...

1k SGD translates to RM2.6k now. Even if I earn RM3k, after epf and everything (I'm not PR so no CPF contribution but if work back in M'sia sure kena EPF), my take home pay probably is just right RM2.6k. That's one month salary.

No need makan, no need petrol, no need toll, no need rental?

Sad to say but when it comes to this, our beloved nation is really a world behind.

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 3 2014, 09:24 PM)
haha,that's consider socialize so still ok..
i m lucky to have manager and colleagues that can eat in hawker center together.XD
Still hawker centre. But more high class one mah tongue.gif AKA Food court.
megadisc
post Dec 3 2014, 09:41 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 3 2014, 09:37 PM)
biggrin.gif I know exactly where my money goes. Just spent ~1k on a camera I wanted for years. Spent another ~400 on my CNY ticket. Bloody hell money flies that way.

Btw... It's when you're spending money you realise how good is that you're earning SGD.

1k SGD on a camera, yes it's a lot but when you put it in terms of your monthly salary, nah it's just part of my savings each month. Put it the other way round...

1k SGD translates to RM2.6k now. Even if I earn RM3k, after epf and everything (I'm not PR so no CPF contribution but if work back in M'sia sure kena EPF), my take home pay probably is just right RM2.6k. That's one month salary.

Sad to say but when it comes to this, our beloved nation is really a world behind.
even the train ticket increase also no problem ...still worth it ..
studyboy
post Dec 3 2014, 09:41 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 3 2014, 09:37 PM)

What is this 400 CNY ticket you are talking about? Flight ticket back to Malaysia?

IwanAGP
post Dec 3 2014, 09:50 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Dec 3 2014, 09:41 PM)
even the train ticket increase also no problem ...still worth it ..
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 3 2014, 09:41 PM)
What is this 400 CNY ticket you are talking about? Flight ticket back to Malaysia?
Ya... Back to Sarawak one. So expensive right????? doh.gif doh.gif
fcuk90
post Dec 3 2014, 11:50 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

Chicken rice $2.3 + teh peng 1.4$ today. Day trip to Singapore ...

megadisc
post Dec 3 2014, 11:51 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 3 2014, 11:50 PM)
Chicken rice $2.3 + teh peng 1.4$ today. Day trip to Singapore ...
so u r working there

or just site seeing ??
fcuk90
post Dec 3 2014, 11:53 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Dec 3 2014, 11:51 PM)
so u r working there

or just site seeing ??
Start on mid Jan.. Now sight seeing, finding room as well. Preferable on green line nearby aljunied, any cheap reccomendation?

Bedok or tanah merah or tampines? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Dec 4 2014, 12:05 AM
megadisc
post Dec 3 2014, 11:58 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 3 2014, 11:53 PM)
Start on mid Jan.. Now sight seeing, finding room as well. Preferable on green line nearby aljunied, any reccomendation?
unable to advvise

since i travel daily from tmn daya to IMM building

zzzzz laugh.gif
rcr
post Dec 4 2014, 12:51 AM

475 posts

I got one friend,

Let's say he earn $5,000. After expenses, he left $2,000... then he fully converts all his savings of $2,000 every month to MYR and bankin into his Maybank.

My goodness...
frankng2015
post Dec 4 2014, 03:04 AM

Is it better to save sgd in bank account earning less than 1% interest rate now or convert it to MYR for FD interest rates?
orangbulu
post Dec 4 2014, 07:44 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(frankng2015 @ Dec 4 2014, 03:04 AM)
Is it better to save sgd in bank account earning less than 1% interest rate now or convert it to MYR for FD interest rates?
OCBC 360 gives you 3.05% if you can fulfill all 3 of their criteria

Bank in salary (min 2k)
Pay 3 bills online
Min spend 400 SGD a month on their CC

They give you 1% each criteria
TSdeodorant
post Dec 4 2014, 08:18 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

saving in foreign currencies in countries with high(er) interest rates - you gotta bear the FX conversion fees and the FX fluctuation risk lo.
example if 1 year ago you convert S$10k to RM, you will get RM25.2k
After one year 3% interest, that becomes RM25,956
Convert that back to SGD at today rate = S$9,894

seantang
post Dec 4 2014, 10:20 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

If you don't want to actively time/game exchange rate movements, interest rate movements, hassles and costs to repeatedly convert and transfer... just keep your funds in the currency you spend. And it includes current and future spending.
megadisc
post Dec 4 2014, 10:24 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 4 2014, 10:20 AM)
If you don't want to actively time/game exchange rate movements, interest rate movements, hassles and costs to repeatedly convert and transfer... just keep your funds in the currency you spend. And it includes current and future spending.
or keep at the other currencies ...then u haved no money to spend at all
NiMei
post Dec 4 2014, 10:57 AM

hi guys, am in a dilemma

i am previously an external auditor (2 years exp), but currently an accountant (since aug) at a listed co. with E pass. Am enjoyed working at friendly environment here with friendly colleauges, but not feeling that i'm doing my best in this job and am thinking of moving back to audit line, i have some concerns here:

1. my friend did mention that e pass has better chance of applying PR, is it so?
should i continue my current job and change job after getting PR?

2. To my knowledge (maybe not so comprehensive) most of the msian auditor (i mean the external auditor) are holding S pass here? What are the effects/disadv if i'm to degrade my Pass for the job i prefer?

pls advise, thanks in advance
rcr
post Dec 4 2014, 11:03 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(NiMei @ Dec 4 2014, 10:57 AM)
hi guys, am in a dilemma

i am previously an external auditor (2 years exp), but currently an accountant (since aug) at a listed co. with E pass. Am enjoyed working at friendly environment here with friendly colleauges, but not feeling that i'm doing my best in this job and am thinking of moving back to audit line, i have some concerns here:

1. my friend did mention that e pass has better chance of applying PR, is it so?
    should i continue my current job and change job after getting PR?

2. To my knowledge (maybe not so comprehensive) most of the msian auditor (i mean the external auditor) are holding S pass here? What are the effects/disadv if i'm to degrade my Pass for the job i prefer?

pls advise, thanks in advance
Ask yourself.

1) The salary for auditor or accountant is higher?
2) If auditor, u need to work in Big 4, but then again it is 100% more stressful then working as an accountant in my opinion. If you work in a half-past-six auditing firm, then forget about returning as those bosses pays peanuts.
3) S-Pass or E-Pass depends on your salary scale.
NiMei
post Dec 4 2014, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(rcr @ Dec 4 2014, 11:03 AM)
Ask yourself.

1) The salary for auditor or accountant is higher?
2) If auditor, u need to work in Big 4, but then again it is 100% more stressful then working as an accountant in my opinion. If you work in a half-past-six auditing firm, then forget about returning as those bosses pays peanuts.
3) S-Pass or E-Pass depends on your salary scale.
well, i'm ok with minor (perhaps not so minor if converted to RM) paycut if i get the job(and career) i prefer,
perhaps i should rephrase my question, given my current condition (previous post), what price i need to pay (especially those intangible such as: chances of pr application, e pass/s pass issue) aside from highly possible paycut, for me go back to the job i like.

off-topics: btw, i dont understand that i'm being remunerated 2k+ but i get an e pass instead, according to the MOM, e pass is for those salary >3.3k?
and, not sure whether this is true, according to my col, it's due to my co.'s repu/size?
rcr
post Dec 4 2014, 12:05 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(NiMei @ Dec 4 2014, 11:52 AM)
well, i'm ok with minor (perhaps not so minor if converted to RM) paycut if i get the job(and career) i prefer,
perhaps i should rephrase my question, given my current condition (previous post), what price i need to pay (especially those intangible such as: chances of pr application, e pass/s pass issue) aside from highly possible paycut, for me go back to the job i like.

off-topics: btw, i dont understand that i'm being remunerated 2k+ but i get an e pass instead, according to the MOM, e pass is for those salary >3.3k?
                and, not sure whether this is true, according to my col, it's due to my co.'s repu/size?
I dont seems to quite understand your response to be frank.

Did you mean that you are prepared to sacrifice a paycut to return to auditing field from accountancy but afraid it will compromise your chances of obtaining a PR status?

Is your current accountancy job pays u >3.3K? What kind of establishment? MNC, GLC, Pte Ltd?
How much will be your salary if you rejoins as an auditor and in which kind of auditing firm?

Apart from salaries, what type of qualifications you have on-hand, working duration spent in SG (years?) and yes company's reputation plays a part too but not a major factor in considering your application.

122 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 >Top

0.0281sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:33 AM